Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 14, 2002
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 369 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
304
Mixed:
33
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
A cool action movie with some boring scenes and it looks even better than The Fugitive. This is the movie that starts the long spy series of Jason Bourne.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sinadoomAug 25, 2012
This film defines what makes a great action thriller. The pacing is perfect, with no fillers but just under 2 hours of epicness. The balance between action and story, suspense and cinematic scenes is perfect. The story is very easy to follow,This film defines what makes a great action thriller. The pacing is perfect, with no fillers but just under 2 hours of epicness. The balance between action and story, suspense and cinematic scenes is perfect. The story is very easy to follow, it's direct, intriguing and filled with great voice acting from Matt Damon and almost perfect direction. There's not a single moment in this film where you are not immersed. You don't want to take your eyes off it, whereas a lot of action films tend to go for all-out explosions and miss out on the story. You can switch on and comeback to it later and still enjoy, like the Transporter films, but this one is so gripping and almost perfect in every way. All it's really missing is a bit more action and scenes to go in between - basically a tiny bit longer. On the whole it's a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Compelling and exciting, The Bourne Identity follows a sturdy plot with great characters and a swiftly paced thrill ride. It also has the perfect amount of suspense and a big scope to cement it as a success.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheDude-Oct 7, 2015
the bourne identity is a tremendous film with suspense, action and a gripping story to take you on a thrill ride of fun and brilliant film-making the film also has in my opinion Matt Damon's best performance yet my only flaw with this film isthe bourne identity is a tremendous film with suspense, action and a gripping story to take you on a thrill ride of fun and brilliant film-making the film also has in my opinion Matt Damon's best performance yet my only flaw with this film is that the plot can get a tad convoluted at times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JasonMay 26, 2008
Can't believe this has weakest rating out of trilogy. Wonderful movie with scenes to remember. Two other ones are just too fast and without decent plot. Nice work, one of my favorites
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
From start to finish, this is a great movie. It's got just the right amount of suspense, just the right amount of action, just the right amount of character development. I don't have a single complaint about this movie.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
abductionOct 6, 2011
Oh my god. Love it. Espesiall since it is Taylor Lautners favorite movie. I heart Taylor Lautner. Must watch again. Gotta go because I am going to watch the movie again. Thankyou for reading my review. Goodbye.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the great story. It's really good. Score is good to. Overall, this is a great start to a great series of JasonThis is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the great story. It's really good. Score is good to. Overall, this is a great start to a great series of Jason Bourne movies. You should watch it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Love this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
craiga.Aug 23, 2005
Gahhh! Can't resist! MUST... WATCH... AGAIN...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulJMay 4, 2009
This movie was intense and at the same time, made you think. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Oct 28, 2005
An incredibly satisfying thriller because it's so smartly done - all the usual action movie cliches are absent, and thank goodness. Damon is very good. Franka Potente is outstanding. One of my favorites of recent years. It deserves more An incredibly satisfying thriller because it's so smartly done - all the usual action movie cliches are absent, and thank goodness. Damon is very good. Franka Potente is outstanding. One of my favorites of recent years. It deserves more credit for its intelligence and sheer entertainment value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenMar 19, 2007
As far as action movies go, The Bourne Identity has a charm like few others. Its world is simply more real. The people look closer to average, vehicles are worn down, and the clothing isn't gawdy or fashionable. Another movie would have As far as action movies go, The Bourne Identity has a charm like few others. Its world is simply more real. The people look closer to average, vehicles are worn down, and the clothing isn't gawdy or fashionable. Another movie would have slick cars and immaculately groomed cast members who would be CG'd through their fight scenes. Here, so much of what you see feels genuine that it's easier to fall into, and easier to like the characters, for what they are. Damon in fits particularly well into the role of amnesiac assassin Jason Bourne. Once the action kicks in it doesn't try to reach the bar that The Matrix or X-Men set, but rather follows a more realistic, but still entertaining kind of action. And because it's unafraid to be what it is, it's its own kind of cool. If you have this is one hand and another action flick in the other, do yourself a favor and pick this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredB.Oct 15, 2006
I loved this movie. It had lots of action and suspense. I think Matt Damon did a great job bringing Jason Bourne to life. I can't wait till the third one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintT.Mar 11, 2008
This is the first and strongest of the Bourne trilogy, based on the novels by Robert Ludlum. It deviates greatly from the books but is no less of a film for that. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Sep 22, 2010
Unconscious man gets rescued in the sea by fishing boat, amnesia, has "special" skills, someone trying to kill him, befriends German girl, tries to find out what's going on & who he is.
Sharp action-thriller which has its fair share of twists
Unconscious man gets rescued in the sea by fishing boat, amnesia, has "special" skills, someone trying to kill him, befriends German girl, tries to find out what's going on & who he is.
Sharp action-thriller which has its fair share of twists and turns and outright action with some great fight choreography.
Strong cast helps it & Maaaaatttt Daaaammmon is very believable as Jason Bourne. Good turn too from Franka Potente, Chris Cooper & Clive Owen as the deadly sniper.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuApr 2, 2013
The Bourne Identity is a great action movie that kicked off a decent franchise. This movie is a lot of fun, mainly because it sees Jason Bourne discovering his own powers along with the audience. The film also features some strongThe Bourne Identity is a great action movie that kicked off a decent franchise. This movie is a lot of fun, mainly because it sees Jason Bourne discovering his own powers along with the audience. The film also features some strong performances and an unforgettable car chase. That said, it doesn't quite achieve the same heights as it's masterpiece sequel The Bourne Supremacy... But then again, not many action movies do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJul 22, 2013
Found floating in the Atlantic Ocean Jason Bourne awakes to find he has no memory of who he is.

Unfortunately Bourne has enemies and they certainly know who he is. The hero with Amnesia story is not exactly original but The Bourne Identity
Found floating in the Atlantic Ocean Jason Bourne awakes to find he has no memory of who he is.

Unfortunately Bourne has enemies and they certainly know who he is. The hero with Amnesia story is not exactly original but The Bourne Identity tells a more interesting story than most as Bourne fights to find out why everyone seems to want him dead. The movie whips along at a cracking pace featuring all manner of exciting fight scenes and car chases meaning the two hours will fly by.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CRLJul 26, 2011
First, this is not an adaptation the Robert Ludlum novel that it's supposedly based on. It's a completely original, standalone work, with the only similarity being the central character, while everything else built around him from scratch byFirst, this is not an adaptation the Robert Ludlum novel that it's supposedly based on. It's a completely original, standalone work, with the only similarity being the central character, while everything else built around him from scratch by the director and screenwriter. And as that standalone work it's an excellent action thriller that delivers on every front. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VelsuanJul 31, 2012
This movie is a near perfect espionage thriller. It delivers on every side: the story is strong, perhaps shallow at first glance but efficient the way it is told; the actors are truly great, Damon acts exactly the way it should be and PotenteThis movie is a near perfect espionage thriller. It delivers on every side: the story is strong, perhaps shallow at first glance but efficient the way it is told; the actors are truly great, Damon acts exactly the way it should be and Potente is particularly honest in her performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxJan 16, 2012
A good action flick with an interesting story but it never really captures you in the way it should have but its good enough to make you wanna see the sequel. Matt Damon was a solid lead and the rest of the cast was good as well. I enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
Though it's not quite the incredible film critics were making it out to be, The Bourne Identity manages to entertain the whole way through, and it's hard to imagine someone being bored during the film. A body of a man is found floating in theThough it's not quite the incredible film critics were making it out to be, The Bourne Identity manages to entertain the whole way through, and it's hard to imagine someone being bored during the film. A body of a man is found floating in the ocean. This man has no idea who he is, who he was, or anything about his past. His ability to speak many different languages and provide detailed summaries about surroundings and people by just glancing at them suggests he was part of something big. Turns out, his name is Jason Bourne. And he's an assassin, and a good one. But now, he's on the run with the girl, in order to figure out more about his past, and not die. As I watched the film, I was constantly reminded of another action film I saw recently: The Fugitive. The Fugitive was a 90's film with Harrison Ford, who plays a man named Richard Kimble, falsely charged with the murder of his beloved wife. He escapes prison, and is on the lam. There are many reasons why The Fugitive is better than The Bourne Identity. For one, The Fugitive is more emotionally involving. We care about Dr. Kimble, and we feel his loss. The Bourne Identity offers no reason for us to care about any of the characters, so it's hard to root for either side. Also, The Fugitive is much more frantic. Dr. Kimble's race from the cops never really stops until the very end. Jason Bourne stops every so often, as if to take a breather from the action. We don't feel the thrill with The Bourne Identity, like we did with The Fugitive (and the generic chase scenes don't help). The film lacks smarts as well. The Fugitive was a nice little mystery alongside an action movie, but The Bourne Identity requires little thinking. We learn Jason Bourne's main role within half an hour. But The Bourne Identity isn't as bad as I'm making it out to be. There's lots of action. Maybe even more so than The Fugitive. There's gun fights, and fist fights. There's some exciting (and somewhat unrealistic) escape scenes as well. The film also benefits from a solid cast. Never for a minute will you question a lack of quality in the performances. Matt Damon provides a frustrated man who lost his memory. Franka Potente acts convincingly as an even more confused and worried Marie Kreutz, who wants nothing more then to get out of this mess. The rest of the cast is equally strong. I usually don't comment about the score in action films because they're usually very run-of-the-mill. This one was a little bit better than that, but the over-powering drums keep me from praising it too much. The main flaw with The Bourne Identity, however, was it's lack of a final fight. No cinematic duel to the death. In The Fugitive, we had a manic fight/hide-and-seek/out wit game going, that was heart-pounding. We get no such thing in The Bourne Identity, which surprised me, considering the fact that this was in fact, a movie about action. The Bourne Identity is perfect for teenage boys. It's fun, it's got some good action scenes, and a strong cast. It entertains from start to finish. It does suffer from problems though, such as a lack of thrill, no cinematic duel, and no need to think. But in the end, good outweighs the bad, and I'm ready for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
A rather original action film that is helped along the way with the interesting plot and solid acting by the cast. It's one of few modern day action films that is actually good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012Jun 9, 2012
The Bourne Identity makes for a fantastic thriller, with the pivotal positive element of the film being that Jason Bourne doesn't care for violence: he only uses it when provoked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
Starts the series of with a huge bang. The Bourne Identity is not only action packed and tense, but also features a very, very smart script. This one's not just for the action junkies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 10, 2015
The Bourne Identity is in many ways your classic spy thriller and in many ways not your classic spy thriller. The ways in which it subverts it genre largely rest in the blending of mystery with the action spy thriller genre. The mysteriousThe Bourne Identity is in many ways your classic spy thriller and in many ways not your classic spy thriller. The ways in which it subverts it genre largely rest in the blending of mystery with the action spy thriller genre. The mysterious nature of the film and its protagonist really help it to become different than your classic spy movie. However, it still is a spy movie, right down to the over-the-top European location. This does not mean it is not a good spy movie, however. Endlessly entertaining with brilliant action set pieces, added in with the twists and turns of every good spy movie, The Bourne Identity really does it job well. Mat t Damon, Franka Potente, and Chris Cooper, are all very good in their roles and it is no surprise as to why this one exploded the way it did. Overall, very satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
[1/4 The Bourne Legacy Marathon]

The Bourne Identity [2002] - 3.5/5
A solid action film, with some well-made action setpieces and fight choreography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"The Bourne Identity" is a 2002 film directed by Doug Limon and starring Matt Damon. The film follows the story of Jason Bourne (Damon), an amnesiac desperately attempting to discover more about his true identity while simultaneously"The Bourne Identity" is a 2002 film directed by Doug Limon and starring Matt Damon. The film follows the story of Jason Bourne (Damon), an amnesiac desperately attempting to discover more about his true identity while simultaneously embedding himself in a convoluted conspiracy involving the CIA. Now, when I had first heard "The Bourne Identity"'s fairly original and intriguing premise, I was already expecting this movie to be great. Did it disappoint? No. No, it did not. This is one of those movie's that just cannot fail - it has a rock solid story crafted by one of the most intelligent authors of our time, a brilliant screenplay written by one of Hollywood's most sought after screenwriters, and an intensely entertaining lead performance. "The Bourne Identity" and it's sequels are often credited with setting the par for most spy thrillers of the past decade - Does it deserve that credit? I believe so, for I have seen a multitude of films with similar concepts that have come out since "The Bourne Identity"'s release. However, most, if not all, of the movies that have tried to replicate what The "Bourne" movie's have done, cannot reach the level of intrigue that each of the "Bourne" movies have reached - and they promptly fall flat in comparison. That being said, everything about this film, beit it's fighting sequences, it's car chase, or it's intense cinematography has made an impact on the spy thriller genre, and the modern film industry, as a whole. All in all, I felt that "The Bourne Identity" was an intensely entertaining thriller with a large amount of intelligence clearly woven it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NathonasSep 6, 2016
Near perfection action/drama film. The action is not overblown and focuses on intelligent aspects instead of lots of explosions/gunfire, with the winter scene in the countryside being a prime example.

Great dialogue, intricate plot, great
Near perfection action/drama film. The action is not overblown and focuses on intelligent aspects instead of lots of explosions/gunfire, with the winter scene in the countryside being a prime example.

Great dialogue, intricate plot, great pacing, great character dynamics (like the changing relationship between the two main antagonist characters).

And the film does a great job of showing how Bourne completely outsmarts his opponents instead of using brute force.

It has some small flaws but is otherwise one of my favorite action films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bradtheman123Jan 4, 2015
From the beginning of the movie to the end of it I always felt suspense. From the 3 movies following it the story continues although the story is kind of confusing if you don't understand it from the beginning, or don't have someone toFrom the beginning of the movie to the end of it I always felt suspense. From the 3 movies following it the story continues although the story is kind of confusing if you don't understand it from the beginning, or don't have someone to properly explain it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Error404Apr 15, 2013
Awesome movie for James Bond fans! It is better for younger audiences in terms of suggestive content, but still pretty violent. Good story, characters, and stunts, not really a downside I could find, but it's still not the best movie I'veAwesome movie for James Bond fans! It is better for younger audiences in terms of suggestive content, but still pretty violent. Good story, characters, and stunts, not really a downside I could find, but it's still not the best movie I've seen. Still a good 9 out of 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The ultimate start to one of the best action movie trilogies, the Bourne Identity satisfies your action cravings, and gives you a dose of life on the run in foreign countries, something the majority of movies don't cover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ruhan_MOct 12, 2013
The Bourne Identity is the beginning of one of the best trilogies in recent memory and perhaps even of all time. This movie is really something special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A brilliant novel forged into an equally mesmerizing film.
The Bourne Identity cruises with ease as Matt Damon plays a humble but skilled agent in search of his own name.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingDec 14, 2013
Compelling and exciting, The Bourne Identity follows a sturdy plot with great characters and a swiftly paced thrill ride. It also has the perfect amount of suspense and a big scope to cement it as a success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJul 12, 2016
The acting was really good and the story was interesting.The characters were different from all the other Hollywood big budget films.The only thing The Bourne Identity is undeniably a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralSep 9, 2015
This is a fairly routine story that is generally well-handled, enough to be "involving" though somewhat short of "absorbing". It does manage to do something I've never seen before, involving the use of a human cadaver as a sort ofThis is a fairly routine story that is generally well-handled, enough to be "involving" though somewhat short of "absorbing". It does manage to do something I've never seen before, involving the use of a human cadaver as a sort of trampoline. But the film is not without its failings, such as when the character who beats up an entire procession of cops, guards and US Marines neglects to recognize the obvious advantage of changing his clothes and perhaps swapping out the big red bank bag he's carrying for something less conspicuous. All in all I'd say this is a competent production awash in a sea of Hollywood idiocy and as entertainment dollars go it's a better buy than most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Feb 19, 2016
Great pace to a very interesting film. Driven by Matt Damon who carries the film with his performance add to that a great story all add up to make it a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoJul 28, 2016
The Bourne Identity is an interesting, well-made and thrilling start to the Jason Bourne franchise. Matt Damon fits the title role perfectly, and the script manages to focus on both action and character development. It's certainly the leastThe Bourne Identity is an interesting, well-made and thrilling start to the Jason Bourne franchise. Matt Damon fits the title role perfectly, and the script manages to focus on both action and character development. It's certainly the least propulsive of the franchise, but nevertheless, there are still plenty of impressive action scenes to keep you on the edge of your seat. Overall, The Bourne Identity kicks off the Bourne franchise with a fun spy thriller that features a charismatic performance from Matt Damon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
A well paced, well acted, well directed, and well told, The Bourne identity does a solid job when it comes to making an action thriller. This movie is very enjoyable to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
So you wake up and don't remember a thing. What do you do? Some of the Users see this movie as an action movie with boring scenes. I think it's more of a mystery movie, "who am I", with some action scenes. Yowie, I don't know who I am soSo you wake up and don't remember a thing. What do you do? Some of the Users see this movie as an action movie with boring scenes. I think it's more of a mystery movie, "who am I", with some action scenes. Yowie, I don't know who I am so why are people trying to kill me? As he tries to discover who he is, he finds he has skills, like spy training CIA skills. I don't have many DVDs but this one is in my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
A solid action-suspense package that gets the job done. The movie proceeds in a precision fashion that keeps you entertained while managing not to insult your intelligence. All in all, The Bourne Identity is a refreshing departure from theA solid action-suspense package that gets the job done. The movie proceeds in a precision fashion that keeps you entertained while managing not to insult your intelligence. All in all, The Bourne Identity is a refreshing departure from the typical largesse of big-budget action films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 5, 2016
The Bourne Identity is starving for hungry audiences waiting to see this movie and so... they did. Results? This movie did nothing other than just standing there moving frames per second. That's how to love the Bourne Identity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsMay 28, 2017
This movie is truly great. I expected it to be good, not this good! Jason Bourne is ready to start his adventure in this great series. It was worth it to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews