Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 14, 2002
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 411 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
336
Mixed:
41
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
A cool action movie with some boring scenes and it looks even better than The Fugitive. This is the movie that starts the long spy series of Jason Bourne.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SumG.Oct 9, 2002
Pacy and well-done but not enough suspense. Great soundtrack.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MatthewS.Jun 16, 2002
A solid action-suspense package that gets the job done. The movie proceeds in a precision fashion that keeps you entertained while managing not to insult your intelligence. All in all, The Bourne Identity is a refreshing departure from the A solid action-suspense package that gets the job done. The movie proceeds in a precision fashion that keeps you entertained while managing not to insult your intelligence. All in all, The Bourne Identity is a refreshing departure from the typical largesse of big-budget action films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
sinadoomAug 25, 2012
This film defines what makes a great action thriller. The pacing is perfect, with no fillers but just under 2 hours of epicness. The balance between action and story, suspense and cinematic scenes is perfect. The story is very easy to follow,This film defines what makes a great action thriller. The pacing is perfect, with no fillers but just under 2 hours of epicness. The balance between action and story, suspense and cinematic scenes is perfect. The story is very easy to follow, it's direct, intriguing and filled with great voice acting from Matt Damon and almost perfect direction. There's not a single moment in this film where you are not immersed. You don't want to take your eyes off it, whereas a lot of action films tend to go for all-out explosions and miss out on the story. You can switch on and comeback to it later and still enjoy, like the Transporter films, but this one is so gripping and almost perfect in every way. All it's really missing is a bit more action and scenes to go in between - basically a tiny bit longer. On the whole it's a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Compelling and exciting, The Bourne Identity follows a sturdy plot with great characters and a swiftly paced thrill ride. It also has the perfect amount of suspense and a big scope to cement it as a success.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheDude-Oct 7, 2015
the bourne identity is a tremendous film with suspense, action and a gripping story to take you on a thrill ride of fun and brilliant film-making the film also has in my opinion Matt Damon's best performance yet my only flaw with this film isthe bourne identity is a tremendous film with suspense, action and a gripping story to take you on a thrill ride of fun and brilliant film-making the film also has in my opinion Matt Damon's best performance yet my only flaw with this film is that the plot can get a tad convoluted at times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JasonMay 26, 2008
Can't believe this has weakest rating out of trilogy. Wonderful movie with scenes to remember. Two other ones are just too fast and without decent plot. Nice work, one of my favorites
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
From start to finish, this is a great movie. It's got just the right amount of suspense, just the right amount of action, just the right amount of character development. I don't have a single complaint about this movie.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
LeciaG.Sep 19, 2002
YAY!! The best movie in the world along with Moulin Rouge and Lord of the Rings. Matt Damon is the BEST and Franka's got the coolest hair!!! Even tho it didn't follow the book to the letter it's definitely the best movie - in YAY!! The best movie in the world along with Moulin Rouge and Lord of the Rings. Matt Damon is the BEST and Franka's got the coolest hair!!! Even tho it didn't follow the book to the letter it's definitely the best movie - in fact if you don't see it you'll be condemned to HELL!! mmkay... maybe not that.....JUST GO AND SEE IT!!!!! If you don't you'll be missing one of the best movies of the year!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
abductionOct 6, 2011
Oh my god. Love it. Espesiall since it is Taylor Lautners favorite movie. I heart Taylor Lautner. Must watch again. Gotta go because I am going to watch the movie again. Thankyou for reading my review. Goodbye.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the great story. It's really good. Score is good to. Overall, this is a great start to a great series of JasonThis is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the great story. It's really good. Score is good to. Overall, this is a great start to a great series of Jason Bourne movies. You should watch it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Love this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AussieMovieFanOct 6, 2002
The best movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicoleV.Jun 24, 2002
Well-paced action - fun for those who pay attention - confusing for those who are more interested in what they're wearing and how they can "steal that look". A long deserved kudos to Doug Liman & Matt Damon on their graduation into the Well-paced action - fun for those who pay attention - confusing for those who are more interested in what they're wearing and how they can "steal that look". A long deserved kudos to Doug Liman & Matt Damon on their graduation into the big time action flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyD.Mar 5, 2003
One of the best movies that Matt Damon has ever done. Thrilling and fun! If you like adventure movies get this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
craiga.Aug 23, 2005
Gahhh! Can't resist! MUST... WATCH... AGAIN...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulJMay 4, 2009
This movie was intense and at the same time, made you think. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaneJun 16, 2002
Smart, action-packed, but character driven piece with fine acting and chase scenes. Some minor plot holes, but a fun and exhilarating ride thoroughly worth the $8.50. Matt Damon is believable and capable as Jason Bourne, handling the guns, Smart, action-packed, but character driven piece with fine acting and chase scenes. Some minor plot holes, but a fun and exhilarating ride thoroughly worth the $8.50. Matt Damon is believable and capable as Jason Bourne, handling the guns, fights and script with expertise and style. Franka Potente is a fine female lead. The Bourne Identity is much better than your typical action thriller, thank god. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrendanB.Jun 20, 2002
I liked it because there was really no point where I looked at my watch. I was entertained throughout the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackM.Jun 21, 2002
Good action/suspense all around. Followed the usual spy-thriller formula though. The fighting scenes were dissapointing though. They do all these quick, zoomed in shots where you can't tell what's happening. But that's my only Good action/suspense all around. Followed the usual spy-thriller formula though. The fighting scenes were dissapointing though. They do all these quick, zoomed in shots where you can't tell what's happening. But that's my only complaint. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveM.Jun 26, 2002
Good flick. Damon seems to keep "moving on up" while his best bud, Affleck seems to continue to stumble. Releasing the movies at roughly the same time, probably only compounds the comparison, but unlike "Sum", BI delivers...well...and Good flick. Damon seems to keep "moving on up" while his best bud, Affleck seems to continue to stumble. Releasing the movies at roughly the same time, probably only compounds the comparison, but unlike "Sum", BI delivers...well...and believably. Perhaps the only criticism I had, was the notion that I would have liked to see the director keep the identity of Jason from the audience unknown deeper into the movie. It may have increased the suspense. It just seemed like it was given up a little too soon. That small criticism aside, if you need an action fix, grab the car keys, and head to the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AladdinS.Jul 14, 2002
I saw it today and quite enjoyed it. It was entertaining all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelD.Jul 3, 2002
Story is exciting, realistic, and in fact honest at times. Action is suspenseful. However, be ready for a lot of hollywood coincidence and convenient inconsistency.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 3, 2002
Given the choice of watching Ben Affleck save America or Matt Damon kicking ass, I say go for the latter. He's sort of wrong for the part but that's what makes the fight scenes so much fun. If "The Bourne Identity" came out in the Given the choice of watching Ben Affleck save America or Matt Damon kicking ass, I say go for the latter. He's sort of wrong for the part but that's what makes the fight scenes so much fun. If "The Bourne Identity" came out in the late-eighties, and the producers wanted to cast an unlikely action star, Michael J. Fox would have gotten the nod. Damon is at his best when acting with Franka Potente. Because he is one. And she is a great one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhilW.Jul 5, 2002
A well done film, and Matt Damon has sure picked his roles better than Ben Affleck. But this movie is "Three Days of the Condor" with Matt Damon as Robert Redford and Franka Potente as Faye Dunaway. Chris Cooper is putting together a strng A well done film, and Matt Damon has sure picked his roles better than Ben Affleck. But this movie is "Three Days of the Condor" with Matt Damon as Robert Redford and Franka Potente as Faye Dunaway. Chris Cooper is putting together a strng of good performances to take over the type of roles that would have gone to JT Walsh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianP.Aug 8, 2002
What really impressed me about this movie was Matt Damon. I've always thought of him as a wimpy, all-american kid, thinking he couldn't carry an action movie. He proved me wrong. Damon's acting skill really carried this movie. What really impressed me about this movie was Matt Damon. I've always thought of him as a wimpy, all-american kid, thinking he couldn't carry an action movie. He proved me wrong. Damon's acting skill really carried this movie. I wish Liman would have explored the motivations of Cris Cooper's character, but was pleased with the plot overall. The action sequences were convincing, the dialogue not all-together alien, and the plot realistic, for those who know anything about the CIA's doings in Africa (read "In Search of Enemies" by John Stockwell). In the end, I give the film a B+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlackcatSep 4, 2002
I really enjoyed this movie - in fact, I saw it more than once. It was nice to watch a spy thriller that didn't rely on fancy special effects a la James Bond and instead focused on the characters, intelligence and logic. Hoping very I really enjoyed this movie - in fact, I saw it more than once. It was nice to watch a spy thriller that didn't rely on fancy special effects a la James Bond and instead focused on the characters, intelligence and logic. Hoping very much for a sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillD.Jan 5, 2003
Dude, remember that Spielberg/ Tom Cruise flick that came out at the same time as this one? Minority Report? Why do reviewers kiss so much butt, anyway? That movie was not very good, but it got great reviews. This movie rocked, and Dude, remember that Spielberg/ Tom Cruise flick that came out at the same time as this one? Minority Report? Why do reviewers kiss so much butt, anyway? That movie was not very good, but it got great reviews. This movie rocked, and didn't get very good reviews. Weird. Kind of like... oh, let's see here... EQUILIBRIUM which was the best release of 2002, and... Ballistic: Ecks v.s. Sever which rocked, and... the Ring, which was the coolest horror flick to hit the screen in forever. Critics are strange that way, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DenisSaint-MauriceFeb 11, 2003
Great story, well put together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaS.Mar 6, 2003
This movie was a delight to watch. The action was very believable and interesting, not like the spectacle crap movie making in James Bond. All of it made sense, nothing seemed to be exagerated. It was just very well put together with the This movie was a delight to watch. The action was very believable and interesting, not like the spectacle crap movie making in James Bond. All of it made sense, nothing seemed to be exagerated. It was just very well put together with the right director focusing on characters rather than explosions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful