The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Robert Ludlum's international thriller gets an edgy 21st century spin from director Doug Liman.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A first-rate thriller with grit and intrigue to spare.
  2. This is an entertainment that really entertains because any number of interesting and unexpected choices were made, starting with the selection of Doug Liman as the director.
  3. 80
    The full-throttle approach of director Doug Liman (Swingers, Go) is impressive.
  4. 75
    A skillful action movie about a plot that exists only to support a skillful action movie. The entire story is a set-up for the martial arts and chases. Because they are done well, because the movie is well-crafted and acted, we give it a pass. Too bad it's not about something.
  5. 70
    Director Doug Liman -- the hip skipper of "Swingers" and "Go" -- makes all the familiar dirty business seem fun and almost human. In these dog days, Bourne earns what passes as high praise: It doesn't suck.
  6. 60
    May be a bloodless piece of thriller craftsmanship, but at a time when craft has become negligible, its efficiency and whipcrack timing are increasingly uncommon virtues.
  7. 38
    The best audiences can hope for is that they, too, get amnesia and forget they ever saw this movie.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 107
  2. Negative: 1 out of 107
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, this is a great movie. It's got just the right amount of suspense, just the right amount of action, just the rightFrom start to finish, this is a great movie. It's got just the right amount of suspense, just the right amount of action, just the right amount of character development. I don't have a single complaint about this movie. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    This is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the greatThis is a 9 out of 10 movie. Acting pretty good. Matt Damon is really good at Jason Bourne. Action is pretty great. Which leads to the great story. It's really good. Score is good to. Overall, this is a great start to a great series of Jason Bourne movies. You should watch it. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2016
    9
    Near perfection action/drama film. The action is not overblown and focuses on intelligent aspects instead of lots of explosions/gunfire, withNear perfection action/drama film. The action is not overblown and focuses on intelligent aspects instead of lots of explosions/gunfire, with the winter scene in the countryside being a prime example.

    Great dialogue, intricate plot, great pacing, great character dynamics (like the changing relationship between the two main antagonist characters).

    And the film does a great job of showing how Bourne completely outsmarts his opponents instead of using brute force.

    It has some small flaws but is otherwise one of my favorite action films.
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    A good action flick with an interesting story but it never really captures you in the way it should have but its good enough to make you wannaA good action flick with an interesting story but it never really captures you in the way it should have but its good enough to make you wanna see the sequel. Matt Damon was a solid lead and the rest of the cast was good as well. I enjoyed it. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    Compelling and exciting, The Bourne Identity follows a sturdy plot with great characters and a swiftly paced thrill ride. It also has theCompelling and exciting, The Bourne Identity follows a sturdy plot with great characters and a swiftly paced thrill ride. It also has the perfect amount of suspense and a big scope to cement it as a success. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2016
    7
    The Bourne Identity is starving for hungry audiences waiting to see this movie and so... they did. Results? This movie did nothing other thanThe Bourne Identity is starving for hungry audiences waiting to see this movie and so... they did. Results? This movie did nothing other than just standing there moving frames per second. That's how to love the Bourne Identity. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2015
    6
    I remember how I loved The Bourne Identity when it first came out, the plot, the action, I thought everything was great about this film wasI remember how I loved The Bourne Identity when it first came out, the plot, the action, I thought everything was great about this film was riveting but then I saw it again and I dozed off for a little bit.

    The film doesn’t really holds up today but weirdly enough the plot and the action is style good. The fight scenes and the stunts are still impressive today but the sound effects are kinda bad, it actually put me off of the fight scenes this time around. How come punches sounded like that in movies back then? And how the hell was I ok with it? It took me out of the story and I struggled to get back in it.

    As distracting as the sound effects are in the film, The Bourne Identity has a good cast, Matt Damon is amazing in that role, completely belivable as this amnesiac dude who knows all of these thing. The story is simple but efficient as are the action scenes. It has a James Bondsy flavor, that is if James Bond was on a budget, which gives a gritty, realistic feel to the movie.

    The Bourne Identity has its quirks but it’s a rather entertaining film. by @wornoutspines
    Expand

See all 107 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.