Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 23, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 616 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
562
Mixed:
36
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
Man, the movie's still has the same intensity, same action sequences, same stupidity, and the same plot. I wonder if the movie might become something like the James Bond Franchise...
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
KenttheIceManJul 25, 2004
Definitely NOT as good as the first one. My only real complaint is the camerawork. What on earth were they thinking ?!! It is SO shaky and bumpy that it is hard to follow and in some cases I had to look away from the screen just to stop my Definitely NOT as good as the first one. My only real complaint is the camerawork. What on earth were they thinking ?!! It is SO shaky and bumpy that it is hard to follow and in some cases I had to look away from the screen just to stop my head from spinning. Idiots ! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
jacks.Sep 30, 2007
I wouldn't take any extremist sides, but overall the story was fairly straightforward (which is a blessing for this kind of genre), and yes, while the camera could indeed induce nausea, it was a very obvious character of the film I wouldn't take any extremist sides, but overall the story was fairly straightforward (which is a blessing for this kind of genre), and yes, while the camera could indeed induce nausea, it was a very obvious character of the film itself. Natural/ambient light should be the prerequisite for every film made. Unrealistic car chases coupled with insane walk-aways are unforgivable, but tight, choreographed fisticuffs were passable as the real deal. A bit of a quick-ending wrap up made it somewhat hurried, but characters remained true, and almost a bit stereotyped (unbeatable Bourne, bumbling crony, maiden-in-distress, et al.). A solid mediocre rating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PaulD.Oct 4, 2004
Some good action sequences, but somwhat repetitious, and pretty unbelievable. Bourne Identity was definitely superior.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StevieGSep 12, 2004
To all those who "love" this movie: are you on crack? Not that this is a terrible movie, it is not. But it is by no means "great." The editing is hyper-kinetic, like a methed-out music video. There is no character development at all. You To all those who "love" this movie: are you on crack? Not that this is a terrible movie, it is not. But it is by no means "great." The editing is hyper-kinetic, like a methed-out music video. There is no character development at all. You must have seen and liked the first movie (which I did) to even get this one. The level of unreal heroics in this film trumps the first easily. And there is a taxi in Russia which everyone in the world should own, as it seems to be able to absorb near nuclear attacks, yet keeps on ticking. Are we this starved for decent action movies that this is a blockbuster? This is a truly sad state of affairs. peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Sep 16, 2004
Very disappointing, as I thought the first one was so good. The car chase scenes in Moscow were absurd. And as someone below noted, wasn't that taxi EVER going to get totaled?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArmandoS.Jan 22, 2005
Boy, the director loves his handheld camera! Lots of action, but the plot was a little too unbelievable-spy films in general do not hold my interest-Matt Damon was mostly just grim throughout the movie-looks like the ending left open the Boy, the director loves his handheld camera! Lots of action, but the plot was a little too unbelievable-spy films in general do not hold my interest-Matt Damon was mostly just grim throughout the movie-looks like the ending left open the possibillity of a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewR.Feb 5, 2005
Great at maintaining tension, although a bit hard to follow, even having seen Bourne Identity. Interesting and enjoyable, but, in the end, pretty forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeremyM.Jul 23, 2004
Not as riviting as the first one. Still an interesting plot, but every action scene was head spinning. The camera was never still and it was confusing at times to make out what was going on. Damon was good again but the whole movie lacked depth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KerryR.Aug 15, 2004
This could have been a great film, but the camera work was dire. The whole film shaked about so much i came away with motion sickness. I hope directors log into this website and learn that the viewing audience want to be able to focus their This could have been a great film, but the camera work was dire. The whole film shaked about so much i came away with motion sickness. I hope directors log into this website and learn that the viewing audience want to be able to focus their eyes during the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Aug 17, 2004
Duck, Lola, Duck!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HunterPAug 17, 2004
Doesn't live up to the first movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
atomzer0Aug 13, 2007
Camera action made me sick. It was like the cameraman was trying to rollerblade on gravel and kept falling and turning and jerking. I understand why they did it that way, but it didn't work for me. I'd give it a 9 if not for the Camera action made me sick. It was like the cameraman was trying to rollerblade on gravel and kept falling and turning and jerking. I understand why they did it that way, but it didn't work for me. I'd give it a 9 if not for the "creative" camera motion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonHAug 31, 2007
This movie probably could have been much, much better. The camera simply sucked, saying that it made the experience more "real" and that it's "creative" is a load of crock. All that it does is give me a headache, a stomache ache, and no This movie probably could have been much, much better. The camera simply sucked, saying that it made the experience more "real" and that it's "creative" is a load of crock. All that it does is give me a headache, a stomache ache, and no idea what the hell is going on. Another poor feature of the movie was it's lack of humor. Identity had a perfect balance of humor and action, which fit well with a character slowly uncovering his past and incredible abilities. In this movie, suddenly bourne is a master at what he does. He no longer discovers himself, he no longer makes jokes. He's become a flat character by comparison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
This is the most boring movie of the three where I could have expected something more than that. The action thrill scenes are lesser than the last movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
[2/4 The Bourne Legacy Marathon]

The Bourne Supremacy [2004] They're not subtle with the shaky cams here. Scene with Bourne targetting Joan Allen with a sniper on the building was a highlight. I have to confess though, these films are
[2/4 The Bourne Legacy Marathon]

The Bourne Supremacy [2004]

They're not subtle with the shaky cams here. Scene with Bourne targetting Joan Allen with a sniper on the building was a highlight. I have to confess though, these films are well-made, but the Bourne films are just not working for me. It dosen't engage me, despite the quality of it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews