The Bourne Supremacy

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 567 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 567

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    The Bourne Supremacy is a rip-roaring juggernaut of a movie. It totally outclasses it's predecessor in every conceivable way, ratcheting up both the action sequences and the film's emotional core to thrilling levels. With superb acting, an excellent script and thunderous set-pieces, The Bourne Supremacy should be held as a textbook example of how to do a sequel right.
  2. JerryH.
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    This is an excellent follow up to Identity. It is tense, fun, and action packed. Paul Greengrass utilizes the camera well to get the most out of his actors and the action scenes, esp one particular car chase. Damon is on target as he fills in the character making for a very believable action hero. It's good to see Oksana Akinshina after Lilya 4-ever however briefly, and Karl Urban is This is an excellent follow up to Identity. It is tense, fun, and action packed. Paul Greengrass utilizes the camera well to get the most out of his actors and the action scenes, esp one particular car chase. Damon is on target as he fills in the character making for a very believable action hero. It's good to see Oksana Akinshina after Lilya 4-ever however briefly, and Karl Urban is solid as the guy the audience loves to hate. The rest of the cast is solid -- notice to Joan Allen and the director for forming her character in an interesting way. If you enjoyed the first, you won't be disappointed. Check it out. Expand
  3. DianaD.
    Jan 8, 2005
    8
    The shaky handheld feel will alienate some viewers, but The Bourne Supremacy is technically and narratively a much better film than its prequel. The acting is superb, and John Powell's score is also a stand out.
  4. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    A rare sequel that actually improves upon the original. The Bourne Supremacy duplicates everything that was right about The Bourne Identity, and improves upon it by making the story easier to follow.
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    The second of a great trilogy, Supremacy is just as thrilling and fresh as the first movie and revisits the same kind of storyline, now in different countries.
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    The Bourne Supremacy improves upon its original with great acting, and a good plot. It also follows Paul Greengrass' typical directing style; action, tension and unfortunately, too much shaky cam.
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    I liked it better than the first one. Since the beginning it develops an adrenaline line of action. Non expected at the beginning, but it only gives it more energy for what´s coming.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    Not as good as Identity, but still thrilling and a worthy follow on. I was hoping for more action, given that it's shorter, but the plot is good enough to keep it interesting.
  9. RemyB.
    Aug 6, 2010
    10
    An excellent movie.
  10. Matt
    Jul 21, 2004
    8
    This is a terrific follow-up to Bourne Identity that is well-written and intelligent. The plot is intriguing and the action suspenseful.
  11. MasaS.
    Jul 25, 2004
    9
    Incredibly entertaining and thrilling action flick with involving, intelligent characters and a great overall sense of urgency. The shaky cam is overkill but doesn't deter an otherwise excellent film.
  12. DanielleB.
    Aug 2, 2004
    8
    This felt like a whole new movie, instead of a sequel.
  13. Gregory
    Aug 9, 2004
    7
    I enjoyed the film, finding it interesting and exciting despite the heavy cutting in the last chase scene that made it very hard to follow: that scene, in particular, was more of a visual assault rather than a chase you could follow, though exciting nonetheless. The plot was easy to follow, in fact, predictable with virtually no surprises. This doesn't diminish from the action, but I enjoyed the film, finding it interesting and exciting despite the heavy cutting in the last chase scene that made it very hard to follow: that scene, in particular, was more of a visual assault rather than a chase you could follow, though exciting nonetheless. The plot was easy to follow, in fact, predictable with virtually no surprises. This doesn't diminish from the action, but one would hope to be a bit more surprised. This film is exciting, action eye-candy, a good ride and a nice sequel to The Bourne Identity, but not a real "thought-provoking" espionage thriller. Good fun and worth seeing for that alone, especially if you enjoyed the first film. One correction to Cameron's spoiler: the man Bourne spots in India is suspected by Bourne to be CIA operative. This turns out not to be the case, but it is the death of Marie that sets Bourne on fulfilling his promise of revenge made near the end of the first film. Expand
  14. SterlingC.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    This movie is the perfect sequel to The Bourne Identity and is mandatory for fast-action fans.
  15. IlzeS
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    A really good movie. One of the best thrillers this year. I didn?t saw part one, but this one I liked very much, because it?s dynamic and a new director Paul Greengrass made it very good and thrilling. Yes, really good!
  16. AlexanderW.
    Oct 8, 2004
    7
    The camera was not of the best, sometimes a viewer may lose track in who is chasing whom. Pretty predictable either. Anyway, it is a good movie to sit back and enjoy if you prefer not having to think about it too much.
  17. Fantasy
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    Forget the professional critics as they did not do this justice. It is superb piece of cinematography. It is a fast paced suspense thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. As the movie continues it reveals only bits and pieces of Jason Bourne's past identity. It is a guarantee that this will be a huge hit with the audience. Hopefully, we can look forward to a Bourne III. Forget the professional critics as they did not do this justice. It is superb piece of cinematography. It is a fast paced suspense thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. As the movie continues it reveals only bits and pieces of Jason Bourne's past identity. It is a guarantee that this will be a huge hit with the audience. Hopefully, we can look forward to a Bourne III. In a way, we have a spartan twenty-first century James Bond series developing without the predictable glamour and glitz. Don't miss it. Expand
  18. AdamX
    Jul 30, 2004
    7
    Entertaining, but Bourne is missing flair. What might have been perfectly impressive fight scenes use so much "jiggled-camera" that it gets tedious.
  19. LarryG.
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    Fantastic movie... Just as good as the first. Spectacular character that makes this series exciting!
  20. RickG.
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] Another fun two hours spent with everybody's favorite forgetful assassin. The film's best scene is near the end where Bourne makes rhetorical amends for his one of his crimes. This is not the greatest effort at screen play writing. The point of this film is to take its viewers into an imaginary world and it does that quite well. I mean I can't get enough of[***SPOILERS***] Another fun two hours spent with everybody's favorite forgetful assassin. The film's best scene is near the end where Bourne makes rhetorical amends for his one of his crimes. This is not the greatest effort at screen play writing. The point of this film is to take its viewers into an imaginary world and it does that quite well. I mean I can't get enough of Bourne and his enemies speeding their way in automobiles through crowded urban areas, and never killing anybody along the way and causing very few accidents. Of course, Bourne is always able to get through it alive and walk away. It's a formula but it's working for now. And Karl Urban made a great assassin himself. I'm knocking a point off of this one because the writers decided to off Franka's character so early in the film. I didn't want her killed off at at all, as Franka was my number one reason for wanting to see this film, but the least they could done was given her some more screen time. No more Marie just when she was looking her sexiest with her new hair style and tattoo. Damn it. Expand
  21. GaborA.
    Aug 2, 2004
    7
    The original had a more surprising plot development but lacked substance. It was just a repetative cat and mouse game. This time around the plot has no unpredictable surprises but what is a surprise is the quality of the movie. The action and thematical scenes finally get the material and craftmanship that they deserve. All in all Supremacy is far superior to its predecessor, and has The original had a more surprising plot development but lacked substance. It was just a repetative cat and mouse game. This time around the plot has no unpredictable surprises but what is a surprise is the quality of the movie. The action and thematical scenes finally get the material and craftmanship that they deserve. All in all Supremacy is far superior to its predecessor, and has moments good enough to establish itself as one of the best spy flicks out there. Expand
  22. GavinD.
    Aug 26, 2004
    9
    I have not seen a thriller that left so deep an impression on me as this in a long time. A classic genre (complete with retro touches) refreshed.
  23. HarrisonB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    Very good movie. The only thing I didn't like was the beginning when Marie .... But Matt Damon was great. This is a great movie.
  24. EdieP.
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    Anybody that doesn't like this movie doesn't like anything. I loved the 1st one and own both and I can't wait until 2007 when Matt Damon makes the Bourne Ultimatum and I'm a 72 year old woman!!
  25. NunoL.
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    Adorei.
  26. VikramM.
    Nov 27, 2004
    8
    The plot in this movie is great! The action in this movie is great! The acting in this movie is great! The camera movement in this movie is....not good. On some of the best action scenes I had to like shut my eyes just to understand what the heck was going on! The camera was moving way too fast. If the camera slowed down then I would give this movie a 10, but that camera was just moving The plot in this movie is great! The action in this movie is great! The acting in this movie is great! The camera movement in this movie is....not good. On some of the best action scenes I had to like shut my eyes just to understand what the heck was going on! The camera was moving way too fast. If the camera slowed down then I would give this movie a 10, but that camera was just moving way too fast. Overall this is a great sequel knowing that most sequels stink. Plot: Good Acting: Good Action: Good Camera: Not so Good. Overall: 8. Expand
  27. GeorgeH.
    Nov 5, 2004
    8
    Not bad, but not that good as "Bourne Idendity."
  28. DonnaA.
    Oct 17, 2004
    8
    Great movie!
  29. ElaineJ.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I loved this one more than the first one, I will buy when it comes out on video.
  30. Alexmich
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    Never has a thriller been so exiting.
  31. VinceH.
    Jul 24, 2004
    8
    I am glad to see someone else here recognized the girl from "Lilya 4-Ever". Anyway, I am a huge fan of Ludlum's Bourne books and also a huge fan of the first movie and was not dissapointed with this one. First of all, about half the people I know who've seen this movie think it's boring & too slow. The screenwriter Tony Gilroy (who also did the 1st one) has said that this I am glad to see someone else here recognized the girl from "Lilya 4-Ever". Anyway, I am a huge fan of Ludlum's Bourne books and also a huge fan of the first movie and was not dissapointed with this one. First of all, about half the people I know who've seen this movie think it's boring & too slow. The screenwriter Tony Gilroy (who also did the 1st one) has said that this movie is meant to be much darker and more character-oriented, with less action and dialogue. In fact, Matt Damon has maybe 3-4 pages of dialogue total in the whole film. Most of the screen time he is either running away or running from shadowy gov't agents in different European countries. This is a thinking man's thriller, intended for adults looking for a spy/suspense yarn that neither insults their intelligence nor dumbs for the audience. The action scenes are brilliantly done (the shaky camera should be recognizable to anyone here familiar with director Paul Greengrass's docudrama "Bloody Sunday"). Instead of depending on stupid flashy CGI effects and huge explosions, the car chases and numerous run-arounds are all done in a doc way, with natural lighting and on-location shooting that gives the film the feeling of real life taking place with real people, not some Hollywood backlot. Overall, those looking for non-stop glossy & stupid shootouts and action movie, goyou may be slightly let down. This is a dark, moody, and suspenseful thriller that really does reveal more about the character of Jason Bourne and is much more concerned with how Bourne acts and responds to his attacks than with big setpieces, altough they certainly don't dissapoint here. Expand
  32. BitBurn
    Jul 24, 2004
    9
    Action packed, good balance between dialog & actions scenes, clever surprises, strong script. What more do you want? Go see it!!
  33. Triniman
    Jul 24, 2004
    8
    4/5 Loses a star for being basically the same idea as the first film - the CIA is trying to kill him and he is on the run. Like the last time, he's willing to fight back. Kudos for the writers for not making this an overly sentimental film. The main bad guy in the film is a relentless Russian Secret Service agent, who reminds me of the Serbian sniper from the film Behind Enemy Lines. 4/5 Loses a star for being basically the same idea as the first film - the CIA is trying to kill him and he is on the run. Like the last time, he's willing to fight back. Kudos for the writers for not making this an overly sentimental film. The main bad guy in the film is a relentless Russian Secret Service agent, who reminds me of the Serbian sniper from the film Behind Enemy Lines. They say the adult thriller genre faded away after being peaking in the 70s. Hopefully, more quality thrillers will be made once this film is confirmed in a few days as a bona fide smash. Also, rent the astonishing sleeper film Spartan, if you enjoy the Bourne films. Worth seeing if you liked the first one. by Triniman Expand
  34. TimD.
    Jul 25, 2004
    9
    Completely amoral. Thoroughly entertaining. It is unbelievable that the film has us, the audience, rooting for a cold-blooded, non-stop killer. This has to be a credit to a well-made film that makes us willingly suspend our disbelief and moral system. The Bourne Supremacy is a real fun summer treat.
  35. JeffK.
    Jul 25, 2004
    8
    Everything about this movie works very well: acting, plot, pace, twists and turns. The only thing I didn't like about it was the bizarre directing choice to shoot almost the entire film with a steadycam (or I should say shaky cam). Within 5 minutes this became an annoying distraction from the movie itself. By the end of the movie, I actually had a headache. It's like someone Everything about this movie works very well: acting, plot, pace, twists and turns. The only thing I didn't like about it was the bizarre directing choice to shoot almost the entire film with a steadycam (or I should say shaky cam). Within 5 minutes this became an annoying distraction from the movie itself. By the end of the movie, I actually had a headache. It's like someone hammering away on the note "C" for an entire song: it quickly becomes tiresome. If you can get past the gimmicky camera-work, you'll enjoy the movie. Expand
  36. Ab76
    Jul 26, 2004
    9
    Philistines! The "shaky" camerawork reflects the favored handheld style of the director. It is an artistic choice that provides perspective, a first-person immediacy, to all the action. The quick cuts and editing creates the right unsettling feeling for the viewer that matches what Bourne experiences. That's the way a fight looks for someone in it. Anyway, yes, the film is not the Philistines! The "shaky" camerawork reflects the favored handheld style of the director. It is an artistic choice that provides perspective, a first-person immediacy, to all the action. The quick cuts and editing creates the right unsettling feeling for the viewer that matches what Bourne experiences. That's the way a fight looks for someone in it. Anyway, yes, the film is not the original so it's missing...originality in its plot. Fine. Also Bourne's character doesn't really evolve in this one and Landy doesn't have much arc either. However, the editing choice, the acting, the fantastic action sequences, the actual intrigue (are you listening Barbara Broccoli?), the locations and the unbelievable car chase are enough to merit a 9 out of 10. This movie rocks and I for one was never bored or irritated by its choices. Collapse
  37. FlipA.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    Four words: best car chase ever. BOURNE SUPREMACY is the perfect counterpoint to the Bond films: where high-tech implausible gadgets abound Bond, the brain compels Bourne to do what must be done, even if that means facing the consequences of his own disturbing acts. A truly wonderful action/adventure.
  38. IBSick
    Jul 28, 2004
    8
    A great follow up for the first installment. Loved the way the story was spelled out without interruptions of unlikely events. Only thing I hated about this movie was the constant rattling of the camera. The motions made me nauseous and I almost lost it in the cinema.
  39. NeilG
    Aug 22, 2004
    8
    Without giving too many plot spoilers, I have to say this is a wonderfully well executed movie. Very different in style to the first, I thought, having seen the trailer that such extensive use of hand held camera shots would make me ill, but it injects the movie with an urgency and confusion that jolts and shakes the viewer. This is a very effective way to reflect Bourne's own Without giving too many plot spoilers, I have to say this is a wonderfully well executed movie. Very different in style to the first, I thought, having seen the trailer that such extensive use of hand held camera shots would make me ill, but it injects the movie with an urgency and confusion that jolts and shakes the viewer. This is a very effective way to reflect Bourne's own situation, and a refreshing break from other, slicker but less affecting action movies. The plot is also excellent; the storyline is exciting and unpredictable and follows on seamlessly from the first film. Some may object to the movie's opacity, and Paul Greengrass certainly makes no concessions to the intelligence of the average action movie audience, with hints and clues to the reasons for Bourne's predicament peppered throughout the movie at split second intervals, but again this is a very suitable way in which to express Bourne's confusion. A real thrill to watch, if not quite as enjoyable as the first movie. Still definitely worth seeing. Expand
  40. BertB
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    Excellent, non stop action. At least as good as the first.
  41. YoonC.
    Jan 7, 2005
    8
    A worthy sequel to the excellent bourne identity. the visual style vibrates with tension, fear, anxiety, and paranoia as though the camera is circuited to the seismic undulations of bourne's unstable psyche. the acting is efficient and spartan. it's a world of sleek efficient killers in constant motion vs an army of dry, ruthless bureaucrats caught in the very web they've A worthy sequel to the excellent bourne identity. the visual style vibrates with tension, fear, anxiety, and paranoia as though the camera is circuited to the seismic undulations of bourne's unstable psyche. the acting is efficient and spartan. it's a world of sleek efficient killers in constant motion vs an army of dry, ruthless bureaucrats caught in the very web they've been spinning. some may object to the movie's morbid coolness, but i prefer thrills without frills to schlocky spy thrillers that either unconvincingly try to humanize characters or simply fall back on outlandish camp. this movie moves so fast and with such efficiency--like bourne himself--that it's worth admiring simply an exercise in filmnastics. jason bourne looks as though he's so pumped up with steroids that he needs to find a healthclub fast. his a terminator trying to regain his soul. he moves with mechanical grace, but his mind fumes and perspires nightmares. matt damon's performance is, at once, cold and personal. emotionally, he's like a frozen mummy whose heart is thawing from within and confronting the truth oft his identity buried beneath layers of amnesia. fast-paced, taut, and plenty violent but also thoughtprovoking and affecting. Expand
  42. ashrafn.
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    How can anyone slate this movie? its miles better than your average james bond film and is certainly more engaging, more engrossing and makes people feel as if they are part of the film.
  43. BobE.
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    Great!
  44. craiga.
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    Not as good as Identity, but still pummels Bond into a puddle.
  45. marshallm
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    Pretty darn great! action-packed, good cast, interesting story line, all-around great action film. :-) grade: 9.3
  46. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    7
    Entertaining, and very intelligently written. Although it's slow at parts, it ranks as one of the best movies of the summer. Matt Damon hands in a fine performance also.
  47. CameronS.
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    GREAT SPY MOVIE! The acting and pacing were AWESOME. The only complaint I have is some of the jerky camerawork. It kinda made me dizzy but it is forgiveable. GREAT MOVIE!
  48. KevinR.
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    A taut thriller carrying no baggage like superfluous love scenes or emotional anguish. One point off for annoying editing and too much (way too much) shaky camera work. Another point off for making the G-men seem way too competent. The minute Bourne steps off a train, three alert policemen have spotted him and tipped off the spooks and, whoopee, the chase is on. If our government were A taut thriller carrying no baggage like superfluous love scenes or emotional anguish. One point off for annoying editing and too much (way too much) shaky camera work. Another point off for making the G-men seem way too competent. The minute Bourne steps off a train, three alert policemen have spotted him and tipped off the spooks and, whoopee, the chase is on. If our government were even one tenth this capable, alert and persistent, Osama would've been captured years ago. (Or maybe it's just that they don't really want to catch him). Expand
  49. DennisP.
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    Equally as good, if not superior to "The Bourne Identity". Matt Damon keeps Bourne low-key which is very effective and Joan Allen is excellent as always. "The Bourne Supremacy" moves at a brisk pace, seemingly taking you to a new country every 5 minutes. Never a dull moment. Some of the rapid-fire editing during chase scenes and flashbacks gets a little annoying, but this a minor Equally as good, if not superior to "The Bourne Identity". Matt Damon keeps Bourne low-key which is very effective and Joan Allen is excellent as always. "The Bourne Supremacy" moves at a brisk pace, seemingly taking you to a new country every 5 minutes. Never a dull moment. Some of the rapid-fire editing during chase scenes and flashbacks gets a little annoying, but this a minor complaint in an otherwise excellent suspense / thriller. Expand
  50. BillC.
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    Far surpasses the first film, best popcorn movie in years.
  51. Blackcat
    Jul 24, 2004
    8
    Great movie - a worthy successsor to The Bourne Identity. It progressed the character of Bourne in an understated, subtle way that might even go over some of the viewer's heads on first viewing. Matt Damon did a great job showing the shades of emotions hidden behind the wall of the robotic assassin. I really hope for another sequel. I did take 2 points off for a bit of overuse on the Great movie - a worthy successsor to The Bourne Identity. It progressed the character of Bourne in an understated, subtle way that might even go over some of the viewer's heads on first viewing. Matt Damon did a great job showing the shades of emotions hidden behind the wall of the robotic assassin. I really hope for another sequel. I did take 2 points off for a bit of overuse on the camera editing style - most of the time it was fine, but there were a few instances were it was frustrating because I wanted to see more clearly what was going on. All in all - a great thinking man's action movie. Expand
  52. RemyB.
    Jul 25, 2004
    9
    An excellent movie.
  53. RemM.
    Jul 25, 2004
    8
    Fair movie. Only fair.
  54. BenA.
    Jul 25, 2004
    7
    Acting=good story= very good editing = awful cinematography = possibly the worst ever. You can't see what's going on most of the time. Conclusion: see it, but sit in the back.
  55. PatrickM.
    Jul 25, 2004
    7
    So, you thought the camera work was bad? Did you happen to sit in the front row? Needless to say, my neck was sore by the end. But, that alone didn't stop me from genuinely enjoying this. Damon portrays a killing machine perfectly...very much devoid of emotions. I thought his backtracking was clever and Brian Cox was good as ever. The car chase everyone is talking about could very So, you thought the camera work was bad? Did you happen to sit in the front row? Needless to say, my neck was sore by the end. But, that alone didn't stop me from genuinely enjoying this. Damon portrays a killing machine perfectly...very much devoid of emotions. I thought his backtracking was clever and Brian Cox was good as ever. The car chase everyone is talking about could very well be the coolest thing I have seen. People that say it was boring MUST see King Arthur because that is mindless entertainment and Bruckheimer is involved. This movie makes you think. But, I hear the books are very much different and better, so who knows...Not as good or innovative as "Identity", but definitely worth seeing. Just wish I had arrived earlier... Expand
  56. Jon
    Jul 26, 2004
    8
    This is an excellent action movie, in many ways better than the first one. The director does an excellent job of creating an atmosphere of tension and while many people complain about the syteadicam shots the only time I found it annoying was during the fight scenes, where the first movie trumps this one, where you couldnt see what the heck was going on (yes in reality this occurs but I This is an excellent action movie, in many ways better than the first one. The director does an excellent job of creating an atmosphere of tension and while many people complain about the syteadicam shots the only time I found it annoying was during the fight scenes, where the first movie trumps this one, where you couldnt see what the heck was going on (yes in reality this occurs but I want to see the cool choreographed karate moves man!) ...regardless an excellent action movie that does everything well - keeps you on the edge of your seat (never boring), very well acted and has no annoying CGI bullsh*t. See it. A- Expand
  57. RickS
    Jul 26, 2004
    8
    The action is non-stop and I wasn't bored for a moment. Matt Damon is quite believable as an ex-CIA agent on the run. I would have rated this film higher if the MTV-style directing and editing weren't so overpowering. It really wears you out after a while! Additonally, Franka Potente (one of my favorite actresses) is MIA for much of the film. On the plus side, the Russian car The action is non-stop and I wasn't bored for a moment. Matt Damon is quite believable as an ex-CIA agent on the run. I would have rated this film higher if the MTV-style directing and editing weren't so overpowering. It really wears you out after a while! Additonally, Franka Potente (one of my favorite actresses) is MIA for much of the film. On the plus side, the Russian car chase sequence is incredible. Expand
  58. Nightkin
    Jul 28, 2004
    7
    An action-packed "spy vs. better spy" film; The Bourne Supremacy captures the escapism we've all come to love in old espionage films, though not retaining the more innovatively compelling qualities of the "The Bourne Identity." Wobbly camera-work and apparently choppy, repetitive transplantation of the original book put the director Paul Greengrass and screenwriter Tony Gilroy at An action-packed "spy vs. better spy" film; The Bourne Supremacy captures the escapism we've all come to love in old espionage films, though not retaining the more innovatively compelling qualities of the "The Bourne Identity." Wobbly camera-work and apparently choppy, repetitive transplantation of the original book put the director Paul Greengrass and screenwriter Tony Gilroy at fault for not bringing this second installment of the Bourne book series completely to life. Expand
  59. BenZ.
    Jul 28, 2004
    8
    Hmm... i'll have to say i was a bit dissapointed with this movie but still, it was very good and i think an 8 is a fair rating. This movie didn't exactly get my adrenaline rushing like the first installment did. The action scenes in here were very gritty and realistic but not neccesarily fun to watch or easy on the eyes. On a positive note though, the plot is much more enjoyable Hmm... i'll have to say i was a bit dissapointed with this movie but still, it was very good and i think an 8 is a fair rating. This movie didn't exactly get my adrenaline rushing like the first installment did. The action scenes in here were very gritty and realistic but not neccesarily fun to watch or easy on the eyes. On a positive note though, the plot is much more enjoyable here and the character development is much better. I'd have to say the best part of this movie was Joan Allen in the "evil CIA agent" role - Great character. Brian Cox, fabulous as usual. Matt Damon, a pleasure to watch. Julia Stiles a.ka. "the scene chewer", should not have been used in either of these films. Her presence is made even more distracting here with the worst hair style i've seen on screen in awhile. Overall though... great acting, good story, questionable action scenes, and one bad casting choice. Expand
  60. LaurenV.
    Jul 29, 2004
    7
    7 is a fair score for a fair movie. It was a decent action flick. The good reviews it got were well deserved.
  61. MikaelP.
    Jul 29, 2004
    9
    Wow. Here is a case of unexpected enthrallment. At the time that I saw the first film, I found it to be good and well made, yet forgettable among other spy/action films. Perhaps with my newly heightened sense of film nuances, I could go back and find more to it than I had before. I think this because if the first movie was close to as good as its sequel, I would not call it forgettable. Wow. Here is a case of unexpected enthrallment. At the time that I saw the first film, I found it to be good and well made, yet forgettable among other spy/action films. Perhaps with my newly heightened sense of film nuances, I could go back and find more to it than I had before. I think this because if the first movie was close to as good as its sequel, I would not call it forgettable. The action was incredible, the acting was top notch (even by Stiles!), I didn't want to leave my seat for a second to miss the action! Disregard complaints about "narrative"; there is so much to be found between words that this movie could be merited as much art as action. And let's not forget the car chase. Oh, baby! Supremacy would be granted a 10 from me were it not for the shaky camera that prevented my father from enjoying the film without having to close his eyes. Some have suggested that this is art. Wrong. The film was not done directly from Bourne's POV, therefore the camera is not there to interpret his thought pattern during intense scenes. It just makes the film difficult to enjoy for many people. Besides that, just incredible. Expand
  62. RichardG.
    Aug 15, 2004
    7
    If you loved the first Movie, you'll love this one as well. The hand held camera made me very dizzy, but in the end, it was an interesting story. Maybe for a 3rd sequel Bourne could get darker.
  63. PatC.
    Jan 29, 2005
    7
    Slightly better than the original. Believable depiction of the secret-agent mentality. Still have to wonder after it's over, who is this guy really?
  64. [Anonymous]
    Jul 29, 2005
    8
    Unlike the predeccessor, this one is buckled down and stragihtforward rather than somewhat explorative. The "realistic" look is nice, but sometimes it can be hard to discern things. I'm suprised they've made it this far without CG and digital effects.
  65. EmeryV.
    Dec 25, 2004
    7
    I thought this movie was good and pretty interesting. it kinda of seems to be one chase scene after another but the special effects are good and it is an over-all good film. good for anyone who likes aaction/thrillers.
  66. MelissaMe
    Dec 26, 2004
    8
    Good flick. Not a big fan of the choppy cinematography, but it didn't detract from the story.
  67. SimonB.
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    I frankly don't get how people review movies on this site. I've seen the most preposterous of comments on movies that are straight out excellent. The Bourne Supermacy follows what Bourne said in the first movie. He threatens Treadstone by saying they won't know what's coming until the counter-strike is finished. That promises a fast-paced movie ON THE START. Plot-lines I frankly don't get how people review movies on this site. I've seen the most preposterous of comments on movies that are straight out excellent. The Bourne Supermacy follows what Bourne said in the first movie. He threatens Treadstone by saying they won't know what's coming until the counter-strike is finished. That promises a fast-paced movie ON THE START. Plot-lines that were VERY obvious seem to be so oblivious to others that they decide to pluck their thought-motor out and call it a day. If some complain about the camera movement, well to them I would answer: "How would you imagine yourself in a fight?" ... Exactly. When you're in a fight like Jason gets into, you don't see everything around you. It's a fast-paced blur without conscience. Everything becomes instinct. And this is what this movie is about: Instinct. Instinct of survival. If the movie is too fast for you, try watching it in slow-motion. Expand
  68. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    Bourne & girlfriend now living in India, assassin comes after him, tragedy, goes after the CIA to find out what's going on.
    Not as good sequel to the excellent Bourne Identity which does have it's moments but seems to lack something that the first one had.
    Decent cast once again adding Joan Allen & Karl Urban to its roster & Brian Cox is the stand-out this time appearing a lot more.
    Bourne & girlfriend now living in India, assassin comes after him, tragedy, goes after the CIA to find out what's going on.
    Not as good sequel to the excellent Bourne Identity which does have it's moments but seems to lack something that the first one had.
    Decent cast once again adding Joan Allen & Karl Urban to its roster & Brian Cox is the stand-out this time appearing a lot more.
    Thought it got a bit stupid towards the end too with the silly car chase.
    Expand
  69. CRL
    Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Altogether more suspenseful, more concise, more intriguing, and more emotional than its predecessor, Bourne Supremacy is a step up from the usual generic thriller and benefits from a stellar performance by Matt Damon.
  70. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Not quite as intriguing as its predecessor or it's sequel, but still amazing. It does feel a bit more drawn out. Overall, however, it's well worth watching over and over.
  71. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    Parts of the film are good but it never really draws you in the way the first film did. More running and chasing in this film and a lot less hand to hand combat (which made the first film so good imo) in the action sequences. The plot is ok but it doesnt explain much, if anything really. Overall it was an ok film that never reachs the next level that its so close to reaching.
  72. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    There is one thing I appreciate about The Bourne movies more then anything else about them. And that is that they exist not only to make money, but to be a good movie. There are a lot of action franchises, such as Pirates of the Caribbean and Sherlock Holmes, that only exist to make money. They can be entertaining, but there's not a lot of thought put into them. The Bourne series tries toThere is one thing I appreciate about The Bourne movies more then anything else about them. And that is that they exist not only to make money, but to be a good movie. There are a lot of action franchises, such as Pirates of the Caribbean and Sherlock Holmes, that only exist to make money. They can be entertaining, but there's not a lot of thought put into them. The Bourne series tries to be a good movie, and they, for the most part, succeed. Of course, the two films I've seen thus far in the trilogy have not been without flaws. Far from it really. But they are entertaining, at the bare minimum, they have a plot, and well-defined characters. The Bourne Supermacy, like it's predecessor is not perfect, but it's trying. The Bourne Supremacy still contains the key plot elements from the first film: Jason Bourne is trying to learn more about his past, there's a plot to find and kill him, and utter confusion for both parties. The twist is that Bourne is being assumed for a crime he didn't commit (the murder of two agents). Once again, the similarities to the 90's The Fugitive are present, but I've delved into that in my previous review of the first film. In short, The Fugitive does a much better job. The Bourne Supremacy sports believable acting, much like the first. Action movies are famous for laughable dialogue and stiff acting, but The Bourne Supermacy has neither. Matt Damon performs very well for this episode in the Bourne trilogy. The rest of the actors also perform well, but it's pointless to compliment each actor individually. The action is considerably better in this sequel than in the original. Also, there are some very good chase scenes (there were chase scenes in the first, but they were quite dull to be honest), even though some of the automobiles seem a little too indestructible. There's even some well-needed emotion that wasn't present the last time around. The score, however, is less than satisfactory. The percussion is much too loud and overpowering, often annoying. Some of the instrument choices are questionable (including one instrument that we hear twice that resembles the belch of an obese couch potato), and many of the themes feel a little lost. Also, there are some jarring similarities to the superior Pirates of the Caribbean score. Also, the girl we see sleeping with Bourne at the beginning of the film is Marie from the first film. I tell you this, because I would not have recognized her if my companion had not told me so. Her hair is blonde, she looks different (she's wearing more makeup) and she even SOUNDS different. It doesn't make too much of a difference, though, because she dies within twenty minutes of the film's opening. And this brings up a major flaw of this movie: Bourne doesn't have a partner. In one respect, this works better because now Bourne is free to move at his own pace. However, this gives Bourne a little less personality, and it makes certain parts of the film feel a little empty. One scene at the beginning is near a stand with tons and tons of Lays brand potato chips, all the labels facing the screen. It would be hard to believe that there wasn't some sort of pay-off here. Also, there's a completely unnecessary scene that occurs in a club. There are some skimpily dressed women and it just feels so thrown in. This scene was literally added just for male appeal, and it disgusts me that this was thrown in just because guys like to see half-naked women. Really? It's unnecessary and tasteless. I digress. Lastly, The Bourne Supremacy doesn't feel completely connected to the first film. That's not to say it contradicts the first, but I feel confident that someone could watch The Bourne Supermacy with no knowledge of the first film and completely understand what was going on. The Bourne Supremacy is just as good as the original, and maybe just a bit better. There's problems to be sure; irritating score, unnecessary club scene, and the fact that the seeing the first film isn't even necessary for viewing this sequel. But the fantastic cast, great action and chase scenes, and some actual emotion more than make up for it's shortcomings. Expand
  73. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Supremacy is a well-made follow up to Identity in terms of action and suspense; however, its plot lacks in development, and, similar to most sequels, does not fully meet the standards the first film created.
  74. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Action sequence are even better. It's just awesome. Acting is good. Damon delivers again. Story continues, and it's still good. Score is still good. Overall, this is great sequel following the first one that's better in every way.
  75. Nov 21, 2015
    7
    Better than the original, The Bourne Supremacy is the rare sequel that takes what the original did well and improves upon it. Matt Damon is still dynamic as the titular Jason Bourne. The action can be a little hectic, which is what holds this one back a bit, as it can be hard to follow during the action sequences. It can also get a little bogged down in the details like all spy flicks, butBetter than the original, The Bourne Supremacy is the rare sequel that takes what the original did well and improves upon it. Matt Damon is still dynamic as the titular Jason Bourne. The action can be a little hectic, which is what holds this one back a bit, as it can be hard to follow during the action sequences. It can also get a little bogged down in the details like all spy flicks, but all the same, this is a very good action spy thriller. Director Paul Greengrass certainly knows what he is doing and knows how to tell a good story. The film is thrilling, the score is good, and the cinematography has moments of absolute brilliance (the shot of Bourne walking to his car in snow covered Russia comes to mind). Overall, The Bourne Supremacy is a good film that manages to entertain in spades even if it does nothing different from other spy films. Expand
  76. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    Jason Bourne is a great character and it's great to see him develop over the two movies. As for the action, the shaky-cam many complain about really is as distracting as they say. Overall a very good sequel though.
  77. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    In 2004 film "The Bourne Supremacy" is the Paul Greengrass-directed sequel to the acclaimed Doug Liman film "The Bourne Identity". The story follows the amnesiac titular character (Damon) as he attempts to find out more about his past as a black ops agent for the CIA. One of the things I noticed first about this film was the film's shift in aesthetics. Though Director Paul Greengrass' useIn 2004 film "The Bourne Supremacy" is the Paul Greengrass-directed sequel to the acclaimed Doug Liman film "The Bourne Identity". The story follows the amnesiac titular character (Damon) as he attempts to find out more about his past as a black ops agent for the CIA. One of the things I noticed first about this film was the film's shift in aesthetics. Though Director Paul Greengrass' use of hand-held cameras has often come under considerable disagreement from some critics and fans, I feel that this aspect of the film really sort of adds to the intensity of a lot of the action and dialogue sequences. While the camerawork may have changed, there are certain things about the film that stayed close to what made the first movie so successful. For one, Matt Damon's performance is once again terrific, and with his portrayal, the audience really gets to see some sides of Jason Bourne that they might not gotten to see in "Identity". John Powell's score is really well done, as it uses all of the themes from "Identity", but develops upon those themes so that we feel as though we are watching a different chapter in Bourne's life. Tony Gilroy's screenplay contains really compelling and entertaining dialogue and a very interesting adaption of Robert Ludlum's story. The action sequences are spectacular as well, for they once again showcase Jason Bourne's incredible ability to overcome immense odds with the skills he learned in the CIA. All in all, I felt that "The Bourne Supremacy" was a worthy installment in the "Bourne" franchise that upped the emotion and action to an impressive degree. Expand
  78. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Certainly not as good as the other two in the trilogy, but this is still a really good action thriller in its own right. Great locations and awesome action sequences.
  79. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Supremacy was much better than Identity on many levels. First of all, the plot was significantly deeper, secondly, the characters also had more depth than the first. There was much more emotion shown in Supremacy's characters and were well acted. The movie ended with all questions answered, which was appreciated, not saying the first one did.
  80. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Not quite as fresh and intriguing as its predecessor or its sequel, but still a brilliant film which you can watch over and over without getting bored.
  81. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    The Bourne Supremacy reigns supreme.
    With the sequel to the amazing spy thriller, The Bourne Supremacy just doesn't quite match the original. An equally great plot with equally great action, but doesn't quite reach the standards of suspense; although still very successful.
  82. Aug 27, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jason Bourne and Marie lead a serene life in a coastal town in India. The bliss ends suddenly after someone tries to frame Bourne for CIA deal gone wrong. "Bourne Supremacy" sets dynamic pace from the beginning. The storyline isn't as original and surprising as in "Bourne Identity", but it's a solid spy movie. No exaggeration. When I watch it I feel like I'm watching real, credible spy agency operation.

    The cinematography and fast cuts are a slight disappointment. In some fights and chases the scenes are too short, too jumpy. And I get it, I accept SOME shaky camera work in action sequence. But a calm conversation? Two people talking and I'm almost getting motion sickness, because the cinematographer can't keep a persons face in the frame. Other than that, the film is superb. Easily among my "top 10 ever". The casting team did a marvelous job. Matt Damon IS Jason Bourne. I'll always see Ward Abbott when I see Brian Cox. Joan Allen is not my favorite actress, but does very believable performance as Pamela Landy. Karl Urban became one of best cinema villains. His coldness fits the mood of the whole movie. A few years earlier I thought Karl Urban would always be Eomer from "The Lord of the Rings". Nope. Karl Urban is Kirill, the cold-blooded FSB hitman. And Marton Csokas, the Munich asset also performs brilliantly.

    I've seen the movie a few times. Maybe five. Every time I rewatch it I'm amazed how good a film can be without over the top CGI effects. Believable weapons, realistic explosions, brilliant hand-to-hand combat (Munich fight is one of best cinema fights EVER) and the Moscow car chase, damn, those cars crashing in the Volga taxi, the cars in the tunnel and the final crash inside the tunnel - WOW. My favorite movie car chase. Ever. There are some slight deficiencies about manual gear handling or survivability of head-on crash in a Volga (rrright), but other than that the chase is excellent.

    The soundtrack is very pleasant. Quite similar to the first movie. The general setting and filming locations provide immersively gloomy atmosphere. Cinematography is quite good if you forget about the shaking. Gripping action sequences and general fast-pace make it a very entertaining film. Highly recommended!
    Expand
  83. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    The Bourne Supremacy improves upon its original with great acting, and a good plot. It also follows Paul Greengrass' typical directing style; action, tension and unfortunately, too much shaky cam.
  84. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    The sequel to the Bourne Franchise is a great follow up that improves upon the series in action and thriller. Overall, a fantastic sequel to a great franchise.
  85. Nov 2, 2015
    8
    If you wish an action movie sequel can live up to expectations, then this is the movie for you. Like it's predecessor, The Bourne Supremacy is able to deliver a fun, exciting, and entertaining movie.
  86. Apr 19, 2016
    9
    The second of a great trilogy, Supremacy is just as thrilling and fresh as the first movie and revisits the same kind of storyline, now in different countries.
  87. Apr 5, 2016
    7
    The Bourne Supremacy is an improvement of the first installment in the Bourne franchise. This 7 feels more like a raised score, but its rounding system makes it look like a 7.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Like its various post-Cold War European locations, the film remains chilly and distant. Every time you feel like you're finally grabbing hold of something involving, the picture once again spins frustratingly out of reach.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    The action is confusing at first and the hyperventilated editing style at times goes beyond the pale, so pic ultimately emerges as an erratic but not unworthy sequel to its gritty, genre-invigorating predecessor.
  3. The loss of the first film's hurtling who-am-I? story engine is keenly felt, and too much time is spent observing the characters get on and off planes, trains, and automobiles.