Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 3, 2007
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 763 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
596
Mixed:
50
Negative:
117
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RyanneV.Sep 6, 2007
So action pact thrilling and insightful must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergeRMay 6, 2009
How anybody can give it less than ")" is beyond. You ask for logic and realism ín an action movie? Come on. The scene in the London railroad station just blew me away. So did the scene over the rooftops of Tanger. This is first class How anybody can give it less than ")" is beyond. You ask for logic and realism ín an action movie? Come on. The scene in the London railroad station just blew me away. So did the scene over the rooftops of Tanger. This is first class and has never been shown better, period. Who cares for logic, the whole James Bond series would have been produced! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinM.Nov 20, 2007
This film sets the standard for action films in the 21st century. Damon's minimalist style coupled with director Greengrass's au naturale style are a virtuoso combination. The Bourne Ultimatum (and the Bourne series for that This film sets the standard for action films in the 21st century. Damon's minimalist style coupled with director Greengrass's au naturale style are a virtuoso combination. The Bourne Ultimatum (and the Bourne series for that matter) is to the current Bond franchise what Batman Begins is to the old Batman franchise (Batman, Batman Forever, Batman and Robin, etc.). There is a clear difference in the quality, believability and style between them. It is refreshing to watch this film both because film-goers can now expect more from action films, and because (hopefully) lesser type action films will become less common because Ultimatum has raised the bar. A professional reviewer commented that after this final Bourne film, no other Bourne films should be made for two reasons-- 1) because Ludlum wrote only three books in the series, and 2) because inferior sequels shouldn't serve to denigrate the excellent job Ultimatum did to end the series. Prior to watching the film I agreed with this because I thoroughly respect and enjoy Ludlum's work (the initial reason I came to watch the first and subsequent Bourne films). But after watching Ultimatum, I must confess I've changed my mind simply because it would be a sizable loss for film-goers and film-makers alike if we all cannot see many more superbly made films such as Ultimatum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AcronA.Oct 6, 2007
This film, although highly praised, still managed to come out under-rated. Its not often that an action flick is elevated to art. What makes the Bourne Ultimatum so special is that it does it effortlessly. Nahhhh Strike all the above... I This film, although highly praised, still managed to come out under-rated. Its not often that an action flick is elevated to art. What makes the Bourne Ultimatum so special is that it does it effortlessly. Nahhhh Strike all the above... I JUST LOVE THIS FILM!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ROBERTM.Aug 3, 2007
Excellent story, non-stop action. Sets the Gold Standard for action, suspense thrillers. Superb cast, direction, camera work. I remember taking a breath at the start of the movie and another one an hour and fifty five minutes later when it ended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConnorH.Aug 30, 2007
I don't see how people didn't like this movie. It was suspenseful, action packed, and sometimes even funny. Best action movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaNAug 3, 2007
Action packed till the end. Definitely the best out of the three. Go see it, just for the sake that its one of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeneC.Aug 4, 2007
This is another great Bourne film. Lots of twists & turns, thinking and rethinking, and success is always determined by his smarts, aggressiveness, action and luck. The main character is not arrogant, but gritty, outnumbered and barely This is another great Bourne film. Lots of twists & turns, thinking and rethinking, and success is always determined by his smarts, aggressiveness, action and luck. The main character is not arrogant, but gritty, outnumbered and barely surviving. I think we all see ourselves like this in some ways. Love this series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachZ.Aug 5, 2007
The best Borne movie to date! You will not be disappointed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittanuN.Aug 6, 2007
I think Matt Damon is a great actor, and no one else could have pulled these movies off better them him!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PST.Aug 11, 2007
As far as the spy thriller genre is concerned, you simply can't get any better. Two thumbs up to a brilliant director and a wonderful cast of exceptional actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelSAug 12, 2007
Well worth your time and hard earned dollars to see this film. The action movie of the summer and I can only hope the series continues with Bourne Legacy and Bourne Betrayal. I can only guess that critics of the Wash Post never made it to Well worth your time and hard earned dollars to see this film. The action movie of the summer and I can only hope the series continues with Bourne Legacy and Bourne Betrayal. I can only guess that critics of the Wash Post never made it to the film as they apparently do often. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkG.Aug 16, 2007
Say what you like about the camera work, this movie tops both of it's predecessors and even generates a few smiles along the way as you see Bourne putting the CIA in its place. There was a portion that seemed a tad preachy, but I almost Say what you like about the camera work, this movie tops both of it's predecessors and even generates a few smiles along the way as you see Bourne putting the CIA in its place. There was a portion that seemed a tad preachy, but I almost expected it. Overall, very good. Especially if you liked #1 and 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickD.Aug 17, 2007
It was better than the first two. The pace and action were fantastic. I was not disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBAug 18, 2007
Easily the best action film of the year, if not the decade. Matt Damon managed to create a realistic, well-rounded character, which is pretty hard to do when you have very little dialogue with which to do so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Aug 20, 2007
What can I possibly say that has yet been stated about the third (and possibly final?) installment in the 'Bourne' franchise? Well, if I felt compelled to abash and debase the film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshCAug 30, 2007
Absolutely suspenseful, big time thrilling movie and amazing. I am clueless why some people don't like this movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrModul8Aug 4, 2007
by far the best blockbuster of the summer. non-stop action will leave you sweaty by the end. love the subtle digs they make at the current abuse of powers by the government (rendition, echelon, moral corruption). no way the franchise should by far the best blockbuster of the summer. non-stop action will leave you sweaty by the end. love the subtle digs they make at the current abuse of powers by the government (rendition, echelon, moral corruption). no way the franchise should stop here! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaniSAug 4, 2007
Smart, sexy and entertaining. What a movie should be!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Aug 4, 2007
One of the best action movies of the last decade. Critics are reduced to saying that the movie "tied loose ends up" because the movie integrates itself so well plot wise into the previous two movies. With that said, Ultimatum manages to have One of the best action movies of the last decade. Critics are reduced to saying that the movie "tied loose ends up" because the movie integrates itself so well plot wise into the previous two movies. With that said, Ultimatum manages to have its own unique pace and chemistry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenanH.Aug 4, 2007
The ridiculous action plus the unreal camera work creates one of the best movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.O.Aug 4, 2007
I don't know how you can not give this movie a ten. It is full with blood pumping action, that is much different then I have ever seen before. The action in this movie puts a new standard in business. Please go out and see it when you I don't know how you can not give this movie a ten. It is full with blood pumping action, that is much different then I have ever seen before. The action in this movie puts a new standard in business. Please go out and see it when you read this review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 4, 2007
it was extremely intense and exactly what i hoped it to be. this being the second sequel of the franchise, deep bow for keeping things fresh!! =)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardM.Aug 5, 2007
A fantastic action movie that services character and makes an attentive, intelligent audience really care what's happening to the protaganists. The directing style is superb -- Paul Greengrass wanted Bourne's world to come across A fantastic action movie that services character and makes an attentive, intelligent audience really care what's happening to the protaganists. The directing style is superb -- Paul Greengrass wanted Bourne's world to come across 'unconsidered.' It puts you right into his mind of spontaneous choice and observance. Brilliant! Easily the best movie of the year so far, all things considered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshWAug 8, 2007
The best action movie in memory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 9, 2007
my favorite out of the 3
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryK.Aug 9, 2007
Ignore the reviews that trash this film, and go have yourself a riveting good time at the movies. By the way, the hand-held camera effect that some reviewers have exaggerated is limited to only about the first ten minutes of the film. Even Ignore the reviews that trash this film, and go have yourself a riveting good time at the movies. By the way, the hand-held camera effect that some reviewers have exaggerated is limited to only about the first ten minutes of the film. Even then, it isn't employed nonstop for those entire ten minutes. Once this mistake, intentional or otherwise, passes, you can sit back and enjoy that long overdue, quality, action motion picture that we've all been waiting for. Jason Bourne ROCKS!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G-RadAndrewSep 3, 2007
Extremely fast paced and thrilling with non-stop action. This one is the best of The Bourne series yet, including the best action movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinM.Jan 13, 2008
Excellent movie from start to finish. I've rarely seen the third of a series as being the best of class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanS.Jan 9, 2008
Easily the best in the series, and perhaps the best action movie of the last 10 years. If you enjoyed the first two or action in general you owe it to yourself to watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshBJan 21, 2010
This film is absolutely incredible. One of the all around greatest action films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunJ.Nov 7, 2007
Worth Every Penny in the THEATRE plus Popcorn plus candy. I may even watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffN.Oct 25, 2007
A quintessential watermark for the action-thriller genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 30, 2007
The Bourne Ultimatum never quits. It's paced with extremely high ranked action sequences and intense drama moments. This episode of Jason Bourne totally rocks and owns the first two.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EM.Aug 11, 2007
This best action movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jrocknycAug 16, 2007
it's fast & frenetic, but never confusing -- very smart cameras & editing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeMAug 22, 2007
The Bourne Ultimatum is the best movie out this year. It is a spectacular, heart-pounding journey that shows you don't need to rack up the death toll to deliver a terrific action movie. This proves that, and proves it well. Matt Damon The Bourne Ultimatum is the best movie out this year. It is a spectacular, heart-pounding journey that shows you don't need to rack up the death toll to deliver a terrific action movie. This proves that, and proves it well. Matt Damon is back as Jason Bourne, the man who can't remember what he is. But this time around, he is starting to remember, and flashes are coming back to him. His goal in the movie is very simple: go back to the beginning. And this is just what he does as he makes his way to New York, where the CIA Deputy Director Noah Vosen is determined to take him down and take him out (played by the talented David Strathairn). Along with Mr. Vosen, is the returning Pamela Landy (Joan Allen), who doesn't believe in Noah's own plans, and, almost like Bourne, wants to get to the bottom of the entire case herself. There are some terrific action scenes in this film. The scene in the terminal with the British writer is very suspenseful, keeping you on edge as Bourne weaves he and his partner in and out and around security. There is a fight in an apartment that is reminiscent of the one in the house in "Bourne Supremacy," but this one is two times better and five times as brutal. The plot doesn't have as many twists and turns as the previous two in the trilogy, but this one grabs your attention and throttles you through a fast-paced, adrenaline-stimulated 2 hours. The music is one other thing to note, as it does a great job of keeping you awake, and note that the end credits song is good enough to worth staying around for (sung by Moby). It is hard to find action movies this smart, and yet this entertaining at the same time. The Bourne Ultimatum is first-class, as quite possibly one of the best trilogies ever comes to a close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonT.Aug 3, 2007
Wow! Gripping and exhausting! Brilliant fast-paced movie experience that builds logically and convincingly from the previous films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasS.Aug 3, 2007
I was gripping my seat during some of these action scenes, which is a good thing. Awesome follow-up to the other 2 Bourne movies. I agree with another reviewer about how nicely the ending ties back to the beginning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Capt.FahqAug 3, 2007
Just saw it, and it rocked my socks off!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohhnyS.Aug 3, 2007
Siiccckkkk~! amazing action amazing dialog
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.TaylorAug 4, 2007
This is one of the best summer action movies of the last several years. It's got a script as smart as Jason Bourne himself. I didn't breathe for minutes at a time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WexlerR.Aug 5, 2007
Minimal dialogue, action increasing exponentially throughout, building thu a series of incredible set pieces to a great finish
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Aug 6, 2007
Best of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianO.Sep 12, 2007
This is the first really great action movie I've seen in a very, very long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SedI.Sep 19, 2007
This is simply the greatest action film ever made. Though others say the "shaky cam" ruined this movie I think it added a sense of chaos and reality to the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RanalphJ.Sep 22, 2007
Awesome......the most definitive action thriller ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LR.Sep 26, 2007
Thought this movie was the best Bourne film out of all of them. Was the most entertaining and comparing it to most other action films its brilliant and easily surpasses them. Love the whole ending and the story wasn't soleness like a Thought this movie was the best Bourne film out of all of them. Was the most entertaining and comparing it to most other action films its brilliant and easily surpasses them. Love the whole ending and the story wasn't soleness like a lot of these action based things are. I enjoyed the dialogue which was clever and intelligently written and I am really pleased this superb trio of movies finished on such a high note. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnShellabargerSep 4, 2007
Only one thing needs to be said about Bourne Ultimatum. Because it it is a big step up from the first two Bourne movies, which were incredible in their own right, this third Bourne movie is so well made and realistic that even though it isOnly one thing needs to be said about Bourne Ultimatum. Because it it is a big step up from the first two Bourne movies, which were incredible in their own right, this third Bourne movie is so well made and realistic that even though it is an action movie it ought to win an Academy Award for Best Picture for 2007. Makes Casino Royal and Mission Impossible look like Kindergarden Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Sep 8, 2007
This has to be one of the best action films ever made. I found it completely believable, from the silent fights to the use of real news agencies. Even though looking back some of it seems unbelievable the direction and visual style made it This has to be one of the best action films ever made. I found it completely believable, from the silent fights to the use of real news agencies. Even though looking back some of it seems unbelievable the direction and visual style made it work. That and the way that some of the actions of the CIA seemed grimly close to reality (shooting innocent civilians, press censorship etc) I also felt that the shaky cam added to the action and helped emphasize the beauty of the more steady sequences. The score also was spot on. Rarely have I left a cinema thinking WOW is such big letters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoM.Jan 6, 2008
Best action thriller of the year !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabeKJan 19, 2009
Great action thriller. With all the crappy movies these days this one was a breath of fresh air. To all the people giving this movie bad ratings because it was not believable, you gotta be kidding me. It is a movie not reality, would you Great action thriller. With all the crappy movies these days this one was a breath of fresh air. To all the people giving this movie bad ratings because it was not believable, you gotta be kidding me. It is a movie not reality, would you watch superman and then say, this movie was ridiculous people cant fly or stop bullets. The point of Jason Bourne is that he is the ultimate operative. You go to a movie to escape reality, so shut up and enjoy a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LP.sorryDec 12, 2007
Sorry for my last review of this movie as i reviewed it without realy watching it properly. though i still stick with a few comments of mine i will now admit that i was totally wrong, after watching the movie the second time around i nowSorry for my last review of this movie as i reviewed it without realy watching it properly. though i still stick with a few comments of mine i will now admit that i was totally wrong, after watching the movie the second time around i now relise thats this is one of the best movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillBAug 12, 2007
After seeing the first two Bourne movies it seemed almost impossible that the third one could bring as much excitement, but of course I was proven wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArielGAug 17, 2007
Great sequel. I had initial reservations about this movie, after the high standards set by the previous two Bourne movies. But I wasn't disappointed, it was a exciting and intelligent thriller - The only thing I feel I should warn Great sequel. I had initial reservations about this movie, after the high standards set by the previous two Bourne movies. But I wasn't disappointed, it was a exciting and intelligent thriller - The only thing I feel I should warn people about is the shaky camera style. Every shot is shaky and can leave you leave you with a serious case of nausea and motion sickness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilMcCrackupAug 19, 2007
Tremendous from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheSpinnerSep 24, 2007
A night spent with Miss Venezuela or watching The Bourne Ultimatum? Easy choice. The best action movie since Supremacy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 24, 2007
Finally got to see Bourne3 and let me say it was everything it should have been, which is rare these days. I liked this picture the only thing bad i could say about it is that you don't really need a theatre to see it, unlike your Finally got to see Bourne3 and let me say it was everything it should have been, which is rare these days. I liked this picture the only thing bad i could say about it is that you don't really need a theatre to see it, unlike your Transformers or Pirates films where the "big screen" makes a difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusW.Sep 25, 2007
The Bourne Ultimatum was the best movie of the summer, and the car chases were top notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JTFeb 16, 2008
Simply the best, most cunning film of 2007. It's an exhilerating ride, filled with white-knuckle tension, jaw-dropping stunts, compelling characters, and an intelligence and depth that can't be appreciated until after repeated viewings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaineS.Nov 19, 2007
The best of all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JobadkinsNov 11, 2011
I have seen this movie many times and I have to say that when it comes to an action movie this never lets up.I couldn't even go to the bathroom in the movie theater because there was no moments in this movie where it gives you a break.If I'mI have seen this movie many times and I have to say that when it comes to an action movie this never lets up.I couldn't even go to the bathroom in the movie theater because there was no moments in this movie where it gives you a break.If I'm going to review this movie correctly then THIS movie is the "God of war" of movies,awesome!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
06MorrowJan 22, 2011
My friend gave me the box-set of the trilogy a few weeks ago, and to be honest, i don't want to give them back. The film is well made, clever, great performances all round (especially from Damon) and blows any James Bond film of the last 10My friend gave me the box-set of the trilogy a few weeks ago, and to be honest, i don't want to give them back. The film is well made, clever, great performances all round (especially from Damon) and blows any James Bond film of the last 10 years out the water. The best thrillers I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RoscoMay 24, 2011
Rarely in a trilogy does each movie improve on it's predacessor however in this case its a case of saving the best until last! The Bourne Identity and Supremacy where amazing but Ultimatum blows them out them water. It raises the bar andRarely in a trilogy does each movie improve on it's predacessor however in this case its a case of saving the best until last! The Bourne Identity and Supremacy where amazing but Ultimatum blows them out them water. It raises the bar and set's the standards for all spy, espionage, federal agent franchises - whatever you want to call them the likes of Bond, Bauer and McClane all have some serious work to do. This film picks up from the previous outing with Bourne escaping the authorities and on the run however he inadvertently becomes the target of Operation Blackbriar - a Treadstone upgrade whilst working with a London based journalist. Information from the reporter brings back new sets of memories for Bourne as he finally intends upon finding out about his dark past and who he truely is whilst evading a new ruthless breed of assassin leading to a phenominal finale in the final installment of a tremednous trilogy! This film has everything action from start to finish, superb suspense and a real thriller once more showcasing just how good a recipe it is with Paul Greengrass directing and Matt Damon in awesome form as Jason Bourne. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
CRLSep 10, 2011
The Bourne Ultimatum is a stylish, impeccably acted, well-written masterpiece of a thriller. From beginning to end there is never a dull moment, mixing thrilling chases, clever escapes, and more story than usually exists in ten thrillersThe Bourne Ultimatum is a stylish, impeccably acted, well-written masterpiece of a thriller. From beginning to end there is never a dull moment, mixing thrilling chases, clever escapes, and more story than usually exists in ten thrillers into two hours of excellence. The plot is intricate yet believable, and one of the best I've seen. I particularly loved how it incorporated so many elements of its predecessors, my favorite being Jason's final quote; a reference to what I remember as being one of Identity's finest moments. I personally like the cinematography; it fits the film. Matt Damon is once again amazing in his role, as well as the rest of the returning cast from the first two and the new characters. And it wraps up in style, with a brief cliffhanger and one of the best movie themes I've ever heard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Geoffory2May 14, 2012
Awesome So good, Amazing, sweet as bro this movie was great the best one in the trilogy for sure the best action spy thriller ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
The rating slider appears to be broken, it won't go above ten. This is my second favorite movie ever. Nonstop action. Political intrigue. Jason bourne is a bada** throughout, but not in the over-the-top kung-fu movie kind of way. If you likedThe rating slider appears to be broken, it won't go above ten. This is my second favorite movie ever. Nonstop action. Political intrigue. Jason bourne is a bada** throughout, but not in the over-the-top kung-fu movie kind of way. If you liked the first 2 movies you'll love this one. If you didn't like the first two, then you may want to see a psychologist ;). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
night_raven26Nov 19, 2011
It's safe to say that Jason Bourne is this generation's James Bond, only with better fighting.
This film is a fast-paced, satisfying ending to a groundbreaking spy series of the 2000s. Filled with unexpected twists and Bourne's clever
It's safe to say that Jason Bourne is this generation's James Bond, only with better fighting.
This film is a fast-paced, satisfying ending to a groundbreaking spy series of the 2000s. Filled with unexpected twists and Bourne's clever planning, the Bourne Ultimatum keeps the viewer on the edge of the seat during the whole movie.
The Moby Extreme Ways ending song is just perfect for this movie.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Almost perfect. Acting is great. Everyone performed greatly. Music and score is really good. Story continues with great action scenes. There so amazing. Well crafted. Overall, this is a great film. BlowsFirst off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Almost perfect. Acting is great. Everyone performed greatly. Music and score is really good. Story continues with great action scenes. There so amazing. Well crafted. Overall, this is a great film. Blows first 2 out of the water. This film is great, and is highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriosityMar 22, 2013
The Bourne Ultimatum is easily the best of the three films and arguably the greatestt action film ever with its breakneck pace and incredible camerawork.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
adrenilinmattFeb 16, 2016
The low user scores here are shameful. See imdb or rotten tomatoes for a more accurate score. This movie finished a perfect trilogy perfectly. Jason Bourne is the ultimate action hero. The story and action are top notch, car chasesThe low user scores here are shameful. See imdb or rotten tomatoes for a more accurate score. This movie finished a perfect trilogy perfectly. Jason Bourne is the ultimate action hero. The story and action are top notch, car chases spectacular, as they were in the penultimate movie. Just see this trilogy if you haven't already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"The Bourne Ultimatum" is director Paul Greengrass' final installment of the Bourne franchise. The film stars Matt Damon and starts up where the previous film ("The Bourne Supremacy") left off. To start off, "Ultimatum" had big shoes to fill"The Bourne Ultimatum" is director Paul Greengrass' final installment of the Bourne franchise. The film stars Matt Damon and starts up where the previous film ("The Bourne Supremacy") left off. To start off, "Ultimatum" had big shoes to fill - "Identity" set the proverbial bar for the franchise and "Supremacy" raised this bar. Does "Ultimatum" live up to the expectations that it was assigned? In short. . .yeah. . .yeah it does. "Ultimatum" is an expertly crafted film that takes every facet of the first two films and elevates them to an exponential degree. I honestly did not believe the claim that these movies got better with each installment. But, hey, seeing is believing I guess. Just when I thought that Matt Damon's portrayal of Bourne was multifaceted enough, he adds more complicated and compelling layers to this character in "Ultimatum" - I mean, layers upon layers of Bourne are presented throughout this film. If you thought that you had gained a strong emotional attachment to Bourne via the first two movies, well see the third because Damon just blasts expectations with this performance. This performance and the overall film as a whole, is built up by the brilliantly written screenplay by Tony Gilroy. This script is the fulcrum of the film. It's brisk dialogue and precious I-Can't-Believe-That-Just-Happened moments make the film that much more amusing as a whole. One of my favorite aspects of the entire Bourne franchise is the score. Whether it's John Powell's fast-paced music or Moby's stylish trademark song "Extreme Ways", the recurring musical elements really help to embed the film into the audience's head. Paul Greengrass' impressive direction is once again a masterstroke aspect of this film's massive appeal. I would say that, in the end, "The Bourne Ultimatum" surpassed my expectations and lifted the franchise to unfathomable heights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
odedrasiel23Aug 7, 2013
wowwww this movie was one of the best action movies ever and all this series
was on of the 5 best trilogi ever!!!!!!!!!!!
This was the best bourne movie from the three movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ruhan_MOct 12, 2013
A brainless action movie directed and acted EXTREMELY well. This movie is almost perfect and it is one of those movies that will be talked about twenty years from now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Paarthurnax16Jul 9, 2015
From the moment that the opening title appeared, I knew we were in for a ride. Paul Greengrass has done it again. Everything we love from the previous Bourne films is here once again: the action, the dialogue, and of course the shaky camera.From the moment that the opening title appeared, I knew we were in for a ride. Paul Greengrass has done it again. Everything we love from the previous Bourne films is here once again: the action, the dialogue, and of course the shaky camera. However for me, that last one was never a problem. I think it adds to the suspense.

It is a perfectly satisfying conclusion, and should stand the test of time as a fantastic movie, and altogether, an unforgettable trilogy.
The Bourne Ultimatum has a great plot, awesome writing, fantastic direction, suspense, and some of the best action of the summer. Matt Damon delivers possibly his best performance to date. He has the conviction and swelling desire of the troubled assassin.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
With great cinematography, great characterization, and even better action sequences, The Bourne Ultimatum is not only better than its predecessors, but it is the best film in the Bourne Franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TomS.Aug 8, 2007
This was, quite simply, one of the most exciting movies I've ever seen. A virtuoso display of shooting and editing. Amazing. As for you people who found it headache-inducing, maybe you should stay home and watch Merchant-Ivory costume pics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulKaneAug 10, 2007
The same manic handheld camerawork that was prevelant in supremacy reigns here, but for some reason it works better or maybe i've succumbed? The "where it all began" flashback sequence that popped up throughout the whole movie shouldThe same manic handheld camerawork that was prevelant in supremacy reigns here, but for some reason it works better or maybe i've succumbed? The "where it all began" flashback sequence that popped up throughout the whole movie should have been condensed. That aside, this is a good action thriller worth seeing at some point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesH.Aug 17, 2007
Good ending for the trilogy! Some parts are not logical, but, hey, it's just a movie, compared with other crappy action films, Jason Bourne rcoks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkM.Aug 3, 2007
Engrossing and satisfying despite some implausible moments that scoff at the laws of physics. If you liked the first two, you'll like this one. The way the final scene of "Supremacy" is woven into this movie is ingenious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartyY.Aug 4, 2007
I had to sit in the far back rows as I am prone to motion sickness and director Paul Greengrass' camera is prone to motion. But the story, direction and acting are all top notch. Matt Damon is a total badass and Julia Stiles is I had to sit in the far back rows as I am prone to motion sickness and director Paul Greengrass' camera is prone to motion. But the story, direction and acting are all top notch. Matt Damon is a total badass and Julia Stiles is surprisingly great. There are a couple of clunky lines here and there; luckily Matt Damon is terse throughout. Brilliant intertwining of the previous films and taut, dizzying action make this film one of the summer's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OthoS.Aug 4, 2007
The only reason I am not giving this exciting film a 10 is that it is confusing at spots, particulalry when it tries to fill in the neophytes on what has happened in the previous two films in the franchise. Let 'em go back and rent the The only reason I am not giving this exciting film a 10 is that it is confusing at spots, particulalry when it tries to fill in the neophytes on what has happened in the previous two films in the franchise. Let 'em go back and rent the other two. It's like picking up the third Harry Potter book and expecting to know what's going on. I was especially confused by the reprise of the end of the SUPREMACY just before the climax of the ULTIMATUM, i.e. the "You should get some sleep, Pam, you look tired" conversation. Can anyone explain why that scene was repeated? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Aug 6, 2007
Best of the trilogy this movie was just amazing. but what was up with the camer-man with heroine relapses I couldn't see a thing he was shaking so much made it kinda hard to see what was happening but aside from that the movie was Best of the trilogy this movie was just amazing. but what was up with the camer-man with heroine relapses I couldn't see a thing he was shaking so much made it kinda hard to see what was happening but aside from that the movie was incredible I want to see it again already and I just saw it yesterday. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KentH.Sep 22, 2007
Extremely enjoyable but the plot left room for sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardK.Aug 11, 2007
A good show, I will get the dvd. A lot of hand held camera action shots in places that did not need all that camera movement...Matt Damon is one cool dude. Excellent fight scenes & car chase/crash scenes. Hard to remember a dull moment in A good show, I will get the dvd. A lot of hand held camera action shots in places that did not need all that camera movement...Matt Damon is one cool dude. Excellent fight scenes & car chase/crash scenes. Hard to remember a dull moment in this movie. Nice ending. We want more... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lesdazzleAug 12, 2007
anyone who gave this movie less then 5 must be a labotimized zombie,i gave up chewing my nails last year but could not stop through entire pic and you are always cheering on bourne great action and locals and i would rather take the hyperanyone who gave this movie less then 5 must be a labotimized zombie,i gave up chewing my nails last year but could not stop through entire pic and you are always cheering on bourne great action and locals and i would rather take the hyper realism of hand held then seamless boring cgi effects anyday Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
halbAug 10, 2007
Excellent, action-packed, pulse-pounding, expertly directed, well acted... with characters you actually care about, and a plot that mirrors our current national obsession with security. The Bourne Trilogy and Matt Damon are worth catching!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FionaW.Aug 3, 2007
Fast-paced in the best possible way. Yes, there's flash and discord through most of the shots, but that's what makes the film sing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Aug 4, 2007
In a year thats been the 3rd in a series for every other movie released, The Bourne Ultimatum is the first one that leaves you actually wanting there to be a fourth! The Bourne series is the only trilogy that has progressively gotten better In a year thats been the 3rd in a series for every other movie released, The Bourne Ultimatum is the first one that leaves you actually wanting there to be a fourth! The Bourne series is the only trilogy that has progressively gotten better with each installment and the only one that has stayed true to its course without blowing the works trying to out-do its preecessors. Matt Damon is perfect as Jason Bourne and carries the movie without relying on gimmicks like Johnny Depp does in the Pirates franchise, and unlike the Bond series, they will never be able to find a replacement for Damon. I know Ultimatum is supposed to be the last Bourne movie, but atleast we finally have a 3 that we would love to see a 4 instead of "Thank God, that's over". The Bourne Ultimatum is the Coolest movie of the year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BibliotechaSanchezAug 4, 2007
Great movie! The girl reminds me of my girlfriend. Very far-fetched movie, though. I didn't see the first two, but heard the rave reviews of them. Matt Damon is a good actor because he's always honest with himself. Good action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimAndersonAug 4, 2007
I was shocked and exhilarated to see a movie that I was hoping would be at least good escapist entertainment turn into something with timely political content and a conscience: The Manchurian Candidate meets the Bush administration. It is I was shocked and exhilarated to see a movie that I was hoping would be at least good escapist entertainment turn into something with timely political content and a conscience: The Manchurian Candidate meets the Bush administration. It is also breathtakingly exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayR.Aug 6, 2007
Awesome! The Bourne Series just keeps getting better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexG.Aug 7, 2007
My only complaint would be that, the movie is very tiring on the eyes, due to the fact that a steady-cam wasn't used in any of the car chases; etc. Aside, from that minor qualm. The movie was highly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousApr 9, 2008
Simply amazing,fantastic action scenes that just pull you into the screen and astonish you with the dexterity, fluidity and intelligence of every turn. It really makes you stop to wonder how it is executed so much better than maybe every Simply amazing,fantastic action scenes that just pull you into the screen and astonish you with the dexterity, fluidity and intelligence of every turn. It really makes you stop to wonder how it is executed so much better than maybe every other action movie period. I don't think I've ever thought "intelligent" in conjunction with an action sequence the way I do when I think about this movie. It's a definite gem and something you'll want to see multiple times. Not sure I've ever seen a trilogy like this and hoped for a 4th (I'm talking to you Matrix & Mission Impossible) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimmyHSep 3, 2009
It really can be regarded as one of best action/spy films ever made, for its emphasis on the story and atmosphere, both of which have the fastest pace among the trilogy. And this is just what is capable of keeping you going on with Matt It really can be regarded as one of best action/spy films ever made, for its emphasis on the story and atmosphere, both of which have the fastest pace among the trilogy. And this is just what is capable of keeping you going on with Matt Damon's tense. There're not many action sequences in the whole film in fact, or what you call fight sequences. Pretty a lot are foot chases or Bourne's tricks to help Ross (a role in the film) run away from CIA agents. However, these non-action sequences are still able to make the viewers fell excited. Near the end of the film there's a car chase, which ends in a similar way that the one in Supremacy did. It's okay but it's not as good. The foot chase on the rooftop in Moroco and the hand-to-hand martial combat between Bourne and Desh afterwards is no doubt the highlight of the entire movie. Like its predecessor, Bourne's intelligence is still the main worth-watching point, which is also the major factor that makes the story brilliant. The major flaw is the camera work, which shakes all the time. It made the car chase hard to see (it's hard to tell how many cars were involved there and which car bumped into which). But the hand-to-hand combats are still okay enough with the shaky camera, unlike that one in the apartment in Supremacy, where camera shakes too heavily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
keDec 27, 2007
The best out of the trilogy and has some really good action scenes. Best action movie of the year, though the ending doesn't explain too much
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexP.Aug 15, 2007
It's true what they say: one of the best action movies of 2007, and probably in the past 5 years. What makes it so engaging though is its die-hard commitment to "keeping it real" so to speak. He's about as far from the James Bonds It's true what they say: one of the best action movies of 2007, and probably in the past 5 years. What makes it so engaging though is its die-hard commitment to "keeping it real" so to speak. He's about as far from the James Bonds of old or the John McCain's of forever as you can get. He is understated, subtle, and unlike other action stars who forget all character development once bombs start going off, Damon never breaks from his character's resistance to and confusion of his surroundings. Smart, never boring. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Rev.R.Aug 17, 2007
Greengrass accomplishes the difficult task of melding complex espionage movements with the simplicity of heart-pounding action. This movie felt like trying to contemplate the mysterious movements of the solar system while riding one hell of Greengrass accomplishes the difficult task of melding complex espionage movements with the simplicity of heart-pounding action. This movie felt like trying to contemplate the mysterious movements of the solar system while riding one hell of a roller coaster. Usually one bows to the other; except in this great film. Amid explosions, gunfire, and automobiles dismantling while moving, this film moves with its own sense of grace as the viewer thinks on their feet while the heart races. They move in perfect timing. This is the summer's best action movie and merits that distinction with ease. At last something really refreshing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonBourneAug 19, 2007
Lousy film snobs with superiority complex will give in occasional 1 and 2 (out of 10), but do not be bothered by them. This movie is easily the best of its genre in recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinC.Aug 26, 2007
A wonderful, taught thriller that really ties all three movies together nicely and avoids most cliches of the genre. I left the theatre satisfied. The ending was a little rushed, but that's about it. @ Pedro G. - I'm sorry, but A wonderful, taught thriller that really ties all three movies together nicely and avoids most cliches of the genre. I left the theatre satisfied. The ending was a little rushed, but that's about it. @ Pedro G. - I'm sorry, but your comments are ridiculous. All the movie was doing was asking how far a government should be willing to go in order to protect itself before it's morally unsound. Maybe you didn't catch it because you seem to be someone who sees the world in black and white shades and assumes everyone else does. Calling the director of this film as a Hollywood propagandist is laughable, especially considering he was accused of being a mindless Bush supporter last year when he directed "United 93". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful