User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 180
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    4
    What starts off as a promising film to some extent slowly but surely begins to unravel itself from that decently tied knot after the first thirty minutes. After that, it's all downhill for 'The Box'. While the premise itself is somewhat interesting (based on a 1970 short story titled "Button Button") the screenplay fails to maximise whatever potential the story might have had, insteadWhat starts off as a promising film to some extent slowly but surely begins to unravel itself from that decently tied knot after the first thirty minutes. After that, it's all downhill for 'The Box'. While the premise itself is somewhat interesting (based on a 1970 short story titled "Button Button") the screenplay fails to maximise whatever potential the story might have had, instead decides to capitalize on a plot line that is incredibly far-fetched and never makes perfect sense. Regardless, I'm sure *some* fans of the psychological thriller genre will enjoy. Expand
  2. GeorgeP.
    Apr 25, 2010
    4
    Fine to begin with, good premise and all, then a deterioration as the movie tackled too much, became involved with more details than it could manage, lost believability, became confusing. It left too much unanswered. A disappointment.
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    5
    A movie that manages to bring back some of that suspense most movies lack these days but despite being longer than the average movie, it does not manage to offer any closure and the explanation for events is all over the place with the viewer sometimes left to wonder if he's being toyed with or if he should accept what he sees on the screen for a fact. It goes downhill in the last 40A movie that manages to bring back some of that suspense most movies lack these days but despite being longer than the average movie, it does not manage to offer any closure and the explanation for events is all over the place with the viewer sometimes left to wonder if he's being toyed with or if he should accept what he sees on the screen for a fact. It goes downhill in the last 40 minutes or so as if though the writers had a sugar rush. Cameron Diaz was just fine, not a big fan of her work but she brought to the screen a convincing housewife. Although I liked the movie, I can't recommend this movie as the ending is simply frustrating. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    The Box is a confused and strange film that many focus on confusing the audience and WTF moments instead of anything else. The film got ruined half way through.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    The Box pushes your buttons.
    An extremely average execution of what possibly could have been a really exiting film. The premise is clever, and the acting is fine. The direction could use some serious help as the movie has a hard time getting going. It feels like the characters are almost in limbo until finally everything happens very quickly. I would have liked to see Christopher Nolan or
    The Box pushes your buttons.
    An extremely average execution of what possibly could have been a really exiting film. The premise is clever, and the acting is fine. The direction could use some serious help as the movie has a hard time getting going. It feels like the characters are almost in limbo until finally everything happens very quickly. I would have liked to see Christopher Nolan or M. Night take a crack at this movie. The storytelling is simply poor.
    Expand
  6. JT
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    The first 3/4 of "The Box" is surprisingly entertaining and gripping. Sadly, the last portion of the film suffers from incomprehensible plot turns and reveals the characters to have little to no depth. There is also too much going on within the story to conclude all subplots with a suitable ending.
  7. RyanM.
    Mar 16, 2010
    5
    Interesting idea and concept. And at times atmospheric, creepy and moody. But overall, poorly done. Done better overall, this would've been a great cult movie. Unfortunately, mismanaged and flawed throughout.
  8. CaityB
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    This movie takes a cheeky idea very seriously. If you were offered a million dollars, how far would you go? In this economy? I'd go for double or nothing.
  9. Aug 17, 2010
    6
    The Box must be one of the most absurd movies I have seen for the year of 2009. I must admit itâ
  10. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    esta película es una prueba ingeniosa para la mente aunque es un poco lenta su historia salva a esta película de caer en el basio en el que han caído varias películas que intentan lo mismo
  11. EnzoP.
    Nov 6, 2009
    5
    The Box starring Cameron Diaz is a scary suspense thriller that almost pulled it off. The Box was a lot better then I thought it was going to be but still not good and don't even get me started about a complicated plot. By the trailer I thought the whole movie was going to be should I press the button or not. Well, if you thought that also you are very wrong. The plot was the only The Box starring Cameron Diaz is a scary suspense thriller that almost pulled it off. The Box was a lot better then I thought it was going to be but still not good and don't even get me started about a complicated plot. By the trailer I thought the whole movie was going to be should I press the button or not. Well, if you thought that also you are very wrong. The plot was the only big problem about this film. Everything else was not bad. Surprisingly the acting was good, not award winning acting but you get the point. A very nice looking cast with a very underrated James Marsden. I think they acted good because it was a very easy movie to act in, and Frank Langella had to speak in a low voice and that was really it for him. But I was a bit confused at the start of the movie because when they said they had twenty four hours it seemed a lot longer the one day. They should of made the movie shorter so the plot wouldn't be so complicated. The more the movie went on, the more I got bored of watching this film. The box may of had many little problems but it had many sparks as well. The way Richard Kelly filmed the movie. The camera never just stayed in one spot. He found creative ways to show the viewers each seen. Don't forget all of the nail biter scenes. Like after when the man came, whoops almost gave away the movie. Those nail biter scenes wanted you to say no don't do it. Many times with the nail biter scenes came the freaky scenes their were a few but still made my heart jump a little. Overall The Box is a fun, stupid, funny, depressing ending movie that has all the traits for a friday night movie to see with all of your friends. Expand
  12. ChrisB
    Nov 9, 2009
    6
    Why the fuck has this gotten an equal meta-score as saw 1?? that is just plain absurd. This movie really is a saw ripoff and I was willing to give it a chance until they stole the saw theme song amd put it in the trailer. If you want a horror movie of this style, do the right thing, and go see saw 6.
  13. AdamG
    Mar 11, 2010
    4
    The movie grabs you, and keeps you interested for about 30 minutes... then comes the "twist" Save your money.
  14. JimF
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Richard Kelly takes a perfectly comprehensible, and enjoyable, "Twilight Zone" episode (from a Richard Matheson story) and extends it into an incomprehensible, sleep-inducing feasture film that isn't just oblique but distasteful. I was in the minority in not liking "Donnie Darko", but it was well-made and intelligent enough to make me hope that "The Box" might be a pleasant surprise. Richard Kelly takes a perfectly comprehensible, and enjoyable, "Twilight Zone" episode (from a Richard Matheson story) and extends it into an incomprehensible, sleep-inducing feasture film that isn't just oblique but distasteful. I was in the minority in not liking "Donnie Darko", but it was well-made and intelligent enough to make me hope that "The Box" might be a pleasant surprise. It wasn't, the main mystery being how Kelly got major studio backing for this far-out project. Expand
  15. WarnerV.
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    If Richard Kelly was a chef, he would cook a marvelous meal and then destroy it on presentation by putting so much on your plate it would be falling into your lap. So it is with every movie he has ever done, they go on and on and on into irrelevance. He thinks every frame helps tell his story and is precious....Um, Wrong. Let me take The Box back to the editing suite and cut out all the If Richard Kelly was a chef, he would cook a marvelous meal and then destroy it on presentation by putting so much on your plate it would be falling into your lap. So it is with every movie he has ever done, they go on and on and on into irrelevance. He thinks every frame helps tell his story and is precious....Um, Wrong. Let me take The Box back to the editing suite and cut out all the extraneous fat. It would be a good movie then, not a 10 but definitely an 8. As it is right now, its an optimistic 6. Expand
  16. MaxL
    Nov 14, 2009
    6
    The last third undone whatever was interesting in the premise of the absurd story. Acting was decent and the setting in the 70's was nicely done. Watch the "Twilight Zone" episode for a better version.
  17. RodericR.
    Dec 23, 2009
    4
    Could have been so much better. Disjointed, odd, and a little too preachy at times. This had promise, but failed to deliver much substance. I literally laughed out loud reading the use comment that claimed the library scene was one of the best in cinema history. Are you freaking kidding me? Watch about 3 movies - at random - and you will likely find a MUCH better scene. There is nothing Could have been so much better. Disjointed, odd, and a little too preachy at times. This had promise, but failed to deliver much substance. I literally laughed out loud reading the use comment that claimed the library scene was one of the best in cinema history. Are you freaking kidding me? Watch about 3 movies - at random - and you will likely find a MUCH better scene. There is nothing in this movie that would make me seek out the writer, director, or producer to see what else they have done. It was definitely not a zero, but anyone reasonable would struggle to give it higher than a 5. Expand
  18. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    Lewis family finds a box on the porch of their house. It is an ordinary box with a button. Later, mysterious old man comes to tell them how the box works. If they push the button, someone on somewhere will die, and they received one million dollars. They have 24 hours to decide. Norma and Arthur Lewis starred by Cameron Diaz and James Marsden. The mysterious old man played by FrankLewis family finds a box on the porch of their house. It is an ordinary box with a button. Later, mysterious old man comes to tell them how the box works. If they push the button, someone on somewhere will die, and they received one million dollars. They have 24 hours to decide. Norma and Arthur Lewis starred by Cameron Diaz and James Marsden. The mysterious old man played by Frank Langella, that we recently see him act impressively in FROST/NIXON (2008). The Director is Richard Kelly. The Director of DONNIE DARKO (2001) whose received many good reviews from movie critics. Personally, I did not enjoy DONNIE DARKO that much. The most interesting in thiz movie is our curiosity about what is really happens. Too see this kind of movie, we had to put aside our logic for a while. Because anything we see in thiz movie is very absurd. Thiz story had been told in one of the episode of TWILIGHT ZONE series in 1980s era. The film has setting in 1976. I think the Creative Designer Team already done their job very well. Everything we see is truly 70s. The music was also thrilling, like we had been watching 70s horror movie. In the end, there will always be dilemma in our life: Is there something we already done? Or, something that we did not do? Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    50
    Kelly's trademark mix of sci-fi, surrealism and suburbia occasionally entertains.
  2. An artistic fiasco that cuts across genre lines and all logic to become, perhaps, an instant midnight movie.
  3. 75
    The Box is a mess, but it's a curiously haunting, intriguing, brain-tickling mess, and it delivers that "Donnie Darko" feeling in truckloads. Or should that be rocketloads?