The Box

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 187
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    The Box pushes your buttons.
    An extremely average execution of what possibly could have been a really exiting film. The premise is clever, and the acting is fine. The direction could use some serious help as the movie has a hard time getting going. It feels like the characters are almost in limbo until finally everything happens very quickly. I would have liked to see Christopher Nolan or
    The Box pushes your buttons.
    An extremely average execution of what possibly could have been a really exiting film. The premise is clever, and the acting is fine. The direction could use some serious help as the movie has a hard time getting going. It feels like the characters are almost in limbo until finally everything happens very quickly. I would have liked to see Christopher Nolan or M. Night take a crack at this movie. The storytelling is simply poor.
    Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    5
    A movie that manages to bring back some of that suspense most movies lack these days but despite being longer than the average movie, it does not manage to offer any closure and the explanation for events is all over the place with the viewer sometimes left to wonder if he's being toyed with or if he should accept what he sees on the screen for a fact. It goes downhill in the last 40A movie that manages to bring back some of that suspense most movies lack these days but despite being longer than the average movie, it does not manage to offer any closure and the explanation for events is all over the place with the viewer sometimes left to wonder if he's being toyed with or if he should accept what he sees on the screen for a fact. It goes downhill in the last 40 minutes or so as if though the writers had a sugar rush. Cameron Diaz was just fine, not a big fan of her work but she brought to the screen a convincing housewife. Although I liked the movie, I can't recommend this movie as the ending is simply frustrating. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Wonderfully weird and imaginative. This is a sci-fi cult classic that fell under the radar, but it is a really great film. I heard a lot of people bash this thing, but this movie is about much more than a box and a button. If you're not a sci-fi fan and not used to this type of film, it might be a bit confusing, but stay with it. I think it's well worth it.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    1
    The trailer for this film made it look amazing but it left and lots to be desired It's more dire then Dani its like a rape on your mind is completely confusing and one of the worst film I have ever seen ever. The film of the box is aptly named Because Belongs 6 feet under the ground where nobody can find it ever again Warning this film may cause silicides
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    esta película es una prueba ingeniosa para la mente aunque es un poco lenta su historia salva a esta película de caer en el basio en el que han caído varias películas que intentan lo mismo
  6. Apr 28, 2012
    4
    What starts off as a promising film to some extent slowly but surely begins to unravel itself from that decently tied knot after the first thirty minutes. After that, it's all downhill for 'The Box'. While the premise itself is somewhat interesting (based on a 1970 short story titled "Button Button") the screenplay fails to maximise whatever potential the story might have had, insteadWhat starts off as a promising film to some extent slowly but surely begins to unravel itself from that decently tied knot after the first thirty minutes. After that, it's all downhill for 'The Box'. While the premise itself is somewhat interesting (based on a 1970 short story titled "Button Button") the screenplay fails to maximise whatever potential the story might have had, instead decides to capitalize on a plot line that is incredibly far-fetched and never makes perfect sense. Regardless, I'm sure *some* fans of the psychological thriller genre will enjoy. Collapse
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    The box is overall is a pretty good movie. The problem was it could have been more haunting and the ending was so unclear nobody knew what was happenning. It was a mess but kind of a good mess.
  8. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    Lewis family finds a box on the porch of their house. It is an ordinary box with a button. Later, mysterious old man comes to tell them how the box works. If they push the button, someone on somewhere will die, and they received one million dollars. They have 24 hours to decide. Norma and Arthur Lewis starred by Cameron Diaz and James Marsden. The mysterious old man played by FrankLewis family finds a box on the porch of their house. It is an ordinary box with a button. Later, mysterious old man comes to tell them how the box works. If they push the button, someone on somewhere will die, and they received one million dollars. They have 24 hours to decide. Norma and Arthur Lewis starred by Cameron Diaz and James Marsden. The mysterious old man played by Frank Langella, that we recently see him act impressively in FROST/NIXON (2008). The Director is Richard Kelly. The Director of DONNIE DARKO (2001) whose received many good reviews from movie critics. Personally, I did not enjoy DONNIE DARKO that much. The most interesting in thiz movie is our curiosity about what is really happens. Too see this kind of movie, we had to put aside our logic for a while. Because anything we see in thiz movie is very absurd. Thiz story had been told in one of the episode of TWILIGHT ZONE series in 1980s era. The film has setting in 1976. I think the Creative Designer Team already done their job very well. Everything we see is truly 70s. The music was also thrilling, like we had been watching 70s horror movie. In the end, there will always be dilemma in our life: Is there something we already done? Or, something that we did not do? Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    The Box is a confused and strange film that many focus on confusing the audience and WTF moments instead of anything else. The film got ruined half way through.
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This film started as a simple morality vehicle, but ended as a deeply religious and human narrative regarding not only morality, but original sin and pulls symbolism from the Garden of Eden to exhibit the fall of man from a very interesting perspective. The acting was more or less unremarkable but the cinematography and audio are sublime. Do not be discouraged by the negative reviews. TheThis film started as a simple morality vehicle, but ended as a deeply religious and human narrative regarding not only morality, but original sin and pulls symbolism from the Garden of Eden to exhibit the fall of man from a very interesting perspective. The acting was more or less unremarkable but the cinematography and audio are sublime. Do not be discouraged by the negative reviews. The only explanation that I can offer for low marks is that the reviewer wasn't expecting to see an actual film, and instead was expecting a cookie cutter sci-fi/horror summer blockbuster that is neither memorable nor engaging. If that's what you're after, enjoy saw 14. If you're looking for a narrative thriller with a little substance, check this one out. Expand
  11. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I have no idea how a movie of this quality rank could get the hilarious 47 out of 100 points. This is literally a masterpiece, one of the best movies made recently.
  12. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    This movie as not as bad as people make it out to be. I'll admit, there are some vaguely explained moments, unconvincing acting (thank you Cameron Diaz), an ending that leaves you unsatisfied, and some plot points that aren't tied together.
    But for everything that is isn't, it's really good. It's creepy. It's thought provoking, and it achieves that purpose very well. If you're reading
    This movie as not as bad as people make it out to be. I'll admit, there are some vaguely explained moments, unconvincing acting (thank you Cameron Diaz), an ending that leaves you unsatisfied, and some plot points that aren't tied together.
    But for everything that is isn't, it's really good. It's creepy. It's thought provoking, and it achieves that purpose very well. If you're reading this review, you know the plot. If you don't know the plot, don't look it up; I feel like people who went into this movie expecting something came out the most unsatisfied. I bought my copy for around 4 bucks and it was very worth it.

    -If you go into this movie with an open mind, you'll leave more satisfied and intrigued than not.
    -If you enjoyed Donnie Darko, you'll enjoy this.
    -If you're looking for something cheap, creepy, and thrilling, grab this.
    -If you like twists and ambiguity, grab this.

    -If you're looking for a blood and guts horror, look elsewhere.
    -If you enjoyed Saw, you prob won't like this.
    -If you enjoyed From Paris with Love, you prob won't like this.
    -If you like a plot that's easy to follow, you prob won't like this.
    Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    The box is a good/bad movie its plot is really weird and acting really sucks at times but its one of those movies that when startt watching it you have to see it to the end
  14. Dec 5, 2010
    0
    This is the WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! MEANINGLESS, NO POINT OF VIEW WHATSOEVER, UNRELATED SCHENES AND MESSAGES AND CHARACTERS. TOTALLY WASTED MY TIME. SPENDING SO MUCH MONEY FOR B---T. THIS MOVE JUST BLUE IT! TOTAL FAILURE...

    HORRIBLE! NONSENSE...What is the meaning, the plot, the point? What is the movie teaching after all? What was the message of Arlington Stewart, after all? I
    This is the WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! MEANINGLESS, NO POINT OF VIEW WHATSOEVER, UNRELATED SCHENES AND MESSAGES AND CHARACTERS. TOTALLY WASTED MY TIME. SPENDING SO MUCH MONEY FOR B---T. THIS MOVE JUST BLUE IT! TOTAL FAILURE...

    HORRIBLE! NONSENSE...What is the meaning, the plot, the point? What is the movie teaching after all? What was the message of Arlington Stewart, after all? I don't get it! Absurd!
    Expand
  15. Aug 17, 2010
    6
    The Box must be one of the most absurd movies I have seen for the year of 2009. I must admit itâ
  16. CharlieB.
    May 15, 2010
    1
    Sucks, Cameron Diaz is OOOOOOLD,MY,GOD and she can't do drama. Down with the ship.t
  17. JoeS.
    Apr 27, 2010
    1
    "Disconnected mess" describes this confusing piece of garbage perfectly. The first 30 mins are promising and then it all falls apart. The only reason it gets a 1 is that there has to be a lower rating for movies like Christmas with the Kranks.
  18. NoahF.
    Apr 25, 2010
    8
    This is really funny for me and making Richard Kelly crap his pants.... because all you people out there thought this movie sucked but you also hate when there is too much action in a movie but these are the kind of movies that the King Pins at universal studios say that the reason is for making lame movies like Iron Man and Terminator...pure action....well you get what you asked This is really funny for me and making Richard Kelly crap his pants.... because all you people out there thought this movie sucked but you also hate when there is too much action in a movie but these are the kind of movies that the King Pins at universal studios say that the reason is for making lame movies like Iron Man and Terminator...pure action....well you get what you asked for...look for a summer filled with tons of crappy action movies...because you could pay attention to a great but slow movie. Expand
  19. GeorgeP.
    Apr 25, 2010
    4
    Fine to begin with, good premise and all, then a deterioration as the movie tackled too much, became involved with more details than it could manage, lost believability, became confusing. It left too much unanswered. A disappointment.
  20. HunterL
    Apr 11, 2010
    8
    A bizarre thriller that leaves you guessing throughout the film, and still even after the credits have rolled.
  21. RyanM.
    Mar 16, 2010
    5
    Interesting idea and concept. And at times atmospheric, creepy and moody. But overall, poorly done. Done better overall, this would've been a great cult movie. Unfortunately, mismanaged and flawed throughout.
  22. AdamG
    Mar 11, 2010
    4
    The movie grabs you, and keeps you interested for about 30 minutes... then comes the "twist" Save your money.
  23. Ray
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    The film's only a 6 really, but my god, what audaciousness, yet again, to cram so much goings-on into one little picture. Slow? Only if you like boring films going nowhere. It's silly at times, not well acted at other times -- but, also amazingly creative, billiantly shot and, most importantly, obviosuly the dedicated work of a film-making genius who dares to take movies into The film's only a 6 really, but my god, what audaciousness, yet again, to cram so much goings-on into one little picture. Slow? Only if you like boring films going nowhere. It's silly at times, not well acted at other times -- but, also amazingly creative, billiantly shot and, most importantly, obviosuly the dedicated work of a film-making genius who dares to take movies into the sci-fi/horror rhelm...with a straight face and a holy heart. Expand
  24. AhmadR.
    Feb 14, 2010
    7
    I guess this movie is one of a few movies released that needs more thought and consideration. However, the idea behind the movie is not unique, the way the scenes develops makes you feel interested to know the end. As it is said in the movie, whatever our choice in life is, there the consequences waiting for us.
  25. JT
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    The first 3/4 of "The Box" is surprisingly entertaining and gripping. Sadly, the last portion of the film suffers from incomprehensible plot turns and reveals the characters to have little to no depth. There is also too much going on within the story to conclude all subplots with a suitable ending.
  26. RodericR.
    Dec 23, 2009
    4
    Could have been so much better. Disjointed, odd, and a little too preachy at times. This had promise, but failed to deliver much substance. I literally laughed out loud reading the use comment that claimed the library scene was one of the best in cinema history. Are you freaking kidding me? Watch about 3 movies - at random - and you will likely find a MUCH better scene. There is nothing Could have been so much better. Disjointed, odd, and a little too preachy at times. This had promise, but failed to deliver much substance. I literally laughed out loud reading the use comment that claimed the library scene was one of the best in cinema history. Are you freaking kidding me? Watch about 3 movies - at random - and you will likely find a MUCH better scene. There is nothing in this movie that would make me seek out the writer, director, or producer to see what else they have done. It was definitely not a zero, but anyone reasonable would struggle to give it higher than a 5. Expand
  27. Dan
    Dec 8, 2009
    3
    The only way this film could earn a positive review is if the viewer had never seen a Kubrick movie before. Shot for shot, the film steals from The Shining, Eyes Wide Shut, 2001 and even Dr. Strangelove. The plot is sci-fi nonsense overstuffed with red herrings and padded out with imagery recycled from Donnie Darko. A real snooze.
  28. JamesH.
    Nov 25, 2009
    7
    This was a better movie than I thought it would be. It succeeded at its goal which was to make an extended entertaining twilight zone episode. Rod Serling would be proud. Props to Frank Langella who is fast becoming one of my favorite actors.
  29. WarnerV.
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    If Richard Kelly was a chef, he would cook a marvelous meal and then destroy it on presentation by putting so much on your plate it would be falling into your lap. So it is with every movie he has ever done, they go on and on and on into irrelevance. He thinks every frame helps tell his story and is precious....Um, Wrong. Let me take The Box back to the editing suite and cut out all the If Richard Kelly was a chef, he would cook a marvelous meal and then destroy it on presentation by putting so much on your plate it would be falling into your lap. So it is with every movie he has ever done, they go on and on and on into irrelevance. He thinks every frame helps tell his story and is precious....Um, Wrong. Let me take The Box back to the editing suite and cut out all the extraneous fat. It would be a good movie then, not a 10 but definitely an 8. As it is right now, its an optimistic 6. Expand
  30. MaxL
    Nov 14, 2009
    6
    The last third undone whatever was interesting in the premise of the absurd story. Acting was decent and the setting in the 70's was nicely done. Watch the "Twilight Zone" episode for a better version.
  31. ReginaF
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    Worst. Movie. Ever.
  32. LarryD
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    How this is not at least a 60 on metacritic is beyond me. This is a spectacular film: brilliant cinematography, excellent screenwriting, amazing sets, and great acting. Moreover, the library scene is one that will go down as one of the most unique and well executed scene in the history of American film. Much like Southland Tales, critics seem to AFRAID to give Kelly the accolades he How this is not at least a 60 on metacritic is beyond me. This is a spectacular film: brilliant cinematography, excellent screenwriting, amazing sets, and great acting. Moreover, the library scene is one that will go down as one of the most unique and well executed scene in the history of American film. Much like Southland Tales, critics seem to AFRAID to give Kelly the accolades he deserves. For me, as a fan of his work, I think that he is one of the best film makers working in the United States today. What is sad is that our culture is to ignorant to recognize this. The box is a critique of American modernity and perhaps America is still not ready to reflect on the symptoms of sick society. An excellent film that I highly recommend. It's a thinker! Expand
  33. RP
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    An excellent, thought-provoking movie but there's a catch - it's not for everyone. In fact if you have no interest in existential philosophy, it will probably just give you a headache. Be prepared to think outside The Box.
  34. JamieS
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Worst acting I've ever seen. The accent is made it not believable. It made no sense. I felt like WTF the whole way except the beginning. The beginning was good and then it started making no sense as the movie progressed. It is worth a big fat zero. James Marsden is hot though.
  35. ToddH
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    This is one of the more thoughtful, creative, interesting, albeit bizarre films I have seen in a long time. I'm sorry if there was too much going on for some viewers to follow (i.e. those that went expecting a "movie" instead of a "film"). This is art- from the cinematography to the music to the combination of moral fable, sci-fi, and suburban horror. If I were teaching a film as This is one of the more thoughtful, creative, interesting, albeit bizarre films I have seen in a long time. I'm sorry if there was too much going on for some viewers to follow (i.e. those that went expecting a "movie" instead of a "film"). This is art- from the cinematography to the music to the combination of moral fable, sci-fi, and suburban horror. If I were teaching a film as literature course I would use this as one of the films- and have students draw from Milgram's Shock Experiment & Sartre's No Exit in explicating it. Tons of material for philosophical and sociological discussion/analysis. Loved it! Expand
  36. ReginaF
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    Worst. Movie. Ever.
  37. JimF
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    Richard Kelly takes a perfectly comprehensible, and enjoyable, "Twilight Zone" episode (from a Richard Matheson story) and extends it into an incomprehensible, sleep-inducing feasture film that isn't just oblique but distasteful. I was in the minority in not liking "Donnie Darko", but it was well-made and intelligent enough to make me hope that "The Box" might be a pleasant surprise. Richard Kelly takes a perfectly comprehensible, and enjoyable, "Twilight Zone" episode (from a Richard Matheson story) and extends it into an incomprehensible, sleep-inducing feasture film that isn't just oblique but distasteful. I was in the minority in not liking "Donnie Darko", but it was well-made and intelligent enough to make me hope that "The Box" might be a pleasant surprise. It wasn't, the main mystery being how Kelly got major studio backing for this far-out project. Expand
  38. CaityB
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    This movie takes a cheeky idea very seriously. If you were offered a million dollars, how far would you go? In this economy? I'd go for double or nothing.
  39. MattT
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    As absurd as this movie is, Richard Kelly continues to make a movie that keeps you thinking. As in all of his movies, you never know, and that bothers people. People want closer in a movie. But this movie will not provide that, and that does not bother me. I enjoyed this film, thought about the premise and idea of the movie, and still found it worth while to see.
  40. dominicr
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    I don't understand why everyone hates this so much! It's ambitious, complex and well acted (Frank Langella is great). The Box is like a good Twilight Episode, OK so it's not Solaris or Stalker (or even Donnie Darko) but it's better than a lot of the recent releases. Well worth the time.
  41. GeeT
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen. The plot seems to have been thrown together by a 5 year old. It should not be classified as a horror film, either.
  42. AdamH
    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    Though it does stir some interesting ideas, "The Box" just has a preposterous plot, lazy pacing and in general just leaves the viewer saying "WTF" instead of creating a thinking movie worth thinking about. No, instead when you think about the movie "The Box" it just creates more issues, and unresolved questions even murkier, if that's possible.
  43. ChrisB
    Nov 9, 2009
    6
    Why the fuck has this gotten an equal meta-score as saw 1?? that is just plain absurd. This movie really is a saw ripoff and I was willing to give it a chance until they stole the saw theme song amd put it in the trailer. If you want a horror movie of this style, do the right thing, and go see saw 6.
  44. MikeMike
    Nov 9, 2009
    1
    OK, I know this is said a lot, but this is the worst movie I have sat through in years. I now have absolutely no respect for Roger Ebert. The movie is an absolute mess. I gave it a 1 simply for a couple of cool effects. Even my teenager laughed at it. Don't even think about it.
  45. ChadS.
    Nov 7, 2009
    7
    "In the Cut", Jane Campion's poorly received feminist thriller is remembered, if at all, for Meg Ryan's surprising nude scenes, more so than the manner in which Virginia Woolf's "To the Lighthouse", a novel taught by Ryan's English professor character, leaps off the page and encroaches its way into her everyday life. "In the Cut" climaxes with Franny being driven by "In the Cut", Jane Campion's poorly received feminist thriller is remembered, if at all, for Meg Ryan's surprising nude scenes, more so than the manner in which Virginia Woolf's "To the Lighthouse", a novel taught by Ryan's English professor character, leaps off the page and encroaches its way into her everyday life. "In the Cut" climaxes with Franny being driven by her assailant, literally, to the lighthouse, where attempted murder will eventuate itself. "The Box" borrows liberally from the Australian auteur's narrative highwire act, as Norma(Cameron Diaz), a college instructor, like Franny, teaches a work of literature(Jean-Paul Satre's 1944 play "No Exit"), that insinuates itself into a literal metaphor at the apex of a life or death situation. Whereas the Campion film was a deconstruction of the thriller, a feminization of the male narrative, "The Box" merely aims to be smarter than your average sci-fi film. And it is, sort of. At times, the filmmaker seemingly paraphrases Arthur C. Clarke's quote about technology being indistinguishable from magic, in which the "Donnie Darko" helmer's storytelling wavers between cerebral and cerebrally crazy, and cerebrally crazy and outright loony. But maybe it's not his fault, maybe it's the story itself(adapted from a Richard Matheson short), whose aliens conduct tests much more ambitious than your standard full body probe. "The Box" finally loses its shape when Arthur(James Marsden) and Norma go to the library; that's where generic major studio filmmaking bites the dust. Depending on who you are, that's either a good or bad thing. It's flawed like how Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain" was flawed; both films bear the mark of a personal voice, which sometimes say the craziest things. Expand
  46. CaitlinA.
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    I adore Richard Kelly. This movie is a triumph cinematically. The treatment of the period, the way in which he handled the camera, the story is all poetically beautiful. It is a shame that it was his opportunity to achieve commercial success and ultimately due to his overthinking mind will alienate the audience whose support he requires. It is also, by far, his most conceptually clear I adore Richard Kelly. This movie is a triumph cinematically. The treatment of the period, the way in which he handled the camera, the story is all poetically beautiful. It is a shame that it was his opportunity to achieve commercial success and ultimately due to his overthinking mind will alienate the audience whose support he requires. It is also, by far, his most conceptually clear film (in that the references and literary and theoretical allusions are well articulated). Its issues, of course, come from the simple fact that there was initially a longer cut and so important scenes that either establish or explain are lost. Nonetheless, it's a beautiful movie. In fact, saw it last night and am going back this afternoon. Expand
  47. JeanB.
    Nov 7, 2009
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Ever. DO NOT GO SEE THIS!!
  48. BobS.
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    Worst movie ever seen. Made no sense and would not reccomend anyone to see this movie. HORRIBLE.
  49. KatherineY
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    I am amazed at all the symbolism the critics do not seem to get. Like Kelly's other films, this movie is really a symbolic representation of our deepest questions regarding life, the existence of God and other issues of human existance such as original sin. It is not just a science fiction movie. If you can't see past the button to the apple in eden then you're missing a I am amazed at all the symbolism the critics do not seem to get. Like Kelly's other films, this movie is really a symbolic representation of our deepest questions regarding life, the existence of God and other issues of human existance such as original sin. It is not just a science fiction movie. If you can't see past the button to the apple in eden then you're missing a huge part of the film. Intelligent, surreal and thought provoking as always, I am already waiting for Kelly's next film. Expand
  50. EnzoP.
    Nov 6, 2009
    5
    The Box starring Cameron Diaz is a scary suspense thriller that almost pulled it off. The Box was a lot better then I thought it was going to be but still not good and don't even get me started about a complicated plot. By the trailer I thought the whole movie was going to be should I press the button or not. Well, if you thought that also you are very wrong. The plot was the only The Box starring Cameron Diaz is a scary suspense thriller that almost pulled it off. The Box was a lot better then I thought it was going to be but still not good and don't even get me started about a complicated plot. By the trailer I thought the whole movie was going to be should I press the button or not. Well, if you thought that also you are very wrong. The plot was the only big problem about this film. Everything else was not bad. Surprisingly the acting was good, not award winning acting but you get the point. A very nice looking cast with a very underrated James Marsden. I think they acted good because it was a very easy movie to act in, and Frank Langella had to speak in a low voice and that was really it for him. But I was a bit confused at the start of the movie because when they said they had twenty four hours it seemed a lot longer the one day. They should of made the movie shorter so the plot wouldn't be so complicated. The more the movie went on, the more I got bored of watching this film. The box may of had many little problems but it had many sparks as well. The way Richard Kelly filmed the movie. The camera never just stayed in one spot. He found creative ways to show the viewers each seen. Don't forget all of the nail biter scenes. Like after when the man came, whoops almost gave away the movie. Those nail biter scenes wanted you to say no don't do it. Many times with the nail biter scenes came the freaky scenes their were a few but still made my heart jump a little. Overall The Box is a fun, stupid, funny, depressing ending movie that has all the traits for a friday night movie to see with all of your friends. Expand
  51. MattS.
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    It was the most confusing movie I have ever seen, but I still liked it. Similar to how Donnie Darko was confusing yet intriguing. I still don't fully understand it after thinking about it for awhile now.
  52. Mr.D.
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Beautiful Horror Movie... Great actor's performance and perfect suspense !!
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    50
    Kelly's trademark mix of sci-fi, surrealism and suburbia occasionally entertains.
  2. An artistic fiasco that cuts across genre lines and all logic to become, perhaps, an instant midnight movie.
  3. 75
    The Box is a mess, but it's a curiously haunting, intriguing, brain-tickling mess, and it delivers that "Donnie Darko" feeling in truckloads. Or should that be rocketloads?