User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 339
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Excuse me? Why is the critic score 30?! This was an amazing movie and I know many people that love this movie, I'm absolutely baffled as to why the critics rated it so low. It's an interesting story, with many mind-bending aspects to it and it keep you entertained and thinking. I love movies like this and this one in particular is very good! Completely ignore the critics on this one, it'sExcuse me? Why is the critic score 30?! This was an amazing movie and I know many people that love this movie, I'm absolutely baffled as to why the critics rated it so low. It's an interesting story, with many mind-bending aspects to it and it keep you entertained and thinking. I love movies like this and this one in particular is very good! Completely ignore the critics on this one, it's a crime that they rated this so low and every one of them should never be taken seriously after rating a movie like The Butterfly Effect this low. Expand
  2. Scott
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    The best movie ive ever seen.
  3. KennyT.
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a pretty good movie. Obviously I must not understand the art of film. . .
  4. AMovieCritic
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Whoa...what an underrated movie. Everything about this movie was amazing and well-thought out. The child actors in the flashbacks were amazingly real, especially Tommy, who was completely disturbing. The adult actors, from the excellent Amy Smart to the surprisingly convincing Ashton Kutcher, all deliver great performances. The plot of this movie...yeah, it's completely unbelievable, Whoa...what an underrated movie. Everything about this movie was amazing and well-thought out. The child actors in the flashbacks were amazingly real, especially Tommy, who was completely disturbing. The adult actors, from the excellent Amy Smart to the surprisingly convincing Ashton Kutcher, all deliver great performances. The plot of this movie...yeah, it's completely unbelievable, but I don't think it was meant to be believable. The reason for the time travel occuring is never even explained. But the movie manages to draw you in anyway. This was one hell of a movie. I thought the ending was well done, and even a little sad. The beginning was excellently done, the middle...although the whole wheelchair scenario easily could have been cut with no consequence to the story, the rest of the movie flows perfectly. Overall, this movie was a big surprise, and I'm glad it managed to find success at the box office and on DVD. I highly recommend it. Expand
  5. MaccaMacca
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    I really enjoyed this film, but I knew it would get bad reviews. Critics hate it when Hollywood does something ambitious and intense like this - they think it should be done by some random cult director instead. And they always hate films with complicated story lines like this one - they're too lazy to actually bother to keep up.
  6. AndrewR.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    I am not sure of the differences between the director's cut and the theatrical release. I watched the director's cut and it was an amazing film. The concept was truly unique (few "change the past" concepts have truly looked at the darker, nihilistic side of time travel). I am not an Ashton Kutcher fan but his work was solid and not over the top (like most of his work). The I am not sure of the differences between the director's cut and the theatrical release. I watched the director's cut and it was an amazing film. The concept was truly unique (few "change the past" concepts have truly looked at the darker, nihilistic side of time travel). I am not an Ashton Kutcher fan but his work was solid and not over the top (like most of his work). The concept was complete and well woven into the story. There were no loose ends or unanswered questions, which is an achievement given the complexity of the plot. Again, do not know if the director's cut solved alot of the problems pointed out by the above reviews but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. NOTE: This is an extremely dark movie (note the nihilisitc term used in alot of the reviews.) Not the happy ending type but well worth the rental. Expand
  7. BillC.
    Aug 6, 2004
    0
    If you appreciate animals being burned alive, children killing other children, and babies being blown up, this is your kind of movie. Add Ashton Kutcher and you've got a masterpiece. Also, to whoever said it, please never mention Showgirls and this film in the same breath as Donnie Darko.
  8. GeoffT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    2
    If you liked and understood Donnie Darko, you'll hate The Butterfly Effect. It's terrible. Unlikeable characters and bad acting for the most part plague the film (though Ashton Kutcher is surprisingly just mediocre.) The movie never sets up a decent set of time travel rules. It contradicts itself on several occasions. It prides itself on use of the chaos theory, but it is clear If you liked and understood Donnie Darko, you'll hate The Butterfly Effect. It's terrible. Unlikeable characters and bad acting for the most part plague the film (though Ashton Kutcher is surprisingly just mediocre.) The movie never sets up a decent set of time travel rules. It contradicts itself on several occasions. It prides itself on use of the chaos theory, but it is clear that the filmmakers never bothered to understand fully what it was. The effects of going back into the past are often illogical (and in one case nonexistant.) Bottom line: Plot holes, bad acting, unlikeable characters sink the movie. Not to mention the amateurish direction. It is a movie that thinks it is smart, but is really very shallow, and silly. Expand
  9. AlexanderT
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this film. From acting to plot which I actually found reasonably unique and the fact things change frequently is more realistic to me, than if he changed one event once and the rest of the movie explored what the reprocussions were.
  10. GR
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I have no idea why this film has received negative reviews, one of my fav films. Critics know nothing.
  11. AP
    Mar 26, 2010
    8
    I frequently agree with critical opinion, but I was quite surprised to see this score. It's a pretty decent film, don't be thrown off.
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *Spoilers* Some idiot who reviewed this movie said this has nothing to do with the Butterfly Effect. Um, you obviously didn't watch the movie. The whole premise is....change one thing...change everything. I think this is an very hard film to watch displaying all the terrible things these kids do and how messed up they are. It was a bit over the top, but when it comes down to it, he sacrificed himself to save everyone in the end. That part was just amazing. And I'm talking about the director's cut. If you watch the theater's cut, it is just awful. What a terrible ending. This film basically has 2 different reviews, 1/10 for the theater cut, and 10/10 for director's cut. WATCH THE DIRECTOR'S CUT. Expand
  13. BurakF
    Mar 26, 2010
    8
    I'm absolutely blown away by how badly 'professional' critics have reviewed this gem. I first watched this film about 3-4 years ago and recently recalled how good it was so i got a hold of it and watched it for the second time, and i must say i enjoyed it just as much the second time as i did the first time. I'd definitely recommend watching this.
  14. DM
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I loved it. Kutcher acted really well, the story was interesting and intrguing and for me the only downer is the ending. It's not that typical "happy ending" you'd want in this kind of movie but it did it's job. Great acting, great story: I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I loved it. Kutcher acted really well, the story was interesting and intrguing and for me the only downer is the ending. It's not that typical "happy ending" you'd want in this kind of movie but it did it's job. Great acting, great story: great movie. Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really didn't expect great reviews from critics but 30 out of 100 is a bit messed up; the story never gets too confusing and acting was fine, should have at least got 50 out of 100. I saw the third ending were he kills himself which I found more meaningful but unnecessary, though the others were weaker they just made more sense Expand
  16. JimmyH.
    Apr 1, 2008
    3
    This film contains so much unnecessarily creepy imagery and abhorrent characters that one is forced to treat it as camp, lest the viewer become abysmally unhappy with the state of the world. That said, the unintentional-comedy potential (even more so with the director's cut "true" ending) is fantastic. A true must-see for film viewers with at least a half a sense of irony.
  17. PaulW.
    Oct 18, 2008
    0
    Horrible movie, I never got past the first 40 minutes due to how horrible it was.
  18. AndersH.
    Jul 27, 2004
    9
    It's a great movie about actions and consequenses, and it's based on very intresting theories about 4D (quadro physic). I love it! A must see for intelligent people.
  19. joeh
    Feb 4, 2010
    2
    This movie is horrid, with ridiculous plot twists, stupid characters, bad acting and plot holes you could drive a semi through. I'll admit that the beginning draws you in, but the minute we get Ashton on the screen, the whole thing takes a steep dive and doesn't stop until it crashes nose first into the finale. I suppose it's the fact that this movie so thoroughly squanders This movie is horrid, with ridiculous plot twists, stupid characters, bad acting and plot holes you could drive a semi through. I'll admit that the beginning draws you in, but the minute we get Ashton on the screen, the whole thing takes a steep dive and doesn't stop until it crashes nose first into the finale. I suppose it's the fact that this movie so thoroughly squanders its potential that makes me hold it in what would otherwise be considerably less contempt. Don't misunderstand though, the issue isn't that this movie is bleak, but if one intends to make a serious film with fatalistic tendencies, that filmakers should realize they WILL be set to a higher standard, and that standard is one this movie falls very short of. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one unless you think that because something is "dark" than that automatically makes it "deep" as well (or if you're a brooding teenager). Expand
  20. SongK.
    Jan 31, 2004
    5
    Ashton is a bad actor. The movie is very slow and repetitive. It has nothing to do with chaos theory and very little to do with butterfly effect. The first half of the movie is very slow and boring. The 2nd half sees some action but so many stupid things happen with lots of bad Ashton acting. The ending... well that could have been much better. I wanted to leave the movie half way through Ashton is a bad actor. The movie is very slow and repetitive. It has nothing to do with chaos theory and very little to do with butterfly effect. The first half of the movie is very slow and boring. The 2nd half sees some action but so many stupid things happen with lots of bad Ashton acting. The ending... well that could have been much better. I wanted to leave the movie half way through it. The movie overuses loud sudden sounds to keep the audience awake. Unless you're an average teenage girl, this movie is not worth your time. Expand
  21. ZachP.
    Mar 4, 2004
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] Not the worst movie I've ever seen, but at the moment, it's my least favourite for sure. I can agree with the idea, or gimmick, being called "clever", so long as that's the only word that is used, but it's not nearly enough for 2 hours of film. And I suppose that explains why the writers included so many "serious film issues", child abuse, alcoholism,[***SPOILERS***] Not the worst movie I've ever seen, but at the moment, it's my least favourite for sure. I can agree with the idea, or gimmick, being called "clever", so long as that's the only word that is used, but it's not nearly enough for 2 hours of film. And I suppose that explains why the writers included so many "serious film issues", child abuse, alcoholism, the "realities" of the prison system and childhood mental disorders to name a few. Movies with these issues work because the writers chose ONE, not all of 'em, rolled into a muddled, incongruous spit-ball, propelled at the audience for nothing more than effect. I didn't laugh when he woke up and found himself without arms, but someone four rows in front of me did, and I felt incredibly jealous of her for being able to enjoy herself while watching this movie. However, I did laugh at Kutcher running down the hospital hallway. Quite possibly the funniest running ever caught on film, right there. I miss Marty McFly oh so much. Expand
  22. BoyMan
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Surely the best film I ever seen, really a great realisation, great scenarii, etc... so good.
  23. PatC.
    Mar 27, 2006
    5
    Only watched Director's Cut. Fragmented screenplay, which in itself is a powerful argument for chaos theory, but an interesting premise. Actually, this is a good example of the stuff of a classic movie clumsily handled. An "It's A Wonderful Life" heavily laden with the darker alternatives of the supposed choices we make in life. A difficult movie to absorb, but lurking in this Only watched Director's Cut. Fragmented screenplay, which in itself is a powerful argument for chaos theory, but an interesting premise. Actually, this is a good example of the stuff of a classic movie clumsily handled. An "It's A Wonderful Life" heavily laden with the darker alternatives of the supposed choices we make in life. A difficult movie to absorb, but lurking in this mess message of undeniable value to those who have been through hell and still try to remain positive. Expand
  24. jessscott
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed this film thoroughly the critics may of voted low because they're easily confused but i found it had depth, good acting and generally a good film don't be put of by the 30 if u like thrillers this is for you.
  25. ChrisM
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    I'm so frustrated by teenagers who are not just looking for movies to pass their time but also try to proove how misguided the critics are.Stop saying this movie is a matserpiece just because of the clever idea behind it.What ever happened to the noble art of movie making?Is this the new virtues of films?Horrible acting and some so called personal torture tales?American Bullshit!No I'm so frustrated by teenagers who are not just looking for movies to pass their time but also try to proove how misguided the critics are.Stop saying this movie is a matserpiece just because of the clever idea behind it.What ever happened to the noble art of movie making?Is this the new virtues of films?Horrible acting and some so called personal torture tales?American Bullshit!No motive behind the movie but cheap amusement! Expand
  26. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    It's almost overwhelmingly dark, but "The Butterfly Effect" still remains a solid effort from Kutcher and Bress/Gruber.
  27. May 4, 2013
    10
    This movie is an amazing psychological thriller that takes you into the depths of cause and effect in no way I've ever seen before. This movie is great.
  28. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Consumers and critics alike watch an Ashton Kutcher -movie with certain expectations, find themselves in over their heads.

    This one had it's flaws, and at some points it seemed like it was little more than an excuse to portray grim imaginary on the screen. But hey, it worked for me!
  29. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    Interesting idea, with a good theme. Unfortunately very badly acted with freakin huge plot holes. Plot caverns. Honestly I don't know why anyone would get Ashton to be in a film if they wanted the film to be good? I reckon they knew they had a weak script here. Anyway somewhere along the line they manage to get an interesting point about human nature across, but its pretty much smotheredInteresting idea, with a good theme. Unfortunately very badly acted with freakin huge plot holes. Plot caverns. Honestly I don't know why anyone would get Ashton to be in a film if they wanted the film to be good? I reckon they knew they had a weak script here. Anyway somewhere along the line they manage to get an interesting point about human nature across, but its pretty much smothered by the surrounding crap. Shame really. Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Huge indifference between the user ratings and critics ratings gives an idea how stupid the critics are really when analysing this movie .This one was a really gem of a movie, one in a thousand type, it would actually give the viewers blackouts after finishing this one. The end might not be as convincing as it could be but that don't take away the credit from the director for engaging or rather confusing our mind with such a well built movie. Expand
  31. Colm
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    Bill and Ted meet Ashton Kutcher, nuff said.
  32. BurcuA.
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    This film really helped me. now i don't think too much about my past events anymore. i learned;not to be spiteful of them. 'cuz it could be much bad than now...
  33. Ishii
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    I thought it was a very well made movie. And I thought the ending was very good, I wasn't expecting that at all. And the refrence to "Se7en" was good. I loved that movie too.
  34. LukeH.
    May 3, 2004
    2
    Wow. I simply can't believe how many things this movie got wrong--and it still took itself seriously. This possibly the most unintentionally funny movie I've seen since "Plan Nine from Outer Space." I sat in the front row with my girlfriend and we laughed our heads off. Funniest parts include: *Kutcher walking up to a payphone and visibly dialing a "555" number. *An abusive Wow. I simply can't believe how many things this movie got wrong--and it still took itself seriously. This possibly the most unintentionally funny movie I've seen since "Plan Nine from Outer Space." I sat in the front row with my girlfriend and we laughed our heads off. Funniest parts include: *Kutcher walking up to a payphone and visibly dialing a "555" number. *An abusive father being terrified of a little kid just because he calls him a "f..kbag." *Blurry, bady animated CG arm stumps. Basically, if you love to laugh, you'll love this movie. The script is so terrible that the mediocre acting can't save it, and the direction is primarily in the style of a sitcom. It does have that "so-bad-it's-good" quality, but so what? Did they mean to make this movie, or did it just happen by accident? Expand
  35. RB
    Jul 28, 2004
    2
    Decent ideas, lousy execution.
  36. BenB.
    Aug 9, 2004
    1
    This movie hates us. It's like the director thought of the worst things that could ever happen to a child and then inflicted his audience with Ashton Kutcher. On the other hand, we're treated to the wet explosion of a baby getting blown up!
  37. LouisM.
    Apr 3, 2006
    8
    I cannot understand why the critics hated this movie so much. Sometimes I think they are full of it. I have very high standards when it comes to movies and seldomly give high ratings. This was good. The movie pulled me in. It was as if I was living his "nightmare" unfold. Would have been more powerfull if the ending with an "unhappy" ending.
  38. DerekG.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Something different with a twist / my favorite movie.
  39. antonisj.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    This is the best movie that i have ever seen i must say it changed the way i think and i just loved the plot keep up the good work.
  40. AndrewJ.
    Jan 24, 2004
    9
    I dont understand all the negative comments about this movie. To be honest this is the first movie in a long time that has actually made me go through so many emotional highs and lows during the movie.......Way go to ashton.
  41. MaxwellS.
    Jan 26, 2004
    9
    This was a great movie. If you don't like it, fine, whatever. But it is a great film running along the lines of Donnie Darko and the theme of divine intervention. Overall, fantastic despite it being one of the hardest movies to watch for the first hour due to such intense content, expecially with one of the kids.
  42. G.M.D.K.
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Very entertaining and it will keep you on the edge of your seat!
  43. KentTheIceman
    Jan 31, 2004
    8
    This was a very good movie ! For the life of me I cannot understand why anyone gave this one a bad review. This movie kept your interest from beginning to end. It challenged your mind with the "what if" part of life that we all wonder about....namely, what would happen if I could change "x" in my past, etc. It touched on all of this with more than just a suspense/sci-fi flavor, it also This was a very good movie ! For the life of me I cannot understand why anyone gave this one a bad review. This movie kept your interest from beginning to end. It challenged your mind with the "what if" part of life that we all wonder about....namely, what would happen if I could change "x" in my past, etc. It touched on all of this with more than just a suspense/sci-fi flavor, it also had moments of heart as well. This movie was well made, in my opinion.....and those bad reviews simply do not make sense. I see almost every movie that comes out, so I think I can tell a good one from a bad one. In fact I take extreme pleasure in ripping most movies apart because they are so bad, or illogical. I did not find myself doing that with this movie. I was actually considering not seeing it, based on some of the bad reviews I read on this site. I am glad I did not let those reviews influence me, or I would have deprived myself of the experience of seeing this movie. It rates a definite 8/10. No less. Expand
  44. Len
    Jan 30, 2004
    9
    Sometimes movie critics get so hung up with their own cute phrases (those who can't do, critique?) that they miss the point entirely. This movie was very cleverly written, and managed to merge an interesting premise with a complicated plot, tying together all of the loose threads by the end. It had a disturbing beginning which did a great job of whetting our appetites for what Sometimes movie critics get so hung up with their own cute phrases (those who can't do, critique?) that they miss the point entirely. This movie was very cleverly written, and managed to merge an interesting premise with a complicated plot, tying together all of the loose threads by the end. It had a disturbing beginning which did a great job of whetting our appetites for what followed. And what's all the fuss about Kutcher? I've never seen him on TV, and I don't read gossip columns, so I didn't know anything in advance about his personal love life. Maybe this is a good thing, because I didn't approach his performance with all of the baggage that many of these reviewers did. What was wrong with the performance? He was credible and sympathetic in the lead role. The critics give it a 28 and the users give it a 68. Maybe the critics need to re-connect with the rest of us. Collapse
  45. Carrie
    Feb 10, 2004
    9
    This was an entertaining and though-provoking movie. Don't listen to the critics. I bet if Ashton Kutcher wasn't the star of this movie the critics would have given it more of a chance. I happened to like the ending a lot. I think it made complete sense.
  46. NinjaMafia
    Feb 1, 2004
    1
    Well well, I thought this movie wasn't going to be completely horrid, but it was. The premise of the Butterfly Effect is that and young man,Evan(Kutcher), tries to make his life better by changing the horrible things in his past. Upon doing this, he starts to just make things worse and worse for himself. This is were the movie starts to get horrible. Evan tries to change history so Well well, I thought this movie wasn't going to be completely horrid, but it was. The premise of the Butterfly Effect is that and young man,Evan(Kutcher), tries to make his life better by changing the horrible things in his past. Upon doing this, he starts to just make things worse and worse for himself. This is were the movie starts to get horrible. Evan tries to change history so many times, that about halfway through the film you want to scream at him and tell him to stop. Seriously, how stupid do you have to be to actually keep on travelling back in time,trying to fix things, only to make things worse? You think he would have gotten it through his head that he really isn't going to make his life better. Oh, and the acting in this movie is incredibly bad. I don't know that much about Kutcher. I have never seen any of his other movies nor have I seen Punk'd. I have only seen him in That 70's Show, and I thought he played a stupid person pretty well. When he jumped into drama, I was a bit skeptical, but hey, Keanu Reeves jumped from Bill and Ted's into the Matrix(I'm talking about the first, not the sequels), so what was stopping Kutcher? Maybe his inability to actually read ad remember the script. I almost walked out of the theatre because of everyones, not just Kutchers, horrid acting. Now, the ending is the biggest dissapointment in the movie. It's like they just kept writing the script until they thought, wow we should stop this movie before it gets too long. We are also to lazy to think up of an interesting ending. I hear alot of people comparing this movie to the other time travelling like movie, Donnie Darko. I really don't see a ton of similarity here. Maybe the same premise, but really, Donnie Darko acheives on every level the Butterfly Effect doesn't. The only reason why I'm not giving this movie a zero is because I still love the premise of the movie, not matter how crappy it was executed. Expand
  47. Dahmir
    Feb 1, 2004
    7
    This movie is honestly not as bad as the critics have made it out to be.
  48. JoelM.
    Feb 10, 2004
    8
    It was just what I wanted. A fun movie about the effects of time travel. If you go in expecting that, it's a pleasant surprise and not the "pan-magnet" the critics have made it out to be.
  49. MuzammilAkhund
    Feb 9, 2004
    6
    The movie is good and an entertaining despite mediocre acting :) lackluster direction and a frustating and confused story.
  50. Brendan
    May 27, 2004
    9
    I thought this movie was great, a good idea. I liked the ending as it was the only possible thing that could happen.
  51. RebeccaJ.
    Jul 18, 2004
    4
    Great idea, but the movie falls short of delivering a clear cut plot. It is hard to determine exactly what the message of the movie wants to be and therefore is a waste of time. Amy Smart is terrific as always, but Ashton Kutcher is, sadly, laughable.
  52. EfeB.
    Jul 30, 2004
    0
    This movie is so bad, the word "bad" called me up yesterday and told me how upset he was because i used the word "bad" in the same sentence with this movie.
  53. JasonP
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    This movie shows how every disicion in life affects your future and those around you. This movies twists are exciting! The story is gripping. Best Ashton movie by far.,
  54. Cj
    Jul 8, 2004
    8
    I dont know what the deal is with the critics. Maybe they just like to bash on Ashton. This was a good movie, and the vast majority of people i know agree with me on that. If you didnt like the ending theres 2 completely different ones on the dvd. If you liked Donny Darko, you'll like this film. "Nobody ever raised a statue of a critic."
  55. Rico
    Jul 8, 2004
    3
    I like the premise but this movie hated its characters and that made for an unpleasant experience.
  56. CaptEBO
    Jul 9, 2004
    4
    It had me for a while but lost me once the inanity and superlative of "time travel" took too much away from the film. The key to science fiction and fantasy is to base it in reality and then stretch it as much as possible without breaking it. TBE broke it so many times that I found it a tiring bore without care of the outcomes of each main character.
  57. CoryW.
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    Amazing plot. Left me thinking for hours after viewing. I found the acting defently believable. The ending is a tad weak, I hoped for somthing more, I did enjoy the many alternative endings it had to offer. If you like one of those movies that really make you think then you'll love it.
  58. rm
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    This was a great movie and deserves an academy award both for the acting and the script.
  59. EzeA
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    This is one movie I waited eagerly to see in the cinemas, but didn't get the chance to. I bought the DVD recently and believe me, I was not disappointed. I can only wonder whether the critics understood the movie before commenting on it. I found it intriguing, well executed, and better thought out than many time travel movies I have seen! Having said that, this is one of those movies This is one movie I waited eagerly to see in the cinemas, but didn't get the chance to. I bought the DVD recently and believe me, I was not disappointed. I can only wonder whether the critics understood the movie before commenting on it. I found it intriguing, well executed, and better thought out than many time travel movies I have seen! Having said that, this is one of those movies you either hate or love. Not much room for a middle ground here. Expand
  60. JM.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie. Must watch twice to get all of the twists you missed the first time.
  61. JackB
    Feb 1, 2009
    7
    I saw this on tv the other night and really enjoyed it. Very nice idea, something a bit different. Kutcher excellent and showed new depth i never knew he had, he should stick to proper acting in roles which stretch him because he has a lot of talent. Good film, well worth a watch if its on the tele and you have a free evening.
  62. L.E.
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    Awesome movie!!! Ashton Kutcher really broke out of his normal That 70s Show character and proves that he can act. The script is rather clever with unexpected twists keeping the audience guessing. It's an enjoyable movie to watch and will keep you engaged throughout the movie. One of the best movies of its genre! Don't listen to the critics, go see it for yourself.
  63. Cy
    Jan 23, 2004
    9
    Very underrated. Kutcher did a pretty decent job.
  64. P.
    Jan 23, 2004
    7
    I thought it was a really good movie all the way up until the end of it... the end was kind of weak i have a huge paragraph of things to say but it will give the movie away for those that haven't seen it.
  65. BruceW.
    Jan 23, 2004
    0
    Dude, where's my career?
  66. EricY.
    Jan 24, 2004
    9
    Never a dull moment in this movie. Ashton did a fabulous job in a non-comedic role. It looks like he is a versatile actor. Amy Smart was also great. This movie keeps you on the edge to see what will happen next. The ending wasn't what most people would want, but I'm not most people. I loved it!
  67. NicolasO
    Jan 24, 2004
    8
    Great movie. The story is great, but I don't like the end.
  68. KevinR.
    Jan 25, 2004
    2
    A cool idea, marred by horrendous acting.
  69. DianeT.
    Jan 25, 2004
    10
    I thought this movie was pretty great overall. There were some things that get you sidetracked, but it keeps you wondering and interested to see what happens at the end. Ashton looks really hot in that towel!
  70. ChrisG.
    Jan 26, 2004
    8
    Damn good. Seriously, damn good.
  71. MattP.
    Jan 26, 2004
    0
    This movie sucked. It not only sucked, it sucked ass. Furthermore, it sucked so much ass I could feel my colon being ripped out, chewed and spit back up my ass. There are three reasons why this movie should be sacrificed for the sake of humanity: 1) Ashton Kutcher. I really couldn't care less if he went to college and wanted to be a molecular biologist. He is such a crappy actor, I This movie sucked. It not only sucked, it sucked ass. Furthermore, it sucked so much ass I could feel my colon being ripped out, chewed and spit back up my ass. There are three reasons why this movie should be sacrificed for the sake of humanity: 1) Ashton Kutcher. I really couldn't care less if he went to college and wanted to be a molecular biologist. He is such a crappy actor, I could feel my brains rotting inside my skull. Everything he's done has been so horrible that my eyes bled and Satan laughed. I don't even remember the first time I watched Punk'd because I jammed a pencil in my ear. By the way, bad grammer is about the farthest thing from cool. Plus, every girl thinks he's the hottest thing on two hooves because he's such a bad boy that takes things to the edge. Get over yourself you over indulged dolt. 2) Things just don't go wrong, they go horribly wrong. Little Evan goes back in time and tries to save his girlfriend, something excrutiatingly bad happens. Not just a simple "Oh no I should use my better judgement" type thing, more of a "Oh no I just blew up my house and beat a guy with a lead pipe" type thing. 3) Ashton Kuthcher deserves two categories. He will forever go down as the lamest, most overrated person EVER! Dictators of the future will look to him for guidence. Expand
  72. Rick
    Jan 27, 2004
    1
    I agree to all what Matt said, this movie was terrible, for a better word S!#T... At one Point in the movie i was like, What the f**k is going on, things go so bad(or should i say over acting, boring, full of Ashton) that i wanted to walk out, but i stayed to see the ending.. And guess what the ending sucked too. 80% of the people that was in the theater that was looking at this film was I agree to all what Matt said, this movie was terrible, for a better word S!#T... At one Point in the movie i was like, What the f**k is going on, things go so bad(or should i say over acting, boring, full of Ashton) that i wanted to walk out, but i stayed to see the ending.. And guess what the ending sucked too. 80% of the people that was in the theater that was looking at this film was teen girls who came to see the bad(really bad) acting of Kutcher's ass.. A little tip for all the girls out there who's drooling for Ashton,........He only dates women sagging and over 50, or above!!! So look less at his pretty face and more at his awful acting.. Expand
  73. ThomY.
    Jan 28, 2004
    7
    Movies have it hard, because unlike written word, they seem to be held to especially high standards. Of course, book critics may also be harsh, but in literature, escape fiction is given at least some respect. However, in film, when something comes out with the absensce of abstract symbolism, metaphysical paradoxes or a truly original script, these "film lovers" get anal and forget not Movies have it hard, because unlike written word, they seem to be held to especially high standards. Of course, book critics may also be harsh, but in literature, escape fiction is given at least some respect. However, in film, when something comes out with the absensce of abstract symbolism, metaphysical paradoxes or a truly original script, these "film lovers" get anal and forget not everything has to be so darn multilayered. Look, I love movies, I hate Ashton. He is a terrible actor, but not especially terrible. Just like this film he is mediocre- an okay filler for a Friday night that doesn't need to be so packed full with hidden meaning that it requires a second viewing for decoding. It is plain, but not bad. It's like vanilla ice cream: sure raspberry sorbet is good, but once in a while you just want something a little more simple. It's strange to me that a movie like "Lost in Translation" could receive such praise when it forgets what film is meant to do, entertain the masses. No, I'm not some teenage girl, I'm a 20 year old guy who thinks "Mystic River" was awesome and hate to see a drab, racist flick like "Translation" get so much praise just cause she's the Copolla kid. If you want so much from your films, the local AMC is the wrong place for you. Go over to your local video store and rent something foreign with subtitles and complain about how Hollywood forgot how to make movies decades ago. Emerson is nice, but so is Garfield. People need to lighten up, it's just for entertainment, and sometimes, that's enough. Expand
  74. Ashley
    Jan 30, 2004
    0
    Is this is supposed to be entertainment? Thank goodness for refunds!
  75. KylaL.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    I love this movie! Ashton is a really good actor...i actually cried at one point. I don't understand how you couldnt love this movie. You must have a weak imagination if you don't. The kid that played Ashton at a teen is pretty hot! This movie should be watched by everyone!!!
  76. LawrenceR.
    Feb 1, 2004
    9
    This movie does not deserve the negative reviews received. Really quite fascinating and original. I know it is like the love child of Sliders and Slaughterhouse Five, still it is an admittedly mass-market film attempting to do something a little different (no a lot) different that the expected teen/20 somrthing, lowest common denominator and ultimately instantly forgetable pablum. See This movie does not deserve the negative reviews received. Really quite fascinating and original. I know it is like the love child of Sliders and Slaughterhouse Five, still it is an admittedly mass-market film attempting to do something a little different (no a lot) different that the expected teen/20 somrthing, lowest common denominator and ultimately instantly forgetable pablum. See this movie for something different and very well done. By the way Kutcher can act now, and will only get better. Give the guy a break. Expand
  77. BrunoS.
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    The critics are bashing this movie into the ground. The acting is very good and adds to the movie. The story line is very complex and that is what makes this movie what it is. The story is really 4 love stories in one which makes the plot very complex and adds a 3rd deminsion to the emotion of the story. It is well worth the time and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Great story and a The critics are bashing this movie into the ground. The acting is very good and adds to the movie. The story line is very complex and that is what makes this movie what it is. The story is really 4 love stories in one which makes the plot very complex and adds a 3rd deminsion to the emotion of the story. It is well worth the time and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Great story and a great movie. Expand
  78. SethB.
    Feb 28, 2004
    8
    I liked this. As for the critics? They just hate Ashton Kutcher (he was fired from a movie for not being able to act), but I think he does just fine in this movie even though his character does some stupid things...
  79. RussellC.
    Feb 3, 2004
    7
    Ashton Kutcher is suffering from Keanu Reeves disease: a couple of dumb movies and a sit-com doom make the road to respectability real hard. Like Keanu, Ashton is not a "great" actor, but he can get better. The movie was enthralling and some of the "professional" critics have been a little too disparaging of what is meant to be entertainment, not high art.
  80. WillM.
    Feb 8, 2004
    4
    The trips back in time got to the point of being annoying and you needed a scorecard to keep track of everything. direction and script was less than adequate.
  81. Scott
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    A great movie. Lives up to its premise and promise. Makes sense of tricky plot twists. Great acting. The critics are TOTALLY WRONG about this movie. I'm so glad I didn't listen to them. I loved the movie. Don't miss it!
  82. Macca
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie. It was good to see Ashton in a serious movie role and i think he handled it pretty well, definitely room for improvement though. Only thing i found tough to watch was some of the flashback scenes, which hit hard, which adds to good effect. But none the less a good movie, a different sort of movie then im used to, but it did the job because ill remember it for ages to come.
  83. KelR.
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    I'll admit that the acting wasn't perfect but the delivery was flawless. I loved this movie, simply because I love the sci-fi thriller types of movies, and this one brings home the bacon. As for the critics I think these people have some other motive behind their scores, or they are just plain blind. Look at the user score of about a 7 because after all it's the least this I'll admit that the acting wasn't perfect but the delivery was flawless. I loved this movie, simply because I love the sci-fi thriller types of movies, and this one brings home the bacon. As for the critics I think these people have some other motive behind their scores, or they are just plain blind. Look at the user score of about a 7 because after all it's the least this movie deserves. Expand
  84. G.S.
    Mar 4, 2004
    9
    I thought this was a very thought provoking movie. It shows how actions have impact on others and their lives.
  85. Thea
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    i think this movie was awesome. suckish ending, but i loved it. i could watch it a billion of times and never get tired of it. ironic, ain't it?
  86. Robert
    Jun 23, 2004
    8
    I don't quite see what was so bad about this movie. I found the plot gripping, and I thought the ending was a well thought out one. I found the twists and turns that the movie went through to be quite sensible, as it made fairly clear what turns of events led to the different "presents".
  87. UrelioS.
    Jul 14, 2004
    9
    Really one of best sci fi suspense films in a long time, i don't understand critics this film is not as silly as the kind " i know what you did last summer" it has a script, the prove critics are really silly is that users rate it with 7, 4/10 in the imdb web. it's the first time i see such a difference with the 27/100 from critics. this it's going to be a cult film. Really one of best sci fi suspense films in a long time, i don't understand critics this film is not as silly as the kind " i know what you did last summer" it has a script, the prove critics are really silly is that users rate it with 7, 4/10 in the imdb web. it's the first time i see such a difference with the 27/100 from critics. this it's going to be a cult film. critics think that a teen movie has to be silly ? it's some childs acting like bastards that they don't like ? not enough happy ending? this film it's not politically correct? Expand
  88. AmandaH.
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    Ashton is great in comedies and serious movies. This movie will for sure make his career better. So many twists you can't move away from the TV.
  89. GiuseppeA.
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    Really good movie I like the twists and turns of it. I saw the Director's cut on DVD and I must admit that I totally like it. For Ashton Kutcher an excellent starting point to act in more serious movies. I don't give a 10 for the cheesy effects of the flashbacks. Really weird why it got a so low metascore.
  90. FinfroskS.
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    My brother thinks it's really good!
  91. TylerL
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    One of the best movies i have ever seen.
  92. MichaelC.
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    For once, I am the positive one! I'm amazed that this movie got a measley 27 metascore; I thought it rocked. True, it was kind of a weird premise, but, in my opinion, its the most original take on a "time travel" movie in a long time. I even thought Kutcher, who is kind of a tool, did an awesome job as the lead character. And what's all this about a sloppy ending? I thought the For once, I am the positive one! I'm amazed that this movie got a measley 27 metascore; I thought it rocked. True, it was kind of a weird premise, but, in my opinion, its the most original take on a "time travel" movie in a long time. I even thought Kutcher, who is kind of a tool, did an awesome job as the lead character. And what's all this about a sloppy ending? I thought the ending was completely justified. The bottom line: this was a damn good movie. Not groundbreaking, but about 50 times better than I thought it would be. Expand
  93. Zybard
    Aug 1, 2004
    7
    Few people understand the genius that is Ahston Kutcher. But seriously, most people will not enjoy this, yet there is a small cult following as there was for Donnie Darko and Showgirls.
  94. JobieG.
    Aug 21, 2004
    10
    It's a terrible life, and a wonderful movie! So many things to see! Ashton Kutcher lives a truly blessed life! He is blessed by the God with great acting! We (heart) him, Ashton!
  95. LeonardoS.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    I thought this movie was great!
  96. RichC.
    Sep 21, 2004
    8
    A decent movie that if you allow yourself to suspend your nitpicking about the holes in the plot is an entertaining addition to the 'coming of age' genre, and with both endings (the sugary theatrical one and the much darker director's cut, which I personally prefer) will leave you thinking about the 'what ifs' of your own life. See it and decide for yourself.
  97. MarkA
    Sep 2, 2004
    9
    This movie was excellent. It really makes you think about chaos theory and how the world works. If you are a fan of alternate realities, or are one who constantly searches for meaning in this life this movie will make you question everything you know to be reality. For that reason I truly liked the movie. Ashton Kutcher does a fine job of portraying an extremely tough character who must This movie was excellent. It really makes you think about chaos theory and how the world works. If you are a fan of alternate realities, or are one who constantly searches for meaning in this life this movie will make you question everything you know to be reality. For that reason I truly liked the movie. Ashton Kutcher does a fine job of portraying an extremely tough character who must question his very existence at every turn. A nobel role for him to undertake and he does so successfully in my opinion. Expand
  98. WayneC.
    Oct 1, 2005
    10
    As has been said so many times, film critics that don't understand the film that they are commenting on should shut the hell up or get another job. The actors perfomances were no perfect, but all in all brilliant, but i agree you love it or hate it, normally thgouht 80% of the "hate its" are actually "don't understand it and too proud and well paid to admit it" - if you loved As has been said so many times, film critics that don't understand the film that they are commenting on should shut the hell up or get another job. The actors perfomances were no perfect, but all in all brilliant, but i agree you love it or hate it, normally thgouht 80% of the "hate its" are actually "don't understand it and too proud and well paid to admit it" - if you loved this movie you'll like donnie darko - Vice Versa. Expand
  99. TrikoD.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded me of Donnie Darko (one of my favorites aswell) and the unhappy ending really felt like a swift kick to the "Disneyland-everything-works-out-in-the-end" hollywood trend. If you hate Texas Walker Ranger style "Oh he saved the day theme! Lets live Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded me of Donnie Darko (one of my favorites aswell) and the unhappy ending really felt like a swift kick to the "Disneyland-everything-works-out-in-the-end" hollywood trend. If you hate Texas Walker Ranger style "Oh he saved the day theme! Lets live happily ever after" style as much as I do and loved Donnie Darko then this is your kind of a movie. Seriously, where do they find these so-called "critics"? Expand
  100. DannyS
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    I cant believe some of the reviews this movie got. This movie is the best film ever made in my mind. The movie keeps you wanting to know more and what's going to happen next. Not one scene in this movie is pointless. And then at the end after all of the incredibly well written story by J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress, the ending is nothing less then perfect. It's not one of I cant believe some of the reviews this movie got. This movie is the best film ever made in my mind. The movie keeps you wanting to know more and what's going to happen next. Not one scene in this movie is pointless. And then at the end after all of the incredibly well written story by J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress, the ending is nothing less then perfect. It's not one of those happy, perfect endings but a more realistic good sum up of the whole story (talking about the theatrical version). Movies have yet to be better produced than this one. Expand
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 35
  2. Negative: 18 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    60
    A terrific story, years in the making, that clearly stays true to the uncompromising vision of its creators. The results are on the screen.
  2. An entertaining piece of supernatural nonsense whose sheer audacity disarms all (well, nearly all) skepticism.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    30
    This overwrought and egregiously self-serious thriller about the poisonous fruit borne of child abuse grows more ridiculous by the quarter-hour and is poised for a theatrical life span scarcely longer than that of its eponymous insect.