New Line Cinema | Release Date: January 23, 2004
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 372 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
313
Mixed:
32
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KennyT.Oct 15, 2006
I thought this was a pretty good movie. Obviously I must not understand the art of film. . .
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DMMar 5, 2010
I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I loved it. Kutcher acted really well, the story was interesting and intrguing and for me the only I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I loved it. Kutcher acted really well, the story was interesting and intrguing and for me the only downer is the ending. It's not that typical "happy ending" you'd want in this kind of movie but it did it's job. Great acting, great story: great movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BoyManNov 2, 2005
Surely the best film I ever seen, really a great realisation, great scenarii, etc... so good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WayneC.Oct 1, 2005
As has been said so many times, film critics that don't understand the film that they are commenting on should shut the hell up or get another job. The actors perfomances were no perfect, but all in all brilliant, but i agree you love As has been said so many times, film critics that don't understand the film that they are commenting on should shut the hell up or get another job. The actors perfomances were no perfect, but all in all brilliant, but i agree you love it or hate it, normally thgouht 80% of the "hate its" are actually "don't understand it and too proud and well paid to admit it" - if you loved this movie you'll like donnie darko - Vice Versa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrikoD.Oct 21, 2005
Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded me of Donnie Darko (one of my favorites aswell) and the unhappy ending really felt like a swift kick Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded me of Donnie Darko (one of my favorites aswell) and the unhappy ending really felt like a swift kick to the "Disneyland-everything-works-out-in-the-end" hollywood trend. If you hate Texas Walker Ranger style "Oh he saved the day theme! Lets live happily ever after" style as much as I do and loved Donnie Darko then this is your kind of a movie. Seriously, where do they find these so-called "critics"? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimF.Jul 8, 2006
I thought this movie was excellent. Though, some of it was a bit hard to understand, but that is why you don't just watch it once. This is a movie you may have to watch 3-5 times before you see every little thing they tried to I thought this movie was excellent. Though, some of it was a bit hard to understand, but that is why you don't just watch it once. This is a movie you may have to watch 3-5 times before you see every little thing they tried to accomplish in the change of every kind of life he re-made of himself. There were some parts that really weren't needed within the movie, but they make up for it overall. The acting was great, the setting was great, the tale was great, and overall, the movie was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 8, 2007
I love time travel movies so this was amazing. Screw all critics, they can't even try to make anything better. To the person who said the ending would have been better if it was sad, the alternate ending was very sad and much better. I I love time travel movies so this was amazing. Screw all critics, they can't even try to make anything better. To the person who said the ending would have been better if it was sad, the alternate ending was very sad and much better. I haven't watched the theatrical ending ever since I saw the alternate cept when it was on TV this past sunday. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderTDec 4, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. From acting to plot which I actually found reasonably unique and the fact things change frequently is more realistic to me, than if he changed one event once and the rest of the movie explored what the I thoroughly enjoyed this film. From acting to plot which I actually found reasonably unique and the fact things change frequently is more realistic to me, than if he changed one event once and the rest of the movie explored what the reprocussions were. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GRFeb 27, 2009
I have no idea why this film has received negative reviews, one of my fav films. Critics know nothing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredR.Nov 16, 2005
Implausible, downright ridiculous, and one of the best rides you will ever take watching a movie. By the end you will completely believe in it, then you just go... naaah. What stays with me, and I've seen it 3 times already, are the Implausible, downright ridiculous, and one of the best rides you will ever take watching a movie. By the end you will completely believe in it, then you just go... naaah. What stays with me, and I've seen it 3 times already, are the performances. The child actors, the teen actors, and the adults all deliver stellar performances. Who are these kids? Teenage Tommy is out-of-control good. 7 year-old Evan is intense! All the teens and children were fabulous and I hope they get a lot of attention from this movie. Now, onto the adults. Let me just say that I cannot stand Ashton Kutcher, he pretty much creeps me out, but here he uses that to his advantage. He's at least likeable enough to root for him and care about what happens to him. It's not funny at all, but is he ever? He should stick to drama. Amy Smart should have been nominated for an academy award. Yes, I saw Million Dollar Baby, and this performance was as good if not better. If that discredits me, oh well. Eric Stoltz, wow, I mean, wow, that's horror right there. From Thumper to Evans mom to Frat Boy and anyone whose name I can't remember (problem with names, sorry), that was pure entertainment. Thank you! For anyone who hasn't seen this movie, save it for a special occasion. It pushes all the right buttons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NecrovampSep 8, 2010
This movie was great, Do not believe the critics at all. I even checked, the worst critic review, he rated No Country for Old Men" and Drag Me To Hell" at 100.......the critics know nothing, this movie was very good, just make sure you watchThis movie was great, Do not believe the critics at all. I even checked, the worst critic review, he rated No Country for Old Men" and Drag Me To Hell" at 100.......the critics know nothing, this movie was very good, just make sure you watch the original, the alternate ending was not very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nevruzSep 21, 2010
One of my favourites, its 30 on metacritic has really put me down regarding metacritic's judgement system.
Anyway really original film, touching and in my opinion intelligently developed from start to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fede-lasseFeb 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't help but think that if the ending was more something consisting of a "big reveal" that'd show the audience who Evan really is, and everything he thought he knew about his life after killing Kailey with dynamite was a lie all along desperately created in his imagination, then the movie could've been more plausible with a severe delusional belief being the "clinical explanation" of his "time-travelling skills".

An ending like this could even be hinted at near the ending, considering that, when he had his severe "memory reconstruction" and eventual nosebleed in the bed of the clinical institution, the doctor dude at the end apparently already knew about Evan's adventures in campus, prison, and a wheelchair when the latter came to ask for the journals.

But then he travelled back to his pre-birth state and the movie ended up being metaphysical. But damn, it could've been a cool "mental movie" if something along the lines of my proposal would've been the case. Shutter Island does it, and I love that movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. It is based on the theory that for every decision we make, an equal and opposite reaction occurs in another dimension. In this film, Ashton Kutcher's/Logan Lerman's character finds a way to enterThis is one of my favorite movies of all time. It is based on the theory that for every decision we make, an equal and opposite reaction occurs in another dimension. In this film, Ashton Kutcher's/Logan Lerman's character finds a way to enter these dimensions and make the opposite choice. This movie was so good, because the possibilities are endless. There were two sequals which I haven't seen. Normally I'm all for sequals, but this movie was so good, that I don't want to risk tarnishing it by watching the two direct to video sequals, and lets face it, they don't have Ashton in them. In The Butterfly Effect, Kutcher shows that he is versital and can do much more than just romantic comedy. This movie is a Sci-Fi lovers dream and a can't miss film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tarcottiMar 20, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *Spoilers* Some idiot who reviewed this movie said this has nothing to do with the Butterfly Effect. Um, you obviously didn't watch the movie. The whole premise is....change one thing...change everything. I think this is an very hard film to watch displaying all the terrible things these kids do and how messed up they are. It was a bit over the top, but when it comes down to it, he sacrificed himself to save everyone in the end. That part was just amazing. And I'm talking about the director's cut. If you watch the theater's cut, it is just awful. What a terrible ending. This film basically has 2 different reviews, 1/10 for the theater cut, and 10/10 for director's cut. WATCH THE DIRECTOR'S CUT. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RyanSolomonMay 4, 2013
This movie is an amazing psychological thriller that takes you into the depths of cause and effect in no way I've ever seen before. This movie is great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Sep 7, 2016
I feel like a lot of critics wrote this movie off because Ashton Kutcher is in it. I've been intrigued by this movie for a few years now but I never got to see it until yesterday. But lets ponder the premise of this film for a second, what ifI feel like a lot of critics wrote this movie off because Ashton Kutcher is in it. I've been intrigued by this movie for a few years now but I never got to see it until yesterday. But lets ponder the premise of this film for a second, what if you could go back to major junctions in your life and go down another path? What if there's an alternate existence out there for you? where the cumulative sum of the choices that you didn't make become a better reality with a happier and more fulfilling existence? But at the same time what if the power to change the past and it ended up screwing up your reality for the better? what if the choice you didn't make wasn't the good choice? Do you go back and see the consequences? The story is fairly uncomplicated, presenting events in a chronological order that keeps the viewer's attention and interested. With films like this, there are invariably going to be a ton of plot holes if you think too much about it, but that's part of the charm. The plot features a guy who damaged by the events of his past, then he discovers that he can travel back in time to various times of his life, and the ensuing chaos that arises when he tries to change things in the hopes of making things better for those involved. His sole motivation, from my perspective was to find a way to where he can be with his girl while at the same time changing the events and lives of those he was friends with at the time. The whole point of the movie focuses on the butterfly effect and how little choices send echoes through time and change the events of your life for better or for worse. The whole premise of the film is so well thought out that I'm just baffled on why this film has a paltry 30 on metacritc. Ashton Kutcher, whom I've never been a fan of and have almost despised every movie he's been in, gives a surprising performance that really shows his acting chops. Most of the cast did well also and deserve props for their work in this film. However, in this sci-fi epic it appears as though anything is possible and it left me pondering my own decisions in life with the big "what if we could go back and do this instead of this?" question. While I understand that people/critcs may not like it or even understand its premise you have to give it props, in my point of view as film manages to be inspirational and can maybe help you get over your past while at the same time doing a good job at keeping you on the edge of your seat throughout its entirety. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SlamdogXFeb 21, 2014
This is one of my most favorite movies of all time. I can't fathom what was going through the reviewers heads when they gave those scores. Looking at the user score restored some faith in people, but really? A critic review of 30 is reservedThis is one of my most favorite movies of all time. I can't fathom what was going through the reviewers heads when they gave those scores. Looking at the user score restored some faith in people, but really? A critic review of 30 is reserved for Twilight-esque movies, not this gem. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
cmainthuging12Jul 3, 2014
I don't know why this video is reviewed hate by some critics, it's art, movies have stories, some are good and some are not, painting has stories and life has stories, music does, history has stories but remember that you can always paint andI don't know why this video is reviewed hate by some critics, it's art, movies have stories, some are good and some are not, painting has stories and life has stories, music does, history has stories but remember that you can always paint and polish a turd but it will always be a turd in the end, but it still doesn't take away the fact that all art is art and it still has its styles that isn't always appealing to every ones opinion Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MaccaMaccaJun 10, 2007
I really enjoyed this film, but I knew it would get bad reviews. Critics hate it when Hollywood does something ambitious and intense like this - they think it should be done by some random cult director instead. And they always hate films I really enjoyed this film, but I knew it would get bad reviews. Critics hate it when Hollywood does something ambitious and intense like this - they think it should be done by some random cult director instead. And they always hate films with complicated story lines like this one - they're too lazy to actually bother to keep up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CoryW.Oct 23, 2005
Amazing plot. Left me thinking for hours after viewing. I found the acting defently believable. The ending is a tad weak, I hoped for somthing more, I did enjoy the many alternative endings it had to offer. If you like one of those movies Amazing plot. Left me thinking for hours after viewing. I found the acting defently believable. The ending is a tad weak, I hoped for somthing more, I did enjoy the many alternative endings it had to offer. If you like one of those movies that really make you think then you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JM.Mar 19, 2007
Excellent movie. Must watch twice to get all of the twists you missed the first time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.K.Feb 20, 2006
Wow, I never really paid an attention when this film was released. It seems critics hated this film with their hearts. For Ashton, it was one of his better performances. For Amy, it was decent. People mistake the concept of the film with Wow, I never really paid an attention when this film was released. It seems critics hated this film with their hearts. For Ashton, it was one of his better performances. For Amy, it was decent. People mistake the concept of the film with time travel. Yeah, I think it is part of it, but the film clearly states in the intro that it is about CHAOS theory. I think the Director's Cut's ending was much superiror than the theatical ending. I blame the studios. Yeah, life changing alteration can be fun to watch, but some of the things were overly done. The film tried too hard to make everything change for each alteration. Although it was funny, Frat-life alteration was overly done. It seems like they foreced it to happen. But I love the depth of psychological aspects of the film. The fact that blackouts in the film only happened in the events of "future" reconstruction. It was left blank in the brain to fill it in later. Could you imagine multiple neural reconstruction of your brain for new memories? No one knows how will it be or how it could be, but this film did a pretty good job. Ashton having the skull cracking pain for his reconstruction seems very reasonable. What will happen to your brain upon a complete input of all new memories with original memories residing in the brain? The beauty of memories will be gone and only co-exist as psuedo-reality. I personally think a person will go insane with co-exiting of memories from exact time and location; thus this explains why everyone in Evan's family line appears insane. Just think about how crazy the director's cut's ending is. This film is deep, but sugar coated with Hollywood's studio power, I'm just disappointed how so many critics didn't see the depth of deeper meanings this film was trying to reach. Yeah, it was little cliche here and there playing under typical Hollywood, but there is something other than the typical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisH.Jun 12, 2007
A very well made movie, regardless of what critics think, this is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hevatinSep 28, 2013
A unique and bold movie. The only possible weakness I could find was the conclusion (finale), which some people might find to abrupt or meaningless. I didn't think the finale ruined the movie and it is a surprise which makes for a twist theA unique and bold movie. The only possible weakness I could find was the conclusion (finale), which some people might find to abrupt or meaningless. I didn't think the finale ruined the movie and it is a surprise which makes for a twist the movie might not have otherwise had.

The movie was actually well thought through on many levels and considering the logic and story that is not an easy thing to accomplish. I don't think critics like fantasies, which is what this movie is.

Ultimately the movie is love story with a very strong theme and the conclusion supports that theme perfectly. In that way the conclusion works very well.

I don't the critics understand that. A lot of critics don't understand story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JessMan247Feb 22, 2012
I just watched this movie for the 2nd time in like 8 years and i have to say now that im not 12 i can say im blown away with this movie. Gets right to the point and the screenplay has things i couldn't even imaging they are so terrible, butI just watched this movie for the 2nd time in like 8 years and i have to say now that im not 12 i can say im blown away with this movie. Gets right to the point and the screenplay has things i couldn't even imaging they are so terrible, but they are brilliant events. I want to give it a 10 because poor acting except for some good scenes between Amy Smart and Ashton, so i deduct a point there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer147Aug 25, 2013
Just like The Guardian, it's either the critics are corrputed as hell or they have something against Ashton Kutcher. I loved this movie and can hardly believe the differences in user ratings and critic ratings in The Butterfly Effect AND TheJust like The Guardian, it's either the critics are corrputed as hell or they have something against Ashton Kutcher. I loved this movie and can hardly believe the differences in user ratings and critic ratings in The Butterfly Effect AND The Guardian.

Watch it, it's a bit complicated, but that's the point.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SquezeSep 5, 2014
I saw this movie just today and I have to say this go direct into my top 10, it keeps you in front ot the screen and you really want to know so many things that at the beginning sounds creepy and are not explained it is just amazing.
It's
I saw this movie just today and I have to say this go direct into my top 10, it keeps you in front ot the screen and you really want to know so many things that at the beginning sounds creepy and are not explained it is just amazing.
It's similar to donnie darko and shutter island, but less complicate and everything happens much faster and full of plot twists!!
The only "bad thing" about this movie is the rushed ending... but if you think about it could you think about anything better as ending? Could it have a different ending? Don't really know about that.
9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
IssuJan 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Huge indifference between the user ratings and critics ratings gives an idea how stupid the critics are really when analysing this movie .This one was a really gem of a movie, one in a thousand type, it would actually give the viewers blackouts after finishing this one. The end might not be as convincing as it could be but that don't take away the credit from the director for engaging or rather confusing our mind with such a well built movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Jul 14, 2015
I'm not really sure what turned the critics off about this movie but I thought it was original and very well written. I thought that there would be a point were the film was biting off more than it could chew but in the end I thought the filmI'm not really sure what turned the critics off about this movie but I thought it was original and very well written. I thought that there would be a point were the film was biting off more than it could chew but in the end I thought the film was the best that could be. Ashton Kutcher shows some acting ability in this film and I would really like to see him do more drama because I think this is an underrated role. Amy Smart also shows great versatility by playing so many different characters in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AMovieCriticFeb 3, 2006
Whoa...what an underrated movie. Everything about this movie was amazing and well-thought out. The child actors in the flashbacks were amazingly real, especially Tommy, who was completely disturbing. The adult actors, from the excellent Amy Whoa...what an underrated movie. Everything about this movie was amazing and well-thought out. The child actors in the flashbacks were amazingly real, especially Tommy, who was completely disturbing. The adult actors, from the excellent Amy Smart to the surprisingly convincing Ashton Kutcher, all deliver great performances. The plot of this movie...yeah, it's completely unbelievable, but I don't think it was meant to be believable. The reason for the time travel occuring is never even explained. But the movie manages to draw you in anyway. This was one hell of a movie. I thought the ending was well done, and even a little sad. The beginning was excellently done, the middle...although the whole wheelchair scenario easily could have been cut with no consequence to the story, the rest of the movie flows perfectly. Overall, this movie was a big surprise, and I'm glad it managed to find success at the box office and on DVD. I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LouisM.Apr 3, 2006
I cannot understand why the critics hated this movie so much. Sometimes I think they are full of it. I have very high standards when it comes to movies and seldomly give high ratings. This was good. The movie pulled me in. It was as if I was I cannot understand why the critics hated this movie so much. Sometimes I think they are full of it. I have very high standards when it comes to movies and seldomly give high ratings. This was good. The movie pulled me in. It was as if I was living his "nightmare" unfold. Would have been more powerfull if the ending with an "unhappy" ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomoJan 23, 2007
The cast wasn't the best and the ending and the story itself could have been better but it was a very entertaining movie. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RominaS.Oct 29, 2008
Personally, I think The Butterfly Effect was a good movie. I think it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GhostbuddyJun 9, 2008
The majority of modern day critics, are unfortunetely traped in a closed minded state while watching movies. Just look at the reviews for this movie, found on this site. And the biggest complaint you see is the plot is silly. That the plot The majority of modern day critics, are unfortunetely traped in a closed minded state while watching movies. Just look at the reviews for this movie, found on this site. And the biggest complaint you see is the plot is silly. That the plot is nonsense. The truth is, the plot isn't grounded in what they accept as reality. And that prevents them from seeing the commentary behind it. The basic concept is. We have a group of friends that grow up, with a pretty f-ked up childhood. Evan, the main character begins to suffer from blackouts. He is taken to a child psychologist, who assures Evans mother its nothing to worry about. And that children usually do this to forget about stressful and traumatic experiences. He reccomends that Evan begin to reccord a journal to help him remember. When Evan grows up, and is in college. He realizes he can take control of his past self by reading his journal. Basically his consciousness can take a trip back in time. Allowing him to change his past. This turns out to be a silly and unrealistic but suprizingly effective plot device. It allows the story telling to reveals things about the characters twisted past, in very interesting ways. It allows the movie to talk about consequences and humanity in very intriguing ways. The movie is overall well executed. Effective camera angles. Great use of sound and image filters during the film. There is some less then satisfactory acting. But I never found it to be laughably or unacceptably bad. I think the degree of which this movie was panned highlights a problem with critics. One reviewer basically critized the film for not having a typical hollywood ending. Another reviewer critized it for being "complicated". This movie has a lot of good ideas, and if you approach it open mindedly, you will find an intriguing commentary wraped in twisted imagery, backed by great film making and editing. Don't get me wrong, this movie is not perfect, nor close to it. But I think it would be a shame if the genius in this movie is forgotten. Because the movies plot refuses to be grounded by preconcieved notions, and because of a few minor fumbles by a few actors. Seriously, don't take critics of any kind seriously on anything any more. Trust the adverage user score more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jessscottJan 14, 2009
I enjoyed this film thoroughly the critics may of voted low because they're easily confused but i found it had depth, good acting and generally a good film don't be put of by the 30 if u like thrillers this is for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewWFeb 22, 2009
It was like alot of low buget hollywood movies, not alot to play around with, hence only 4 people being changed by his "blocked memories" but it was VERY well done in my opinion, definitely a must watch, and for me a must keep!! one of It was like alot of low buget hollywood movies, not alot to play around with, hence only 4 people being changed by his "blocked memories" but it was VERY well done in my opinion, definitely a must watch, and for me a must keep!! one of ashtons best acting jobs, very very unique plot, all in all VERY entertaining!! going to read up more on the chaos theory now! :D enjoy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BurakFMar 26, 2010
I'm absolutely blown away by how badly 'professional' critics have reviewed this gem. I first watched this film about 3-4 years ago and recently recalled how good it was so i got a hold of it and watched it for the second I'm absolutely blown away by how badly 'professional' critics have reviewed this gem. I first watched this film about 3-4 years ago and recently recalled how good it was so i got a hold of it and watched it for the second time, and i must say i enjoyed it just as much the second time as i did the first time. I'd definitely recommend watching this. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
8
APMar 26, 2010
I frequently agree with critical opinion, but I was quite surprised to see this score. It's a pretty decent film, don't be thrown off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LawriJul 18, 2007
If you ignore the fact that Ashton Kutcher is bending the space-time thingy just by reading his old diaries (talk about macho, I think Chuck Norris himself would be impressed), it's a pretty entertaining The Story Of My Life movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
musterionSep 28, 2007
After reading the critics, I was wondering if they watched the same move I did. Better than average file dealing with time threads. I guess it required them to think a bit too much. They all seemed to have raved about Donnie Darko.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kingshahidOct 10, 2011
I had a negative expectation with this movie hearing so much about it. I am not a fan of Ashton Kutcher on top of all that. I gave it a shot, I have to say, the movie was quite intriguing. It did keep you entertained following his mess of aI had a negative expectation with this movie hearing so much about it. I am not a fan of Ashton Kutcher on top of all that. I gave it a shot, I have to say, the movie was quite intriguing. It did keep you entertained following his mess of a life that is influencing his traumatized life to the point of neuroticism. It makes you wonder what some people that are labelled mentally disturbed go through based on life's events that we don't always control or can change if we wanted to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chicagopianoSep 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really didn't expect great reviews from critics but 30 out of 100 is a bit messed up; the story never gets too confusing and acting was fine, should have at least got 50 out of 100. I saw the third ending were he kills himself which I found more meaningful but unnecessary, though the others were weaker they just made more sense Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CaKeSAug 31, 2013
Excuse me? Why is the critic score 30?! This was an amazing movie and I know many people that love this movie, I'm absolutely baffled as to why the critics rated it so low. It's an interesting story, with many mind-bending aspects to it andExcuse me? Why is the critic score 30?! This was an amazing movie and I know many people that love this movie, I'm absolutely baffled as to why the critics rated it so low. It's an interesting story, with many mind-bending aspects to it and it keep you entertained and thinking. I love movies like this and this one in particular is very good! Completely ignore the critics on this one, it's a crime that they rated this so low and every one of them should never be taken seriously after rating a movie like The Butterfly Effect this low. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
GiPicchiottiDec 16, 2013
There are some titles which Metascore is higher than User Score. And there are some which User Score is higher. On this movie, the user score is 2,5 times higher than Metascore, which means that the experience the movie brings is better thanThere are some titles which Metascore is higher than User Score. And there are some which User Score is higher. On this movie, the user score is 2,5 times higher than Metascore, which means that the experience the movie brings is better than it is while technically critically.
Experience and technique, as well as theory and pratice are not opposites. The best movie is the one which succeeds on both points. That because, people who are more critic while watching movies will have their experience affected by a lack of technical quality.

So, the objective to my review is to judge experience and technique together, as they are related, but not the same thing.

This movie brings an awesome experience. It really moved with my way of seeing things (at least for a moment) and of thinking. Its idea is interesting, and opens various possibilities. The "key idea" of the movie came as a surprise. Untill there, there was such a "mistery" opened, and the answer to it was very satisfying.
Characters are interesting, however kinda generic. Some of the passages didn't make any sense, while others where perfectly coherent and meaningfull. The end was cliche. But by the end of the day, that didn't mean that much to the experience.

So, going to where it interests... 8/10. Generic characters, senseless events and a cliche ending coexists with an awesome atmosphere, an awesome idea and awesome acting. The good side,, prevails, however it's sonewhat affected by the theorical flaws.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
El_JackoMay 9, 2015
A surprisingly excellent time-travel drama that interestingly toys with the classic concept of changing the past. Ashton Kutcher is a solid leading man and the movie maturely incorporates darkly adult themes into a seemingly pure sci-fi plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 30, 2016
In this bizarrely interesting and highly entertaining movie, Ashton Kutcher probably gives the best performance he's ever done.Don't let the low score fool you.It's a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Apr 5, 2016
The Butterfly Effect is a well written movie with a heartfelt story that will leave viewers with something to think about. Add to that good performances from all the cast in particular Ashton Kutcher who brings to life a great character. InThe Butterfly Effect is a well written movie with a heartfelt story that will leave viewers with something to think about. Add to that good performances from all the cast in particular Ashton Kutcher who brings to life a great character. In the end, the butterfly effect is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Pamuditha007Sep 18, 2016
This is an amazing movie. great story-line ... the ending is a bit sad, but still the movie is really solid. I don't see why the critics have given this movie such a less rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BroyaxApr 5, 2017
Le film met quelque temps à se mettre en place, de quoi en vérité bâtir de solides fondations afin que le scénario rien moins que génial -et résolument original dans son traitement du voyage dans le temps- puisse se dérouler comme uneLe film met quelque temps à se mettre en place, de quoi en vérité bâtir de solides fondations afin que le scénario rien moins que génial -et résolument original dans son traitement du voyage dans le temps- puisse se dérouler comme une partition savamment orchestrée, et ce jusqu'au grand final, étonnant et pourtant très logique.

La présence d'Ashton Kutcher, ex-abonné aux sitcoms les plus pathétiques, pouvait faire craindre le pire mais contre toute attente, le grand gaillard s'en tire avec les honneurs.

Le film décidément très bien construit bénéficie aussi d'une réalisation de qualité et maintient une curiosité et une tension constantes au fil de ses retours en arrière (et en avant) au sein desquels chaque choix, chaque action a une conséquence... imprévisible !

A croire qu'il est impossible de remettre de l'ordre dans le chaos sans l'aggraver davantage ; la roue du karma tourne et elle ne tient qu'à un fil... ou à un papillon ! tout simplement édifiant.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JackBFeb 1, 2009
I saw this on tv the other night and really enjoyed it. Very nice idea, something a bit different. Kutcher excellent and showed new depth i never knew he had, he should stick to proper acting in roles which stretch him because he has a lot I saw this on tv the other night and really enjoyed it. Very nice idea, something a bit different. Kutcher excellent and showed new depth i never knew he had, he should stick to proper acting in roles which stretch him because he has a lot of talent. Good film, well worth a watch if its on the tele and you have a free evening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It's almost overwhelmingly dark, but "The Butterfly Effect" still remains a solid effort from Kutcher and Bress/Gruber.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
ernukJan 4, 2014
Consumers and critics alike watch an Ashton Kutcher -movie with certain expectations, find themselves in over their heads.

This one had it's flaws, and at some points it seemed like it was little more than an excuse to portray grim
Consumers and critics alike watch an Ashton Kutcher -movie with certain expectations, find themselves in over their heads.

This one had it's flaws, and at some points it seemed like it was little more than an excuse to portray grim imaginary on the screen. But hey, it worked for me!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenOct 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The idea behind this sci-fi is interesting, that's why I gave it a 7. However the execution of the idea is not the best, I think. The film obviously tries to be realistic showing all the coincidences that can alter our lives and turn it from better to worse, while the protagonist's supernatural power is only a tool. Until a certain point it could even have been an option that he is indeed mentally ill and none of the impossible stuff has ever happened. But of course that's not what happens in the movie.
A good science fiction concept is although actually unbelievable, you forget about that fact while watching the film because it is made to seem very realistic and logical in the setting of the story. But this story utterly failed to be realistic, in my opinion they exaggerated Evan's bad childhood in such a level that it failed to be believable, it was a very clichéd freudian excuse and it's not just Evan but the rest of the characters as well. I couldn't even really care about him because even though they tried to portray him like this nice, good kid, at the same time he is blowing up people's mailboxes with his friends. My point is, the film failed to present it's message, because I could not believe that their future turned out bad every single time because of the butterfly-effect and unpredictability despite them trying hard, instead I think it turned out the way it did because they were looser who didn't try hard enough. Evan had plenty of opportunities, truly. First of all, he killed a guy, like what was he thinking? Certainly not "Maybe I should stop hitting the brother of my girlfriend, he is passed out and covered in blood.He might die.She might hate me for it. I might rot in jail for the rest of my life." Yeah, that's definitely not what he was thinking.. Also why did he stop right next to the mailbox, he shouldn't have to loose his arms if he had been more clever, he knew it was about to blow. Also I just can't believe that someone is so self-sacrificing that he is trying to fix the lives of everyone but when he is sitting in a wheel-chair without arms, he wouldn't fix his own life, not until he sees his mother's condition. The girl was very stupid from the start , she suffered all that abuse because she liked a boy, that's ridiculous. Her brother was such a stereotypically bad kid that it's impossible to blame his behaviour just on his abuse, more like he was plain evil. Whatever, my point is if someone more apt had possessed Evan's "gift", he/she might actually have been able to make things right. Of course this film has multiple endings, so in the theatrical version Evan can make things right, too. However in the director's cut he just sacrifices himself, like his mother's previous babies did, kind of dumb, he has no reason to do that since he can fix everything just the way he did in the theatrical version. Still, all in all, this is not a bad film, as a whole I quite liked it, but I had to point out the things I disliked. Also it's a quite overrated film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews