The Butterfly Effect

The Butterfly Effect Image
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Evan Treborn (Kutcher) has lost track of time. From an early age, crucial moments of his life have disappeared into a black hole of forgetting, his boyhood marred by a series of terrifying events he can't remember. Determined to do something now that he was incapable of doing then, EvanEvan Treborn (Kutcher) has lost track of time. From an early age, crucial moments of his life have disappeared into a black hole of forgetting, his boyhood marred by a series of terrifying events he can't remember. Determined to do something now that he was incapable of doing then, Evan purposely travels back in time, his present-day mind occupying his childhood body, in an attempt to re-write history and spare his friends and loved ones these traumatic experiences. By altering the events of the past, Evan hopes to transform the present. (New Line Cinema) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 35
  2. Negative: 18 out of 35
  1. 75
    The ending is weak, and may be the result of the filmmakers writing themselves into a corner and not wanting to conclude things in a burst of nihilistic excess. Yet, even though it's a cheat, it retains a degree of resonance.
  2. As a thriller, The Butterfly Effect is iffy and uneven, but as a portrait of a people, it's effective and intriguing.
  3. Kutcher's performance isn't terrible, but the brilliant, bewildered, increasingly desperate Evan is the film's center, and grounding its flights of fantasy in rock-solid emotional reality is more than Kutcher can manage.
  4. 30
    You have to, if not love, at least not mind a movie in which the very act of Ashton Kutcher reading is enough of a cosmic trauma to rip a hole in the fabric of space-time.
  5. If you approach this movie in the right frame of mind -- that is, with total contempt -- you can still enjoy it as a comedy.
  6. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    10
    It's a terrible life, and a terrible movie.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 173
  1. DM
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I I think the critics were paid to give these bad scores. Because seriously, this isn't the best movie but it's a damn fine one. I loved it. Kutcher acted really well, the story was interesting and intrguing and for me the only downer is the ending. It's not that typical "happy ending" you'd want in this kind of movie but it did it's job. Great acting, great story: great movie. Expand
  2. TrikoD.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded Clearly one of the best films this year although critics don't like it because it isn't a black & white movie. The movie reminded me of Donnie Darko (one of my favorites aswell) and the unhappy ending really felt like a swift kick to the "Disneyland-everything-works-out-in-the-end" hollywood trend. If you hate Texas Walker Ranger style "Oh he saved the day theme! Lets live happily ever after" style as much as I do and loved Donnie Darko then this is your kind of a movie. Seriously, where do they find these so-called "critics"? Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    I don't know why this video is reviewed hate by some critics, it's art, movies have stories, some are good and some are not, painting hasI don't know why this video is reviewed hate by some critics, it's art, movies have stories, some are good and some are not, painting has stories and life has stories, music does, history has stories but remember that you can always paint and polish a turd but it will always be a turd in the end, but it still doesn't take away the fact that all art is art and it still has its styles that isn't always appealing to every ones opinion Expand
  4. jessscott
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed this film thoroughly the critics may of voted low because they're easily confused but i found it had depth, good acting and I enjoyed this film thoroughly the critics may of voted low because they're easily confused but i found it had depth, good acting and generally a good film don't be put of by the 30 if u like thrillers this is for you. Expand
  5. AP
    Mar 26, 2010
    8
    I frequently agree with critical opinion, but I was quite surprised to see this score. It's a pretty decent film, don't be thrown off.
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Consumers and critics alike watch an Ashton Kutcher -movie with certain expectations, find themselves in over their heads.

    This one had
    Consumers and critics alike watch an Ashton Kutcher -movie with certain expectations, find themselves in over their heads.

    This one had it's flaws, and at some points it seemed like it was little more than an excuse to portray grim imaginary on the screen. But hey, it worked for me!
    Expand
  7. ChrisM
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    I'm so frustrated by teenagers who are not just looking for movies to pass their time but also try to proove how misguided the critics I'm so frustrated by teenagers who are not just looking for movies to pass their time but also try to proove how misguided the critics are.Stop saying this movie is a matserpiece just because of the clever idea behind it.What ever happened to the noble art of movie making?Is this the new virtues of films?Horrible acting and some so called personal torture tales?American Bullshit!No motive behind the movie but cheap amusement! Expand

See all 173 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ashton Kutcher: All Films Considered

    Ashton Kutcher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: June 3, 2010
    Though he generates headlines, Ashton Kutcher has yet to make a good movie, and his newest action-comedy "Killers" likely won't change that. We look back on his career to date and pick out some of the actor's worst films.
  2. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.