Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Apr 8, 2012
    60
    Part "Evil Dead," part "The Truman Show," part "Arthur Christmas"... For horror hounds who love a larf, and those of us who always wondered exactly what that dry-ice stuff that rises out of the forest-floor moss is. A fun ride - but not quite a "Scream."
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    The laughs come easily, the screams not so much. It's as if the filmmakers got so wrapped up in the satire they forgot to include the intense sensation of rising dread that creates all the thrills and chills that are part of the attraction.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    However smart and sophisticated this film is, it may disappoint those who, in their hearts, would still like to be genuinely scared.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Mar 10, 2012
    50
    Effects work is slick, and Goddard keeps his foot on the accelerator with help from David Julyan's suspense-building score. It's just too bad the movie is never much more than a hollow exercise in self-reflexive cleverness that's not nearly as ingenious as it seems to think.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Novelty and genre traditionalism often fight to a draw. Too much overt cleverness has a way of spoiling dumb, reliable thrills. And despite the evident ingenuity and strenuous labor that went into it, The Cabin in the Woods does not quite work.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Apr 10, 2012
    50
    A horror comedy with a structural twist intended to emit an air of being something more, Cabin has an off-putting vibe of cocky self-confidence, a "don't you get it" conviction that it's something special. As with people, it's not a charming quality in a movie.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 217
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away,This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away, thats why the synopsis is so short. I work at a movie theater and just the other day, a group of three guys went to go see this movie and left 10 minutes into it and said it was the dumbest movie ever made and it was a waste of money and time. Im sorry but if you are like these 3 men then you are a hypocrite and you are just plain stupid. Everybody and i mean everybody complains or at least acknowledges the fact that all horror movies are made the same nowadays. The Cabin in the Woods has listened to everybody and has turned the tides. This film is pure genius. It changes it up and shows you behind the scenes of every cheesy cliche horror film ever made, and it does it very well. It explains everything we've ever seen in a horror film, including the fact as to why you always have the athlete, the whore, the scholar, the fool, and the "virgin" as they say, but otherwise known as the good girl. It will have you on the edge of your seat, it will make you laugh your head off, and most of all, it will make your jaw drop. I loved this film and i believe everybody else will and has too, unless you are a hypocrite like those 3 guys. 10/10...perfection Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This movie is a love letter to horror movie fans as well as being one of the darkest comedies I have ever seen. The title of this movie makesThis movie is a love letter to horror movie fans as well as being one of the darkest comedies I have ever seen. The title of this movie makes it sound like the most generic horror movie, but I can guarantee this movie goes places you never thought a horror movie could go. If you like horror movies and can stomach the gore, this movie is a must. Don't watch the trailers, don't read about that plot, just go see this movie. Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant movie. I think some people are going in expecting a slasher movie. Don't do that. It's more a black comedy wrappedAbsolutely brilliant movie. I think some people are going in expecting a slasher movie. Don't do that. It's more a black comedy wrapped around a great central concept. Whedon's humor is all over this flick, and he's never been funnier. Everybody praised Scream for the way it disassembled the horror genre, but Cabin does it SO much better. Full Review »