Lionsgate | Release Date: April 13, 2012
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1032 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
834
Mixed:
114
Negative:
84
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
OdinsMovieBlogFeb 19, 2018
An excellent blend of comedy and thriller The Cabin in the Woods has redefined the horror film genre. I have heard many say that this is one of the best horror films in the last 10 years and I believe that they would be mostly right aboutAn excellent blend of comedy and thriller The Cabin in the Woods has redefined the horror film genre. I have heard many say that this is one of the best horror films in the last 10 years and I believe that they would be mostly right about that. My only critique of that is that the movie is not so much scary as it is clever and well written. As someone who does not really like horror films I was pleasantly surprised by this film. One can definitely see the influence of Joss Whedon in the writing. This will likely be in my Top 10 of the year and is worthy of much praise. "Am I on speaker phone?" Odin's Score: 90/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
drone41Feb 9, 2018
If you want to kill your time with something terrible, this is movie for you. Meaningless and funny in the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodDec 12, 2013
Its a really good movie. It does a fantastic job playing around with the idea of what Slasher/horror movies.

I liked it a lot. Its pretty good. And the last act of this film is absolutely genius. Its kinda annoying then that the characters
Its a really good movie. It does a fantastic job playing around with the idea of what Slasher/horror movies.

I liked it a lot. Its pretty good. And the last act of this film is absolutely genius. Its kinda annoying then that the characters are all awfully unlikeable and it's hard to really root these characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SrPepeNov 18, 2017
La historia es media rara y hay partes en las que uno piensa ¿De dónde **** salió eso? El final a mi parecer es basura. Sin embargo tiene sus momentos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
The cake is a lie.

I was lulled into complacency by the invocation of Joss Whedon's name in association with this film, in addition to the positive percentiles of RT and Metacritic reviews. While not as disappointing as The Blair Witch
The cake is a lie.

I was lulled into complacency by the invocation of Joss Whedon's name in association with this film, in addition to the positive percentiles of RT and Metacritic reviews. While not as disappointing as The Blair Witch meta-eBaitAndSwitch, it disappoints none the less.

The Cabin in the Woods has all the charm of a live action Scooby Doo sequel, that is, if you mashed it up with every horror trope ever created. The kernel to this story - that the ritual sacrifice of the young across the aeons - is buried underneath layers of Whedonesque sarcasm and a stylistic co-opting of every horror franchise in modern memory a la Sommers' Van Helsing. The premise to this film is original, unfortunately, not much else is.

In the end, I was rooting for the monsters. In this respect, we're also cheated as the promise of seeing a Lovecraftian Ancient One evaporates with the appearance of [SPOILER ALERT] a goofy giant human hand.

Meh.

Don't spend a dime, no need to put it on your Netflix queue... wait for basic cable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJul 22, 2016
The movie was entertaining, violent, well acted, well executed and funny at times, The Cabin in the Woods might not be the most original horror movie , but it certainly is one of the most entertaining of 2012.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HalRepublicMar 14, 2016
This movie just makes sense! Not single one of the characters in this movie makes stupid decision. Like the overused "lets spilt up", motherf***er got killed because you spilt up. This movie is not that clever, its just genuine and honest.This movie just makes sense! Not single one of the characters in this movie makes stupid decision. Like the overused "lets spilt up", motherf***er got killed because you spilt up. This movie is not that clever, its just genuine and honest. Honest about this genre we call horror, which all of their formulas make zero sense. I'd say even the "whore" character is not that dumb, not to mention Chris Hemsworth character has an opinion on books, in the mean time he portrays a stereotypical jock. Also, that stoner guy is the best and lovable-est character from a "horror" film.
Am I on speakerphone? I'm still on speakerphone am I?! LMAO.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
owmynose9000Jan 17, 2016
The Cabin in the Woods was unique. Constant fourth wall breaks and satire made this movie that much more enjoyable. References and inspirations from other staple horror films are evident throughout the movie as they compliment the uniqueThe Cabin in the Woods was unique. Constant fourth wall breaks and satire made this movie that much more enjoyable. References and inspirations from other staple horror films are evident throughout the movie as they compliment the unique narrative. It pays homage to the classic films of the genre while also playfully poking fun at them. The story itself uses the parody of horror cliches to its advantage to create a plot that is classic suspense/thriller inspired alongside comedic elements that don't interrupt the plot but rather compliment it. This combination of classic horror action and satire make The Cabin in the Woods unique and a film that is sure not to disappoint fans of campy gore and violence. The Cabin in the Woods is a must see for horror fans, or anyone in the need of a movie is truly capable of standing on its own within the horror genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RJMS1984Jan 3, 2016
This is the worst movie I've seen last year. Really. All the "tribute" thing it's worthless. There is no plot. There is no 3-D characters. There is no **** sense in the script.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 7, 2015
"Don't fix what isn't broken" is an old saying that The Cabin in the Woods completely disregards. It tries to offer an explanation as to the happenings of all your favorite horror movies and, in doing so, winds up undoing itself and being"Don't fix what isn't broken" is an old saying that The Cabin in the Woods completely disregards. It tries to offer an explanation as to the happenings of all your favorite horror movies and, in doing so, winds up undoing itself and being plain stupid. Yes, it is a ton of fun and can be scary at times, but the scares are undone with the explanation. Horror rides on mystery and this one completely destroys it and turns it into a game. Though it is well thought out, I honestly wish they came up with something better to do with, well, all of this. It blends horror and comedy really well, extracting and playing with the expectations of both throughout, but man, it is stupid. The acting is undeniably poor and despite its subversion of expectations, it manages to remain predictable. Ultimately, if this one ends after an hour and removes some of the extra garbage to leave no unanswered questions, it would be way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GuillermoBMJul 12, 2015
Summary: The Cabin in the Woods is refreshing, complex, wicked, and its final act is the dream of every horror fan. 94/100 [A-]

Directed by Drew Goddard and starring Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly, The Cabin in the Woods is definitely the
Summary: The Cabin in the Woods is refreshing, complex, wicked, and its final act is the dream of every horror fan. 94/100 [A-]

Directed by Drew Goddard and starring Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly, The Cabin in the Woods is definitely the best horror film of 2012, not only for its excellent reviews, it's the horror film of the year for its refreshing and original screenplay that revolutionized the horror genre. Although it has a slow start and the first 35 minutes are character development, the whole film was quite interesting. The characters were likable and friendly. Also, it is a very confusing and strange flick, but do not worry, everything made sense at the end.

It was complex as hell and is difficult not to spoil it, but I will try. The direction was superb, the writing and the actions of the characters were smartly written and the movie is filled with lots of epic twists and memorable moments. It's not more of the same crap, everything in the film feels so fresh and original. The performances were amazing and effective. Shout out here to Fran Kranz, he's definitely the star of the film, he makes us laugh again and again, his performance was excellent. He's so underrated. It's sad that Chris Hemsworth gets all the attention and he's not even the protagonist of the movie.

The rest of the cast was hilarious and extremely likable too. Richard Jenkins, Bradley Whitford and Amy Acker were terrific and they added some weird humor to the film. It was made with a budget of $40 million and that is very high for a horror flick, I believe that half of the budget was used in the last 30 minutes. They were truly impressive, believe the hype. In addition, I want to add that the special effects were just good enough, do not expect mind-blowing or extremely-realistic effects. The horror genre needs more movies like this one, I mean horror films with a decent budget.

On the upside, the CGI was good enough, it has unexpected twists, comedy, tension, and gore; mostly in the last act. The second half was a bloody explosion of horror, there was a perfect balance between scares and comedy. It is a must see if you love the horror genre or if you want to watch something so messed up and different; seriously, it exceeded my expectations and it is not overrated at all. See it if you want surprises or violence, also if you want to laugh out loud. On the downside, some of the jump-scares were unnecessary and predictable, but that's my only issue with the film. I can't wait to buy it! [A-]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 10, 2015
This is a very good movie for understanding how and why horror movie cliches are why they are. The premise is intriguing and gripping and makes you want to see what tricks the organisation runners had up their sleeve. I really wanted to seeThis is a very good movie for understanding how and why horror movie cliches are why they are. The premise is intriguing and gripping and makes you want to see what tricks the organisation runners had up their sleeve. I really wanted to see more monster action. Perhaps an additional 10 minutes would be exempt, seeing them roam around the streets causing havoc would be a good idea (maybe an idea for a sequel....oh wait...). In the end, this is again a very good horror comedy which needs to focus less on the main characters (lets face it, they are cliches and the interest of this whole movie is to the idea behind it) and more on the variety of monsters that were created for this film. Do not be put off by that though, this is a fantastic movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
chepod8Jun 14, 2015
Sin duda el homenaje perfecto a las películas de terror, podemos ver una evolución del género que termina por hacerla una alta recomendación obligada.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
athorneJun 10, 2015
This movie was amazing. At first i was not sure if i was going to like it, but I fell in love with it. This movie is insane. I really hope that they create a continuation of it. At the end it looked like they might.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLApr 10, 2015
Cuando creía que el Exorcista era el unico film de terror que valía la pena, estaba completamente equivocado, THE CABIN IN THE WOODS es divertida, violenta y novedosa, combina todas las bestias, todos los escenarios, todos los personajes yCuando creía que el Exorcista era el unico film de terror que valía la pena, estaba completamente equivocado, THE CABIN IN THE WOODS es divertida, violenta y novedosa, combina todas las bestias, todos los escenarios, todos los personajes y todas las situaciones de las mejores películas de terror de todos los tiempos, creando una maravilla en el cine de horror, es un homenaje al buen cine del terror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
VyrotixDec 22, 2014
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film. The only
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film.

The only thing that I can say that is good about this movie is the monsters themselves, and the makeup and CGI that went down to make them.

But unfortunately, the downright stupid plot and oversexualized female and male characters mixed together with a horrendous plot brings this movie down in the hell it came from.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Look, I get it. The idea behind Cabin in the Woods is immensely clever, and had plenty of potential, but even with its gripping comedy and action moments, this film really falls flat. They try so hard to make the allegory and parody work, butLook, I get it. The idea behind Cabin in the Woods is immensely clever, and had plenty of potential, but even with its gripping comedy and action moments, this film really falls flat. They try so hard to make the allegory and parody work, but in the end, it really just doesn't make sense. I think this movie is good for some cheap thrills, but don't expect anything too grand or amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
A Cabin in the Woods is a fresh take on a story that has been around for years. All it took was a bit more thought and they made with film into something special. This film could easily be another rip off of the Evil Dead or Friday the 13thA Cabin in the Woods is a fresh take on a story that has been around for years. All it took was a bit more thought and they made with film into something special. This film could easily be another rip off of the Evil Dead or Friday the 13th but adding the decisive 3 party into the story that calls all the shots is original. This movie is a must watch for any modern horror movie fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JamesCannonOct 27, 2014
Cabin in the woods is a unique take on slasher/horror movies. While the gimmick is clever I found it to be lacking in any kind of realistic scares. The whole premise is cool when everything is revealed but do not expect any real crazy scares.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
realnostokSep 16, 2014
Comienza como la clásica película de horror con unos adolescentes estereotipados que están listos para morir en una cabaña del bosque... Propuesta dinámica e interesante. Buena mezcla final !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBSep 14, 2014
If you really enjoyed the Scream franchise, you're gonna love this one, and that is why. The Cabin in the Woods mocks the horror genre, but not the "Scary Movie" type of way, but in a smart, intelligent and frequently hilarious way. If youIf you really enjoyed the Scream franchise, you're gonna love this one, and that is why. The Cabin in the Woods mocks the horror genre, but not the "Scary Movie" type of way, but in a smart, intelligent and frequently hilarious way. If you did not like the movie in general, you must have at least found the twist ending to be the most original in the past ten years! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Cabin in the Woods" is a pretty underwhelming movie. It's certainly a fresh take on movies like "Cabin Fever" and "The Evil Dead", but it's neither funny enough to be a comedy nor scary enough to be a horror movie. The most disappointing"The Cabin in the Woods" is a pretty underwhelming movie. It's certainly a fresh take on movies like "Cabin Fever" and "The Evil Dead", but it's neither funny enough to be a comedy nor scary enough to be a horror movie. The most disappointing aspect was the ending which seemed too contrived. It is a pretty enjoyable film to watch with some friends, though, so I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
I commend the effort in attempting to make an original film today; however, Cabin in the Woods clearly gets lost in its own complex, mind puzzle. So close!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TylerDurden900Jul 14, 2014
The cabin in the woods has great thrills and action. The movie doesn't have a famous cast but the movie
didn't need one. Sigourney Weaver is even in this movie at the end. Overall this is a terrific horror
movie with clever twists.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
hopefulcynicJul 5, 2014
The Cabin in the Woods is a great example of how complacent the horror genre is becoming. In comparison to other movies in it's category The Cabin in the Woods is fresh and brings something new to the table. On it's own, this movie really isThe Cabin in the Woods is a great example of how complacent the horror genre is becoming. In comparison to other movies in it's category The Cabin in the Woods is fresh and brings something new to the table. On it's own, this movie really is not great. While the idea and underlining message of the film is definitely new and enough to raise appreciation, the only thing that keeps you from boredom is wanting to know what's really going on. That may sound like a positive, but it caused me to not care about the main characters or their impending doom. While interesting, nothing in this movie is scary. If you are looking for an interesting movie that may make you think (although not very much) I don't think you will be very disappointing here. If your looking for a scary movie this will leave you wanting much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScrlowtchJun 27, 2014
I really had thought the movie will be like another horror five young movie (tipic stuped american movies), but, this really one is so amazing. Original! Not as other. That was I waiting for
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
"Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

You know when i first watched this movie i really
"Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

You know when i first watched this movie i really wasn't expecting anything from it because well you know horror movie these days are just not that good and its usually every 10 years that we get one that steps it up. Although by the end of the film i was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking it, but seeing that its from Joss Whedon i knew it was going to be something special. With the directorial debut of Drew Goddard the writer for Cloverfield a film that i didn't like, i wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but he ended up doing a decent job, im sure he and Joss Whedon collaborated on things so it would turn out good.

The film follows your group of typical college friends Dana(Kristen Connolly) the sweet innocent girl, Jules(Anna Hutchison) the slutty one, Curt(Chris Hemsworth) the cool jock, Marty(Fran Kranz) the hilarious stoner, and Holden(Jesse Williams) the sensitive guy, taking a trip out to a isolated cabin out in the woods for a weekend of partying. At this point the movie is really cut and dry with your typical horror movie but only that you know something is brewing up, you're just not sure what that is. Soon the Partying stops when the group of friends find themselves being hunted down and killed off but not before figuring out why it happened to them. The film is fast paced, gory, and filled with plenty of dark humor( mostly coming from the pot head) Although the movie my be highly cliched it gives reasons for why it is, like when they stop at the gas station and they confront the old creepy dude, thats is just about every horror movie dealing with going into the middle of nowhere.

The last 15 minutes of the movie is without a doubt the best part of it, you get to wave after wave of monsters killing guards. This part of course had the best scene of the whole movie when you get to see a unicorn kill a man by ramming his horn into him the first time i had seen that i literally fell on the floor it was so funny even though i have watched the movie a couple times now i still chuckle when that part comes up its that great, another great death is the merman killing Bradley Whitford, he wanted to see it so bad but i bet he didn't think it would be the thing to kill him. Sigourney Weaver being in it was a complete surprise to me so its always a pleasure seeing her. She kinda had the same role in this as she did in "Paul" were she is the BIG BOSS overseeing everything and you don't get to see her until the end only teasing her voice.

Overall i give it a 7.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Longo12Feb 24, 2014
Genius movie! It's funny and scary when it needs to be. My immediate thought when they arrived at the cabin was it reminded me of the Evil Dead, but not in a rip-off sort of way, more like a tip of that which is what I feel this entire movieGenius movie! It's funny and scary when it needs to be. My immediate thought when they arrived at the cabin was it reminded me of the Evil Dead, but not in a rip-off sort of way, more like a tip of that which is what I feel this entire movie is. I think anyone who loves a good horror movie should see this and not because of mind blowing special effects or that it's super scary but because it is an excellent homage. I loved jabs at horror cliches and how it didn't feel like a parody. I had a heard a few times it was horrible which really lowered my expectations which were far exceeded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PolisKaninFeb 7, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film starts an d you see all these drawings, some kid's got too creative? I mean what! This old guy compplains that its hard to open his draws. OH MY GOD! He then says you can't trust Swedes. Oi. Then a super sexy scene comes one where you see the main girl in panties. Ooh. Put some clothes on. The swag-mobile then comes. Oh, and he looks like Shaggy from Scooby Doo. I like food.Missy then says that she hopes THE ONLY ROAD is the right road, even though theres no other roads to go down. Old man cliche.. Theres then a long scene about how that old man is on speakerphone. The old men think its the funniest **** Shaggy then thinks a wolf is a moose. He never did learn any skills in Scooby Doo apart from being scared. Theres then another sexy sexy sexy scene, this time with beastiality. Shaggy then thinks puppeteers are pop tarts. *clap clap clap*. More s3xy scenes, this time with a tit cliche *Adjusts knob* **** puppet dance. The girl's head is then thrown into the main girl's hands. And that is why you should always stay clothed. INDIANA JONES MOMENT... and he's dead. A zombie arm then makes Shaggy dance. MASS MASSACRE! Then along comes the... MERMAN! Some woman having a midlife crisis then calls PBG/Shaggy a fool. Giant gods cliche then happens, but is presented very well, and makes you wonder... would you lose your life for the world? Ok. That film was amazing. Anyone might think there are cliches, but it's mainly to be self-aware, and makes fun of itself. The ending is a bit... well, it's ok., but the rest of the fiml is near perfect If you are a horror film fan, buy it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Jackboswell72Jan 25, 2014
This movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviouslyThis movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviously missed the clever tongue in cheek parody of the genre. I just found it very weak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews