User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 588

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best horror movies ive seen, great actors, smart plot, good funny moments. All around amazing movie. I reccomend this movie to anyone.
  2. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    Man this year has been full of great stuff. This is well worth seeing. I give it a 10 just because its actually creative for a change and such a fun movie.! Highly recommend this seeing this.
  3. ETV
    Apr 21, 2012
    9
    I was waiting for this film for over a year. And I was not let down. I enjoyed every part of it. A big fan of Joss and Drew I knew I wouldn't be bored. Those who say they didn't like it, took it too seriously and obviously don't understand the film!! So if you are actually smart you'll enjoy it
  4. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    One of the most original horror movies that I have seen in a VERY LONG time!! Such a fun time. Had some good scare moments but overall this movie never took itself too seriously. This should definitely should be experienced in a movie theater.
  5. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    The hype for this film does not match the execution. It was all over the place and should not be called a horror movie. It did provide a couple of jumps but more than anything it made me want to leap for the exit. I did go in with high expectations due to the reviews - I'm sure this did not help my reaction. The actors for the most part did a good job with what they were tasked. I don't even think I would recommend this for video. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant movie. I think some people are going in expecting a slasher movie. Don't do that. It's more a black comedy wrapped around a great central concept. Whedon's humor is all over this flick, and he's never been funnier. Everybody praised Scream for the way it disassembled the horror genre, but Cabin does it SO much better.
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This film was pure amazement. This movie will be a classic later on because it is probably the best well-put horror film I have ever seen. The cast, the plot, the twists ahead all come into place with "The Cabin in the Woods" and works out perfectly. Go see this film you will not regret it.

    "You think you know the story"
  8. Apr 17, 2012
    7
    Not as great as I thought it would be, but still a cool movie. I love the direction it has, with all the cliches and unexpected laughs, but I just feel like they could expanded it a bit more and really dug further into the last 30 minutes.
  9. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This film is refreshingly original. A brilliant hybrid of both horror and comedy; 'The Cabin In The Woods' is simply good fun. Without spoiling anything it'll be like nothing you've ever seen before.
  10. Apr 17, 2012
    7
    It appears to be a familiar horror trope: a group of college students plans to spend a wild weekend in the titular location. The new angle is there from the beginning. As they're dispatched (without much originality or brutality), the bigger picture emerges. The high concept is cool, but the execution is medium and the payoff is low. It's more of a sci-fi teaser than a suspenseful or shocking film. Overall, the creators are impressed with their own cleverness, but donâ Expand
  11. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This movie is seriously awesome. I've seen a lot of horror movies in the last 10 years, and this one by far takes the cake. It's original, different, funny, entertaining, and purely delightful. If you haven't seen this yet, do so! Also try your absolute best not to hear any spoilers, it's best to see it without knowing anything about the plot. PAY THE $12 and SEE THIS NOW!
  12. Apr 16, 2012
    4
    If you want to be scared, don't go see this movie. If you want to laugh and you liked something like Zombieland? Go see this. Sure I applaud the writer and director's intellect and use of metaphor, but you don't care about anyone and it's just a bunch of ideas and metaphors thrown into one **** movie. I was sincerely disappointed. I want my money back
  13. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Good but not great. A lot of kids are highly overrating it. There isn't many surprises, twists, or turns as most other reviews suggest, it's not that terribly smart either. The gore wasn't that good and the special effects were very meh too. Tucker and Dale vs Evil did the dark comedy horror genre better. See this movie but do not expect greatness, I was quite a bit let down...
  14. Apr 16, 2012
    2
    This movie had alot going for it, great commercials, and positive reviews, hemsworth. The movie turned about to be a huge disappointment. You can figure out in the first five minutes whats actually going on. It also reminded me alot of Thirteen Ghosts (meets Cube meets Evil Dead). There were some funny parts, mostly stoner humour, but still made me chuckle. But the rest of the movie, the parts that were supposed to be "serious" were cheesy at best. Even the supposed big reveal at the end was really a no brainer. A few jump out of your seat moments, but mostly due to loud music blasting through the speakers. This movie would have been straight to DVD if chris hemsworth wasnt in it. And thats how it should be treated. Expand
  15. Apr 16, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's because I went in with high expectations. But I was let down big time. I love Joss. And I went in after reading a lot of positive hype on the net. And a couple of critics that I usually agree with that loved it also. And the only way to describe my feeling was let down.

    I laughed quite a few times. I never did jump or even get remotely scared. I'm even having a hard time calling it a horror movie at all since it's really not. It almost borders on sci-fi but not really that either. I loved the stoner character. Though he was like a more intelligent shaggy. And I liked the control room guys and their fun on the job attitude.

    As for the story, I thought the story was a really good idea. But poorly executed. I think the idea of all horror cliches being explained by this movie to be excellent. And maybe this is where the hype killed the payoff for me. I just wasn't all that wowed by the reveal.

    That being said, those 5 minutes with the elevators were excellent. A little fast so you couldn't take it all in, but still, pretty darn cool.

    Overall, I thought for a comedy/horror film this was middle of the road. I'd prefer more Tucker and Dale or Sean of the Dead.
    Expand
  16. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    The best film since Apocalypto! Masterpiece of 2012. Shocking+Innovative+Scary+Funny. I don't want to add anything else.
    Don't let other to spoil it for you.
  17. Apr 16, 2012
    5
    While a huge fan of the writing style of Joss Whedon, I've always felt his attempts at horror were a little lacking. His previous horror based shows, "Buffy" and "Angel" were cult favorites because of the action and comedy elements. Where "Cabin" truly suffers is the Whedon-esque comedy implented to deflate any tension in the scenes that would traditionally belong to the horror genre. In addition, elements of the movie prevent the audience from developing any attachments to the characters and therefore are unable to feel strongly about their survival or possible deaths. Finally, the pacing of the movie suffers greatly which reduces the enjoyable scenes down to a broken "genre-bending" film the likes of which have not been seen since the film "Banraku". Expand
  18. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Avoid spoilers and go see it! A movie for horror fans that delivers on EVERY promise it makes. Brilliant. Also, it features the most enjoyable scene I've ever seen!
  19. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    One of the coolest, freshest, best movies I've seen at the theater in a long, long time. You owe it to yourself to see this film. It's just when you think the movie's going to zig...it zags. Keeps you on your toes all the way until the credits roll.
  20. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    This film was awesome! I wasn't completely sure about seeing it at first, but my brother said it would be good and damn was he right!! It was a little confusing at first but everything becomes clear as the film progresses, and there's a few twist and turns that make the story really interesting. I was also in stitches laughing at points, but that may just be my sense of humour. If horror is your thing, make sure you watch this film! Expand
  21. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    I had zero expectations when I walked into this film, I thought, "Generic five friends go out to cabin in in the middle of nowhere, brutally killed by monsters, seen it before." I knew there was some government control going on, but nothing more. The trailer for this movie doesn't capture its true greatness. Joss Wheadon and Drew Goddard did a perfect job of blending humor and horror. The funny parts were absolutely hilarious, and the horror scenes were done brilliantly. I wish there were more movies like this. I will gladly see this again... I want the DVD now. Expand
  22. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This movie is the cherry on the top of cake of this genre. I loved it! I laughed, I jumped a few times and at the end, I was just entertained to the max! What a hoot.
  23. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This movie is a love letter to horror movie fans as well as being one of the darkest comedies I have ever seen. The title of this movie makes it sound like the most generic horror movie, but I can guarantee this movie goes places you never thought a horror movie could go. If you like horror movies and can stomach the gore, this movie is a must. Don't watch the trailers, don't read about that plot, just go see this movie. Expand
  24. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw The Cabin in the Woods last night and it was freakin' awesome. I cannot believe Sigourney Weaver was almost at the end of the movie where she was the director behind this fake Survivor-like reality show where they put five friends in a cabin house and all of a sudden, they didn't know that they've been setup by a security camera and everyone is watching for the five who wants to die. Everyone went crazy and I was stunned. I think this is the best horror movie of 2012 this far because it's not a reboot or a remake, but with lots of horrid zombies and gruesome creatures. I think it's paying homage to the Evil Dead and the video game "Resident Evil 2" with the deadly snakes and all the animals that a little lot like zombies. But the movie is awesome, can't wait for "Resident Evil: Retribution" and "Piranha 3DD." Expand
  25. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    this movie was just wow! it was on a whole different level! the story in this movie is something seriously original! imagine "vacancy" meets "saw" its something pretty awesome. the movie was thrilling and scary, yet it pulled of a lot of laughs. fantastic movie!
  26. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Seeing the 9 out of 10 on this status should be enough to get you in the theater and watch this great film. It's more comedy then horror without making it a comedy. This changes the horror genre for the fourth time. First it was Nosferatu then it was Halloween then Scream. Now we have Cabin in the Woods who's take on horror will be bigger then the film itself. It's not important if the film was the greatest because it does have flaws. What's important is the fact that it defines a new genre, a better and more evolved look at horror! Expand
  27. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    I feel this was a really great film. As many reviewers have stated, go in blind to this one. To any of the reviewers trying to over generalize the idea that this movie rips off others movies I wanna say this. The human race, we're like Taco Bell. No matter how many items you see on that menu, it's still just different combinations of the same ingredients. The saying "there is nothing new under the sun" applies to everything we see. This film dares to shatter cliches, laugh at existing ones, and offers twists and turns that only a real d-bag would spoil for a would-be viewer. Is it the best film of all time? Of course not. But it is one hell of a thrill ride, and that was the point. For this reviewer, I feel they made a resounding attempt to be fresh and original with this Horror/ Dark Comedy / Sci-Fi. If, like me, you feel like that kind of approach should be praised in this land of remakes and sequels, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  28. Apr 14, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The score goes just for the laughs. Horror genre? U kiddin me? The worst movie I have ever seen. Maybe the ratings are just for the special effects that are in this piece of junk! However, those aren't something you haven't seen before!!! Wasted my money and time! Expand
  29. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. The film delivers exactly as promised: it begins as a traditional slasher film, but eventually becomes a mind-boggling twist of a film. You get hints earlier on than I had expected, but the whole thing doesn't really come together until the end. Joss Whedon's sense of humor is very prevalent, and the counterbalance of Goddard's writing makes it that much better. Perfectly paced and entertaining from start to finish. Expand
  30. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This is the most fun I've had at the movies in a long time. It pokes fun at itself and horror movies that proceeded it in an original and entertaining way. Twists and turns keep you guessing about what will happen at the end until you finally see for yourself. I wasn't expecting humor in it, but the humor is what made it what it is. Genius.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Apr 16, 2012
    90
    A horror-movie attic sale is, in essence, exactly what Cabin in the Woods is, an attempt to exorcise the genre of its formulaic possession by stuffing the movie full of its most overused and predictable elements - and then dumping them through clever skewering.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 14, 2012
    80
    Because the first narrative is so crushingly generic (which turns out to be the point), most of the amusement derives from trying to figure out what the second one is all about. I'm not sure I ever did, but the climactic one-two punch of special-effects chaos and meta-movie chin stroking should have the fanboys trembling with delight.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    38
    I've seen a lot of rip-offs of "The Truman Show" and a lot of rip-offs of "Scream." I guess I have to give credit to The Cabin in the Woods for ripping off both at once.