User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 607

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    The cabin in the woods has great thrills and action. The movie doesn't have a famous cast but the movie
    didn't need one. Sigourney Weaver is even in this movie at the end. Overall this is a terrific horror
    movie with clever twists.
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    5
    The Cabin in the Woods is a great example of how complacent the horror genre is becoming. In comparison to other movies in it's category The Cabin in the Woods is fresh and brings something new to the table. On it's own, this movie really is not great. While the idea and underlining message of the film is definitely new and enough to raise appreciation, the only thing that keeps you from boredom is wanting to know what's really going on. That may sound like a positive, but it caused me to not care about the main characters or their impending doom. While interesting, nothing in this movie is scary. If you are looking for an interesting movie that may make you think (although not very much) I don't think you will be very disappointing here. If your looking for a scary movie this will leave you wanting much more. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    I really had thought the movie will be like another horror five young movie (tipic stuped american movies), but, this really one is so amazing. Original! Not as other. That was I waiting for
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the better horror movies I've seen in a long time. I loved the whole plot of the movie, with sacrifices and whatnot. The characters were good, but they did save the two most likeable characters til the end, which was good. The comedy in the horror movie was great, I actually kinda liked the "villains" in the show haha. Ultimately it was a horror movie, and the death scenes overall were alright nothing spectacular. The ending was pretty epic and mindblowing, and I must say pretty satisfying. Overall a excellent hybrid between a horror and a comedy, with a great story and a awesome setting/atmosphere. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Consensus: The Cabin In The Woods is refreshing, different, complex and original, very well crafted, ​​full of gore and tension. 95/100 [A]

    Directed by Drew Goddard and starring Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly "The Cabin In The Woods" is the best horror film of 2012 not only for its good acceptance by the critics, The Cabin In The Woods is the best horror film of the year for its
    incredible and original screenplay that revolutionized the horror genre.

    The film takes a while to start, (nothing interesting in the first 35 minutes) but still entertaining and very confusing at the same time (whatever, everything makes sense at the end), at the second half of the film this one becomes bizarre, crazy, violent, funny and the tension begins, The Cabin In The Woods has very good special effects, much of this film was made it with CGI and this film abuses of it but only when it's necessary. The Cabin In The Woods is complex as hell, i don't want to say spoilers. The film is well directed, well written, is full of EPIC moments and impressive scenes, this film is not more of the same **** is very entertaining, isn't boring, and it's worth it for all these incredible and hilarious performances spotlight here to Fran Kranz, he makes us laugh again and again non-stop his performance was superb.

    In some web sites and also on the cover of the film, they make a lot of publicity to Chris Hemsworth because he's one of the few famous actors in the film, but i think that his performance was mediocre, He doesn't appears in the half of the film! and the film simply wouldn't be NOTHING without Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly (the red haired girl) for me they are the two protagonists of the film, because their performances are very solid and they are important for the film. Also i have to say that the performances by Richard Jenkins, Bradley Whitford, Amy Acker were stunning, All of them, also they add some weird and special touch to the film. Moving on, the last 20 minutes of the film are impressive believe me, it's worth it, I gave it a 95/100 rating. I just love this film. Horror genre needs more films like this one, i mean big-budget horror films, this film was made it with 40 million dollars, that's very impressive for an horror film.

    Thumbs up for all, basically, nice special effects, twists, originality, lots of comedy and tension at the same time, lots of gore and surprises in the last 20 minutes. Thumbs down for the lack of scares, there's more comedy than scares! and the plot and some scenes will be unlikable for some people who aren't fans of the horror genre. Watch it, if you passionately love the horror genre or if you have high expectations, because seriously guys this film exceed my expectations, it is not overrated Watch it if you expect surprises or gore, also if you want to laugh occasionally. Watch it if you like movies like Resident Evil and don't watch it if you expect lots of jump-scares, the film lacks of scares. 95/100 [A] Visit my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    7
    "Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

    You know when i first watched this movie i really wasn't expecting anything from it because well you know horror movie these days are just not that good and its usually every 10 years that we get one that
    steps it up. Although by the end of the film i was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking it, but seeing that its from Joss Whedon i knew it was going to be something special. With the directorial debut of Drew Goddard the writer for Cloverfield a film that i didn't like, i wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but he ended up doing a decent job, im sure he and Joss Whedon collaborated on things so it would turn out good.

    The film follows your group of typical college friends Dana(Kristen Connolly) the sweet innocent girl, Jules(Anna Hutchison) the slutty one, Curt(Chris Hemsworth) the cool jock, Marty(Fran Kranz) the hilarious stoner, and Holden(Jesse Williams) the sensitive guy, taking a trip out to a isolated cabin out in the woods for a weekend of partying. At this point the movie is really cut and dry with your typical horror movie but only that you know something is brewing up, you're just not sure what that is. Soon the Partying stops when the group of friends find themselves being hunted down and killed off but not before figuring out why it happened to them. The film is fast paced, gory, and filled with plenty of dark humor( mostly coming from the pot head) Although the movie my be highly cliched it gives reasons for why it is, like when they stop at the gas station and they confront the old creepy dude, thats is just about every horror movie dealing with going into the middle of nowhere.

    The last 15 minutes of the movie is without a doubt the best part of it, you get to wave after wave of monsters killing guards. This part of course had the best scene of the whole movie when you get to see a unicorn kill a man by ramming his horn into him the first time i had seen that i literally fell on the floor it was so funny even though i have watched the movie a couple times now i still chuckle when that part comes up its that great, another great death is the merman killing Bradley Whitford, he wanted to see it so bad but i bet he didn't think it would be the thing to kill him. Sigourney Weaver being in it was a complete surprise to me so its always a pleasure seeing her. She kinda had the same role in this as she did in "Paul" were she is the BIG BOSS overseeing everything and you don't get to see her until the end only teasing her voice.

    Overall i give it a 7.5
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    Genius movie! It's funny and scary when it needs to be. My immediate thought when they arrived at the cabin was it reminded me of the Evil Dead, but not in a rip-off sort of way, more like a tip of that which is what I feel this entire movie is. I think anyone who loves a good horror movie should see this and not because of mind blowing special effects or that it's super scary but because it is an excellent homage. I loved jabs at horror cliches and how it didn't feel like a parody. I had a heard a few times it was horrible which really lowered my expectations which were far exceeded. Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film starts an d you see all these drawings, some kid's got too creative? I mean what! This old guy compplains that its hard to open his draws. OH MY GOD! He then says you can't trust Swedes. Oi. Then a super sexy scene comes one where you see the main girl in panties. Ooh. Put some clothes on. The swag-mobile then comes. Oh, and he looks like Shaggy from Scooby Doo. I like food.Missy then says that she hopes THE ONLY ROAD is the right road, even though theres no other roads to go down. Old man cliche.. Theres then a long scene about how that old man is on speakerphone. The old men think its the funniest **** Shaggy then thinks a wolf is a moose. He never did learn any skills in Scooby Doo apart from being scared. Theres then another sexy sexy sexy scene, this time with beastiality. Shaggy then thinks puppeteers are pop tarts. *clap clap clap*. More s3xy scenes, this time with a tit cliche *Adjusts knob* **** puppet dance. The girl's head is then thrown into the main girl's hands. And that is why you should always stay clothed. INDIANA JONES MOMENT... and he's dead. A zombie arm then makes Shaggy dance. MASS MASSACRE! Then along comes the... MERMAN! Some woman having a midlife crisis then calls PBG/Shaggy a fool. Giant gods cliche then happens, but is presented very well, and makes you wonder... would you lose your life for the world? Ok. That film was amazing. Anyone might think there are cliches, but it's mainly to be self-aware, and makes fun of itself. The ending is a bit... well, it's ok., but the rest of the fiml is near perfect If you are a horror film fan, buy it. Expand
  9. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    This movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviously missed the clever tongue in cheek parody of the genre. I just found it very weak.
  10. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite movies & directors!! I get so frustrated when people say they bailed at the start of the movie then write a review (you have to see the movie to understand it!! Common sense!) If you are not familiar with Joss Whedon or his humor you may be surprised by his ability to be witty, sarcastic & smart all at once. By the way Whedon is the creator of tv's Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel & Firefly as well as movies like The Avengers & Thor. He also wrote 24 issues of Astonishing X Men in 2008. When I saw the movie on opening day I had a very vague idea of what the film was about & I'll admit the intro threw me for a serious loop. I was worried at first (I will never question Whedon again) but as always Joss delivered a horror movie full of witty humor, great characters & plot twists that were unique & not at all generic or obvious & an ending that you wont see coming (unless your a Whedon fan....) its a great movie that has earned a spot on my top 10. Its not your typical horror film & not all that scary but its got the makings of a cult classic, assuming people actually give it a chance & watch the whole film! Expand
  11. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    what a wonderfully gory, hyper-meta, funny and surprising film this is! there is so much here to enjoy, and i'm really not one for scary movies. great performances and very clever writing and what an ending!
  12. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This movie is AMAZING, it recreates the whole idea of slasher film, will horror basically, ITS SO GODDAMN AWESOME, its like EvilDead meets Serinity, the film is great and worth a good sit down, 10/10
  13. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    Although this movie wasn't meant to be much of a horror movie, it still had a great way of putting a movie together. The real twist is at the beginning. You have no idea what's going on until the end. The more you think about it, the more it makes sense.
  14. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Dumbest movie ever.EPIC FAIL would be just perfect to describe the nature of the movie.Pathetic mixture of horror and sci-fi genre.Location was excellent for a horror movie but all they could do is take out zombies and weird faced aliens and blood.That is not a definition of a horror movie nor is it suitable for a massacre genre movie.It does not fit in the boots of something like Identity nor for The Women in Black neither for Saw.It is an unexpected punch in the face for all of those who thought this would be good for spending 2 hours of your life.Well folks,those who did not watch this one,I demand you to stay away from it ,those of you who did,I share you sorrow Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    A horror-comedy that doesn't exactly do horror or comedy all that well. It's definitely a better comedy than it is a horror movie. There are some laugh-out-loud moments here, just not enough of them. It's not quite a spoof, but it definitely pokes fun at the horror movie genre. As far as horror goes this movie isn't scary at all. It's cool to see all of the different monsters and the bloody, gore-filled moments, but there's never a sense of fear. The movie is made decent by a great plot though.

    There's a great sense of mystery to the whole thing. While watching this movie I found myself asking who were these people controlling the events? Why were they doing it? Every little reveal is a treat and that's what kept me watching. It actually makes the movie somewhat worth watching for horror buffs. In the end though some funny moments and a great plot can't hold together a horror-comedy that lacks any sort of tension or terror. There are some good things about it, and it may be worth watching as a disposable thrill, but as someone who was hopping to be scared I'm disappointed.
    Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    At first you think that this movie is some imitation of "The Evil Dead" with a bit of clichés, but no. It's not, not at all. It is way better. Overall, this is the best horror movie of the decade, possibly of all time. This film is the most entertaining horror movie of all time, and the craziest, most fun, most exciting, most puzzling, most jaw-dropping horror movie ever. Pure awesomeness
  17. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't have watched this if it were not for my best friend's recommendation and boy was I surprised at how much fun and how fantastic this film is. So many horror cliches that it plays up well and that is the point of this project. Dark humor that both makes fun of the cliches in horror flicks while sticking to the actual horror and gore parts. Definitely recommended that you watch this!
  18. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went to watch this with a group of friends, and I wasn't taken with it as much as they were. The storyline wasn't fantastic, neither was the acting, but it was an alright film overall as I could just about follow what was happening. Ending was awfully american (two main characters survive to the end, one doesn't shoot the other despite if they did they would have saved the world, but of course they couldn't because of feelings and though. Expand
  19. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I don't think that this is a great movie, by any means. Nor do I love [or hate] Whedon. But I do think that the users giving this movie scores in the red are why we can't have nice things. Specifically, I think that they're the kind of movie fans who prevent American filmmakers [as a whole] from trying crazy stuff. Sure, some crazy stuff is going to fall flat on its face. So what? This movie isn't a normal horror movie. So what? That means it deserves a zero?
    This movie messes around with the horror movie genre and its clichés in a way that's far, far more interesting than the Scream movies. If more movies like this were appreciated, even when they're modest successes like this one, then we would have more risks taken by American filmmakers and studios. And as a consequence of that, we'd have more playing around with story types, and less of Hollywood making the same crap over and over and over.
    What really makes me shudder is the idea that some users who gave this a 0 or 1 may also complain about Hollywood recycling ideas. We need movies that tear apart genres in thoughtful ways, even if they're 'popcorn movies'.
    Expand
  20. Sep 15, 2013
    2
    Everyone seems to actually like this flick. I don't get how. The story is dull, cliché; and even when you realize there's a twist, it's boring and unentertaining.
  21. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    It starts off incredibly weak but somehow manages to get better. The plot twist is good and it features a large amount of humor and enjoyable moments. It truly is a satirical horror film, it's just too bad that it didn't work out with Valve.
  22. Aug 13, 2013
    0
    this movie was horrible i didn't like it at all and it was the worst thing ive ever seen it was just a complete waste of time the biggest waste of 1 hour and 34 minutes i wish i could have that time back
  23. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rotten Tomatoes ranked this as the 34th greatest horror film ever. I don't blame them. Cabin in the woods will gain more cult following as the years go on, but after years of horrible horror flicks, The Cabin In The Woods will give you one of the greatest horror movies of all time. Just when you think it's your typical slasher flick, it takes a complete left turn down "What the hell?" lane, and I won't give away too much, but I will say this. There's a unicorn that stabs a guy. It's awesome. Expand
  24. Aug 3, 2013
    5
    Considering that the plot in this movie didn't make any sense, and was just plain stupid Cabin in the Woods does bring some funny, sexy, and cool moments to the table. The acting was really average, the special effects were awesome, but by the end of the movie you begin to realise that the director could have done so much more with it. It starts off good then the ridiculous plot twists ruin the movie to a certain degree. I was a bit disappointed, considering I was ecpecting more, but a decent flick nonetheless. In 3 4 days after watching it you will forget most of it. Average. Expand
  25. Xon
    Jun 30, 2013
    8
    I thought this waa Very cool horror film. It was entertaining and thrilling and scary and gross. The movie had everything I'd expect from a horror movie. As a bonus it was well acted and executed, You won't waste your time with this, but it is kind of cerebral as well, andI guesss many people aren't prepred to make the investment.
  26. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    It was an original idea! Joss Whedon is one of the best, he always surprises us.
    And have chosen perfect actor for these parts! This movie should be awarded, 8!
  27. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    Somewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two lead characters are effective and you root for them to live, which is the opposite of most horror movies, and the visual effects aren't bad either. However, it's not truly that scary, and the very ending was pretty disappointing to me. Still, I recommend it due to its skewering of clichés and its humor. I liked it, just didn't love it. Expand
  28. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    I went in this movie expecting a cheap slasher horror film, but I was having high expectations, because it has been announced in development since 2009, what I got was way too more in depth than I was barging for, this movie can't be reviewed without spoiling it, what I have to say is...SEE THE CABIN IN THE WOODS, it is different dark comedy with mystery and great visuals (hint) SEE THIS MOVIE.
  29. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why people liked this film????? It is not something more than a joke. Seriously? people under the earth send some monsters to kill people who live in the cabin for the gods??? Yeah, it is original. ORIGINAL STUPIDITY. At some points it made even laugh because i didn't want to cry of what i was watching. Thumbs to the ground. Expand
  30. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A film with a generic horror movie name is everything but. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought it was good to be another awful horror film, but the twist led by the characters played by Bradley Whitford and Richard Jenkins makes this one of the most inventive horror films I've seen in a while.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Apr 16, 2012
    90
    A horror-movie attic sale is, in essence, exactly what Cabin in the Woods is, an attempt to exorcise the genre of its formulaic possession by stuffing the movie full of its most overused and predictable elements - and then dumping them through clever skewering.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 14, 2012
    80
    Because the first narrative is so crushingly generic (which turns out to be the point), most of the amusement derives from trying to figure out what the second one is all about. I'm not sure I ever did, but the climactic one-two punch of special-effects chaos and meta-movie chin stroking should have the fanboys trembling with delight.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 13, 2012
    38
    I've seen a lot of rip-offs of "The Truman Show" and a lot of rip-offs of "Scream." I guess I have to give credit to The Cabin in the Woods for ripping off both at once.