Lionsgate | Release Date: April 13, 2012
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1001 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
809
Mixed:
112
Negative:
80
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
frankiep86Apr 20, 2012
The hype for this film does not match the execution. It was all over the place and should not be called a horror movie. It did provide a couple of jumps but more than anything it made me want to leap for the exit. I did go in with highThe hype for this film does not match the execution. It was all over the place and should not be called a horror movie. It did provide a couple of jumps but more than anything it made me want to leap for the exit. I did go in with high expectations due to the reviews - I'm sure this did not help my reaction. The actors for the most part did a good job with what they were tasked. I don't even think I would recommend this for video. Expand
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
3
phillyjeffOct 26, 2012
I really wanted to like this movie, but from the jump, it was just awful. The entire movie does not any sense. The should of written a traditional slasher in the woods movie. Would of been a better movie.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
miniiiApr 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's basically a weed film. The main male protagonist is a weed head, he survives because he's high, and at the survivors smoke weed. Other than that, it wasn't really all that interesting it reminded me a lot of 13 Ghosts. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
jarcMay 3, 2012
I heard so much buzz about this movie and was utterly disappointed. Yes, the plot was original but so convoluted. I cannot believe this film scored a 72!! If you haven't seen the British comedy/horror film "Severance", watch it instead.I heard so much buzz about this movie and was utterly disappointed. Yes, the plot was original but so convoluted. I cannot believe this film scored a 72!! If you haven't seen the British comedy/horror film "Severance", watch it instead. Not as original but certainly a much better film. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
LeahAndNicApr 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's because I went in with high expectations. But I was let down big time. I love Joss. And I went in after reading a lot of positive hype on the net. And a couple of critics that I usually agree with that loved it also. And the only way to describe my feeling was let down.

I laughed quite a few times. I never did jump or even get remotely scared. I'm even having a hard time calling it a horror movie at all since it's really not. It almost borders on sci-fi but not really that either. I loved the stoner character. Though he was like a more intelligent shaggy. And I liked the control room guys and their fun on the job attitude.

As for the story, I thought the story was a really good idea. But poorly executed. I think the idea of all horror cliches being explained by this movie to be excellent. And maybe this is where the hype killed the payoff for me. I just wasn't all that wowed by the reveal.

That being said, those 5 minutes with the elevators were excellent. A little fast so you couldn't take it all in, but still, pretty darn cool.

Overall, I thought for a comedy/horror film this was middle of the road. I'd prefer more Tucker and Dale or Sean of the Dead.
Expand
6 of 24 users found this helpful618
All this user's reviews
3
DemoraseJun 10, 2012
Yes the final reveal/twist was cute, is it enough to make a bad movie work? No, you can ask Shyamalan he'd know. This movie spends so much time trying to be "meta" and clever that it completely forgets it's supposed to entertain its audience.Yes the final reveal/twist was cute, is it enough to make a bad movie work? No, you can ask Shyamalan he'd know. This movie spends so much time trying to be "meta" and clever that it completely forgets it's supposed to entertain its audience. There's just nothing going on for the entire first half hour! And then it takes another half hour to really get going, already wasting 1 hour for nothing. By the time the big reveal happens I didn't care, and why would I as the movie makes no effort at all to make the characters or the story interesting. No work no payoff, sorry. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
crazyzebadyApr 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. probably the one of the most boring movies i have seen at the cinema apart from paul blart mall cop. i could not wait for it to be over, i gain more enjoyment from watching the trailers of other movies before the showing of this film. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why people liked this film????? It is not something more than a joke. Seriously? people under the earth send some monsters to kill people who live in the cabin for the gods??? Yeah, it is original. ORIGINAL STUPIDITY. At some points it made even laugh because i didn't want to cry of what i was watching. Thumbs to the ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
VyrotixDec 22, 2014
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film. The only
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film.

The only thing that I can say that is good about this movie is the monsters themselves, and the makeup and CGI that went down to make them.

But unfortunately, the downright stupid plot and oversexualized female and male characters mixed together with a horrendous plot brings this movie down in the hell it came from.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Jackboswell72Jan 25, 2014
This movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviouslyThis movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviously missed the clever tongue in cheek parody of the genre. I just found it very weak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
VorlargenAug 28, 2012
Ridiculous film with nonsense plot lines and silly, cheesy script. Stereotypical Yank rubbish! They never learn. To be fair I did laugh quite a few times at the stupidness I was watching.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
duffman902Apr 16, 2012
This movie had alot going for it, great commercials, and positive reviews, hemsworth. The movie turned about to be a huge disappointment. You can figure out in the first five minutes whats actually going on. It also reminded me alot ofThis movie had alot going for it, great commercials, and positive reviews, hemsworth. The movie turned about to be a huge disappointment. You can figure out in the first five minutes whats actually going on. It also reminded me alot of Thirteen Ghosts (meets Cube meets Evil Dead). There were some funny parts, mostly stoner humour, but still made me chuckle. But the rest of the movie, the parts that were supposed to be "serious" were cheesy at best. Even the supposed big reveal at the end was really a no brainer. A few jump out of your seat moments, but mostly due to loud music blasting through the speakers. This movie would have been straight to DVD if chris hemsworth wasnt in it. And thats how it should be treated. Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
2
KorelessApr 28, 2012
I'm not one to bother leaving a review but after watching this film due to the good opinions I felt compelled to leave my review. Firstly this is essentially the Truman show except without a joker and in the woods. The characters irritatedI'm not one to bother leaving a review but after watching this film due to the good opinions I felt compelled to leave my review. Firstly this is essentially the Truman show except without a joker and in the woods. The characters irritated me, they were all predictably college. None of them could act either which is a shame. Though it's no surprise with the writers of this film. The story is just ridiculous, not clever at all. Also to the people that claim this isn't funny, I agree. I can't remember laughing once.

Critics must have got a nice payment for some of these reviews. I imagine this film will surface at around 6 once people calm down about the hype. Save your time.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
theviewerJul 22, 2012
I have to give the movie credit for having some unexpected twist but overall it is probably one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. Starts off interesting, then gets ridiculous, and continues to get more ridiculous as the filmI have to give the movie credit for having some unexpected twist but overall it is probably one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. Starts off interesting, then gets ridiculous, and continues to get more ridiculous as the film continues. Luckily I saw it at the $1.99 theater and still paid about $1.95 too much!! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
TorbjornAug 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A combination of the truman show and a horror/fantasy movie with unconvincing acting and somewhat lame plot (the cliche breaking was unfitting, just confusing).
And if a movie should catch my attention please don't start it off as any other horror film ever made, it ruins the impression, even though it's a parody. How would I know this was not just a standard horror movie?
With bad acting and a uninteresting plot, not even scary, the only thing that i like about this movie is that its so predictable its funny.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
2
MigratedwolfFeb 17, 2013
This movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobsThis movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobs look elsewhere, all the babes in this movie make the walls jealous with their flat chests...Moving on... They break the Immersion that a good horror movie should have too, with mediocre character development, and terribly predictable outcomes when they encounter the hillbilly zombie family...No I you not that is the literal name of the monsters in this film. Now before I get asked, no the acting isn't terrible, but it's not amazing either sometimes even ruining the immersion even further with unbelievably dull reactions and lackluster expression, how am I supposed to be scared or laugh when your characters aren't even petrified. Oh what? you thought that was it?- no. The ending is really unexpected but only because of the stupidity it took the characters to get to such a conclusion. Overall, maybe it might make your girl cuddle up into your wimpy arms once or twice, but other than that, I wouldn't watch this movie if you truly want to have the need to check under your bed and lock your doors before sleeping, like any good horror movie should, It's unbelievable that people are giving it an 8, 9, and EVEN 10 out of 10 for this. I couldn't even tell what genre it was, I thought it was horror; which is why I bought it, but I was never scared. About 20 minutes in I started to think "Oh this must be a comedy!" but I never laughed. Overall a let down, I would severely hesitate and think about it before watching this stain of a movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
JacobparkerMay 22, 2013
A totally overproduced 08/15 horror movie.
The effects are so cheap and gimmicky.
The movie is not scary at all and not even funny. Very overrated!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
Everyone seems to actually like this flick. I don't get how. The story is dull, cliché; and even when you realize there's a twist, it's boring and unentertaining.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
The_NERDApr 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The score goes just for the laughs. Horror genre? U kiddin me? The worst movie I have ever seen. Maybe the ratings are just for the special effects that are in this piece of junk! However, those aren't something you haven't seen before!!! Wasted my money and time! Expand
3 of 19 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
1
ConnKonAug 27, 2012
One of the worst horror movies I've ever seen. It's supposed to be all 'cool' because this film is taking the piss out of your standard predictable horror film. The irony is that this is a standard predictable horror film too. 2/10
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
axelkochSep 9, 2012
Seriously critics? THIS movie is intelligent, brilliant and shocking? Absolutely no! This is just crap. It mixes every stupid idea other horror film makers had in the past years into one. Horrible actors, horrible dialogues and a plot whichSeriously critics? THIS movie is intelligent, brilliant and shocking? Absolutely no! This is just crap. It mixes every stupid idea other horror film makers had in the past years into one. Horrible actors, horrible dialogues and a plot which is extremely unrealistic. They begin with the usual bad horror movie and end up in an unfamiliar scenario which makes you laugh your ass off because it's just too silly. One of the worst movies I've seen by far - I can't believe my eyes when I'm reading the critics... Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
HalfUnderwaterOct 15, 2012
This movie was awful. I'm a teenaged girl and I watched this movie while home alone, all the lights turned off, at two in the morning- and it didn't scare me for a second. The idea was stupid, the monsters and villains were right out of aThis movie was awful. I'm a teenaged girl and I watched this movie while home alone, all the lights turned off, at two in the morning- and it didn't scare me for a second. The idea was stupid, the monsters and villains were right out of a parody, and the writing was closer to comedy than horror- or thriller- hell or Drama. The acting was good ( especially given what they had to work with), and Hemsworth & Williams were sexy as ever but the movie was boring and not even worth the dollar I paid for redbox. Also "the whore" and " the virgin" are the only female roles they can come up with? Unsurprising but disgusting nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mikemikeApr 24, 2012
WHAT?!? This movie is an utter disaster and left me vowing to never see another Hollywood movie. I don't even know how to begin to explain why it is so bad. Stuck it out to the end just to say I did. Honestly felt this movie had NOWHAT?!? This movie is an utter disaster and left me vowing to never see another Hollywood movie. I don't even know how to begin to explain why it is so bad. Stuck it out to the end just to say I did. Honestly felt this movie had NO redeeming qualities. Felt sad for Sigourney Weaver sucking into such a pile of ****. I am honestly stunned and speechless at the positive reviews. I am open minded and understand irony and cliche, but this thing was unbelievably bad and actually left me depressed at the thought of this movie qualifying as legitimate entertainment. OMG we're screwed as a society. Just an orgy of images, half-baked thoughts and attempts at clever bathed in cute monsters and blood. I give up. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
0
NotoriousApr 22, 2012
What is marketed as a horror film turns out to be more like a B-movie rip off of the Truman Show. Avoid it at all costs, unless you get a kick out of films with horribly jumpy storylines and poor acting.
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
0
RowsolSep 22, 2012
Lets see what redeeming factors we can pull from this movie. Is it funny? No. I may have gotten a laugh or two in the whole thing. Scary? Not even close. Suspenseful? If you actually care about the characters, maybe. I watched thisLets see what redeeming factors we can pull from this movie. Is it funny? No. I may have gotten a laugh or two in the whole thing. Scary? Not even close. Suspenseful? If you actually care about the characters, maybe. I watched this with my mom and at the end we both just looked at each other and couldn't believe how bad this movie was. I only watch movies that have favorable reviews and usually they are right. Someone compared this to Evil Dead in another review I read. Yea right. That movie was actually funny. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusSep 24, 2012
This movie, was terrible!! I only rented it, becasue it recieved such good reviews from the critics. The movie is not smart and not fun! Avoid at all costs!
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
BrandieGirlApr 14, 2012
I do not understand how this movie has that rating that it does. I thought this was the worst movie I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot of movies. I am 50 years old, so I've seen my share of bad and good flicks. Do not waste your time orI do not understand how this movie has that rating that it does. I thought this was the worst movie I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot of movies. I am 50 years old, so I've seen my share of bad and good flicks. Do not waste your time or money on this one. I can rate this movie in three words "piece of crap". I asked for my money back! Enough said. Expand
5 of 37 users found this helpful532
All this user's reviews
0
SednaApr 23, 2012
I thought this movie was horrible. If it was meant to be funny, it wasn't. The humor was juvenile and stupid. If it was meant to be scary, it wasn't. I found myself napping halfway through. And don't think it's because I don't appreciate thisI thought this movie was horrible. If it was meant to be funny, it wasn't. The humor was juvenile and stupid. If it was meant to be scary, it wasn't. I found myself napping halfway through. And don't think it's because I don't appreciate this "sub-genre" or don't "get it.". I thought Zombieland was great.

Don't believe the hype, this movie stinks. For the life of me I don't understand all of the good reviews.
Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
0
klaudia28Apr 28, 2012
I don't understand how this movie received so many good reviews on the internet,coz it's an absolute crap.Whoever was writing the scenario for that film must have been on acid or something.haven't seen such a stupid film for a long time.totalI don't understand how this movie received so many good reviews on the internet,coz it's an absolute crap.Whoever was writing the scenario for that film must have been on acid or something.haven't seen such a stupid film for a long time.total waste of money.you can't call it's a horror film coz it's not scary at all.all i could think about while watching this film was 'what a f...is that crap".seriously i feel sorry for all you people who gave this film good reviews.Unless you where on acid as well. Collapse
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
0
AnortaleApr 29, 2012
The only recognition this movie will make is the top"worst movies of all time"
Lions gate should have left it in "liimbo"
Horror not so much..funny maybe..
Overall give this one -1 star..
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
ReaIistiCOct 30, 2012
I didnt watch the whole film. Put it this way, it was that bad, i turned it off a half an hour into it. I do not understand the good ratings for this film. Oh my god is it so annoying. Such bad acting, cheesy kills. stay away from this film
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
oblique15Feb 9, 2013
High ratings? What is everybody smoking while watching this? Can I have some? Pass some of that good stuff people, I`m back here!!!! I had to fast forward through crap. I`m glad I did not pay to watch this trash!! I`m not a horror movie fan,High ratings? What is everybody smoking while watching this? Can I have some? Pass some of that good stuff people, I`m back here!!!! I had to fast forward through crap. I`m glad I did not pay to watch this trash!! I`m not a horror movie fan, but man I wish it was, then it might have a point. People said unexpected turns but I found it all predictable! It fails at being a horror movie, They failed to make me laugh with the lame jokes. It`s not the worst movie, probably cause it was hoping to fail even at being the worst.I think the people who liked this movie, are females into the guy actors, and men into the female actors. The people who liked this movie also liked a particular character that got high, high, high lol Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
balla_phil23Aug 13, 2013
this movie was horrible i didn't like it at all and it was the worst thing ive ever seen it was just a complete waste of time the biggest waste of 1 hour and 34 minutes i wish i could have that time back
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ManasWWMNov 21, 2013
Dumbest movie ever.EPIC FAIL would be just perfect to describe the nature of the movie.Pathetic mixture of horror and sci-fi genre.Location was excellent for a horror movie but all they could do is take out zombies and weird faced aliens andDumbest movie ever.EPIC FAIL would be just perfect to describe the nature of the movie.Pathetic mixture of horror and sci-fi genre.Location was excellent for a horror movie but all they could do is take out zombies and weird faced aliens and blood.That is not a definition of a horror movie nor is it suitable for a massacre genre movie.It does not fit in the boots of something like Identity nor for The Women in Black neither for Saw.It is an unexpected punch in the face for all of those who thought this would be good for spending 2 hours of your life.Well folks,those who did not watch this one,I demand you to stay away from it ,those of you who did,I share you sorrow Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
RJMS1984Jan 3, 2016
This is the worst movie I've seen last year. Really. All the "tribute" thing it's worthless. There is no plot. There is no 3-D characters. There is no **** sense in the script.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews