Lionsgate | Release Date: April 13, 2012
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1019 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
825
Mixed:
113
Negative:
81
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BrianMcCriticJun 18, 2013
A film with a generic horror movie name is everything but. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought it was good to be another awful horror film, but the twist led by the characters played by Bradley Whitford and Richard JenkinsA film with a generic horror movie name is everything but. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought it was good to be another awful horror film, but the twist led by the characters played by Bradley Whitford and Richard Jenkins makes this one of the most inventive horror films I've seen in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TylerDurden900Jul 14, 2014
The cabin in the woods has great thrills and action. The movie doesn't have a famous cast but the movie
didn't need one. Sigourney Weaver is even in this movie at the end. Overall this is a terrific horror
movie with clever twists.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
GuillermoBMJul 12, 2015
Summary: The Cabin in the Woods is refreshing, complex, wicked, and its final act is the dream of every horror fan. 94/100 [A-]

Directed by Drew Goddard and starring Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly, The Cabin in the Woods is definitely the
Summary: The Cabin in the Woods is refreshing, complex, wicked, and its final act is the dream of every horror fan. 94/100 [A-]

Directed by Drew Goddard and starring Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly, The Cabin in the Woods is definitely the best horror film of 2012, not only for its excellent reviews, it's the horror film of the year for its refreshing and original screenplay that revolutionized the horror genre. Although it has a slow start and the first 35 minutes are character development, the whole film was quite interesting. The characters were likable and friendly. Also, it is a very confusing and strange flick, but do not worry, everything made sense at the end.

It was complex as hell and is difficult not to spoil it, but I will try. The direction was superb, the writing and the actions of the characters were smartly written and the movie is filled with lots of epic twists and memorable moments. It's not more of the same crap, everything in the film feels so fresh and original. The performances were amazing and effective. Shout out here to Fran Kranz, he's definitely the star of the film, he makes us laugh again and again, his performance was excellent. He's so underrated. It's sad that Chris Hemsworth gets all the attention and he's not even the protagonist of the movie.

The rest of the cast was hilarious and extremely likable too. Richard Jenkins, Bradley Whitford and Amy Acker were terrific and they added some weird humor to the film. It was made with a budget of $40 million and that is very high for a horror flick, I believe that half of the budget was used in the last 30 minutes. They were truly impressive, believe the hype. In addition, I want to add that the special effects were just good enough, do not expect mind-blowing or extremely-realistic effects. The horror genre needs more movies like this one, I mean horror films with a decent budget.

On the upside, the CGI was good enough, it has unexpected twists, comedy, tension, and gore; mostly in the last act. The second half was a bloody explosion of horror, there was a perfect balance between scares and comedy. It is a must see if you love the horror genre or if you want to watch something so messed up and different; seriously, it exceeded my expectations and it is not overrated at all. See it if you want surprises or violence, also if you want to laugh out loud. On the downside, some of the jump-scares were unnecessary and predictable, but that's my only issue with the film. I can't wait to buy it! [A-]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleApr 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed the film as a horror/comedy, but I can't give it one of my TOP ratings simply because I was in the mood to get scared tonight - and there's nothing particularly scary about this film. They pull you out of the moment far too often to switch to the control room sequences - which is what makes this film entirely unique and interesting - and funny! But what makes horror movies set in the woods, or the desert, or the south pole, or space so scary is that palpable sense of isolation - nobody is there to hear you scream. But in this case, there's room full of guys waiting to see if the hot girl will take her top off. It's the opposite of isolation - they're all right there with you. Yes, it's gory, and it's fun, and it's smart, but simply not scary. By contrast, the Evil Dead movies had big scares in them, though they were also funny as hell. As far as the cast goes, the Dollhouse grads (Frank Franz and Amy Acker) are my faves - and they should be in MANY more films - not just the Joss Whedon projects. It's awesome that Whitford, Jenkins, and Weaver did this film - all are terrific in it. Again, it's a very good movie, and highly unique and entertaining - it just fell short of what I was expecting. I still recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
vernApr 14, 2012
The Cabin in the Woods is at once a well-executed love letter to horror films and a complaint about the current status of horror. The horror genre in general seems to currently be at a creative pit-stop. Too many horror films today re-useThe Cabin in the Woods is at once a well-executed love letter to horror films and a complaint about the current status of horror. The horror genre in general seems to currently be at a creative pit-stop. Too many horror films today re-use ideas from other movies. The Cabin in the Woods recognizes this idea and plays with it as it goes along. I haven't been this entertained or had this much fun at a horror movie in a long time. Much of the fun of this movie comes the twists and turns that are dished out as it unfolds, so DO NOT read any plot summaries that may seem detailed. Go see this one in theatres. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroAug 28, 2012
The Cabin In The Woods is strange, funny and brilliant. I've never watched movie like this before. Special thanks to hilarious duo Jenkins - Whitford, notes for Jenkins's performance, it's the most hilarious performance I've ever seen this year.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
wiggipopJan 3, 2014
what a wonderfully gory, hyper-meta, funny and surprising film this is! there is so much here to enjoy, and i'm really not one for scary movies. great performances and very clever writing and what an ending!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
xXRenTyrellXxApr 13, 2012
The way I see it: You're going to have one of two reactions to "The Cabin in the Woods", either you'll like it (maybe even love it) or you won't (most seem to be loving it.) One thing is for sure though, you're not going to see this oneThe way I see it: You're going to have one of two reactions to "The Cabin in the Woods", either you'll like it (maybe even love it) or you won't (most seem to be loving it.) One thing is for sure though, you're not going to see this one coming a mile away, don't even bother guessing the plot while you're watching it. When the credits roll, don't think and wonder what the point of the movie was or why you sat down for nearly two hours watching what you just watched- Just enjoy and accept it for what it is, which I'll leave to you to find out what that is exactly. . . . have fun. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
DuffladJun 30, 2012
VERY refreshing film. The characters have been done before, but so what? This film has every horror film creature known to man. I only wish this was a TV show instead of a film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
XonJun 30, 2013
I thought this waa Very cool horror film. It was entertaining and thrilling and scary and gross. The movie had everything I'd expect from a horror movie. As a bonus it was well acted and executed, You won't waste your time with this, but itI thought this waa Very cool horror film. It was entertaining and thrilling and scary and gross. The movie had everything I'd expect from a horror movie. As a bonus it was well acted and executed, You won't waste your time with this, but it is kind of cerebral as well, andI guesss many people aren't prepred to make the investment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LuksRokzApr 8, 2013
What a great movie. Seriously, from star to finish i had a blast. The 3rd act of this movie is the best i've ever seen from this genre. Don't expect to be scared though, cause you wont be, but you'll enjoy the hell out of it, ill give youWhat a great movie. Seriously, from star to finish i had a blast. The 3rd act of this movie is the best i've ever seen from this genre. Don't expect to be scared though, cause you wont be, but you'll enjoy the hell out of it, ill give you that. A parody of everything that is wrong with horror movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaAug 27, 2012
Great year for Joss Whedon. While this film was shelved for a number of years, The Cabin in the Woods were released in 2012, just before The Avengers was released. It's typical Whedon, with a wise cracking, self referential script, somethingGreat year for Joss Whedon. While this film was shelved for a number of years, The Cabin in the Woods were released in 2012, just before The Avengers was released. It's typical Whedon, with a wise cracking, self referential script, something we have seen him doing for the past decade or so, unleashed to the public. As a horror film it works, but it is a 'self referential' commentary on the genre itself. A cult classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Dusty_HayesOct 23, 2012
A well made slasher & Splatter movie, which pays homage to the horror genre with some nice twists and turns. The Cabin in the Woods retains the same high quality expected of a Joss Whedon production.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 1, 2012
The only things I didn't like about this movie were the title and the guy who played the stoner. Other then that, It was a pretty good film that mixed horror and comedy rather well. Definently worth checking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
k3CkApr 16, 2012
Good but not great. A lot of kids are highly overrating it. There isn't many surprises, twists, or turns as most other reviews suggest, it's not that terribly smart either. The gore wasn't that good and the special effects were very mehGood but not great. A lot of kids are highly overrating it. There isn't many surprises, twists, or turns as most other reviews suggest, it's not that terribly smart either. The gore wasn't that good and the special effects were very meh too. Tucker and Dale vs Evil did the dark comedy horror genre better. See this movie but do not expect greatness, I was quite a bit let down... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LopsterPopsterApr 15, 2012
I had zero expectations when I walked into this film, I thought, "Generic five friends go out to cabin in in the middle of nowhere, brutally killed by monsters, seen it before." I knew there was some government control going on, but nothingI had zero expectations when I walked into this film, I thought, "Generic five friends go out to cabin in in the middle of nowhere, brutally killed by monsters, seen it before." I knew there was some government control going on, but nothing more. The trailer for this movie doesn't capture its true greatness. Joss Wheadon and Drew Goddard did a perfect job of blending humor and horror. The funny parts were absolutely hilarious, and the horror scenes were done brilliantly. I wish there were more movies like this. I will gladly see this again... I want the DVD now. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
mrjeffsirMay 4, 2012
I've never been a fan, as a rule of horror movies, however, the trailer drew me to this one and i'm glad it did, the awful acting we usually get in horror movies wasn't there this time round, in fact, the whole cast were excellent, theI've never been a fan, as a rule of horror movies, however, the trailer drew me to this one and i'm glad it did, the awful acting we usually get in horror movies wasn't there this time round, in fact, the whole cast were excellent, the special effects were really very good and the humorous, intelligent dialogue (another thing you don't usually get in horrors) was brilliant, loved the film, Chris Hemsworth, although with less to do in this than he does in Thor, was great in it too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
WestHamYankMay 21, 2013
After being told to not watch this, I decided to watch it. More proof that the general movie going public and critics have no idea what constitutes a good movie. Joss Whedon uses this film as a vehicle to commentate on the popularity ofAfter being told to not watch this, I decided to watch it. More proof that the general movie going public and critics have no idea what constitutes a good movie. Joss Whedon uses this film as a vehicle to commentate on the popularity of "torture porn" that seems to dominate the horror box offices. The acting is superb. There were scenes that could have been lighted better but all in all this a fun horror movie with "hidden message" that made all the great horror movies, well, great. A must watch for any horror fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DodgerApr 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie. I'm a big fan of horror movies but i went into this movie not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised by the extent to which they had thought outside the box.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
moviebuff_420Oct 8, 2012
This is what we call a original and entirely different attempt.Its a great horror movie.
Funny and horrifying at same time.
I didn't get to watch a decent horror movie through months but then came this strange and innovative scripted
This is what we call a original and entirely different attempt.Its a great horror movie.
Funny and horrifying at same time.
I didn't get to watch a decent horror movie through months but then came this strange and innovative scripted slasher film.i really enjoyed it.
when the movie started i was like" What the hell is going on ?"
but going through movie i got everything.
really good concept.Movie goes through different aspects. spectacular work with the cinematography ,music,editing and performances of all the actors and not to forget splendid visuals.
Especially Fran Kranz and Kristen Connolly acted so well.
Overall,its a modern type original,clever,creatively made and well crafted gore-fest flick with funny elements with something new to watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
klausfutureMay 15, 2012
The most interesting horror movie I've seen in a while - a clever premise that is fed to you in parallel with a seemingly traditional teen slasher flick. Saw it twice in theatres; will be buying the DVD.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FullmetalMay 20, 2012
This film was an interesting mash up. Joss Whedon, the creator of Firefly and Buffy gives his input into the story as well as the director of Cloverfield and countless Lost episodes, Drew Goddard, both make this film worth watching. At first,This film was an interesting mash up. Joss Whedon, the creator of Firefly and Buffy gives his input into the story as well as the director of Cloverfield and countless Lost episodes, Drew Goddard, both make this film worth watching. At first, you are turned on your ear. Is this really a horror movie? I think not. The name of the game is simple: four teens, the woods, killers. Throughout the film you learn a little bit more, and by the end you are like HOLY S***! Needless to say, not the typical horror film. Watch this movie if you want something originally interesting. Also, this movie is not for the faint of heart. The ending sequence is very gory. Almost campy in the gore with blood spraying this way and that. Otherwise, a great film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheDRauchSep 24, 2012
The Cabin in the Woods is some genre-busting, fan boy-pleasing, energetic stuff, that resonates in the horror fan in all of us to deliver some of the funniest criticisms, and celebrations, of the genre to date. The overall tone of the film isThe Cabin in the Woods is some genre-busting, fan boy-pleasing, energetic stuff, that resonates in the horror fan in all of us to deliver some of the funniest criticisms, and celebrations, of the genre to date. The overall tone of the film is inconsistent, but that's also a compliment - the movie is so ambitious that it spins way out of control, far beyond the limitations of any standard horror movie to become this meta-beast. Any horror movie fan can see that this film has been made with a gleeful love of the genre, flaws and all, and the final half-hour delivers one of the greatest visually spectacular finales I have seen all year (even compared to that of another Joss Whedon project, The Avengers). The movie is so funny, weird, and just plain awesome that I can't really recommend it any higher to the average horror movie fan, but dissenting voices should probably stay away. This whole thing will come off as ridiculous to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hellojelloSep 6, 2012
The end of this movie makes it all worthwhile. It is smart and the way it plays out actually rewrites every other horror movie you've seen before! Quite fresh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SeriosityNov 18, 2012
Maybe not the best horror film ever, but certainly the most and ingenious one. The perfect blend of pitch black comedy and horror executed to perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Jan 19, 2013
A fiendishly clever "The Cabin in the Woods," a deceivingly insightful horror film that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps. Five teenagers head off for a weekend at a secluded cabin in the woods and they find an oddA fiendishly clever "The Cabin in the Woods," a deceivingly insightful horror film that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps. Five teenagers head off for a weekend at a secluded cabin in the woods and they find an odd assortment of relics, but when one of the women, Dana (Kristen Connolly), reads from a book she awakens a family of deadly zombie killers. There's far more going on however than meets the eye as the five campers are all under observation. This is no ordinary cabin in the woods, but actually a set for a diabolical scientific experiment. Beneath the cabin is a basement, and beneath that is a vast modern laboratory headed by technology geeks (Richard Jenkins and Bradley Whitford) who turn dials, adjust levers and monitor every second on a bank of TV monitors. Goddard also takes on directing responsibilities, and his feature film debut demonstrates a keen eye for various genres, all incorporated seamlessly into this film. Laughter and satire are always close by, and I can't recall another film that's remotely close to its offering of thrills, spills and laughter. There are plenty of moments where you're kept on the edge of your seat, with surprising twists and turns popping up every now and then. Screenwriters Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard take the quintessential horror film ensemble of characters, and ridiculous scenarios and then inject a dose logical rationale, keeping it thoroughly entertaining. The idea of free will and our decision making process as people is explored. Do horror characters make choices because of the requirements of the genre, or because of their own decisions? This is not a perfect film by any means, but its's exciting because it ventures so far off the map for your typical horror film. The movie becomes kind of a greatest hits collection of horror movie techniques and clichés; twisting them around, while poking fun at them simultaneously. In a day and age where everything is a remake or a reboot, how refreshing to enjoy something completely innovative, and executed with great skill. Highly recommended and requires multiple viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 10, 2015
This is a very good movie for understanding how and why horror movie cliches are why they are. The premise is intriguing and gripping and makes you want to see what tricks the organisation runners had up their sleeve. I really wanted to seeThis is a very good movie for understanding how and why horror movie cliches are why they are. The premise is intriguing and gripping and makes you want to see what tricks the organisation runners had up their sleeve. I really wanted to see more monster action. Perhaps an additional 10 minutes would be exempt, seeing them roam around the streets causing havoc would be a good idea (maybe an idea for a sequel....oh wait...). In the end, this is again a very good horror comedy which needs to focus less on the main characters (lets face it, they are cliches and the interest of this whole movie is to the idea behind it) and more on the variety of monsters that were created for this film. Do not be put off by that though, this is a fantastic movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
chepod8Jun 14, 2015
Sin duda el homenaje perfecto a las películas de terror, podemos ver una evolución del género que termina por hacerla una alta recomendación obligada.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Nov 29, 2013
Although this movie wasn't meant to be much of a horror movie, it still had a great way of putting a movie together. The real twist is at the beginning. You have no idea what's going on until the end. The more you think about it, the more itAlthough this movie wasn't meant to be much of a horror movie, it still had a great way of putting a movie together. The real twist is at the beginning. You have no idea what's going on until the end. The more you think about it, the more it makes sense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Longo12Feb 24, 2014
Genius movie! It's funny and scary when it needs to be. My immediate thought when they arrived at the cabin was it reminded me of the Evil Dead, but not in a rip-off sort of way, more like a tip of that which is what I feel this entire movieGenius movie! It's funny and scary when it needs to be. My immediate thought when they arrived at the cabin was it reminded me of the Evil Dead, but not in a rip-off sort of way, more like a tip of that which is what I feel this entire movie is. I think anyone who loves a good horror movie should see this and not because of mind blowing special effects or that it's super scary but because it is an excellent homage. I loved jabs at horror cliches and how it didn't feel like a parody. I had a heard a few times it was horrible which really lowered my expectations which were far exceeded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJul 22, 2016
The movie was entertaining, violent, well acted, well executed and funny at times, The Cabin in the Woods might not be the most original horror movie , but it certainly is one of the most entertaining of 2012.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
A Cabin in the Woods is a fresh take on a story that has been around for years. All it took was a bit more thought and they made with film into something special. This film could easily be another rip off of the Evil Dead or Friday the 13thA Cabin in the Woods is a fresh take on a story that has been around for years. All it took was a bit more thought and they made with film into something special. This film could easily be another rip off of the Evil Dead or Friday the 13th but adding the decisive 3 party into the story that calls all the shots is original. This movie is a must watch for any modern horror movie fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovOct 5, 2012
Well, finally a good horror! Good horrors come so infrequently, I always wonder if they're actually good, or they seem disproportionately better because the rest are crap. Well, that is no question with "Cabin" -- simply put, it is a veryWell, finally a good horror! Good horrors come so infrequently, I always wonder if they're actually good, or they seem disproportionately better because the rest are crap. Well, that is no question with "Cabin" -- simply put, it is a very good horror film. It has a great screenplay and it actually works with tons of horror film stereotypes which make it even better. It is actually quite funny at times and it practically satirises the whole genre somewhat. There are quite a few thrills and scares, but ultimately, I did not get frightened too often. That was my biggest criticism of the film, also. On the other hand, it kept me constantly engaged because of the unexpected twists and turns that it would take. So, by no means as scary as "Drag me to hell" can be, but it for sure is as engaging, interesting and funny. Very good stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraMay 31, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The final girl, archetypally speaking, needs to be a virgin, somebody cut from the same cloth as Laurie Strode, the last babysitter standing in John Carpenter's Halloween. Since the 1979 thriller served as the blueprint for the modern horror film, Laurie is long-held by aficionados to be the gold standard, as final girls go. Not for nothing, in The Cabin in the Woods, is one of the characters named Sitterson, a moviemaking hack who works in a federal studio which mass-produces, in essence, snuff films, disguised as escapist fun for the general public. It's a franchise that, on the surface, resembles The Evil Dead movies. Sam Raimi, however, was a maverick, working with a different paradigm; he didn't codify women into virgins and whores, so in a sense, The Cabin in the Woods, set-ups aside, is not really paying homage to the trilogy, because the blood from the ritual killings wouldn't know where to flow, since the functionality of the machine that supplies the hieroglyphs with its gory outline, is predicated on filmic stereotypes(the jock, the brain, etc...). Raimi's characters would be too nondescript for the beast, who needs satiation from stock teenage plasma, a byproduct of reductionist storytelling. The beast has no use for a final man. Bruce Campbell always survives. In the film production-within-the-film, the recycled story, during most of its running time, goes according to plan: the virgin's friends die, leaving Dana alone to kill the redneck zombies. Similar to Laurie's fate at the hands of Michael Myers, a fate interrupted by some last-second heroics performed by Dr. Loomis, who repeatedly shoots the unofficial zombie(Michael won't die), Dana's survival is also dependent on man's preeminence as the sex best-equipped for a violent confrontation, out on the dock by the lake, when the final girl meets her match. Such a chivalrous act runs contrary to the notion that the final girl is, more or less, a man in drag, or in other words, a woman made masculine by default; her femininity imposed upon by a body count, therefore making Dana, supposedly, an equal match for the homicidal maniac. While the final girl, as it is written in her backstory, never experienced penetration, in a sexual sense, ironically, she has no problem doing the penetrating, with an arsenal of weapons, which is the case with Laurie, who uses a knitting needle, a wire hanger, and finally, a knife against her attacker. Dana, on the verge of being choked to death, is left with nothing but her bare hands to fend off the zombie. It's a fight whose one-sidedness serves as a tell-tale sign about her authenticity as final girl material. Arguably, Dana is a bigger whore than Jules, since prior to the road trip, back at the dormitory, the narrative's exposition clearly states that the designated good girl experienced a number of sexual encounters with her college professor. On the other hand, the relationship between Jules and Curt is never clearly delineated as being a consummated one. In the audio commentary for Halloween, Jamie Lee Curtis, an ex-cheerleader, admits that she was more like Lynda and Annie than the virginal Laurie. Knowingly, in The Cabin in the Woods, The Director says, "You work with what you have," so like Carpenter's leading lady, Dana is forced to play against type, and gets her hymen back, for the time being, while the cameras roll. But when Marty comes to her rescue, the jig is up, as it pertains to Dana's put-upon innocence, because, as aforementioned, the final girl adopts the masculine role, yet here comes "the fool", doing a woman's work. What the film does is reimagine other horror films as meta-narratives, except in those cases, the characters never discover the truth about the artifice of their world, as Marty does, just like another fool, Truman Burbank in Peter Weir's The Truman Show, a horror film in its own right. As for Halloween, Curtis(like the actress playing Dana), it now seems, was mistakenly chosen to play Laurie. The presumed virgin, in a sequence where she and her girlfriends walk home from school, Laurie reveals her true self, in which both the final girl and Lynda transgress, arriving at the front door of their homes by cutting across their lawns, whereas Annie(trying to be a bad girl like Lynda) stays off the grass, and uses the walkway. Whereas Lynda has sex, Annie is seen only talking about it. When she takes off her blouse, it's because the babysitter spilled butter on it. Michael gets the wrong idea about her. Laurie was impure, because Curtis had sex, just like the real Dana. Curtis should have been the whore(Lynda), the dumb blonde. A smart girl wouldn't throw away her knife away, twice. In Rear Window, Lisa says, "...you'd think we could be a little bit happy the poor woman is alive and well." When Dana escapes the diegesis, unlike Raymond Burr in the Hitchc*ck film, she gets her revenge not on the voyeur, but the film itself. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryApr 17, 2012
It appears to be a familiar horror trope: a group of college students plans to spend a wild weekend in the titular location. The new angle is there from the beginning. As they're dispatched (without much originality or brutality), the biggerIt appears to be a familiar horror trope: a group of college students plans to spend a wild weekend in the titular location. The new angle is there from the beginning. As they're dispatched (without much originality or brutality), the bigger picture emerges. The high concept is cool, but the execution is medium and the payoff is low. It's more of a sci-fi teaser than a suspenseful or shocking film. Overall, the creators are impressed with their own cleverness, but donâ Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 9, 2013
If you’re a fan of Josh Whedon chances are you’ll enjoy this film. It’s far from perfect but it’s unique spin on the horror genre certainly kept me entertained from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OjaybeeApr 28, 2012
Cabin in the Woods is an enjoyable film for horror aficionados and horror virgins alike. Although it fails to be particularly scary it is a great romp through the horror genre. Some aspects of it are lacking. Whilst the stereotyping of theCabin in the Woods is an enjoyable film for horror aficionados and horror virgins alike. Although it fails to be particularly scary it is a great romp through the horror genre. Some aspects of it are lacking. Whilst the stereotyping of the characters is necessary, the dialogue often fails to hit home. What could be laugh out loud quips only raise at most a chuckle and often the dialogue feels like a rush job, tacked onto the end of what is an accomplished story arc. In addition (and I hate to bring up realism in what is so clearly a fictional film) the main characters appear to be superhuman. Everyone knows that some leeway can be given in horror films on this point, but characters appear to receive near mortal wounds and yet three scenes later are completely restored to full health. Perhaps I'm nit picking but it bothered me more than once. I would have given this a higher score but the two points above detracted enough to stop Cabin in the Woods being a tour de force, instead leaving it more a tour de genre. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanJun 28, 2012
A film that's a hybrid of The Evil Dead and The Truman Show is novel to say the least. For the most part, the film is engaging, funny and scary, and is incredibly playful in its deconstruction of horror conventions, particularly those thatA film that's a hybrid of The Evil Dead and The Truman Show is novel to say the least. For the most part, the film is engaging, funny and scary, and is incredibly playful in its deconstruction of horror conventions, particularly those that were dominant in the 1970s and 80s. Richard Jenkins and Bradley Whitford make a great comedy double act as a pair of senior technicians working for a company that simulates horror movie scenarios as part of a sinister grand plan. The group of young adults who take an ill-advised trip to an isolated cabin in the woods are all of a certain character archetype, a fact that becomes particularly relevant in the finale, but are all given a bit of a twist by writer/producer Joss Whedon ( the jock and his hot girlfriend played by Chris Hemsworth and Anna Hutchinson, for instance, actually have brains). Kristen Connolly's Dana is a decent and empathetic primary protagonist, but the real casting highlight is Fran Kranz, who completely steals the show as one of the great all-time movie stoners Marty, whose unique drug-addled world logic not only aids in its survival, but provides some of the film's best jokes. Drew Goddard has his name on the credits as the sole director, and in that role he appears skilled, but Joss Whedon's fingerprints are all over the film, and you have to wonder just how much Whedon allowed Goddard to do on set. Whedon's writing is funny and layered as usual, and the film as a whole has at least as much vigour and sense of fun as his earlier projects. Some astute genre revisionism and deconstruction and the sheer watchability of most of the film is nearly ruined in its final act. The last half hour is incredibly over-the-top and dumb, bordering on moronic, and threatens to de-value all the good that has come before. Here Whedon and Goddard look like they're abandoning their convictions for what their film should be, and pandering to modern blockbuster viewers and their incessant craving for elaborate action sequences and expensive special effects. The visuals in this portion of the film are terrific, but everything below the surface of the film becomes a little hard to make out at this point. The final revelation of the film is also incredibly disappointing, and a rare example of lazy writing by Whedon. If Whedon and Goddard had just stuck to their guns and produced a finale worthy of the intelligence, creativity and perfect pacing of the rest of the film, then The Cabin in the Woods might have been a classic of postmodern cinema. It's still good, don't get me wrong, and the vast majority of viewers, particularly avid horror nuts and Whedon fans will get a lot out of it, but Joss "The Boss" did stumble at the last hurdle trying to prove himself talented at all styles of filmmaking (like he needed to!) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Princess_PeachMay 5, 2012
I definitely did not expect to enjoy this film but it did what it set out to do. It was highly enjoyable and I can't give a detailed review because I feel like you have to go in to it with no expectations in order to like it. Be open-minded.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
YossGoldAug 21, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not amazing ... but definitely not bad.

With a core idea which is quite innovative and awesome the film does tend to go a bit all over the place from the middle on and the character's "feats" are non-existent ("I actually rooting for this girl, she's got such heart", while in fact she hadn't done anything but run once or twice up to that point) and the acting a mediocre at best (though, bad acting is kinda mandatory in the horror genre isn't it).

With that being said, it IS a fun watch and to the fans of the genre it's a step up from what's been released these last few years.

What can I say, if you like horror movies, you'll enjoy it to some extent, but I still think they went a bit overboard as the film goes along, thus losing the grittiness that I personally like to have in my horror flics, going a bit too flashy with the special effects and a tad too many "baddies". You usually want to have your one Freddy Krueger or one Texas Massacre family to focus on, throwing all of them, including the kitchen sink (and a merman) in there at the end was a bit too "Michael Bay-esque" for my liking.

But hey, watch it. It's good.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KerimBlueApr 17, 2012
Not as great as I thought it would be, but still a cool movie. I love the direction it has, with all the cliches and unexpected laughs, but I just feel like they could expanded it a bit more and really dug further into the last 30 minutes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
nascentSep 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An enjoyable, clever and pretty original movie, with good humour. A little too heavy handed at times.

The film is very clever and satirises, not only horror films, but horror film viewers. Though some of the film's writing isn't as good as it tries to be. Despite the movie parodying cliché, cheesy movies. It is a pity that in order to parody this, it had to become one, at least for the first half. The only thing that kept my interest was the scientist/technician comedic scenes, because once I realised the horror was meant to be cliché I was just waiting for people to die and get it over with, like any other cliché movie.

This film makes out the stoner dude as though it's never happened before. Otherwise the 'gods' would've become angry with the sacrifices before. There's been many 'moronic stoner dudes' in horror films, yet this one is immune because weed immunises against the chemicals they induce?

I'd still recommend the movie, it's probably on par with Scream. It's no Evil Dead though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GreatbealloJun 13, 2012
This is the most fun I have had watching a thriller/horror film in as long as I can remember. I don't like the genre of horror much. I think it's generally predicable, and forced. This film, however, took me for a trip. Watching stupidThis is the most fun I have had watching a thriller/horror film in as long as I can remember. I don't like the genre of horror much. I think it's generally predicable, and forced. This film, however, took me for a trip. Watching stupid characters get killed is fun and all, but when the underlying plot of this film is exposed in its latter half it really grabbed a hold of my attention. I haven't seen anything like this before. It twists and turns all over the place, and left me in a gleeful state. Is it scary? No. Is it enjoyable? Decidedly yes! I want to watch it again in the near future with lots of popcorn and a girl to cuddle with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
scoleyApr 14, 2012
I did enjoy the film to a point I would hardly call it ground breaking though its two or three other films put together but it is done well.The problem I have with the film is the end story it just seems rushed and not much thought put in toI did enjoy the film to a point I would hardly call it ground breaking though its two or three other films put together but it is done well.The problem I have with the film is the end story it just seems rushed and not much thought put in to just left me feeling a bit let down. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
VladimirCancerApr 22, 2012
I watched this movie yesterday and I want to say that this movie is really cool. This movie is really unpredictable and insane. And the jokes, they are awesome.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
mooshuMay 5, 2012
This movie has lots of twists and turns which make it interesting and entertaining to watch. I must admit i was not able to predict the ending, including how crazy it was, which in itself was entertaining. Would have liked a little moreThis movie has lots of twists and turns which make it interesting and entertaining to watch. I must admit i was not able to predict the ending, including how crazy it was, which in itself was entertaining. Would have liked a little more explanation as to all the whys and hows i was left with though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CriticalStateMay 17, 2012
The Cabin in the Woods works solely on the merit of its humor. It is well written and very funny. People looking for genuine horror will most likely be disappointed, although there are some intense scenes and because the characters areThe Cabin in the Woods works solely on the merit of its humor. It is well written and very funny. People looking for genuine horror will most likely be disappointed, although there are some intense scenes and because the characters are fleshed out and enjoyable you can root for them. Admittedly the ending disappointed me on the first viewing, although on the second I accepted the movie as a comedy and was able to enjoy it fully. All that being said, the movie is not as original as some of its highest praise is suggesting. Feast, a movie from 2006, comes to mind as a horror comedy that identified the cliches in the genre, but succeeded where Cabin in the Woods failed in being funny and qualifying as extreme horror. Still, The Cabin in the Woods is above average and still may be the funniest movie I have seen all year (the banter in the control room between two of the main characters is always gold). You need a sense of humor, and some sense in general when it comes to being genre savvy to enjoy this movie. A must-see for horror fans and horror-comedy fans alike. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheMaskOfSanityJun 10, 2012
This is a very good comedy movie, even more so because I walked in expecting a horror flick. The two greatest accomplishments of this movie would have to be their transitions, which are absolutely amazing, and their spin on the idea of ourThis is a very good comedy movie, even more so because I walked in expecting a horror flick. The two greatest accomplishments of this movie would have to be their transitions, which are absolutely amazing, and their spin on the idea of our cookie cutter horror movies. I have recommended it to multiple people as a comedy and they loved it, so I am going to recommend it to y'all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BryceHooglandJul 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Cabin in the Woods is directed by Drew Goddard and this is his directorial debut. There Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Be forewarned, there's a lot of blood and severed bod parts in this one... "The Cabin in the Woods" mixes humor and gore well to put a fresh, if not twisted, take on the prototypical slasher movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JamesCannonOct 27, 2014
Cabin in the woods is a unique take on slasher/horror movies. While the gimmick is clever I found it to be lacking in any kind of realistic scares. The whole premise is cool when everything is revealed but do not expect any real crazy scares.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersFeb 10, 2013
The Cabin in the Woods is absolutely absurd! It twists and turns multiple times throughout its short running time, borrowing heavily from a variety of films in the horror genre (and other genres as well), but under the sure direction andThe Cabin in the Woods is absolutely absurd! It twists and turns multiple times throughout its short running time, borrowing heavily from a variety of films in the horror genre (and other genres as well), but under the sure direction and brilliant screenplay of Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, this film is a complete breathe of fresh air in a world of doomed horror movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
voresterJan 19, 2013
One of the many good things in this movie was the fact that not only the writers of horror movies do bad things to their victims but also and many times much worse to their evil monsters. thumbs up...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithJun 28, 2013
Somewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a waySomewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two lead characters are effective and you root for them to live, which is the opposite of most horror movies, and the visual effects aren't bad either. However, it's not truly that scary, and the very ending was pretty disappointing to me. Still, I recommend it due to its skewering of clichés and its humor. I liked it, just didn't love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
"Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

You know when i first watched this movie i really
"Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

You know when i first watched this movie i really wasn't expecting anything from it because well you know horror movie these days are just not that good and its usually every 10 years that we get one that steps it up. Although by the end of the film i was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking it, but seeing that its from Joss Whedon i knew it was going to be something special. With the directorial debut of Drew Goddard the writer for Cloverfield a film that i didn't like, i wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but he ended up doing a decent job, im sure he and Joss Whedon collaborated on things so it would turn out good.

The film follows your group of typical college friends Dana(Kristen Connolly) the sweet innocent girl, Jules(Anna Hutchison) the slutty one, Curt(Chris Hemsworth) the cool jock, Marty(Fran Kranz) the hilarious stoner, and Holden(Jesse Williams) the sensitive guy, taking a trip out to a isolated cabin out in the woods for a weekend of partying. At this point the movie is really cut and dry with your typical horror movie but only that you know something is brewing up, you're just not sure what that is. Soon the Partying stops when the group of friends find themselves being hunted down and killed off but not before figuring out why it happened to them. The film is fast paced, gory, and filled with plenty of dark humor( mostly coming from the pot head) Although the movie my be highly cliched it gives reasons for why it is, like when they stop at the gas station and they confront the old creepy dude, thats is just about every horror movie dealing with going into the middle of nowhere.

The last 15 minutes of the movie is without a doubt the best part of it, you get to wave after wave of monsters killing guards. This part of course had the best scene of the whole movie when you get to see a unicorn kill a man by ramming his horn into him the first time i had seen that i literally fell on the floor it was so funny even though i have watched the movie a couple times now i still chuckle when that part comes up its that great, another great death is the merman killing Bradley Whitford, he wanted to see it so bad but i bet he didn't think it would be the thing to kill him. Sigourney Weaver being in it was a complete surprise to me so its always a pleasure seeing her. She kinda had the same role in this as she did in "Paul" were she is the BIG BOSS overseeing everything and you don't get to see her until the end only teasing her voice.

Overall i give it a 7.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sloppyjoesSep 8, 2013
It starts off incredibly weak but somehow manages to get better. The plot twist is good and it features a large amount of humor and enjoyable moments. It truly is a satirical horror film, it's just too bad that it didn't work out with Valve.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
realnostokSep 16, 2014
Comienza como la clásica película de horror con unos adolescentes estereotipados que están listos para morir en una cabaña del bosque... Propuesta dinámica e interesante. Buena mezcla final !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
BKMDec 19, 2012
Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard do their best to breathe new life into the horror genre, and The Cabin in the Woods is certainly clever and entertaining. Yet I think that the film will strike more of a chord with the genre's die hard fans and IJoss Whedon and Drew Goddard do their best to breathe new life into the horror genre, and The Cabin in the Woods is certainly clever and entertaining. Yet I think that the film will strike more of a chord with the genre's die hard fans and I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed by the ending which turns out to be little more than a giant wink at the tired conventions that have always defined horror films. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerNov 6, 2013
A horror-comedy that doesn't exactly do horror or comedy all that well. It's definitely a better comedy than it is a horror movie. There are some laugh-out-loud moments here, just not enough of them. It's not quite a spoof, but it definitelyA horror-comedy that doesn't exactly do horror or comedy all that well. It's definitely a better comedy than it is a horror movie. There are some laugh-out-loud moments here, just not enough of them. It's not quite a spoof, but it definitely pokes fun at the horror movie genre. As far as horror goes this movie isn't scary at all. It's cool to see all of the different monsters and the bloody, gore-filled moments, but there's never a sense of fear. The movie is made decent by a great plot though.

There's a great sense of mystery to the whole thing. While watching this movie I found myself asking who were these people controlling the events? Why were they doing it? Every little reveal is a treat and that's what kept me watching. It actually makes the movie somewhat worth watching for horror buffs. In the end though some funny moments and a great plot can't hold together a horror-comedy that lacks any sort of tension or terror. There are some good things about it, and it may be worth watching as a disposable thrill, but as someone who was hopping to be scared I'm disappointed.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
FDT44Apr 13, 2012
While it took a great deal to finally get it on the big screen, "The Cabin in the Woods" is well-worth the enduring wait. Although, it's probably better if I don't say too much; it's deliciously practial joke, with a lasting punch of twistWhile it took a great deal to finally get it on the big screen, "The Cabin in the Woods" is well-worth the enduring wait. Although, it's probably better if I don't say too much; it's deliciously practial joke, with a lasting punch of twist and turns, and a capricious finale that is as shocking as it is unexpected. It's a booby trap that has its claws ready for prey, you make think you may know where it lies, having made a few passes by its grasps in the tall, unknown grass, but before you know it, you have already been brought to the ground, on your knees without knowing how. It's to-the-brim with horror, not just scary in a conventional sense, but frightening from knowing how little you actually do "know." Director/writers Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon take the self-awareness/inside-joke concept that has been tried--and has failed time and time again--and reinvigorate it into a meta-feat of filmmaking that is ghastly, hilarious, and even mysterious--at moments all-at-once--maintaining a solidly slick script throughout. The film is also host to a question mark that remains indelible on the bearings of the plot until the very end; it's stress-inducing. As for such a "resolution"; let's just say it isn't your typical "The End" finale. And, If you're thinking it's the creative-but-unfulfilling "I gotcha' ending, you're equally wrong. No, the filmmakers do get the last laugh, but in a way that involves a fledgling character and an overarching story-revealing; audiences are, indeed, eventually guided outside the unascertained 'Woods.' Notwithstanding its subtle satirical tone, feeling a little hinge of "Scream," which breifly reverts to genre cliches and one-liners, 'Cabin' is a genre-recalibrator, whose most impressive quality is perhaps, its transmuting of the very expectations audiences are taught to have from...watching fright flicks. The more one watches it marvel onscreen, the more one learns about the filmmakers--Goodard and Whedon--they are more annoyed by horror movies than they love them; for every flesh-flopping sinew and blood-spraying limb, another token is slotted in the laugh meter. The amalgamative dimension between opposing dichotomies makes for fun-frights. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
Mike_MSep 26, 2013
I don't think that this is a great movie, by any means. Nor do I love [or hate] Whedon. But I do think that the users giving this movie scores in the red are why we can't have nice things. Specifically, I think that they're the kind ofI don't think that this is a great movie, by any means. Nor do I love [or hate] Whedon. But I do think that the users giving this movie scores in the red are why we can't have nice things. Specifically, I think that they're the kind of movie fans who prevent American filmmakers [as a whole] from trying crazy stuff. Sure, some crazy stuff is going to fall flat on its face. So what? This movie isn't a normal horror movie. So what? That means it deserves a zero?
This movie messes around with the horror movie genre and its clichés in a way that's far, far more interesting than the Scream movies. If more movies like this were appreciated, even when they're modest successes like this one, then we would have more risks taken by American filmmakers and studios. And as a consequence of that, we'd have more playing around with story types, and less of Hollywood making the same crap over and over and over.
What really makes me shudder is the idea that some users who gave this a 0 or 1 may also complain about Hollywood recycling ideas. We need movies that tear apart genres in thoughtful ways, even if they're 'popcorn movies'.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TTW107Apr 22, 2012
This movie is not in the same realm of movies as Scream, Behind The Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, or Tucker & Dale vs. Evil. Those three movies pull off their horror/comedy near perfectly, The Cabin in the Woods, on the other hand, seemedThis movie is not in the same realm of movies as Scream, Behind The Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, or Tucker & Dale vs. Evil. Those three movies pull off their horror/comedy near perfectly, The Cabin in the Woods, on the other hand, seemed a little too corny when they were fishing for laughs. There were definitely some funny parts do not get me wrong but it was just a very peculiar way of stabbing at the horror genre. During these corny parts there is also a sense of arrogance pouring out as if the makers thought that this was the most clever thing ever to be put on film, sorry, but it is not. The story definitely goes places I never thought it would but at that point the movie shifts to complete gore/cgi/sci-fi mode, which was certainly entertaining but what the f*ck happened to the horror? The horror elements of the movie are actually pretty great but it's literally less than 1/3 of the movie which disappointed me. This will never go down as a great horror movie, mainly because it's not a horror movie. I think the hype it generated beforehand ruined it a little for me because it was being compared to Scream and was getting all this praise. But seriously Scream is one million times better than The Cabin in the Woods. Overall I enjoyed watching it but it came off as an arrogant comedy/sci-fi flick masquerading as a horror movie. I say if you want a relatively recent example of a good horror comedy thennn Tucker & Dale Vs. Evil > The Cabin in the Woods. Yep, that's right, I said it, whatcha ganna do about it Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
racketracerApr 13, 2012
The Cabin in The Woods is a twisted story, that kind of twists out of control. Sure, I did enjoy my time at the movie theater, but it's as much of a horror film as it is a unsuspecting satire of modern horror. Set in the most cliched setting,The Cabin in The Woods is a twisted story, that kind of twists out of control. Sure, I did enjoy my time at the movie theater, but it's as much of a horror film as it is a unsuspecting satire of modern horror. Set in the most cliched setting, five friends find themselves haunted by puppeteers and sets off in motion a surprisingly funny spooky event. But in reality, if I wanted to see a fantasy movie I would like to be told beforehand. The movie twists and turns itself that it spirals itself out of control and also out of sensibility by the end. Watch it at your own peril, but I feel that this movie will either have you loving it, or hating it. It's never been done before, but the horror comedy is still very entertaining when at it's best. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
DarianApr 26, 2012
Horror and humour can go well together, because they share an essential element: surprise--which is what this film is somewhat lacking in. It's a potentially good film, but ultimately ends up being not sexy, funny, or scary enough. If theHorror and humour can go well together, because they share an essential element: surprise--which is what this film is somewhat lacking in. It's a potentially good film, but ultimately ends up being not sexy, funny, or scary enough. If the point of this film was to make a statement, it's not one that ends with an exclamation mark. Also, to those for whom this matters: plot holes abound. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
FujiforkerMay 13, 2012
People kept telling me Cabin in the Woods teaches an old dog new tricks. In some parts, yes, this movie did have a different approach in the telling of a thriller/horror. And for the most part it was minor details that set this film apartPeople kept telling me Cabin in the Woods teaches an old dog new tricks. In some parts, yes, this movie did have a different approach in the telling of a thriller/horror. And for the most part it was minor details that set this film apart from its competitors. I really liked the way Cabin in the Woods stared out, and some of the opening dialouge was funny. But, how the story got to where the kids are introduced was a little bizarre. The set up, I feel, still felt like a rather common horror movie. It was mostly the lines that connected the big plot points in this movie that felt new. The kids still venture on down to the strange house's spooky basement, but why they go down there is a different sort of push to the plot. The characters were nothing out of the ordinary either, none of them overly alluring. The end gets a little bit messy and kinda sci-fi. And the very last scene felt way too familiar, and I think they were aware of it (which in a way is a pro). But all in all Cabin in the Woods keeps you interested for the majority of the movie, just the last 1/3 of it was a bit average. I know it sounds like I'm being a little harsh on it for still giving it a positive review, but that mostly to counter all the overly positive feedback its getting from it's other critics. I mean, a 90 something percent on Rotten Tomatoes? Come on. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrMay 26, 2013
I am not sure it is because I watch films with an analytic eye, but this film felt like a mishmash of films which although not necessarily masterpieces themselves, however made a huge impact back in their day: The Cube, Truman Show, Scream.I am not sure it is because I watch films with an analytic eye, but this film felt like a mishmash of films which although not necessarily masterpieces themselves, however made a huge impact back in their day: The Cube, Truman Show, Scream. And if it had not been for the all hell breaks loose scene I would have been really wondering what the big fuss about this film was all about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
smk123May 3, 2012
I fail to see why this film is so well received by critics; sure it's plot is pretty unconventional and it's original, but I couldn't help but feel it was a bit too ridiculous, obviously I won't spoil anything but it's nothing what I expectedI fail to see why this film is so well received by critics; sure it's plot is pretty unconventional and it's original, but I couldn't help but feel it was a bit too ridiculous, obviously I won't spoil anything but it's nothing what I expected it to be. This isn't to say it's a bad movie, it's certainly decent by horror standards, but the plot just irritated me. Has a few jumpy moments too, but don't go in expecting a non-stop horror barrage like I did! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Cleric22Apr 16, 2012
While a huge fan of the writing style of Joss Whedon, I've always felt his attempts at horror were a little lacking. His previous horror based shows, "Buffy" and "Angel" were cult favorites because of the action and comedy elements. WhereWhile a huge fan of the writing style of Joss Whedon, I've always felt his attempts at horror were a little lacking. His previous horror based shows, "Buffy" and "Angel" were cult favorites because of the action and comedy elements. Where "Cabin" truly suffers is the Whedon-esque comedy implented to deflate any tension in the scenes that would traditionally belong to the horror genre. In addition, elements of the movie prevent the audience from developing any attachments to the characters and therefore are unable to feel strongly about their survival or possible deaths. Finally, the pacing of the movie suffers greatly which reduces the enjoyable scenes down to a broken "genre-bending" film the likes of which have not been seen since the film "Banraku". Expand
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
5
KnowNothingApr 27, 2012
Although I don't believe we wasted our money or time, or that the movie was a total "piece of crap", I'd suggest as others have that you save your money. The movie had a respectable amount of laughs, originality, worthy acting, and likeableAlthough I don't believe we wasted our money or time, or that the movie was a total "piece of crap", I'd suggest as others have that you save your money. The movie had a respectable amount of laughs, originality, worthy acting, and likeable characters, but it just wasn't enough. Maybe it was the sorely missing really scary moments. Anyway, when the film was over my wife asked me if I'd recommend this movie to anyone. Despite the rave reviews this film has garnered, and despite the good points I've pointed out, I did not hesitate to answer, "No". Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
I commend the effort in attempting to make an original film today; however, Cabin in the Woods clearly gets lost in its own complex, mind puzzle. So close!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
aznassassinOct 26, 2012
I know its trying to be a metaphor for modern horror films. I know its also a black humour horror with a brilliant twist. Yes, there is a twist and no its impact isn't exactly profound as they tell us that IN THE TRAILER ALREADY. When youI know its trying to be a metaphor for modern horror films. I know its also a black humour horror with a brilliant twist. Yes, there is a twist and no its impact isn't exactly profound as they tell us that IN THE TRAILER ALREADY. When you watch a horror film, you come for the scares and the thrills. Cabin in the Woods gives you none of the former and dishes out the latter in a ridiculous, dark-humourly manner. Its not a bad thing but its call a horror movie, not a black humour monster fantasy slasher. The final half an hour is plain ridiculous and feels more like a Resident Evil movie who's overdosed on heroin and overused gory props in distasteful scenes. Indeed, its paying homage to horror films and esp the ambience created by H.P Lovecraft but seriously, for most viewers (i.e. 80% of us who dont usually indulge in hardcore horror flicks). its just...weird. If you're a true horror fan, you may love this movie. For me, however, someone who just wants to thrilled and be enthralled in a scare-fest, this became a bore of a film which would've been a lot more interesting had more of the movie made any sense. Add in the Lovecraft factor that you may love or hate, and you have what feels like a B-grade gore flick that caters only for the true horror fans and leaves the rest of us in the cold. Decide for yourself whether you enjoy the taste of this flick but I am sitting on the fence for this one, my stomach impaled by a unicorn. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
scott7reeMay 6, 2012
The movie starts out great. Fun elements of hidden story unfold slowly. Gets a little crazy half way through and ends in a blanket of cat ladies full crazy. Watch the first half, then skip to 5 minutes to ending. You don't see thisThe movie starts out great. Fun elements of hidden story unfold slowly. Gets a little crazy half way through and ends in a blanket of cat ladies full crazy. Watch the first half, then skip to 5 minutes to ending. You don't see this ending too often. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 7, 2015
"Don't fix what isn't broken" is an old saying that The Cabin in the Woods completely disregards. It tries to offer an explanation as to the happenings of all your favorite horror movies and, in doing so, winds up undoing itself and being"Don't fix what isn't broken" is an old saying that The Cabin in the Woods completely disregards. It tries to offer an explanation as to the happenings of all your favorite horror movies and, in doing so, winds up undoing itself and being plain stupid. Yes, it is a ton of fun and can be scary at times, but the scares are undone with the explanation. Horror rides on mystery and this one completely destroys it and turns it into a game. Though it is well thought out, I honestly wish they came up with something better to do with, well, all of this. It blends horror and comedy really well, extracting and playing with the expectations of both throughout, but man, it is stupid. The acting is undeniably poor and despite its subversion of expectations, it manages to remain predictable. Ultimately, if this one ends after an hour and removes some of the extra garbage to leave no unanswered questions, it would be way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oliver1hNov 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was not funny enough to be a comedy... and was not scary enough to be a horror movie!
The movie is an average mixture of those to genres. The characters are all clichés /I know they are supposed to be to some extent), and there is no character development at all. The horror/chase scenes could use some more suspense (They focused on the gore unfortunately). The ending of the movie is not that "shocking" as some critics say.... Nothing we haven't seen before in other horror movie...
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
WriteFilmLive21Nov 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Considering how groundbreaking this film was reputedly supposed to be, "The Cabin in the Woods" was . . . decent. It had some fun humorous moments, some good characters and the plot twists are admittedly imaginative and somewhat original. However, as a whole, the film's attempt at upending the genre results in a somewhat clumsy presentation. The plot does grow and progress with a fair amount of grace, but when you start off with your typical slasher setup and end with literally armageddon, it's hard for the movie to feel consistent and connected overall. You gradually move through two or perhaps three different types of movies and a multitude of genres. This would work really well, of course, if executed with the right precision, but here it leaves you only partially satisfied. I rented the movie expecting a somewhat clever slasher film - now, I'm expecting the sequel to be the third "Clash of the Titans". If you enjoy original or imaginative stories, you'll probably really get into this one. It just didn't quite do as much for me as I thought it would. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
ag10Aug 3, 2013
Considering that the plot in this movie didn't make any sense, and was just plain stupid Cabin in the Woods does bring some funny, sexy, and cool moments to the table. The acting was really average, the special effects were awesome, but byConsidering that the plot in this movie didn't make any sense, and was just plain stupid Cabin in the Woods does bring some funny, sexy, and cool moments to the table. The acting was really average, the special effects were awesome, but by the end of the movie you begin to realise that the director could have done so much more with it. It starts off good then the ridiculous plot twists ruin the movie to a certain degree. I was a bit disappointed, considering I was ecpecting more, but a decent flick nonetheless. In 3 4 days after watching it you will forget most of it. Average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayinerJun 1, 2013
I have really mixed feelings after watching this movie. It's sarcastic horror movie with a lot of humour things but containing some aspects of mainstream movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Dr_FetusSep 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went to watch this with a group of friends, and I wasn't taken with it as much as they were. The storyline wasn't fantastic, neither was the acting, but it was an alright film overall as I could just about follow what was happening. Ending was awfully american (two main characters survive to the end, one doesn't shoot the other despite if they did they would have saved the world, but of course they couldn't because of feelings and though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Look, I get it. The idea behind Cabin in the Woods is immensely clever, and had plenty of potential, but even with its gripping comedy and action moments, this film really falls flat. They try so hard to make the allegory and parody work, butLook, I get it. The idea behind Cabin in the Woods is immensely clever, and had plenty of potential, but even with its gripping comedy and action moments, this film really falls flat. They try so hard to make the allegory and parody work, but in the end, it really just doesn't make sense. I think this movie is good for some cheap thrills, but don't expect anything too grand or amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hopefulcynicJul 5, 2014
The Cabin in the Woods is a great example of how complacent the horror genre is becoming. In comparison to other movies in it's category The Cabin in the Woods is fresh and brings something new to the table. On it's own, this movie really isThe Cabin in the Woods is a great example of how complacent the horror genre is becoming. In comparison to other movies in it's category The Cabin in the Woods is fresh and brings something new to the table. On it's own, this movie really is not great. While the idea and underlining message of the film is definitely new and enough to raise appreciation, the only thing that keeps you from boredom is wanting to know what's really going on. That may sound like a positive, but it caused me to not care about the main characters or their impending doom. While interesting, nothing in this movie is scary. If you are looking for an interesting movie that may make you think (although not very much) I don't think you will be very disappointing here. If your looking for a scary movie this will leave you wanting much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Cabin in the Woods" is a pretty underwhelming movie. It's certainly a fresh take on movies like "Cabin Fever" and "The Evil Dead", but it's neither funny enough to be a comedy nor scary enough to be a horror movie. The most disappointing"The Cabin in the Woods" is a pretty underwhelming movie. It's certainly a fresh take on movies like "Cabin Fever" and "The Evil Dead", but it's neither funny enough to be a comedy nor scary enough to be a horror movie. The most disappointing aspect was the ending which seemed too contrived. It is a pretty enjoyable film to watch with some friends, though, so I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
The cake is a lie.

I was lulled into complacency by the invocation of Joss Whedon's name in association with this film, in addition to the positive percentiles of RT and Metacritic reviews. While not as disappointing as The Blair Witch
The cake is a lie.

I was lulled into complacency by the invocation of Joss Whedon's name in association with this film, in addition to the positive percentiles of RT and Metacritic reviews. While not as disappointing as The Blair Witch meta-eBaitAndSwitch, it disappoints none the less.

The Cabin in the Woods has all the charm of a live action Scooby Doo sequel, that is, if you mashed it up with every horror trope ever created. The kernel to this story - that the ritual sacrifice of the young across the aeons - is buried underneath layers of Whedonesque sarcasm and a stylistic co-opting of every horror franchise in modern memory a la Sommers' Van Helsing. The premise to this film is original, unfortunately, not much else is.

In the end, I was rooting for the monsters. In this respect, we're also cheated as the promise of seeing a Lovecraftian Ancient One evaporates with the appearance of [SPOILER ALERT] a goofy giant human hand.

Meh.

Don't spend a dime, no need to put it on your Netflix queue... wait for basic cable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MatteoApr 16, 2012
If you want to be scared, don't go see this movie. If you want to laugh and you liked something like Zombieland? Go see this. Sure I applaud the writer and director's intellect and use of metaphor, but you don't care about anyone and it'sIf you want to be scared, don't go see this movie. If you want to laugh and you liked something like Zombieland? Go see this. Sure I applaud the writer and director's intellect and use of metaphor, but you don't care about anyone and it's just a bunch of ideas and metaphors thrown into one **** movie. I was sincerely disappointed. I want my money back Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
NixySep 27, 2012
I truly wanted to like this film. I really did. I got a drink and a blanket ready and everything, but it really was such a disappointment.

'Cabin in the Woods', Hooray, another slasher movie! Sarcasm aside, I was interested to watch this
I truly wanted to like this film. I really did. I got a drink and a blanket ready and everything, but it really was such a disappointment.

'Cabin in the Woods', Hooray, another slasher movie! Sarcasm aside, I was interested to watch this film when I heard that it wasn't what it seemed. I was told that the twist was phenomenal the execution of the film was brilliant. I clearly need to stop relying on my friends and their judgement...

It's starts off with what seems to be your typical college students 'oh my god I might totally get laid tonight' casting and therefore put me in a fairly bad mood before the first 5 minutes had passed. It then became clear that this was really what the film centred around and yes, there genuinely was a lot more to it than you would expect. One thing you really can't do is say that the film is unimaginative, it definitely isn't lacking in that respect. My main issue with it was that I just found it boring. It was fairly obvious where the twist was going very early on in the film and the main 'dun dun duuuuun' revelation moment at the end was just...well...not good. I'm aware that it doesn't take itself serious as a horror film, it isn't meant to, I just found it all a little too messy and I felt that the plot got out of the hand, a little bit like the director got fed up and allowed a 7 year old boy dictate the rest of the storyline. 'AND THEN THERE WERE MONSTERS AND AND AND...' a little bit like that. There were parts that I found funny and parts that were quite fun to watch, but on the whole, it was a little bit like chewing gum for the eyes. I'm not appalled at myself for spending an hour and a half of my life watching it but I will have forgotten about it tomorrow. I appreciate that other people may have really enjoyed it and found the whole thing really interesting, but it was lost on me unfortunately.

The reason I'm giving this 4 instead of 2 or 3 is simply because of the stoner guy. Because we all need a friend like Marty.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
frankiep86Apr 20, 2012
The hype for this film does not match the execution. It was all over the place and should not be called a horror movie. It did provide a couple of jumps but more than anything it made me want to leap for the exit. I did go in with highThe hype for this film does not match the execution. It was all over the place and should not be called a horror movie. It did provide a couple of jumps but more than anything it made me want to leap for the exit. I did go in with high expectations due to the reviews - I'm sure this did not help my reaction. The actors for the most part did a good job with what they were tasked. I don't even think I would recommend this for video. Expand
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
3
phillyjeffOct 26, 2012
I really wanted to like this movie, but from the jump, it was just awful. The entire movie does not any sense. The should of written a traditional slasher in the woods movie. Would of been a better movie.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
miniiiApr 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's basically a weed film. The main male protagonist is a weed head, he survives because he's high, and at the survivors smoke weed. Other than that, it wasn't really all that interesting it reminded me a lot of 13 Ghosts. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
jarcMay 3, 2012
I heard so much buzz about this movie and was utterly disappointed. Yes, the plot was original but so convoluted. I cannot believe this film scored a 72!! If you haven't seen the British comedy/horror film "Severance", watch it instead.I heard so much buzz about this movie and was utterly disappointed. Yes, the plot was original but so convoluted. I cannot believe this film scored a 72!! If you haven't seen the British comedy/horror film "Severance", watch it instead. Not as original but certainly a much better film. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
LeahAndNicApr 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's because I went in with high expectations. But I was let down big time. I love Joss. And I went in after reading a lot of positive hype on the net. And a couple of critics that I usually agree with that loved it also. And the only way to describe my feeling was let down.

I laughed quite a few times. I never did jump or even get remotely scared. I'm even having a hard time calling it a horror movie at all since it's really not. It almost borders on sci-fi but not really that either. I loved the stoner character. Though he was like a more intelligent shaggy. And I liked the control room guys and their fun on the job attitude.

As for the story, I thought the story was a really good idea. But poorly executed. I think the idea of all horror cliches being explained by this movie to be excellent. And maybe this is where the hype killed the payoff for me. I just wasn't all that wowed by the reveal.

That being said, those 5 minutes with the elevators were excellent. A little fast so you couldn't take it all in, but still, pretty darn cool.

Overall, I thought for a comedy/horror film this was middle of the road. I'd prefer more Tucker and Dale or Sean of the Dead.
Expand
6 of 24 users found this helpful618
All this user's reviews
3
DemoraseJun 10, 2012
Yes the final reveal/twist was cute, is it enough to make a bad movie work? No, you can ask Shyamalan he'd know. This movie spends so much time trying to be "meta" and clever that it completely forgets it's supposed to entertain its audience.Yes the final reveal/twist was cute, is it enough to make a bad movie work? No, you can ask Shyamalan he'd know. This movie spends so much time trying to be "meta" and clever that it completely forgets it's supposed to entertain its audience. There's just nothing going on for the entire first half hour! And then it takes another half hour to really get going, already wasting 1 hour for nothing. By the time the big reveal happens I didn't care, and why would I as the movie makes no effort at all to make the characters or the story interesting. No work no payoff, sorry. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
crazyzebadyApr 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. probably the one of the most boring movies i have seen at the cinema apart from paul blart mall cop. i could not wait for it to be over, i gain more enjoyment from watching the trailers of other movies before the showing of this film. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why people liked this film????? It is not something more than a joke. Seriously? people under the earth send some monsters to kill people who live in the cabin for the gods??? Yeah, it is original. ORIGINAL STUPIDITY. At some points it made even laugh because i didn't want to cry of what i was watching. Thumbs to the ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
VyrotixDec 22, 2014
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film. The only
It is amazing on how so many people like this movie.

In my opinion, the movie has ripped off so many aspects in films including the character personalities, and even escalates to obscure stupidity near the end of the film.

The only thing that I can say that is good about this movie is the monsters themselves, and the makeup and CGI that went down to make them.

But unfortunately, the downright stupid plot and oversexualized female and male characters mixed together with a horrendous plot brings this movie down in the hell it came from.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Jackboswell72Jan 25, 2014
This movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviouslyThis movie was dreadful. Following on from watching "woman in black" and "Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter" the last two nights I was looking forward to this given all the positive reviews. I see it was meant to have funny parts but I obviously missed the clever tongue in cheek parody of the genre. I just found it very weak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
VorlargenAug 28, 2012
Ridiculous film with nonsense plot lines and silly, cheesy script. Stereotypical Yank rubbish! They never learn. To be fair I did laugh quite a few times at the stupidness I was watching.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
duffman902Apr 16, 2012
This movie had alot going for it, great commercials, and positive reviews, hemsworth. The movie turned about to be a huge disappointment. You can figure out in the first five minutes whats actually going on. It also reminded me alot ofThis movie had alot going for it, great commercials, and positive reviews, hemsworth. The movie turned about to be a huge disappointment. You can figure out in the first five minutes whats actually going on. It also reminded me alot of Thirteen Ghosts (meets Cube meets Evil Dead). There were some funny parts, mostly stoner humour, but still made me chuckle. But the rest of the movie, the parts that were supposed to be "serious" were cheesy at best. Even the supposed big reveal at the end was really a no brainer. A few jump out of your seat moments, but mostly due to loud music blasting through the speakers. This movie would have been straight to DVD if chris hemsworth wasnt in it. And thats how it should be treated. Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
2
KorelessApr 28, 2012
I'm not one to bother leaving a review but after watching this film due to the good opinions I felt compelled to leave my review. Firstly this is essentially the Truman show except without a joker and in the woods. The characters irritatedI'm not one to bother leaving a review but after watching this film due to the good opinions I felt compelled to leave my review. Firstly this is essentially the Truman show except without a joker and in the woods. The characters irritated me, they were all predictably college. None of them could act either which is a shame. Though it's no surprise with the writers of this film. The story is just ridiculous, not clever at all. Also to the people that claim this isn't funny, I agree. I can't remember laughing once.

Critics must have got a nice payment for some of these reviews. I imagine this film will surface at around 6 once people calm down about the hype. Save your time.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
theviewerJul 22, 2012
I have to give the movie credit for having some unexpected twist but overall it is probably one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. Starts off interesting, then gets ridiculous, and continues to get more ridiculous as the filmI have to give the movie credit for having some unexpected twist but overall it is probably one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. Starts off interesting, then gets ridiculous, and continues to get more ridiculous as the film continues. Luckily I saw it at the $1.99 theater and still paid about $1.95 too much!! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
TorbjornAug 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A combination of the truman show and a horror/fantasy movie with unconvincing acting and somewhat lame plot (the cliche breaking was unfitting, just confusing).
And if a movie should catch my attention please don't start it off as any other horror film ever made, it ruins the impression, even though it's a parody. How would I know this was not just a standard horror movie?
With bad acting and a uninteresting plot, not even scary, the only thing that i like about this movie is that its so predictable its funny.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
2
MigratedwolfFeb 17, 2013
This movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobsThis movie has one of the worst plot lines I've ever seen, it's gimmicky trying to pull in the audience with gruesome deaths that could have been thought up by a 12 year old...OH AND boobs! you like boobs right?,right? well if you want boobs look elsewhere, all the babes in this movie make the walls jealous with their flat chests...Moving on... They break the Immersion that a good horror movie should have too, with mediocre character development, and terribly predictable outcomes when they encounter the hillbilly zombie family...No I you not that is the literal name of the monsters in this film. Now before I get asked, no the acting isn't terrible, but it's not amazing either sometimes even ruining the immersion even further with unbelievably dull reactions and lackluster expression, how am I supposed to be scared or laugh when your characters aren't even petrified. Oh what? you thought that was it?- no. The ending is really unexpected but only because of the stupidity it took the characters to get to such a conclusion. Overall, maybe it might make your girl cuddle up into your wimpy arms once or twice, but other than that, I wouldn't watch this movie if you truly want to have the need to check under your bed and lock your doors before sleeping, like any good horror movie should, It's unbelievable that people are giving it an 8, 9, and EVEN 10 out of 10 for this. I couldn't even tell what genre it was, I thought it was horror; which is why I bought it, but I was never scared. About 20 minutes in I started to think "Oh this must be a comedy!" but I never laughed. Overall a let down, I would severely hesitate and think about it before watching this stain of a movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews