The Cabin in the Woods

The Cabin in the Woods Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 958 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 12, 2012
    100
    By the time the ride is over, director Drew Goddard and co-writers Goddard and Joss Whedon will change course three or four times, nodding and winking but never losing momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    The Cabin in the Woods is a fantastic poke in the eye of our horror-movie expectations.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The film's main virtue, a large virtue indeed, is that it does not give anything away before its shockingly apt time.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    The devilishly clever script tries a lot of things. Not all of them work, but it's hard not to admire Whedon and Goddard for the attempts. This is definitely not your standard kids-get-slaughtered-by-zombies motion picture.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    A pulpy, deceivingly insightful send-up of horror movies that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    The Cabin in the Woods is pure mechanics, as if the shadowy Dharma Initiative of "Lost" switched agents and found itself at the center of a brain-bending ensemble drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 10, 2012
    25
    A creepfest so stupid it makes trashy slash-and-burn epics like "Humans Versus Zombies" and "I Spit on Your Grave" seem like Molière and Proust.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 223
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Oh how advertising can absolutely ruin your excitement to see a film. Being marketed as a generic, run-of-the-mill horror film is the worstOh how advertising can absolutely ruin your excitement to see a film. Being marketed as a generic, run-of-the-mill horror film is the worst thing that can happen to you from a critical standpoint, but from a commercial point of view, there Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Cabin in the woods is a gory horror flick. The special effects are fantastic. More importantly Cabin in the woods is one of the most uniqueCabin in the woods is a gory horror flick. The special effects are fantastic. More importantly Cabin in the woods is one of the most unique and interesting horror movie concepts I've seen in the last five years. Don't pass this movie up! Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away,This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away, thats why the synopsis is so short. I work at a movie theater and just the other day, a group of three guys went to go see this movie and left 10 minutes into it and said it was the dumbest movie ever made and it was a waste of money and time. Im sorry but if you are like these 3 men then you are a hypocrite and you are just plain stupid. Everybody and i mean everybody complains or at least acknowledges the fact that all horror movies are made the same nowadays. The Cabin in the Woods has listened to everybody and has turned the tides. This film is pure genius. It changes it up and shows you behind the scenes of every cheesy cliche horror film ever made, and it does it very well. It explains everything we've ever seen in a horror film, including the fact as to why you always have the athlete, the whore, the scholar, the fool, and the "virgin" as they say, but otherwise known as the good girl. It will have you on the edge of your seat, it will make you laugh your head off, and most of all, it will make your jaw drop. I loved this film and i believe everybody else will and has too, unless you are a hypocrite like those 3 guys. 10/10...perfection Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2016
    8
    The movie was entertaining, violent, well acted, well executed and funny at times, The Cabin in the Woods might not be the most originalThe movie was entertaining, violent, well acted, well executed and funny at times, The Cabin in the Woods might not be the most original horror movie , but it certainly is one of the most entertaining of 2012. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    Somewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like itSomewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two lead characters are effective and you root for them to live, which is the opposite of most horror movies, and the visual effects aren't bad either. However, it's not truly that scary, and the very ending was pretty disappointing to me. Still, I recommend it due to its skewering of clichés and its humor. I liked it, just didn't love it. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    This movie is not in the same realm of movies as Scream, Behind The Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, or Tucker & Dale vs. Evil. Those threeThis movie is not in the same realm of movies as Scream, Behind The Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, or Tucker & Dale vs. Evil. Those three movies pull off their horror/comedy near perfectly, The Cabin in the Woods, on the other hand, seemed a little too corny when they were fishing for laughs. There were definitely some funny parts do not get me wrong but it was just a very peculiar way of stabbing at the horror genre. During these corny parts there is also a sense of arrogance pouring out as if the makers thought that this was the most clever thing ever to be put on film, sorry, but it is not. The story definitely goes places I never thought it would but at that point the movie shifts to complete gore/cgi/sci-fi mode, which was certainly entertaining but what the f*ck happened to the horror? The horror elements of the movie are actually pretty great but it's literally less than 1/3 of the movie which disappointed me. This will never go down as a great horror movie, mainly because it's not a horror movie. I think the hype it generated beforehand ruined it a little for me because it was being compared to Scream and was getting all this praise. But seriously Scream is one million times better than The Cabin in the Woods. Overall I enjoyed watching it but it came off as an arrogant comedy/sci-fi flick masquerading as a horror movie. I say if you want a relatively recent example of a good horror comedy thennn Tucker & Dale Vs. Evil > The Cabin in the Woods. Yep, that's right, I said it, whatcha ganna do about it Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2016
    0
    This is the worst movie I've seen last year. Really. All the "tribute" thing it's worthless. There is no plot. There is no 3-D characters.This is the worst movie I've seen last year. Really. All the "tribute" thing it's worthless. There is no plot. There is no 3-D characters. There is no **** sense in the script. Expand

See all 223 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. Six Picks for the Week of April 9-15

    Six Picks for the Week of April 9-15 Image
    Published: April 8, 2012
    This week, the Titanic sinks again while "Cabin in the Woods" finally surfaces. Plus, catch two new promising, female-centered comedies on TV, head out to Coachella, or grab a copy of a quirky new indie game for your Xbox.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 9, 2012
    Catch up on the latest developments in the film industry, and watch new trailers for "Men in Black 3," "21 Jump Street," "The Cabin in the Woods," and more.
  4. Spring Movie Preview: 25 Key Films (and 75 Others)

    Spring Movie Preview: 25 Key Films (and 75 Others) Image
    Published: March 1, 2012
    We look at 25 key films arriving in theaters over the next two months, from "The Hunger Games" to "The Cabin in the Woods" to a buzz-generating action film from Indonesia. But we didn't stop there; you'll find dates and descriptions for 100 films in all.