Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 662 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 12, 2012
    100
    By the time the ride is over, director Drew Goddard and co-writers Goddard and Joss Whedon will change course three or four times, nodding and winking but never losing momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    The Cabin in the Woods is a fantastic poke in the eye of our horror-movie expectations.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The film's main virtue, a large virtue indeed, is that it does not give anything away before its shockingly apt time.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    The devilishly clever script tries a lot of things. Not all of them work, but it's hard not to admire Whedon and Goddard for the attempts. This is definitely not your standard kids-get-slaughtered-by-zombies motion picture.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    A pulpy, deceivingly insightful send-up of horror movies that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    The Cabin in the Woods is pure mechanics, as if the shadowy Dharma Initiative of "Lost" switched agents and found itself at the center of a brain-bending ensemble drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 10, 2012
    25
    A creepfest so stupid it makes trashy slash-and-burn epics like "Humans Versus Zombies" and "I Spit on Your Grave" seem like Molière and Proust.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 212
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Possibly the best horror movie in years, THE CABIN IN THE WOODS is frequently funny, highly original and ridiculously awesome! In my opinion,Possibly the best horror movie in years, THE CABIN IN THE WOODS is frequently funny, highly original and ridiculously awesome! In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with this film. In fact, it is a horror fan's dream. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This movie has been the best I have seen in years! You got all emotions in one film! You got fear, thrill, suspense, gory, comedy, romance,This movie has been the best I have seen in years! You got all emotions in one film! You got fear, thrill, suspense, gory, comedy, romance, sexual, nudity all in one film. And that weird feeling that you get once in a while "what the hell am am I watching" However, what makes the movie really nice that in never thorough out the movie looses its seriousness. It keeps a real theme all the way. Even tho its meant as a comedy. I wont lie, this movie is not for every one. When I first saw it, I wasn't it sure if I was suppose to laugh or get scared. Anyway, defiantly a must watch movie. Best part you got the pot head, the extremely hot Blondie`s with her boobs character, with the monsters, zombies and lost of blood. pop some popcorn and go to red box! And the best part, I mean, you got all these different seance from monstrosity to ghosts, to technology, to special effects, this is not a cheap underground movie, The producers really deserve some credit on the graphics and audio! great movie, cant say any more! Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away,This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away, thats why the synopsis is so short. I work at a movie theater and just the other day, a group of three guys went to go see this movie and left 10 minutes into it and said it was the dumbest movie ever made and it was a waste of money and time. Im sorry but if you are like these 3 men then you are a hypocrite and you are just plain stupid. Everybody and i mean everybody complains or at least acknowledges the fact that all horror movies are made the same nowadays. The Cabin in the Woods has listened to everybody and has turned the tides. This film is pure genius. It changes it up and shows you behind the scenes of every cheesy cliche horror film ever made, and it does it very well. It explains everything we've ever seen in a horror film, including the fact as to why you always have the athlete, the whore, the scholar, the fool, and the "virgin" as they say, but otherwise known as the good girl. It will have you on the edge of your seat, it will make you laugh your head off, and most of all, it will make your jaw drop. I loved this film and i believe everybody else will and has too, unless you are a hypocrite like those 3 guys. 10/10...perfection Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    Although this movie wasn't meant to be much of a horror movie, it still had a great way of putting a movie together. The real twist is at theAlthough this movie wasn't meant to be much of a horror movie, it still had a great way of putting a movie together. The real twist is at the beginning. You have no idea what's going on until the end. The more you think about it, the more it makes sense. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    Somewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like itSomewhat original, funny, and at time gruesome, the cabin in the woods is miles beyond the average horror movie, but I still felt like it could have been better. The thing the film does best is wittily send up genre conventions in a way that's funny but without resorting to a ridiculous Scary Movie level. It does this mostly through smart dialogue and its meta premise. The two lead characters are effective and you root for them to live, which is the opposite of most horror movies, and the visual effects aren't bad either. However, it's not truly that scary, and the very ending was pretty disappointing to me. Still, I recommend it due to its skewering of clichés and its humor. I liked it, just didn't love it. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    While it took a great deal to finally get it on the big screen, "The Cabin in the Woods" is well-worth the enduring wait. Although, it'sWhile it took a great deal to finally get it on the big screen, "The Cabin in the Woods" is well-worth the enduring wait. Although, it's probably better if I don't say too much; it's deliciously practial joke, with a lasting punch of twist and turns, and a capricious finale that is as shocking as it is unexpected. It's a booby trap that has its claws ready for prey, you make think you may know where it lies, having made a few passes by its grasps in the tall, unknown grass, but before you know it, you have already been brought to the ground, on your knees without knowing how. It's to-the-brim with horror, not just scary in a conventional sense, but frightening from knowing how little you actually do "know." Director/writers Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon take the self-awareness/inside-joke concept that has been tried--and has failed time and time again--and reinvigorate it into a meta-feat of filmmaking that is ghastly, hilarious, and even mysterious--at moments all-at-once--maintaining a solidly slick script throughout. The film is also host to a question mark that remains indelible on the bearings of the plot until the very end; it's stress-inducing. As for such a "resolution"; let's just say it isn't your typical "The End" finale. And, If you're thinking it's the creative-but-unfulfilling "I gotcha' ending, you're equally wrong. No, the filmmakers do get the last laugh, but in a way that involves a fledgling character and an overarching story-revealing; audiences are, indeed, eventually guided outside the unascertained 'Woods.' Notwithstanding its subtle satirical tone, feeling a little hinge of "Scream," which breifly reverts to genre cliches and one-liners, 'Cabin' is a genre-recalibrator, whose most impressive quality is perhaps, its transmuting of the very expectations audiences are taught to have from...watching fright flicks. The more one watches it marvel onscreen, the more one learns about the filmmakers--Goodard and Whedon--they are more annoyed by horror movies than they love them; for every flesh-flopping sinew and blood-spraying limb, another token is slotted in the laugh meter. The amalgamative dimension between opposing dichotomies makes for fun-frights. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    It was not so good. Much disappointment. Can't believe I even thought of watching it tbh. Worst idea I ever had. Everyone who liked it isIt was not so good. Much disappointment. Can't believe I even thought of watching it tbh. Worst idea I ever had. Everyone who liked it is wrong so be quiet. Expand

See all 212 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.