Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 646 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 12, 2012
    100
    By the time the ride is over, director Drew Goddard and co-writers Goddard and Joss Whedon will change course three or four times, nodding and winking but never losing momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    The Cabin in the Woods is a fantastic poke in the eye of our horror-movie expectations.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The film's main virtue, a large virtue indeed, is that it does not give anything away before its shockingly apt time.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    The devilishly clever script tries a lot of things. Not all of them work, but it's hard not to admire Whedon and Goddard for the attempts. This is definitely not your standard kids-get-slaughtered-by-zombies motion picture.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    A pulpy, deceivingly insightful send-up of horror movies that elicits just as many knowing chuckles as horrified gasps.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    The Cabin in the Woods is pure mechanics, as if the shadowy Dharma Initiative of "Lost" switched agents and found itself at the center of a brain-bending ensemble drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 10, 2012
    25
    A creepfest so stupid it makes trashy slash-and-burn epics like "Humans Versus Zombies" and "I Spit on Your Grave" seem like Molière and Proust.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 210
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Cabin in the woods is a gory horror flick. The special effects are fantastic. More importantly Cabin in the woods is one of the most unique and interesting horror movie concepts I've seen in the last five years. Don't pass this movie up! Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    This movie is just f*cking awesome! It plays with the classic horror conventions and does it with and absolute wicked sense of humor. Some scenes in this film that can be considered iconic and this film wil certainly get a deserved high ranking among the cult classics. This is one you HAVE to see! Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was the definition of mind-blowing. It was absolutely fantastic. It's impossible to describe the film without giving anything away, thats why the synopsis is so short. I work at a movie theater and just the other day, a group of three guys went to go see this movie and left 10 minutes into it and said it was the dumbest movie ever made and it was a waste of money and time. Im sorry but if you are like these 3 men then you are a hypocrite and you are just plain stupid. Everybody and i mean everybody complains or at least acknowledges the fact that all horror movies are made the same nowadays. The Cabin in the Woods has listened to everybody and has turned the tides. This film is pure genius. It changes it up and shows you behind the scenes of every cheesy cliche horror film ever made, and it does it very well. It explains everything we've ever seen in a horror film, including the fact as to why you always have the athlete, the whore, the scholar, the fool, and the "virgin" as they say, but otherwise known as the good girl. It will have you on the edge of your seat, it will make you laugh your head off, and most of all, it will make your jaw drop. I loved this film and i believe everybody else will and has too, unless you are a hypocrite like those 3 guys. 10/10...perfection Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    I had zero expectations when I walked into this film, I thought, "Generic five friends go out to cabin in in the middle of nowhere, brutally killed by monsters, seen it before." I knew there was some government control going on, but nothing more. The trailer for this movie doesn't capture its true greatness. Joss Wheadon and Drew Goddard did a perfect job of blending humor and horror. The funny parts were absolutely hilarious, and the horror scenes were done brilliantly. I wish there were more movies like this. I will gladly see this again... I want the DVD now. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    7
    "Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."

    You know when i first watched this movie i really wasn't expecting anything from it because well you know horror movie these days are just not that good and its usually every 10 years that we get one that steps it up. Although by the end of the film i was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking it, but seeing that its from Joss Whedon i knew it was going to be something special. With the directorial debut of Drew Goddard the writer for Cloverfield a film that i didn't like, i wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but he ended up doing a decent job, im sure he and Joss Whedon collaborated on things so it would turn out good.

    The film follows your group of typical college friends Dana(Kristen Connolly) the sweet innocent girl, Jules(Anna Hutchison) the slutty one, Curt(Chris Hemsworth) the cool jock, Marty(Fran Kranz) the hilarious stoner, and Holden(Jesse Williams) the sensitive guy, taking a trip out to a isolated cabin out in the woods for a weekend of partying. At this point the movie is really cut and dry with your typical horror movie but only that you know something is brewing up, you're just not sure what that is. Soon the Partying stops when the group of friends find themselves being hunted down and killed off but not before figuring out why it happened to them. The film is fast paced, gory, and filled with plenty of dark humor( mostly coming from the pot head) Although the movie my be highly cliched it gives reasons for why it is, like when they stop at the gas station and they confront the old creepy dude, thats is just about every horror movie dealing with going into the middle of nowhere.

    The last 15 minutes of the movie is without a doubt the best part of it, you get to wave after wave of monsters killing guards. This part of course had the best scene of the whole movie when you get to see a unicorn kill a man by ramming his horn into him the first time i had seen that i literally fell on the floor it was so funny even though i have watched the movie a couple times now i still chuckle when that part comes up its that great, another great death is the merman killing Bradley Whitford, he wanted to see it so bad but i bet he didn't think it would be the thing to kill him. Sigourney Weaver being in it was a complete surprise to me so its always a pleasure seeing her. She kinda had the same role in this as she did in "Paul" were she is the BIG BOSS overseeing everything and you don't get to see her until the end only teasing her voice.

    Overall i give it a 7.5
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Horror and humour can go well together, because they share an essential element: surprise--which is what this film is somewhat lacking in. It's a potentially good film, but ultimately ends up being not sexy, funny, or scary enough. If the point of this film was to make a statement, it's not one that ends with an exclamation mark. Also, to those for whom this matters: plot holes abound. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    High ratings? What is everybody smoking while watching this? Can I have some? Pass some of that good stuff people, I`m back here!!!! I had to fast forward through crap. I`m glad I did not pay to watch this trash!! I`m not a horror movie fan, but man I wish it was, then it might have a point. People said unexpected turns but I found it all predictable! It fails at being a horror movie, They failed to make me laugh with the lame jokes. It`s not the worst movie, probably cause it was hoping to fail even at being the worst.I think the people who liked this movie, are females into the guy actors, and men into the female actors. The people who liked this movie also liked a particular character that got high, high, high lol Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.