User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 124
  2. Negative: 10 out of 124

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    The Call is a slow, gritty thriller because the end or the climax is wonderful and disappointing at the same time. This movie is so edge of your seat edgy, nail biting, bloody thriller. The Call deserves a 9 because its a wonderful thriller.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Halle Berry plays a 911 operator who gets a call from a girl (Abigail Breslin) trapped in the trunk by a kidnapper. Not only is this a nail-biting rescue, it becomes a police procedural as we watch the resources used to find the caller. Most of the time, the film makes smart choices that keep you involved and sometimes even wanting to scream at the screen. The filmmaking is sharp with some flashy editing touches and solid sound design. Even though the conclusion is a bit much, up til then, it's a well-crafted, gripping ride. Collapse
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    An impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters who act and make decisions like real people would. I have to give special praise to Halle Berry who gives a fantastic performance rather than just relying on her looks. This is also do to the fantastic writing. The only real complaint I have is that near the films conclusion it takes the predictable turn of the main character going in to save the girl by herself. It's predictable and cliche, but doesn't hinder the overall movie. All in all I was highly impressed with "The Call" and recommend a watch. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Great movie, Not one dull moment, keeps you waiting to see what happens.Makes you want to do something to help. The bad guy on this movie is twisted.My only problem with "The Call" is at the very end, but it wasn't a big issue.
  5. May 6, 2013
    9
    This is the definite thriller I was hoping for, it deserves the wait, I was hoping it won't be bad, but with Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin and a thriller that moves under your skin and nerves, it is never a bad movie.
    The Call delivers a good time and thrilling edge setting scenes, and overall it is intense and horrifying, and gives you absolutely a good time, although the movie is not
    perfect, it has so "I've been here before scenes" but it is so near a perfect action-thriller, with a great acting and a sick truth of a killer. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    I thought this movie was amazing! Halle Berry did an amazing job, so did the teen and the "psycho". It was breathtaking, action-packed and sometimes surprising. I liked the ending which was a bit politically incorrect, and the fact that the guy in the wheelchair wasn't the guy in the wheelchair. He was just a worker that happened to be in a wheelchair. But the fact is that the identity of the kidnapper wasn't surprising at all and that his motives were not original at all. But the point of view was strong, the solutions that Jordan gives to the girl are intelligent, the acting was great, the music was excellent and the story was good. It did what I expected it to do and it did it well. Awesome movie! Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    i never saw a movie that Halle berry saves abgail breslin from a kidnap . i love the thrills and the watching halle berry save someone . great movie wonderful
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Sep 18, 2013
    40
    Yet just when the movie has us in its grasp, the script falls to pieces and turns into a crass female-in-peril button-pusher whose shameless psycho-killer clich├ęs insult the intelligence.
  2. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    A pastiche of classic plot devices scrounged from "The Taking of Pelham One Two Three," "The Conversation," "Blue Velvet," and dozens of other movies, the story often feels familiar, but director Anderson (The Machinist) has a such a flair for suspense that even the most jaded viewers will find themselves in a sweat.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Mar 19, 2013
    40
    The middle third of the film comprises the phone call, a tight 40 minutes.