User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 123
  2. Negative: 10 out of 123

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    This is not a perfect film--but what it does perfectly is keep you on the edge of your seat with an intense story and gripping suspense. Halle Berry will leave you craving for more.
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    8
    The Call es una película que sin dudas logra mantener al público en suspenso a medida que avanza el film, con presión recurrente y mucho entretenimiento.
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Generally a somewhat thriller film "The Call" never dies down on It's plot and acting but It does on the actual story as well as violence. You may fine it as a stripped down version of "Maniac" comparing It's similar content. Nevertheless this film kept me watching, and I'm sure you will too.
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    When it was announced that WWE was staring a film company, like most, I thought it was a joke. After some success with films like the Marine and 12 Rounds, the company earned some legitimacy and with it comes bigger talent and better Directors. The Call is the first WWE film that doesn't star a wrestler, and it was every bit as good as any Hollywood thriller that was released last year. Halle Berry stars as a 911 operator, whose worse nightmare is realized, when a kidnapping victim calls in from the trunk of a serial killers car. From there, the Call becomes 90 minutes of pure, non-stop intensity. It's hard to imagine a film that features a girl in a trunk and a woman in a call center, being as entertaining as it was, but that's where the experienced Hollywood talent comes into play. Halle Berry is not someone I consider to be a terrific actress, but she surprised me, by playing a character who had to overcome emotion and think on her feet. It quickly becomes evident that going by the book will lead to this girls death, and the operator comes up with some pretty novel ideas about how to deal with the situation. The supporting cast, which does feature an active WWE superstar, is also very good in assisting with the statewide manhunt. This film was really on pace to be one of my favorite films of the year until the ending. It was very strange, but the film gets to a certain point and then just ends. There may not have been much more of the story to tell, but the way it ended made me feel like I left the theater a few minutes early to answer an important phone call or something. It maybe a small thing to some, but to me, it really took a lot away from an otherwise terrific film. The Call is not that original, outside of the particular situation, it's a type of film you've seen many times over. It is however intense, fast paced, very entertaining, and most definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    i never saw a movie that Halle berry saves abgail breslin from a kidnap . i love the thrills and the watching halle berry save someone . great movie wonderful
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Great movie, Not one dull moment, keeps you waiting to see what happens.Makes you want to do something to help. The bad guy on this movie is twisted.My only problem with "The Call" is at the very end, but it wasn't a big issue.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    Surprisingly well written, suspenseful, intelligent, ok acting… then the third act unbelievably contrived, ridiculous, 7-in-a-row of the dumbest decisions ever made, worthy of the intellect of a 5-year-old, from a supposedly intelligent character, in order to end with a half-decent epilogue that didn't particularly fit with the rest of the film.

    Wouldn't be surprised if the third act
    had a different author from the rest of a “half-decent” film.

    Left me regretting the time spent watching the first ⅔rds.
    Expand
  8. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Llamada de Emergencia 911 genera un suspenso impresionante, ademas de poca predicibilidad, excelente calidad de actores como la hermosa Abigail Breslin, esta pelicula guardaba un contenido comun en peliculas de su genero, sin embargo logra desarrollarlo mas alla de normal
  9. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    If this was not the end yet, I would say that it stands out from the average, but it's unfortunately only one of many, and did not start badly, but then the ending
  10. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    The movie falls victim to a Hollywood ending, but the rest of the film is gripping and tasteful. Halle Berry is a very good actress in this movie, and Abigail Breslin is believable. It's a fun movie to watch with your friends on Friday night, there is no arguing with that.
  11. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why do people say the ending is cliche, I have never seen a thriller end like that? It would be more cliche if she called the cops and they took him away and gave him 25 to life in jail Why would that have given you satisfaction I think leaving the psycho to starve to death in his own sick lair was a more interesting ending as his many victims would agree (the amount of scalps in the fridge show he killed more that the one girl shown in the film), maybe another film has this ending so it is cliché but I doubt that giving it a nice happy, the cops come and take him to jail, ending would really have satisfied you unsatisfiable people. Expand
  12. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    An impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters who act and make decisions like real people would. I have to give special praise to Halle Berry who gives a fantastic performance rather than just relying on her looks. This is also do to the fantastic writing. The only real complaint I have is that near the films conclusion it takes the predictable turn of the main character going in to save the girl by herself. It's predictable and cliche, but doesn't hinder the overall movie. All in all I was highly impressed with "The Call" and recommend a watch. Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    Despite a haircut that makes it look like some kind of small animal died on her head, Halle Berry is excellent in The Call, a tense thriller that was a genuine surprise, a smartly written and performed film. When Jordan (Berry) is responsible for the death of a young girl, she quits work as an emergency call operator but when another girl, Casey (Abigail Breslin) is taken she finds herself back in the chair trying to save her from her captor. The Call is a pulse pounding film as it playfully subverts horror conventions to create a thriller so tense that you may well feel your heart beating in your chest. Grounded by an excellent performance by Berry as the good natured but self conscious Jordan, everything in the film feels real adding a new level to the action as Breslin's Casey gets closer to her destination and her expected demise. The usual diversions are to be expected and an odd and slightly pointless cameo by Michael Imperioli slows the film down but all in all its a film with an interesting premise, two great central performances and an ability to play with the viewers head. The only real downside is the film's villain, he lacks the charisma of other horror villains and while the tension and terror is real, the ending is written on the walls from the beginning and it takes the adventure out of an otherwise great film. It's not a bad film, it's fun, clever and creepy but it doesn't really push boundaries in its conclusion so much as nudge them, hoping they will fall over on their own. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2013
    5
    It was a good and exciting movie up until the last half hour where a 911 operator turns into high class detective discovering the location of the kidnapper. No cell signal where there was one in a previous scene, no cops at the location which they knew and was the only lead they had. They were there, but then left just before ms. 911 shows up and solves everything in 5 minutes flat. Oh and the last scene makes NO sense at all. Hal Berry is great, but the ending leaves you staring at the credits while you shake your head and wonder why the writers decided that was the best way to go out. Still giving it a 5 for everything up until the end. Don't watch this one people, you'll be disappointed... Expand
  15. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    The call is a thriller about a 911 operator who gets a call of a girl who is kidnapped by a man in his car. It is a new idea and it is successful. The action and the plot are amazing. Abigail Breslin and Halle Berry were great and i think this film should have more positive reviews as it is a quality thriller and you will not get bored. Great things happen in that film and it has some suspense. I don't really know if there is going to be a sequel but the Call is a great thriller. Expand
  16. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    The Call definitely had its plot holes and moments of stupidity. However, it was a very exciting movie and kept me on the edge of my seat. The weak part of the film is character development. I know a little bit about the characters but only just enough to get by. However, this is not really a character driven story. This movie was made to be a thrill ride. That is where the beauty lies. They want Speed and they somewhat get there. I thought the acting was pretty good. The villain of the film was very believable and did a great job. Overall, I wouldn't say its the best thriller I have ever seen but its pretty darn good. Expand
  17. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    I thought this movie was amazing! Halle Berry did an amazing job, so did the teen and the "psycho". It was breathtaking, action-packed and sometimes surprising. I liked the ending which was a bit politically incorrect, and the fact that the guy in the wheelchair wasn't the guy in the wheelchair. He was just a worker that happened to be in a wheelchair. But the fact is that the identity of the kidnapper wasn't surprising at all and that his motives were not original at all. But the point of view was strong, the solutions that Jordan gives to the girl are intelligent, the acting was great, the music was excellent and the story was good. It did what I expected it to do and it did it well. Awesome movie! Expand
  18. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    A very good film, has an awesome thrilling feel to it. The situation is somewhat cleverly executed and the film itself is something a little different which I like. It could had been less of a cliché but despite that, this film is still worth watching.
  19. Jun 29, 2013
    5
    Way to much of using a stupid tricks to given some shock? Not at all but no gut. If the film want to press the audience into corner just like Silence of The Lambs. It's a shame. You have to work harder and more original stuff that make sense please. While watching this film. I have a lot of questions that lead to unreliable plot.
  20. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    While the cast is pretty solid, Berry is a rather disappointing lead and Eklund, who plays the film's villain, failed to be a satisfying performance as well. The plot was also incredibly predictable at times as well, I often called what would happen next several minutes before it happened. The ending was also rather disappointing and made little sense. That being said, I still enjoyed The Call quite a bit. It was interesting and entertaining, I gotta give it that. It's worth giving a shot. Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Call is a perfect example of a movie that not only has a ton of potential but also is executed so very well until the very end. The plot is very interesting and well developed and the acting is absolutely incredible. Abigail Breslin deserves an Oscar nomination for how believable she is in this film. The back and forth between her and Halle Berry's characters immerse you completely into the movie and have you on the edge of your seat. The supporting cast of Morris Chestnut, Michael Eklund, and even cameo appearances by Michael Imperioli and others don't disappoint either but this is hands down the Berry and Breslin show. But as I said, the flaw was in the last ten minutes because up until that point, we were looking at a solid 9/10 caliber film. Those last ten minutes caused the film to go from a nail-biting thriller surrounding unfortunately realistic circumstances to yet another cliched film where drama and suspense is built upon stupidity and unrealistic actions and reactions. Some people might not care much but to me, that killed the immersion and the movie-watching experience and definitely took the movie down a few notches. The fact that there was essentially no closure just added to the last several minutes being weak. Nonetheless, this was actually a pretty good movie but it had "great" potential. Expand
  22. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    How dare this movie have a 6.6 from the users and 50's from the critics. This piece of dog crud should be laughed about. The ending was stupid, the fact no one checked the cabin, she drops her phone, and doesn't finish him real good before he helps her. Too many retarded things happened.
  23. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    The first two thirds of this film is a strong 7, but the final third brings this film down to a 6. Still I would recommend watching the film for strong performances.
  24. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    "The Call is a somewhat intense, smart, but predictable edgy thriller. That actually makes you cringe a little bit. Although not unique or original in any way shape or form and its insanely forgettable. For the most part its that fun guilty pleasure." B
  25. May 6, 2013
    9
    This is the definite thriller I was hoping for, it deserves the wait, I was hoping it won't be bad, but with Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin and a thriller that moves under your skin and nerves, it is never a bad movie.
    The Call delivers a good time and thrilling edge setting scenes, and overall it is intense and horrifying, and gives you absolutely a good time, although the movie is not
    perfect, it has so "I've been here before scenes" but it is so near a perfect action-thriller, with a great acting and a sick truth of a killer. Expand
  26. May 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has a good premise on how 911 operators work. The first act sets up nicely, the second act goes smoothly and the final act jumps the shark. Once you know the antagonist's motive it becomes ludicrous that it become an episode of Criminal Minds.

    Brad Anderson is a good director, who did The Machinist and Transsiberian which were good thrillers; it's a shame he had to work with a script that doesn't know how to have a proper finale.

    Halle Berry doesn't even call the cops and instead goes vigilante on us. Once you think she manages to rescue the girl, the captive sugget to have the guy tied to a chair and lock him inside the hidden cellar. Sudden it has turned into a Hostel wannabe. This final act and ending ruined what could of been a tense thriller instead it becomes a 90-minute disappointed that doesn't give you a feeling of satisfaction.
    Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    The first two acts of this film are great. It is intense, suspenseful and emotional. All the performances are good and it is very well paced. The problem comes when the third act starts. It turns from a twisted thriller into a dumb generic "Silence of the Lambs" ripoff. I would recommend watching the movie and walking out an hour in.
  28. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    This is one of the best thrillers I have ever seen. It has everything you could ask that makes a movie good. Great acting, quality entertainment, originality, and a plot that is completely possible and believable. Not to mention that it teaches you exactly what to do if your in this kind of situation. The only minor problem is the ending because it's not all that believable but it's still satisfying. Not a big problem though. Overall, great thriller! Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2013
    5
    The Call, a decent movie, nothing to write home to mom about, but enough thrills to keep me interested and engaged. I have to admit after viewing this movie I have many questions. Questions about the sister, the wife, etc. I would tend to think Halle Berry is the only reason this movie attracts viewers. I also can really respect the brief glimpse of the life of a 911 emergency dispatcher and how critical their jobs are. Expand
  30. Mar 27, 2013
    7
    There was a time when "B" movies were meant to fill a couple of hours and entertain the masses...nothing more. Well, "The Call" is just that: a tight, vicious little "B" movie that never let's up and delivers the goods. All of the talent is acting as if it's an "A" drama, which helps keep the suspense level up: nobody is phoning it in...and it is an "R" rated thriller, so they are willing to get a bit nasty, which also helps the film, to be honest. A tight, vicious thriller that did the job it was made to do! Expand
  31. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    Really good interpritatin of being kidnapped. I think Abigail does a really good job of portraying the emotion. only down fall is the ending it seems like they cut it short as if they ran out of budget. I feel it should have lasted 5-10 min. longer.
  32. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Halle Berry plays a 911 operator who gets a call from a girl (Abigail Breslin) trapped in the trunk by a kidnapper. Not only is this a nail-biting rescue, it becomes a police procedural as we watch the resources used to find the caller. Most of the time, the film makes smart choices that keep you involved and sometimes even wanting to scream at the screen. The filmmaking is sharp with some flashy editing touches and solid sound design. Even though the conclusion is a bit much, up til then, it's a well-crafted, gripping ride. Expand
  33. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Interesting 911 police procedural and suspense is almost unbearable, although the torture of two female characters can be a bit much at times. Overall, I enjoyed the experience and a mite disappointed at the ending. Nice thing, overall, was no CGI. Halle was good as usual.
  34. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    Worst acting by Hallie Berry I have ever seen. B rated movie not meant for big screen. OK plot is the only reason it got a 3 from me. With an ending that leaves your jaw dropped and you have to push it back into place because you just realized you got ripped off and want your money back. Worst ending that I can remember. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. I'M NOT EVEN WASTING ANY MORE TIME ON THIS MOVIE REVIEW. IF YOU WASTE YOUR MONEY AND SEE IT DONT SAY YOU WERNT WARNED. Expand
  35. Mar 18, 2013
    4
    I feel like I wasted my time watching this movie since it was already unpopular. Halle Berry had a bad performance and scenes just go down in history forgettable. It wasn't total failure but it could have and should have been more than it was.
  36. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    Remember movies like "House at the End of the Street" or "Gone", which lacked in character development, acting, and believable tone? Remember their misguided and incoherent endings that lacked any wit? Well, i'd say that "The Call" has much more wit and believability. It suffers from a lot of important plot elements that could have been added and maybe the supporting characters could have been put to better use, but this film is a treat in a genre that has recently had a lot of repetitive and lazy flicks. Expand
  37. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must admit I went into this film skeptical, however the trailer was intriguing so I gave it and chance. Halle Berry makes this movie exceptionally convincing and delivers an emotional punch. I will warn you if you are suffering from anxiety you need not watch "The Call." So many times I shifted forward in my seat in suspense, while biting my nails. Now with all of the positives this film does shove a few pins through my heart. 3/4 of the movie excels as a thriller, but in a blink of an eye were running upstairs when we should be running out the front door. The thriller quickly turns into a horror film and this is where the film loses me. We are given a "Saw" ending?! As the director, Brad Anderson had everything going for him, but gives up on the ending and it is extremely disheartening. In a nut shell "The Call" is a fun, outlandish, and suspenseful treat that is worthy of a matinee ticket. Expand
  38. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    The Call is a slow, gritty thriller because the end or the climax is wonderful and disappointing at the same time. This movie is so edge of your seat edgy, nail biting, bloody thriller. The Call deserves a 9 because its a wonderful thriller.
  39. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    At a running time of 1 hour and 30 minutes the movie movies quick and if it was not for the final minutes of the film I would have given it a 8 of 10. Unfortunately, the absurd ending may be too much for some to handle, it really is overall worth the cost of admission.
  40. Mar 15, 2013
    6
    Hallie Berry shows her concerned side in this strange but interesting suspense fest. It sure is great with many clever ideas thrown out as Berry does her job. It just ends in such a weird note that while the credits rolled I decided to bump this rating down a notch. If you missed the last 30 minutes of the movie it gets an 8 otherwise its a 6 if you stayed and watched the whole thing. Why did the director do this I am so mad at him. So good and then, uuugh. Expand
  41. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    Once you get past the unattractive Harpo Marx hairdo sported by Halle Berry in “The Call” the first 80 minutes of this 98 film presents an interesting thriller before it becomes a cliche of previous thrillers. At that point it falls apart leaving more questions than answers but you really don’t want to waste time trying to figure out what just happened.

    The screenplay by Richard
    D’Ovidio sets up the story of 911 star operator Jordan (Halle Berry) who makes a mistake and feels she is responsible for the death of a young kidnapped victim. Instead of continuing as an operator she now trains newcomers to the 911 center, known as ‘The Hive’ due to all the buzzing continuously going on of dispatchers answering phones with “911, what is your emergency?” and then following through to help solve them all from attempted suicides to a bat flying around in someone’s house. Jordan has a handsome police officer boyfriend, Paul Phillips, (Morris Chestnut) and with the help of some pills seems to have recovered from her previous experience only to once again be put in the same position. One of things she keeps telling the trainees is to never make promises to people on the other end of the line.

    Casey Wilson (Abigail Breslin) has been kidnapped in a mall garage by Michael Foster (Michael Eklund) who carries on in the Norman Bates, Hannibal Lecter and/or “Buffalo Bill” disturbed mode of killer. He puts her in the trunk of his car and using a cell phone, (What did thrillers use before cell phones?), she calls 911 and when the operator seems to be fumbling Jordan takes over. In most thrillers logic has to be parked at the door before the movie starts and this is no different but the various ways in which Jordan advises Casey and the sadistic actions of Michael as he travels Los Angeles highways and byways makes for gripping times in the film before it takes a wrong turn and makes the women action heroines.

    Berry does her usual efficient job while Breslin takes a huge step into being ready for adult roles Eklund goes from a serious, sadistic killer to, at times, the script making him an object of ridicule. Michael Imperioli as an innocent victim brings an element of surprise as does Jose Zuniga. The direction by Brad Anderson is more or less pedestrian while the music by John Debney plays with the emotions.

    “The Call” is rated R with gratuitous violence, sex and language but being a good thriller the first 80 minutes before going off the tracks and falling into the mundane.
    Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Sep 18, 2013
    40
    Yet just when the movie has us in its grasp, the script falls to pieces and turns into a crass female-in-peril button-pusher whose shameless psycho-killer clichés insult the intelligence.
  2. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    A pastiche of classic plot devices scrounged from "The Taking of Pelham One Two Three," "The Conversation," "Blue Velvet," and dozens of other movies, the story often feels familiar, but director Anderson (The Machinist) has a such a flair for suspense that even the most jaded viewers will find themselves in a sweat.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Mar 19, 2013
    40
    The middle third of the film comprises the phone call, a tight 40 minutes.