TriStar Pictures | Release Date: March 15, 2013
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 147 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
56
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
i never saw a movie that Halle berry saves abgail breslin from a kidnap . i love the thrills and the watching halle berry save someone . great movie wonderful
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryMar 21, 2013
Halle Berry plays a 911 operator who gets a call from a girl (Abigail Breslin) trapped in the trunk by a kidnapper. Not only is this a nail-biting rescue, it becomes a police procedural as we watch the resources used to find the caller. MostHalle Berry plays a 911 operator who gets a call from a girl (Abigail Breslin) trapped in the trunk by a kidnapper. Not only is this a nail-biting rescue, it becomes a police procedural as we watch the resources used to find the caller. Most of the time, the film makes smart choices that keep you involved and sometimes even wanting to scream at the screen. The filmmaking is sharp with some flashy editing touches and solid sound design. Even though the conclusion is a bit much, up til then, it's a well-crafted, gripping ride. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerSep 9, 2013
An impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters who act and make decisions like real people would. I have to give special praise to Halle Berry who givesAn impressive thriller. It's tense, brutal, features a original idea, and, up until the very end, has believable moments and characters who act and make decisions like real people would. I have to give special praise to Halle Berry who gives a fantastic performance rather than just relying on her looks. This is also do to the fantastic writing. The only real complaint I have is that near the films conclusion it takes the predictable turn of the main character going in to save the girl by herself. It's predictable and cliche, but doesn't hinder the overall movie. All in all I was highly impressed with "The Call" and recommend a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oblique15Nov 30, 2013
Great movie, Not one dull moment, keeps you waiting to see what happens.Makes you want to do something to help. The bad guy on this movie is twisted.My only problem with "The Call" is at the very end, but it wasn't a big issue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedMay 6, 2013
This is the definite thriller I was hoping for, it deserves the wait, I was hoping it won't be bad, but with Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin and a thriller that moves under your skin and nerves, it is never a bad movie.
The Call delivers a
This is the definite thriller I was hoping for, it deserves the wait, I was hoping it won't be bad, but with Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin and a thriller that moves under your skin and nerves, it is never a bad movie.
The Call delivers a good time and thrilling edge setting scenes, and overall it is intense and horrifying, and gives you absolutely a good time, although the movie is not perfect, it has so "I've been here before scenes" but it is so near a perfect action-thriller, with a great acting and a sick truth of a killer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonMar 16, 2013
The Call is a slow, gritty thriller because the end or the climax is wonderful and disappointing at the same time. This movie is so edge of your seat edgy, nail biting, bloody thriller. The Call deserves a 9 because its a wonderful thriller.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
charmedlpJul 19, 2013
I thought this movie was amazing! Halle Berry did an amazing job, so did the teen and the "psycho". It was breathtaking, action-packed and sometimes surprising. I liked the ending which was a bit politically incorrect, and the fact that theI thought this movie was amazing! Halle Berry did an amazing job, so did the teen and the "psycho". It was breathtaking, action-packed and sometimes surprising. I liked the ending which was a bit politically incorrect, and the fact that the guy in the wheelchair wasn't the guy in the wheelchair. He was just a worker that happened to be in a wheelchair. But the fact is that the identity of the kidnapper wasn't surprising at all and that his motives were not original at all. But the point of view was strong, the solutions that Jordan gives to the girl are intelligent, the acting was great, the music was excellent and the story was good. It did what I expected it to do and it did it well. Awesome movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Call es una película que sin dudas logra mantener al público en suspenso a medida que avanza el film, con presión recurrente y mucho entretenimiento.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Jan 5, 2016
Relentlessly suspenseful, this lean thriller has an emotional subtext that makes it almost unbearably involving.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29c9f4-The-Call-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DalekJul 12, 2013
A very good film, has an awesome thrilling feel to it. The situation is somewhat cleverly executed and the film itself is something a little different which I like. It could had been less of a cliché but despite that, this film is still worthA very good film, has an awesome thrilling feel to it. The situation is somewhat cleverly executed and the film itself is something a little different which I like. It could had been less of a cliché but despite that, this film is still worth watching. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
aaronmwolfordMar 17, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must admit I went into this film skeptical, however the trailer was intriguing so I gave it and chance. Halle Berry makes this movie exceptionally convincing and delivers an emotional punch. I will warn you if you are suffering from anxiety you need not watch "The Call." So many times I shifted forward in my seat in suspense, while biting my nails. Now with all of the positives this film does shove a few pins through my heart. 3/4 of the movie excels as a thriller, but in a blink of an eye were running upstairs when we should be running out the front door. The thriller quickly turns into a horror film and this is where the film loses me. We are given a "Saw" ending?! As the director, Brad Anderson had everything going for him, but gives up on the ending and it is extremely disheartening. In a nut shell "The Call" is a fun, outlandish, and suspenseful treat that is worthy of a matinee ticket. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Apr 13, 2013
This is one of the best thrillers I have ever seen. It has everything you could ask that makes a movie good. Great acting, quality entertainment, originality, and a plot that is completely possible and believable. Not to mention that itThis is one of the best thrillers I have ever seen. It has everything you could ask that makes a movie good. Great acting, quality entertainment, originality, and a plot that is completely possible and believable. Not to mention that it teaches you exactly what to do if your in this kind of situation. The only minor problem is the ending because it's not all that believable but it's still satisfying. Not a big problem though. Overall, great thriller! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EriktheRed3939Mar 20, 2013
Interesting 911 police procedural and suspense is almost unbearable, although the torture of two female characters can be a bit much at times. Overall, I enjoyed the experience and a mite disappointed at the ending. Nice thing, overall, wasInteresting 911 police procedural and suspense is almost unbearable, although the torture of two female characters can be a bit much at times. Overall, I enjoyed the experience and a mite disappointed at the ending. Nice thing, overall, was no CGI. Halle was good as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
w1ldw1ldwestJul 27, 2013
The Call definitely had its plot holes and moments of stupidity. However, it was a very exciting movie and kept me on the edge of my seat. The weak part of the film is character development. I know a little bit about the characters but onlyThe Call definitely had its plot holes and moments of stupidity. However, it was a very exciting movie and kept me on the edge of my seat. The weak part of the film is character development. I know a little bit about the characters but only just enough to get by. However, this is not really a character driven story. This movie was made to be a thrill ride. That is where the beauty lies. They want Speed and they somewhat get there. I thought the acting was pretty good. The villain of the film was very believable and did a great job. Overall, I wouldn't say its the best thriller I have ever seen but its pretty darn good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JhdharrisonSep 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why do people say the ending is cliche, I have never seen a thriller end like that? It would be more cliche if she called the cops and they took him away and gave him 25 to life in jail Why would that have given you satisfaction I think leaving the psycho to starve to death in his own sick lair was a more interesting ending as his many victims would agree (the amount of scalps in the fridge show he killed more that the one girl shown in the film), maybe another film has this ending so it is cliché but I doubt that giving it a nice happy, the cops come and take him to jail, ending would really have satisfied you unsatisfiable people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"The Call is a somewhat intense, smart, but predictable edgy thriller. That actually makes you cringe a little bit. Although not unique or original in any way shape or form and its insanely forgettable. For the most part its that fun guilty"The Call is a somewhat intense, smart, but predictable edgy thriller. That actually makes you cringe a little bit. Although not unique or original in any way shape or form and its insanely forgettable. For the most part its that fun guilty pleasure." B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Jun 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Call is a perfect example of a movie that not only has a ton of potential but also is executed so very well until the very end. The plot is very interesting and well developed and the acting is absolutely incredible. Abigail Breslin deserves an Oscar nomination for how believable she is in this film. The back and forth between her and Halle Berry's characters immerse you completely into the movie and have you on the edge of your seat. The supporting cast of Morris Chestnut, Michael Eklund, and even cameo appearances by Michael Imperioli and others don't disappoint either but this is hands down the Berry and Breslin show. But as I said, the flaw was in the last ten minutes because up until that point, we were looking at a solid 9/10 caliber film. Those last ten minutes caused the film to go from a nail-biting thriller surrounding unfortunately realistic circumstances to yet another cliched film where drama and suspense is built upon stupidity and unrealistic actions and reactions. Some people might not care much but to me, that killed the immersion and the movie-watching experience and definitely took the movie down a few notches. The fact that there was essentially no closure just added to the last several minutes being weak. Nonetheless, this was actually a pretty good movie but it had "great" potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Mar 30, 2014
When it was announced that WWE was staring a film company, like most, I thought it was a joke. After some success with films like the Marine and 12 Rounds, the company earned some legitimacy and with it comes bigger talent and betterWhen it was announced that WWE was staring a film company, like most, I thought it was a joke. After some success with films like the Marine and 12 Rounds, the company earned some legitimacy and with it comes bigger talent and better Directors. The Call is the first WWE film that doesn't star a wrestler, and it was every bit as good as any Hollywood thriller that was released last year. Halle Berry stars as a 911 operator, whose worse nightmare is realized, when a kidnapping victim calls in from the trunk of a serial killers car. From there, the Call becomes 90 minutes of pure, non-stop intensity. It's hard to imagine a film that features a girl in a trunk and a woman in a call center, being as entertaining as it was, but that's where the experienced Hollywood talent comes into play. Halle Berry is not someone I consider to be a terrific actress, but she surprised me, by playing a character who had to overcome emotion and think on her feet. It quickly becomes evident that going by the book will lead to this girls death, and the operator comes up with some pretty novel ideas about how to deal with the situation. The supporting cast, which does feature an active WWE superstar, is also very good in assisting with the statewide manhunt. This film was really on pace to be one of my favorite films of the year until the ending. It was very strange, but the film gets to a certain point and then just ends. There may not have been much more of the story to tell, but the way it ended made me feel like I left the theater a few minutes early to answer an important phone call or something. It maybe a small thing to some, but to me, it really took a lot away from an otherwise terrific film. The Call is not that original, outside of the particular situation, it's a type of film you've seen many times over. It is however intense, fast paced, very entertaining, and most definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JohnrieberMar 27, 2013
There was a time when "B" movies were meant to fill a couple of hours and entertain the masses...nothing more. Well, "The Call" is just that: a tight, vicious little "B" movie that never let's up and delivers the goods. All of the talent isThere was a time when "B" movies were meant to fill a couple of hours and entertain the masses...nothing more. Well, "The Call" is just that: a tight, vicious little "B" movie that never let's up and delivers the goods. All of the talent is acting as if it's an "A" drama, which helps keep the suspense level up: nobody is phoning it in...and it is an "R" rated thriller, so they are willing to get a bit nasty, which also helps the film, to be honest. A tight, vicious thriller that did the job it was made to do! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tgreen81Mar 16, 2013
At a running time of 1 hour and 30 minutes the movie movies quick and if it was not for the final minutes of the film I would have given it a 8 of 10. Unfortunately, the absurd ending may be too much for some to handle, it really is overallAt a running time of 1 hour and 30 minutes the movie movies quick and if it was not for the final minutes of the film I would have given it a 8 of 10. Unfortunately, the absurd ending may be too much for some to handle, it really is overall worth the cost of admission. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
emsigMar 23, 2013
Really good interpritatin of being kidnapped. I think Abigail does a really good job of portraying the emotion. only down fall is the ending it seems like they cut it short as if they ran out of budget. I feel it should have lasted 5-10 min. longer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppSep 28, 2013
Llamada de Emergencia 911 genera un suspenso impresionante, ademas de poca predicibilidad, excelente calidad de actores como la hermosa Abigail Breslin, esta pelicula guardaba un contenido comun en peliculas de su genero, sin embargo lograLlamada de Emergencia 911 genera un suspenso impresionante, ademas de poca predicibilidad, excelente calidad de actores como la hermosa Abigail Breslin, esta pelicula guardaba un contenido comun en peliculas de su genero, sin embargo logra desarrollarlo mas alla de normal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJul 29, 2013
The call is a thriller about a 911 operator who gets a call of a girl who is kidnapped by a man in his car. It is a new idea and it is successful. The action and the plot are amazing. Abigail Breslin and Halle Berry were great and i thinkThe call is a thriller about a 911 operator who gets a call of a girl who is kidnapped by a man in his car. It is a new idea and it is successful. The action and the plot are amazing. Abigail Breslin and Halle Berry were great and i think this film should have more positive reviews as it is a quality thriller and you will not get bored. Great things happen in that film and it has some suspense. I don't really know if there is going to be a sequel but the Call is a great thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 25, 2013
The movie falls victim to a Hollywood ending, but the rest of the film is gripping and tasteful. Halle Berry is a very good actress in this movie, and Abigail Breslin is believable. It's a fun movie to watch with your friends on Friday night,The movie falls victim to a Hollywood ending, but the rest of the film is gripping and tasteful. Halle Berry is a very good actress in this movie, and Abigail Breslin is believable. It's a fun movie to watch with your friends on Friday night, there is no arguing with that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JohnKristoferDec 25, 2014
Well,I love the first two acts of the film but seriously falls flat on the final act.The Call is suspenseful,Gritty and it thrills me so much but when the third act arrives the movie becomes silly and generic But still it's fun but theWell,I love the first two acts of the film but seriously falls flat on the final act.The Call is suspenseful,Gritty and it thrills me so much but when the third act arrives the movie becomes silly and generic But still it's fun but the movie is well executed and great performance of all the actors and actresses in it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews