Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Manipulative and scheming young movie producer Christian makes films to keep his trust fund intact, while his actress girlfriend and bored plaything, Tara, hides a passionate affair with an actor from her past. When Christian becomes aware of Tara's infidelity, the young Angelenos are thrust into a violent, sexually-charged tour through the dark side of human nature. [IFC FIlms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 14 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 31, 2013
    83
    Schrader tries to find the human side of it all, and he scores with Lohan, who taps a vulnerability beneath her dissolution to remind you why she's still a movie star.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 30, 2013
    70
    People who don't understand movies often speak of them as escapism, a kind of passive fantasy. Lohan's performance in The Canyons, so naked in all ways, is the ultimate retort to that kind of idiocy: To watch it is to live in the moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Jul 30, 2013
    53
    The Canyons has all the elegance and depth of a daytime soap opera, peppered with flashes of name brand nudity for a tantalizing hook. It’s a slog.
  4. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 29, 2013
    40
    The Canyons is not porn, but it has the demoralized second-rateness and the lowlife inanity of the porn world.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Aug 8, 2013
    30
    The Canyons is a bad accident everyone saw coming, and now it is here.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 28, 2013
    30
    Far from the renegade, boundary-pushing, sexually explicit sensation that its makers have been suggesting, The Canyons is a lame, one-dimensional and ultimately dreary look at peripheral Hollywood types not worth anyone's time either onscreen or in real life.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 1, 2013
    0
    Paul Schrader’s The Canyons is not the worst movie of 2013 — it's marginally better than "InAPPpropriate Comedy" and "Scary Movie 5," two even worse bombs that Lindsay Lohan also lent her rapidly diminishing talents to — but it is surely the most boring I’ve seen.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This movie is not the best film i ever seen, but is goog and the Lindsay performance was excellent, i think that the actors did a great job in this film. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    The movie was getting bashed by critics even before it started production last Summer once Lindsay Lohan joined the film. Lindsay's performance is actually quite good. This is a very dark and edgy film and it really allows that side of her persona to flesh out throughout the twisted plot.

    I felt that the movie was well written and directed for a low-budget film. I loved the whole montage of closed cinemas throughout the movie and the way that young spoiled people in Hollywood behave. Lohan plays the role of damaged Tara flawlessly with seemingly little to no effort.

    I feel that nobody should take what the critics say seriously because most of them don't appear to have any taste in films these days. Whatever films they praise, turn out to be mundane dramas with no substance and they curse rare gems like this. Please watch the movie and ignore the negative publicity.
    Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    You know a film is weird when the actors can't act for but deliver a good performance anyway? That's the case it seems in The Canyons, a film about deluded young adults who don't know what they want, and won't tell you even by the end of the film. What mostly brings attention to this small indie film is that it brings the official no-joke-I'm-actually-attempting-to-act return of Lindsey Lohan! A brave comeback into the film, alongside porn actor James Deen... Is that a sentence that should ever be spoken? Yes, the film co-stars a well known porn industry actor who takes the name from legendary actor James DEAN. This movie is already harder to review now that it's origins are explained, so let's go forth with the story.

    Lohan plays Tara, a woman who relies on rich douches to take care of her, a lifestyle suddenly becoming boring with her sociopathic trust-fund leech boyfriend Christian, played by Deen. Christian is a so called producer who only uses the title to show his father he's doing something with his life, and is in a open sexual relationship with Tara; allowing other men or women to join in. The main plot comes into focus when Tara reunites with an old boyfriend named Ryan, who is an actor in Christian's upcoming produced film. What happens when this is revealed is nothing more than a cruel game in which Christian suspects the worst and with both Tara and Ryan's mind. But it isn't all that engaging if any it sounded that way.

    The Canyons is more of a film. Nothing really happens in the sense of action or thrills! The Canyons relies on suspense and style, of which for style it get's an Grade A+! Much of the cinematography in the film is excellently done and stylized to a tone that almost resembles the seediness and loneliness of it's own characters. Suspense on the other hand is what barely keeps you going throughout most of the film, but for me it seems just enough that I don't really hate it or love it that much either.

    Lohan has a long and I mean LONG way to go if she wants opinions of her acting career to improve, but for now this role seems to suit her perfectly. Trust me, she's no Marlo Brando (who the hell even made that reference?). The real steal for the film is James Deen's performance as the twisted Christian, who's sexual style and deviance blurs your vision of him much through the story. In conclusion: Style is something only a few films can master perfectly, and this film doesn't master anything, but with mixed performances and characters that warp your view of the world, The Canyons is a must see for people who want to see the absolute darkness that comes from simple people.
    Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    I know the reviews were terrible. Out of curiosity I watched in anyway. Also I was interested in what's become of Lindsey Lohan.

    The movie
    maintains suspense; I kept watching because I wasn't sure where it was all headed. Also, it portrays a layer of the movie business and neighborhoods of Los Angeles differently than other main stream movies typically do.

    Bottom line, "The Canyons" is terrible, I'd call it solidly mediocre.
    Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2014
    4
    While it suffers from low-budget syndrome and a poor direction from Mr. Schrader, Lindsay Lohan still shines--she sure does have a talent in acting after all these years. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    Film that tries to be independent, cult movie and almost it succeeds. "The Canyons" reminds me of "The Other Woman" or the Spanish film "Allegre ma non troppo". Lindsay Lohan recovers some of its former essence. The biggest problem with the film is not the script or the director, not, the problem is the partner of Lohan, James Deen. What does a porn actor starring in a movie? His performance is like a homemade short films actor. Collapse
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    This film fails because the story in pointless and the acting is awful. Basically what we get is a meandering story with a bunch of sex scenes mixed in. For soft core porn this acting might be good, but in the world of mainstream film making this acting is cringe worthy. F Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers