User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 183
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AngelB.
    Dec 21, 2004
    6
    I liked the movie, but the humor was too much for children.
  2. Aug 10, 2011
    6
    I liked some of the jokes but the story of the film was nothing like the book, I don't think that good actors like Mike Myers and Alec Baldwin should be doing stuff like this.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    Wow Critics Harsh much, While it's not the best movie, it certainly wasn't the worst, when you cast Mike Myers in a film, your pretty much asking for some rude humour involved, Yes the ending sucked harder than a pornstar but the ride was thrilling, It his hard to make a movie based around a 10 page book but I liked the prologue for Conrad and Sally. Alec Baldwin plays a decent villianWow Critics Harsh much, While it's not the best movie, it certainly wasn't the worst, when you cast Mike Myers in a film, your pretty much asking for some rude humour involved, Yes the ending sucked harder than a pornstar but the ride was thrilling, It his hard to make a movie based around a 10 page book but I liked the prologue for Conrad and Sally. Alec Baldwin plays a decent villian while Kelly Preston wasn't great, In typical fashion, Mike Myers makes the movie.Though it maybe worthy on your DVD shelf, it may pulled out once every couple of years but thats about it. Expand
  4. gNARly161
    Mar 29, 2004
    5
    The Dr. Suess movies are creepy and wrong. The fact they took good comedic actors and turned them into total insults to mankind just plain sickens me. CREEPY PEOPLE!
  5. SaerA.
    May 2, 2004
    4
    (4.5) The Cat In The Hat wasn't that funny at all. I just thought only one thing was funny. I couldn't make it throught this movie. I was moving around to much. The same with The Grinch, I didn't even like that one either. Dakota Fanning is the only thing that I like about the movie the rest is just stupid. It might be a good movie for kids but I doubt that adults will like (4.5) The Cat In The Hat wasn't that funny at all. I just thought only one thing was funny. I couldn't make it throught this movie. I was moving around to much. The same with The Grinch, I didn't even like that one either. Dakota Fanning is the only thing that I like about the movie the rest is just stupid. It might be a good movie for kids but I doubt that adults will like this one. Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Nov 20, 2003
    5
    "Elf" is a small miracle. It's funny. Bob Newhart just has to sit there in that elf get-up and we're laughing. Director Jon Favreau could've gone the PG-13 route and had James Caan's character spout profanities and land punches at his seemingly freak of a son, but he wisely sacrifices a few cheap laughs for warmth and good cheer. "Elf" seemed so poised to be another "Elf" is a small miracle. It's funny. Bob Newhart just has to sit there in that elf get-up and we're laughing. Director Jon Favreau could've gone the PG-13 route and had James Caan's character spout profanities and land punches at his seemingly freak of a son, but he wisely sacrifices a few cheap laughs for warmth and good cheer. "Elf" seemed so poised to be another stupid comedy. In the trailer, we see Ferrell burp and hurl himself on a Christmas tree; but within the context of the film, it actually works. "Elf" isn't high-brow stuff, but it certainily raises the bar, a bar that's been lowered by the collective ouevres of past SNL-cast members. Expand
  7. DerekT.
    Nov 25, 2003
    4
    Worth a watch, but certainly not a repeat. Dakota Fanning is a bona fide star, and I did laugh out loud at bits of it. Overall disjointed and heavy-handed, and that Cat sounds very Jewish. The trailer for "Shrek 2" was funnier than the film, and alone worth the price of admission. By the way, the Chicago Reader reviewer is an idiot. It's Alec Baldwin, not Stephen.
  8. WAKOJAKO
    Dec 5, 2003
    5
    Based on the overall critical praise this opus has received, I reluctantly took a very insistent child to this movie expecting the second coming of "Swept Away..." or at least, "The Grinch Redux." No it isn't so bad. OK, it helped to have been so tired that I fell asleep during the middle portion and mainly found myself staring aimlessly at the first and last ten minutes...You know, Based on the overall critical praise this opus has received, I reluctantly took a very insistent child to this movie expecting the second coming of "Swept Away..." or at least, "The Grinch Redux." No it isn't so bad. OK, it helped to have been so tired that I fell asleep during the middle portion and mainly found myself staring aimlessly at the first and last ten minutes...You know, what, I take it back. On second hand, just give it big Ol ZERO. Expand
  9. Apr 13, 2015
    5
    WHAT a bad representation to the best Dr. Seuss book of 1957, I can't believe I had this movie on VHS, I was confused as a kid watching this in 2006, what a disaster to the fans!
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 37
  2. Negative: 27 out of 37
  1. Comes scarily close to being the most unendurable Hollywood creation of the last dozen years.
  2. Such a remarkable rift between its charming source material and its heinous cinematic realization that the producers may as well have skipped the hassle of securing licensing rights and simply called this mess Mike Myers: A--hole in Fur.
  3. Someone (Myers?) came up with the bright idea of turning the Cat in the Hat into the worst Vegas nightclub spritzer of 1958. He's become a furry version of Rip Taylor: a walking, talking vaudeville idiot box.