User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 166
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2012
    9
    I am having a hard time wrapping my head around these bad reviews. I am a movie lover who normally is not a big fan of style over substance, but I found this film to have a good story with a well written screenplay. The film uses it's wild imagery to create suspense and to ultimately create a very engaging well paced film. The movie's themes were well laid out and developed and findI am having a hard time wrapping my head around these bad reviews. I am a movie lover who normally is not a big fan of style over substance, but I found this film to have a good story with a well written screenplay. The film uses it's wild imagery to create suspense and to ultimately create a very engaging well paced film. The movie's themes were well laid out and developed and find resolution in a very subtle way. Overall the film ranks high on my favourite serial killer films. Not quite as good as the silence of the lambs but still good none the less. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    I have rarely seen a film that has the scope of this one; it really tests the little grey cells to the maximum. Some scenes are truly off the wall but at the same time totally beautifully conceived and enthralling. It
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    I was quite disappointed by this movie. After seeing The Fall by Tarsem I was expecting to be taken on a journey, with interesting characters, a fantasy like story and stunning visuals. But after I Watched the movie I just felt like I had seen your average police thriller. This might be because this was Tarsem's first feature film, or maybe it was because he didn't write the screenplayI was quite disappointed by this movie. After seeing The Fall by Tarsem I was expecting to be taken on a journey, with interesting characters, a fantasy like story and stunning visuals. But after I Watched the movie I just felt like I had seen your average police thriller. This might be because this was Tarsem's first feature film, or maybe it was because he didn't write the screenplay (whereas he did do in The Fall) but I just wasn't as blown away as I was when I saw The Fall. The overall story basically boils down to your average "we have x hours to find them before they die", which I thought was quite unoriginal. The concept of doing into someone's conscious was interesting, similar to eXistenZ, or Being John Malkovich or the more recent Inception. The acting was alright, nothing really special. The visuals were good (not as good as The Fall or Immortals), there were some interesting scenes but not as much as I hoped for. All in all it was a alright movie, interesting concept but uninteresting story. 6/10. Expand
  4. charlieb
    May 15, 2010
    4
    How cud spell check head check" Roger Ebert Give this a 100. Bought off. critics are not? What? The movie isn't bad . But the whole premise of people being suspended on hooks and having their minds and dreams. SAY WhaT? hOEKEY. Hard to believe. Lame. but watchable.
  5. Sep 26, 2010
    6
    Tarsem Singh's directorial debut, The Cell, contains more style than substance, and is weighed down with it's special effects and a side-story that should have been left on the cutting room floor. At the same time, elaborate costuming and great shots that turn the most desolate sand dunes into beautiful landscapes, present a great director in the making and enough story to keep theTarsem Singh's directorial debut, The Cell, contains more style than substance, and is weighed down with it's special effects and a side-story that should have been left on the cutting room floor. At the same time, elaborate costuming and great shots that turn the most desolate sand dunes into beautiful landscapes, present a great director in the making and enough story to keep the audience along for the ride.
    Catherine Deane (Jennifer Lopez) is a psychotherapist who has been working with a comatose child by getting inside his mind via a virtual reality styled setup that includes a breast accentuating suit, suspension from wires, and a face covering towel that looks like a computer circuit-board. Meanwhile, there's a killer on the loose and the FBI hopes that Catherine can get inside the killer's mind to find his latest victim before it's too late.
    It's difficult to discuss The Cell, without mentioning Tarsem's 2006 film The Fall. Because everything Tarsem did wrong in The Cell he did right in The Fall. The Cell was a learning experience for Tarsem, and he learned his lessons well. The Cell is set up like a coin, there are two sides that come together to make one movie, unfortunately one side of the coin is more polished than the other. In this case the polished side is Tarsem's non-CGI visuals, many of which are influenced by great paintings, but the CGI effects are in overload throughout many parts of the film and it's distracting. There are several moments within The Cell that hearken to David Lynch's Twin Peaks (1990-1991), which stands to reason as both, Tarsem and Lynch, are visual directors.
    Catherine's story line with the killer, Carl Stargher (Vincent D'Onofrio), is interesting and provides many great visuals. The parallel crime drama storyline, however, is lame, even by C.S.I. standards. Vince Vaughn is passable as Peter Novak, the FBI agent who has a past of his own to overcome, but the character is uninspired. Any actor could have played Peter Novak and it wouldn't have made a difference.
    Jennifer Lopez's performance improves with the increasing bizarreness of her costumes, which both come to a peak in the third act. Vincent D'Onofrio is good as the killer, whose fetishes would give Jeffrey Dahmer a run for his money. Although D'Onofrio executed the part well, I can't help but wonder what Philip Seymour Hoffman would have done with the role.
    Despite it's flaws, The Cell doesn't leave you empty handed, and it shows a first time director learning his strengths and weaknesses, which payed off six years later when he directed The Fall.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    5
    The Cell is rated R for bizarre violence and sexual images, nudity and language. To call The Cell disturbing is a bit of an understatement. I've never winced so many times during one film in my life. However, that is exactly the reaction Tarsem is going for. He doesn't want you to be unmoved. He wants you to be horrified--so horrified that you sometimes can't even watch. There are momentsThe Cell is rated R for bizarre violence and sexual images, nudity and language. To call The Cell disturbing is a bit of an understatement. I've never winced so many times during one film in my life. However, that is exactly the reaction Tarsem is going for. He doesn't want you to be unmoved. He wants you to be horrified--so horrified that you sometimes can't even watch. There are moments which are so hard to watch, you may feel as if you are really there, experiencing it all firsthand. I won't try and convey the disgusting acts portrayed on screen, as it isn't easy to put into words. This is a film based solely on visuals, and visuals alone. It works. And I know for sure, I won't be forgetting it anytime soon. Expand
  7. ArnoldO.
    Jan 19, 2001
    1
    Never went over the top... unlike the movie "Silence of the Lambs" this movie never becomes mentally a terror.
  8. RyanM.
    Aug 31, 2001
    3
    Sad but true, that someone could make a movie so purposely violent, that it literally pushes the envelope for digestive developement within the next few days.
  9. SundyY.
    May 9, 2002
    9
    I was quite impressed with the movie. I even couldn't stopping thinking about it when I was lying on my bed that night. It's really amazing!!!!
  10. Uter
    Sep 7, 2003
    6
    It's really cool at times, but at others, it's boring or stupid. The dream sequences are nicely done for the most part. Except for 1 where Jen Lopez falling is obviously some stuntMAN with a bad wig on - really bad. I had the dvd but decided to sell it because I had no desire to watch again.
  11. marshallm.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Wonderfully bizarre! masterpeice! the best psychological thriller since "silence of the lambs"!
  12. DesutchAndre
    Nov 13, 2002
    7
    I totally agree with Anonymous.
  13. MichaelR.
    Jan 10, 2002
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen in my life. Absolutely great.
  14. Ben
    Dec 2, 2003
    9
    I love it! I've seen it three times, and J. Lo is so preety!
  15. BlancoA.
    Jan 21, 2001
    6
    Visually very cool, though not much story.
  16. MariaW.
    Jul 13, 2001
    3
    Jennifer Lopez needs to stick to her day job and forget about acting. The movie was boring and did not belong into the "horror" category. Awful, awful movie!!
  17. MichaelC.
    Sep 29, 2001
    9
    The Cell, like "Antz," must be watched twice to be appreciated. The first time I saw this film I thought it was mediocre, but the film had such a lasting impression on me after viewing, I decided I had to rent it again. I did, and I found the film to be much more likeable. The Cell is not for everyone, but it divides its stories up with quality and is a visually intelligent film that The Cell, like "Antz," must be watched twice to be appreciated. The first time I saw this film I thought it was mediocre, but the film had such a lasting impression on me after viewing, I decided I had to rent it again. I did, and I found the film to be much more likeable. The Cell is not for everyone, but it divides its stories up with quality and is a visually intelligent film that dreams up images and plot ideas that could not be matched. The film?s script is never clunky and always intriguing, and I really liked and enjoyed how the procedure of ?getting in? to somebody else?s mind was explained. That was extremely clever, as was the rest of the film. The visuals are ingenious and bring the engaging story to an exotic and intriguing life. The acting is pretty impressive, even though Jennifer Lopez?s performance was slammed. I enjoyed her acting and she screams, cares and acts scared extremely well. Vince Vaughn was realistic but Vincent D?Onofrio takes the cake. He is the most original, scary, disturbing killer of 2000 in movies. The Oscar nominated makeup is daring and careful, while the beautiful costumes and utterly brilliant set decoration went unnoticed. Tarsem Singh who has also directed music videos, goes totally crazy with his direction and it results well. He has major talent and this film has a lot of potential if you give it a chance. Overall, The Cell is a powerful, disturbing and avoids being too tacky which makes it a great, pleasurable, gut-wrenching and extremely memorable flick. Expand
  18. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    Für mich ist "The Cell" ein sehr eindrucks stker Film. Es kann sein das manche Leute dies nich erkennen , dies liegt aber daran das sie vermutlich nicht mit der tiefe und mit vollem ewustsin den Film angeschaut haben . Vielleicht ist er auch für manche zu "unblutig" das muss aber ein Horrorfilm gar nicht sein. Es kommt darauf an was der Film einem sagen möchte. Hat sich Für mich ist "The Cell" ein sehr eindrucks stker Film. Es kann sein das manche Leute dies nich erkennen , dies liegt aber daran das sie vermutlich nicht mit der tiefe und mit vollem ewustsin den Film angeschaut haben . Vielleicht ist er auch für manche zu "unblutig" das muss aber ein Horrorfilm gar nicht sein. Es kommt darauf an was der Film einem sagen möchte. Hat sich schon einmal jemand gefragt warum man ihr Gesicht beim herrunterstürtzen nicht sieht? Expand
  19. Jul 14, 2015
    8
    The Cell is unlike a movie I've ever seen before. It's a mix of bizarre special effects, serial murders and fantasy that is far too uncommon in mainstream cinema. There's also the fact that this is a film with Jennifer Lopez that is actually good. The Cell is a sci-fi thriller film directed by Tarsem Singh with Jennifer Lopez in the lead. A social worker, Catherine Deane, is called toThe Cell is unlike a movie I've ever seen before. It's a mix of bizarre special effects, serial murders and fantasy that is far too uncommon in mainstream cinema. There's also the fact that this is a film with Jennifer Lopez that is actually good. The Cell is a sci-fi thriller film directed by Tarsem Singh with Jennifer Lopez in the lead. A social worker, Catherine Deane, is called to enter the mind of a serial killer who has fallen into a coma in order to find his next victim before she's killed. This guy can make Hannibal Lecter seem like small-time; he traps his female victims inside a cell that will slowly fill with water until it drowns them, then bleaches their skin after their dead so that they can be his own personal dolls. After entering the killer's mind, Catherine finds herself lost in his psyche and must find her way out, or else the killer will find her. The Cell has a lot of haunting imagery since it has to build an entire world inside someone's mind. Tarsem builds this world incredibly well and makes the viewer feel like they're trapped with Catherine in there. The serial killer plot itself is a little thin because a majority of the film takes place within the killer's mind, but the way the story is told is so original that most of the film's faults can be forgiven. If you want your average serial killer thriller told in an incredibly original and memorable way, The Cell will give you that and more. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. 60
    Repetitive, aimless, and as frustrating as you'd imagine any two-hour music video to be.
  2. 50
    A high-tech freak show, a gallery of grotesqueries that are fascinating and repellent.
  3. 50
    Mr. Singh may have an artist's temperament, and he shows signs of being a director