New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 18, 2000
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 254 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
215
Mixed:
26
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
cabritaMay 5, 2012
I am having a hard time wrapping my head around these bad reviews. I am a movie lover who normally is not a big fan of style over substance, but I found this film to have a good story with a well written screenplay. The film uses it's wildI am having a hard time wrapping my head around these bad reviews. I am a movie lover who normally is not a big fan of style over substance, but I found this film to have a good story with a well written screenplay. The film uses it's wild imagery to create suspense and to ultimately create a very engaging well paced film. The movie's themes were well laid out and developed and find resolution in a very subtle way. Overall the film ranks high on my favourite serial killer films. Not quite as good as the silence of the lambs but still good none the less. Expand
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsAug 19, 2012
I have rarely seen a film that has the scope of this one; it really tests the little grey cells to the maximum. Some scenes are truly off the wall but at the same time totally beautifully conceived and enthralling. It
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Jul 14, 2015
The Cell is unlike a movie I've ever seen before. It's a mix of bizarre special effects, serial murders and fantasy that is far too uncommon in mainstream cinema. There's also the fact that this is a film with Jennifer Lopez that is actuallyThe Cell is unlike a movie I've ever seen before. It's a mix of bizarre special effects, serial murders and fantasy that is far too uncommon in mainstream cinema. There's also the fact that this is a film with Jennifer Lopez that is actually good. The Cell is a sci-fi thriller film directed by Tarsem Singh with Jennifer Lopez in the lead. A social worker, Catherine Deane, is called to enter the mind of a serial killer who has fallen into a coma in order to find his next victim before she's killed. This guy can make Hannibal Lecter seem like small-time; he traps his female victims inside a cell that will slowly fill with water until it drowns them, then bleaches their skin after their dead so that they can be his own personal dolls. After entering the killer's mind, Catherine finds herself lost in his psyche and must find her way out, or else the killer will find her. The Cell has a lot of haunting imagery since it has to build an entire world inside someone's mind. Tarsem builds this world incredibly well and makes the viewer feel like they're trapped with Catherine in there. The serial killer plot itself is a little thin because a majority of the film takes place within the killer's mind, but the way the story is told is so original that most of the film's faults can be forgiven. If you want your average serial killer thriller told in an incredibly original and memorable way, The Cell will give you that and more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SundyY.May 9, 2002
I was quite impressed with the movie. I even couldn't stopping thinking about it when I was lying on my bed that night. It's really amazing!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallm.Jun 6, 2005
Wonderfully bizarre! masterpeice! the best psychological thriller since "silence of the lambs"!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DesutchAndreNov 13, 2002
I totally agree with Anonymous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Jan 10, 2002
One of the best movies I've ever seen in my life. Absolutely great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenDec 2, 2003
I love it! I've seen it three times, and J. Lo is so preety!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Sep 29, 2001
The Cell, like "Antz," must be watched twice to be appreciated. The first time I saw this film I thought it was mediocre, but the film had such a lasting impression on me after viewing, I decided I had to rent it again. I did, and I found The Cell, like "Antz," must be watched twice to be appreciated. The first time I saw this film I thought it was mediocre, but the film had such a lasting impression on me after viewing, I decided I had to rent it again. I did, and I found the film to be much more likeable. The Cell is not for everyone, but it divides its stories up with quality and is a visually intelligent film that dreams up images and plot ideas that could not be matched. The film?s script is never clunky and always intriguing, and I really liked and enjoyed how the procedure of ?getting in? to somebody else?s mind was explained. That was extremely clever, as was the rest of the film. The visuals are ingenious and bring the engaging story to an exotic and intriguing life. The acting is pretty impressive, even though Jennifer Lopez?s performance was slammed. I enjoyed her acting and she screams, cares and acts scared extremely well. Vince Vaughn was realistic but Vincent D?Onofrio takes the cake. He is the most original, scary, disturbing killer of 2000 in movies. The Oscar nominated makeup is daring and careful, while the beautiful costumes and utterly brilliant set decoration went unnoticed. Tarsem Singh who has also directed music videos, goes totally crazy with his direction and it results well. He has major talent and this film has a lot of potential if you give it a chance. Overall, The Cell is a powerful, disturbing and avoids being too tacky which makes it a great, pleasurable, gut-wrenching and extremely memorable flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 18, 2002
Für mich ist "The Cell" ein sehr eindrucks stker Film. Es kann sein das manche Leute dies nich erkennen , dies liegt aber daran das sie vermutlich nicht mit der tiefe und mit vollem ewustsin den Film angeschaut haben . Vielleicht ist er Für mich ist "The Cell" ein sehr eindrucks stker Film. Es kann sein das manche Leute dies nich erkennen , dies liegt aber daran das sie vermutlich nicht mit der tiefe und mit vollem ewustsin den Film angeschaut haben . Vielleicht ist er auch für manche zu "unblutig" das muss aber ein Horrorfilm gar nicht sein. Es kommt darauf an was der Film einem sagen möchte. Hat sich schon einmal jemand gefragt warum man ihr Gesicht beim herrunterstürtzen nicht sieht? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful