User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 118
  2. Negative: 21 out of 118
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    2
    Not a good year for Ryan Reynolds and that's why "The Change-Up" was a big flop. I think this is one of the worst raunchy R-rated comedy of 2011. Sorry Ryan, if you want to make a mere good ol' comedy, try hooking up with Sandra Bullock or Milla Kunis.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    3
    Boobs and bathroom humor occupy most of the so called "plot" in this bomb. I would have given it a zero, or a one, except for a few VERY funny gags that my inner pubescent side couldn't resist. Bateman had a decent year in 2011, but The Change-up knocked him down a few pegs. This film suffered from the same syndrome that Bridesmaids did, with writers and directors trying to FORCEBoobs and bathroom humor occupy most of the so called "plot" in this bomb. I would have given it a zero, or a one, except for a few VERY funny gags that my inner pubescent side couldn't resist. Bateman had a decent year in 2011, but The Change-up knocked him down a few pegs. This film suffered from the same syndrome that Bridesmaids did, with writers and directors trying to FORCE something to be funny by being as raunchy, gross, and disgusting as possible. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    0
    I was looking forward to seeing The Change Up. I am now boycotting it because of the use of the words Retarded and Downsy to refer to the twin boys in it.. A great comedy does not have to rely on hurtful and degrading comments about personâs with Intellectual DIsabilities to be funny.
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so nasty that it didn't bring to my intention to laugh. Let me explain for what this movie is trying to put some bad parts that the R-Rated got failed. I know that I love R-Rated comedies that work to be entertaining of funny people and some wild stuff that every movies done, but it has to be a reason for it. Here's my problem for this mean spirited movie: 1. Why this guy is so idiot that he's acts like a fool to his best friend and the entire family? 2. Why there's CGI baby hitting his head too many times and the baby pumps out in his butt? I'm liking, what??? 3. There's a porn scene where this guy is doing a nasty stuff for letting this woman to suck inside her butt? WHY??? That's not FUNNY!!! 4. Why this guy is calling his switcha best friend to help him to fix those two babies, while one of those babies are making hazard things into a threat dangerous stuff? If you're doing to make babies to come themselves, and why were you doing talking on the phone while those babies make them dangerous stuff! I mean WHAT IS THIS??? I have no idea what this movie is trying to be funny or not. For me, I don't think this movie will bring more intentions to be nasty and too much stupidity of every two best friends are the worst written guys ever! I really hate this movie to be so raunchy, too wild, and too idiot at the same time, and it fails that I would rather smack my head that drops down on my giggling sense. So I written down on my spoiler, so you know what I just told on my review. Bottom line, The Chane-Up is stupid and more STUPID!!! Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2011
    3
    Sub par. The movie has some funny moments, and although Bateman is as type-cast as ever, he does get a chance to play the non-straight guy after the 'change-up'. That said, this movie is formulaic and derivative. The first half sees the comedy and gags aimed at those around the 12-15 year old age category, pandering to the teenage humor of feces and breasts. Don't get me wrong, I love aSub par. The movie has some funny moments, and although Bateman is as type-cast as ever, he does get a chance to play the non-straight guy after the 'change-up'. That said, this movie is formulaic and derivative. The first half sees the comedy and gags aimed at those around the 12-15 year old age category, pandering to the teenage humor of feces and breasts. Don't get me wrong, I love a good cack joke as much as the next guy, and this isn't too low brow for me, it's just that it feels forced. Oddly the second half of the movie tries to get a little deeper after the story reaches its arc.

    All in all there are a few laughs here, but probably not worth the price of admission, and ultimately a big let down.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Terrible movie.....I watched about 5 minutes of it and found it so disgusting......so surprised that such good actors would chose such a movie to appear in!
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    This poor taste movie deserves BELOW a 0 but there isn't one. Awful movie, poor taste and actors should have never done this down-right horrible and filthy movie. We rented for a dollar and we want our dollar back! Couldn't even finish the horrible thing! If this is want Hollywood thinks about society, then we are in real trouble! This movie IS a porno and should have been rates as such!
  8. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    The Change-Up is basically Freaky Friday only all of the humor has been replaced by raunchy sex and poop jokes. The female characters are weak and the male characters are complete and utter jackasses, but even more upsetting is the fact that none of the characters attempt to better their lives through positive action. The plot would lie stagnant if both male characters were smart enough toThe Change-Up is basically Freaky Friday only all of the humor has been replaced by raunchy sex and poop jokes. The female characters are weak and the male characters are complete and utter jackasses, but even more upsetting is the fact that none of the characters attempt to better their lives through positive action. The plot would lie stagnant if both male characters were smart enough to actually attempt to do the right thing. I expected great things from this movie, but the premise was not done in a way that made it likable. Leslie Mann saves this film, and without her the entire movie completely plummets into the ground. If you like raunchy comedy you'll probably enjoy The Change-Up, but it is not a movie for the girlfriend, wife, or kids. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Sep 12, 2011
    40
    Despite the promise of the title, this a fairly stale offering, plodding through the beats of a well-worn subgenre but failing to add much more than a foul mouth.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Aug 6, 2011
    20
    To call The Change-Up misogynistic would be to shortchange the equal-opportunity disgust this anal-regressive film demonstrates toward men, babies, old people, and corporeal existence in general.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 6, 2011
    40
    It's occasionally funny and a lot painful.