Miramax Films | Release Date: January 14, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
6
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EstebanF.Jun 30, 2006
The Chorus is an awesome movie with nice acting, a great storyline and an awesome soundtrack. Even if the plot is a bit cliché (a very good man makes the lives of delinquent boys better with art), it is still awesome and beautiful. The Chorus is an awesome movie with nice acting, a great storyline and an awesome soundtrack. Even if the plot is a bit cliché (a very good man makes the lives of delinquent boys better with art), it is still awesome and beautiful. The movie takes places in the '40s, a hard time for the world, and it's greatly recreated, everything, from the clothes to the buildings. The soundtrack is wonderful, and the best part is that you hear the songs all the time because it's an essential part of the plot. I don't understand the low ratings by the critics. I give it a 9/10 and I recommend this movie to everyone that has a heart, even a small one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KathyC.Mar 14, 2006
Like Coach Carter, but for music. It's much better if you watch it in french with subtitles. AMAZING! I loved the music! :)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChadShiiraOct 24, 2006
"The Chorus" is for pseudo-sophisticates, who share the wrongheaded notion that a picture like this French import is the antidote to mainstream domestic-studio fare; when in fact, they're actually watching a film that's equally "The Chorus" is for pseudo-sophisticates, who share the wrongheaded notion that a picture like this French import is the antidote to mainstream domestic-studio fare; when in fact, they're actually watching a film that's equally unchallenging, equally banal. Faced with a true rebuke to contemporary Hollywood filmmaking such as Michael Haneke's "Cache"(the film that should've been France's entry in the 2005 Academy Awards), or Catherine Breillaut's uncompromising experiments in freeing explicit sex from the domain of porn-dom (that would be her entire oeuvre); they fidget, they sigh, they eventually leave their seats, unaware of their own dilettantism. "The Chorus" is about as challenging as a croissandwich from Jack (Jacques)-in-the-Box. The "Lord of the Flies"-like situation that greets Clement Mathieu (Gerard Jugnot) when he first steps into his classroom is too easily dispelled in too short a period of time. These troubled youths are transformed into choirboys with only the most rudimentary hitches along the way. It would've made for better drama if Clement Mathieu had rehabilitated the pyromaniac with song, instead of Morhange(Jean-Baptiste Maunier), who looks way too good-looking to be of any interest to us. With all that fresh meat running around, Fond de L'Etang is made conspicuous by being an orphanage lacking in any religious training. As a villian, Rachin(Francois Berleand), the belligerent school principal, is no match for a randy priest. Ultimately, "The Chorus" is hopelessly irrelevant. We need another "Magdalene Sisters", not "Mr. Holland's Opus". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KentN.Oct 22, 2005
The bittersweet sensibility of Trauffaut; nuanced, unlike it's American counterparts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahX.Feb 25, 2006
It's a great movie! Recomment everyone see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardR.Mar 13, 2006
Excellent movie! Don't listen to the critics - I thoroughly enjoyed this film. As an added bonus: if you're studying French (as I am), this is a fantastic aide. I've never understood this much French in my life. I believe Excellent movie! Don't listen to the critics - I thoroughly enjoyed this film. As an added bonus: if you're studying French (as I am), this is a fantastic aide. I've never understood this much French in my life. I believe it's due to the school children's age and the era in which the film is set (it's not riddled with current slang or expressions). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zeynelJan 27, 2012
One of my favorite films! Good actors, beautiful music, moving story with heartful characters in a perfectly-depicted after-war France, all is just perfect in this film! One of the few film where music itself is as much of a protagonist ofOne of my favorite films! Good actors, beautiful music, moving story with heartful characters in a perfectly-depicted after-war France, all is just perfect in this film! One of the few film where music itself is as much of a protagonist of the story as the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mapizarroOct 15, 2013
Christophe Barratier brings us a great masterpiece from French cinema. When I watched this film I was 14 years old and "Les choristes" was my first independent film. Later, I became a good cinephile. "Les choristes", like "La vita bella", isChristophe Barratier brings us a great masterpiece from French cinema. When I watched this film I was 14 years old and "Les choristes" was my first independent film. Later, I became a good cinephile. "Les choristes", like "La vita bella", is a kind movie that it give spectator a dose of joy and optimism. The score is a song to sensitive, a great score by Bruno Coulais. I don't understand why this film has such a low note by experts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews