Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 16, 2008
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
76
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EllieM.May 21, 2008
An absolutely wonderful movie. It expands upon the original classic book while remaining true to its spirit. The young actors have matured in their craft, and Peter Dinklage is delightful as the dwarf Trumpkin. The special effects are An absolutely wonderful movie. It expands upon the original classic book while remaining true to its spirit. The young actors have matured in their craft, and Peter Dinklage is delightful as the dwarf Trumpkin. The special effects are marvelous, too. Don't miss this one -- it's best seen on a big theatre screen to appreciate the spectacle! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadM.May 16, 2008
Better than the first. wish the christianity was not so watered down. gorgeous moviemaking. Kept all 3 kids up all the way through 2:20 am last night. worth the price of admission.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
gm101Feb 15, 2011
While not as memorable as The Lion, The With, and The Wardrobe, it was still a good movie that introduced Prince Caspian, who, from what I've heard, is a very important character in future Narnia stories.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DavidC.Jun 17, 2008
One of the best movies of the summer. It is far too underrated, don't believe me, go watch the movie especially the last battle and you will see what I mean. 100 times better then the first.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Mar 5, 2011
Its as good as the first movie with great development, great action scenes, and awesome special fx.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
NancyMay 19, 2008
Do I review this on how close they kept to the book or just the movie itself? The changes relating to the battles were more significant than the first movie I think and if I hadn't read the books perhaps it would have been okay. The Do I review this on how close they kept to the book or just the movie itself? The changes relating to the battles were more significant than the first movie I think and if I hadn't read the books perhaps it would have been okay. The question is did the movie need it and I have to say no as it was rather long and dragged a bit in places. Perhaps the feeling was that there wasn't enough tension between the characters to carry the movie? I think they added a bit too much. I guess the thing is that I would hate to see appreciation of the book to be reduced for young readers by so many changes to the story. Sticking to the book by Including more about the trees would have tied them into the story a little better than seeming like an add-on or stealing from LOTR and there was room for some more Aslan which was nicely done in the book and poorly organized in the movie. Okay but not great with respect to making good use of the source, and not bad with respect to the movie and effects. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DSJan 15, 2009
Way underrated. More exciting and funny than the first.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JenniferDec 26, 2008
i was disappointed by this sequel due to the fact that i loved the first one and was highly anticipating the release of prince caspian. it felt dragged out and i felt confused and bored a lot of times. i liked the story but i didnt like the i was disappointed by this sequel due to the fact that i loved the first one and was highly anticipating the release of prince caspian. it felt dragged out and i felt confused and bored a lot of times. i liked the story but i didnt like the prince caspian actor and peters acting skills were hard to watch. it was ok, but could have been a lot better. i have high hopes for the next one, if there is one? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KevinN.May 16, 2008
Adamson does a great job again with keeping the essence of the story true to the books. First rate effects and well acted!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieJ.May 19, 2008
A superior movie, both in terms of its predecessor and its source material. Two thumbs up, all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikhailRMay 19, 2008
This movie is definitely worth watching if you saw the first, cuz it will give you hope in such movies again. Lets start with the good points. Dialogue and acting is BRILLIANT in most places, with only a few little twinges that you forget This movie is definitely worth watching if you saw the first, cuz it will give you hope in such movies again. Lets start with the good points. Dialogue and acting is BRILLIANT in most places, with only a few little twinges that you forget several mintues later. AMAZING fight scenes, especially during the duels. And finally, a story that had twists and turns that genuinely surprised me! Although there are several things that are less then favorable. Half of the movie is dominated by walking scenes, Aslan's involvement makes barely any sense, and some of the losse ends leeft at the end of the movie not only pretty much seal a sequel, but also leave some questions that the viewer deserved the answers to...Unanswered. Overall a step inm the right direction, and an absolutely enjoyable movie. If they clear up a few mistakes and fill some of those tedious forest scenes with some dialogue or swordfights, this movie would make a top ten list easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianR.May 21, 2008
Visually rich and entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidL.May 20, 2008
I thought it was a great follow up to the first with good action from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamN.Jun 1, 2008
Incredible. Perfectly paced action movie that stays faithful to the book's spirit. A beautiful family film that is sure to become a classic. Great music, effects, acting and directing. In line with movies like Star Wars and Lord of the Incredible. Perfectly paced action movie that stays faithful to the book's spirit. A beautiful family film that is sure to become a classic. Great music, effects, acting and directing. In line with movies like Star Wars and Lord of the Rings and ahead of Harry Potter i hope this series presses on and prospers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayP.May 15, 2008
This movie was a great popcorn munching blockbuster. The effects were good, the conflicts seemed realistic. The best of the blockbuster movies to have come out this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveS.May 16, 2008
Very good! Followed story line very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisHMay 16, 2008
I just got back from the theater after watching and it was SPECTACULAR!! I don't understand how anybody can not like this if they liked the first one! One thing is for sure: I will soon own the game and the DVD when they come out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarthikP.May 16, 2008
"Prince Caspian," like its predecessor, delivers sweeping, swashbuckling action in a handsome production, albeit one that leaves viewers feeling quite pummeled. Full to bursting with duels, battles, showdowns and other literal and figurative "Prince Caspian," like its predecessor, delivers sweeping, swashbuckling action in a handsome production, albeit one that leaves viewers feeling quite pummeled. Full to bursting with duels, battles, showdowns and other literal and figurative forms of ritualized aggression, this chapter of the "Narnia" series sometimes seems like an endless Battle Royale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GabrielJ.May 17, 2008
If the Lord of the Rings series was a 10, and Harry Potter was a 9, to me The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe came in somewhere around a 5 or 6... Prince Caspian upped the ante quite a bit for the series though. The first movie lacked the If the Lord of the Rings series was a 10, and Harry Potter was a 9, to me The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe came in somewhere around a 5 or 6... Prince Caspian upped the ante quite a bit for the series though. The first movie lacked the emotional pull that LotR had, and Prince Caspian still isn't all the way there, but it was a much better effort in my opinion. A solid 8 on that scale and on its way up. It did a much better job of pulling you emotionally in to the world of Narnia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimberlyH.May 17, 2008
This movie kept me on the edge of my seat during the entire movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CherylGMay 18, 2008
I've seen the movie twice this weekend. As a long time Narnian reader (practically know the story by heart) I was initially disappointed that the timeline was quite jumbled and a LOT was added. That said, I can see where the things that I've seen the movie twice this weekend. As a long time Narnian reader (practically know the story by heart) I was initially disappointed that the timeline was quite jumbled and a LOT was added. That said, I can see where the things that were added fit the spirit of the book and made it more appealing cinema. There was a lot of pleasant dialog in the book that wouldn't translate well to the screen. To those who say they "stole" from LotR, please! Don't you realize that C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkein were friends who hung around at the local pub together? They were probably writing these books at the same time. Read the Narnia books! "They" (the movie makers) did NOT "rip off the trees and the water" and it was done quite well, actually. Can't wait for the extended version on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraB.May 18, 2008
Much better than the first in the series -- very engrossing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasB.May 18, 2008
A fun movie, great for kids and parents alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tnsMay 19, 2008
i loved it. the cast could very well act, the scenery was gorgeous and the cg animation was brilliant. very exciting indeed. wasn't too fond of the ending, but it is based on the book. but highly recommended!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.May 19, 2008
As good or better than the first Narnia movie. Well written, acted and good graphics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleW.May 19, 2008
The movie was excellent! It out ranks the first movie. It was visually stunning. A little humor and its great for all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimG.May 21, 2008
Best movie I have seen in a long time! I mean in a long, long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobL.May 22, 2008
This is one movie that requires some patience. The order in which events occur is mixed up and the beginning feels redicously rushed. In fact, this is one movie that your just going to want to pretend you never saw it. But wait, there is This is one movie that requires some patience. The order in which events occur is mixed up and the beginning feels redicously rushed. In fact, this is one movie that your just going to want to pretend you never saw it. But wait, there is hope. After vaugly introducing the characters and creating a bad sumary of the conflict. Things finally get good. Miraz seems evil. The characters are interesting and movie will start to raise the hairs on the bak of you neck, and you'll find that Prince Caspian wasn't so bad after all and will eagerly anticipate the next film the Chronicles of Narnia series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MrToadMay 25, 2008
A good adventure film, more like the book "in spirit" than you'd expect. Better than the first Narnia film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
narnia_fan12p.May 31, 2008
This is the best movie ever conceived. it even surpasses the book, and the first movie. waiting for Voyage of the dawn Treader!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewR.Jun 14, 2008
A vast improvement on the first film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeirdreJ.Jun 2, 2008
Good storytelling, wonderful acting, beautiful landscapes, and great effects, costumes and cinematography. A very enjoyable movie, that is really worth seeing on the big screen! CAVEAT. Might not be good for really little kids -- it is Good storytelling, wonderful acting, beautiful landscapes, and great effects, costumes and cinematography. A very enjoyable movie, that is really worth seeing on the big screen! CAVEAT. Might not be good for really little kids -- it is rather heavy on the battles. But I thought the battles were very involving -- you could really see some unique strategies! And the filming -- especially of the duel -- was amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisunkownDec 4, 2008
Now alot of people thought this movie was dull and nothing special. There totally more with this movie, people haven't realised. there acutally more action its good movie for kids. but people might think its too voilnt. I disagree.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GinaMay 16, 2008
Great movie! I liked the first one better, but "Prince Caspian" exceeded my expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XXMay 16, 2008
I absolutely loved this film! Battle scenes were awesome and the plot was really good too. However, I think they ripped some stuff of LOTR like the trees, water, and catapults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolineB.May 17, 2008
Brilliant! makes me dream like when I was a kid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 18, 2008
One of the best films of 2008. I went with my church and we cheered during so many parts. Better than the first, and up there with Lord of the Rings and Pan's Labyrith. I give this a 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidS.May 18, 2008
Good and very entertaining. Not quite as good as the first Chronicles film, which I would give an 8 or 9, but still quite worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyM.May 19, 2008
If you liked the first one then you should enjoy the sequel. I thought the first one was better but "Prince Caspian' is definitely worth seeing if you are a C.S. Lewis fan. It's not really fair to compare the Chronicles of Narnia If you liked the first one then you should enjoy the sequel. I thought the first one was better but "Prince Caspian' is definitely worth seeing if you are a C.S. Lewis fan. It's not really fair to compare the Chronicles of Narnia series to the Lord of the Rings considering that the LOTR movies were the best films ever made in the fantasy genre and target an older audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
joseap84Nov 24, 2011
While it's not as fantastical as "The Lion,The Witch, and The Wardrobe", it is a good entry to the series. If you've read the book you know it's not supposed to be as magical, and that's was makes it harder to adapt. Still, it's one goodWhile it's not as fantastical as "The Lion,The Witch, and The Wardrobe", it is a good entry to the series. If you've read the book you know it's not supposed to be as magical, and that's was makes it harder to adapt. Still, it's one good piece of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Sep 4, 2011
Great visuals and battle sequences. Very good story and pace. Unfortunately, "Prince Caspian" did not reach the emotional depth offered by "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A bit darker than the previous movie, and harsher, dealing with war, wrong choices and desperation.

"Prince Caspian" stands well on its own, but it does need the support of the previous part, "The Lion, the Witch, and The Wardrobe", when it comes to introducing some past events and characters whose names keep popping up along the way.

This was definitely Ben Barnes' show as Prince Caspian. None of the others in the cast really had a chance against his charm and looks, plus his story was way more interesting than the Kings and Queens of Old. After all, when it comes to the original four, they just "were", without really growing or learning something new to charm the audience.

Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy return to Narnia when called for help, and they have nicely matured during their reign in Narnia. Only, it seems they have been gone longer than a year...

There were some random things in the movie that felt a bit out of place, like the short scene with the White Witch. I'm not sure if that was necessary in the middle of everything else.

Another thing was Aslan. The whole thing with Lucy believing in him and riding off to find him to end the battle seemed kind of... It just didn't fit the current of the movie and became rather annoying by the end.

The movie sounded good, once again (good soundtrack!). The special effects were fine, and the whole color and mood of the movie was just brilliantly grim, followed by good casting and characters when it came to Telmarines. The battle scenes were definitely better than in the first movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
Uff difficult review. I think that the movie is fantastic, have a great cast, is dark and with awesome elements, but this magic Narnia don't appear in the movie. I wanna the old Narnia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jetpackulleySep 11, 2012
Being less grandiose than The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, it guarantees that you will be stuck at the edge of your seat for the long 150 minutes the movie contains. We gotta be certain that this is a more adult styled Narnia, not asBeing less grandiose than The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, it guarantees that you will be stuck at the edge of your seat for the long 150 minutes the movie contains. We gotta be certain that this is a more adult styled Narnia, not as joyful and beautiful as the first but not boring at all. Again, another Narnia that is not worth missing..ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieBunnyJul 30, 2012
Having not read any of the books past The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I had no basis for the story of this movie. After seeing it, I have a good idea of what C.S Lewis was going for. He wanted it to be men triumphing over aHaving not read any of the books past The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I had no basis for the story of this movie. After seeing it, I have a good idea of what C.S Lewis was going for. He wanted it to be men triumphing over a overpowering odds. It did this well. Although it felt far shorter than the previous film. It told a story. This movie was a bit violent for a Disney film, but I admire the risks they took. If they left out any of the fighting scenes or sometimes the characters doing more violent acts showed the maturity of the audience and the characters. Ultimately I liked this film. Perhaps it will get me to read the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
Not as light hearted as the first film and not as spiritual, but the stakes have been raised and this film does not disappoint. It does fantastically at making it an epic/adventure/fantasy film full of great locations, acting and visuals. ANot as light hearted as the first film and not as spiritual, but the stakes have been raised and this film does not disappoint. It does fantastically at making it an epic/adventure/fantasy film full of great locations, acting and visuals. A great addition to the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 12, 2016
"The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian" is an unfortunate step backwards for the franchise. It's not as fun, not as well-written and not as magical as "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe." Even so, it's still reasonably entertaining,"The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian" is an unfortunate step backwards for the franchise. It's not as fun, not as well-written and not as magical as "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe." Even so, it's still reasonably entertaining, well-acted, and action-packed enough to keep viewers interested. You'll like the previous film a lot better, but all told, "Prince Caspian" is a good watch for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Chan1405Dec 14, 2013
A fantastic sequel to the first. Although certain aspects to the film are similar to LOTR people are forgetting that Tolkien and Lewis were actually close friends, so doesn't surprise me in the slightest that their ideas on fantasy areA fantastic sequel to the first. Although certain aspects to the film are similar to LOTR people are forgetting that Tolkien and Lewis were actually close friends, so doesn't surprise me in the slightest that their ideas on fantasy are similar. Great movie though, I could watch them repetitively over and over again. The films are so enticing I couldn't switch off after. The only thing that aggravated the hell out of me was the obvious change in Caspians accent from the second film to the third. They shouldn't have given him an accent in the first place but overall the film is so good I wouldn't even knock that minor point down. If you like your fantasy films definitely give these a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
feetjaiApr 5, 2015
Spoiler allert

The movie is enjoying. People make mistakes and good thing in the movie they learn from it. The most interestig part is the movies reference between Aslan and Jesus. If you have eyes to see, you will know that Aslan
Spoiler allert

The movie is enjoying. People make mistakes and good thing in the movie they learn from it.

The most interestig part is the movies reference between Aslan and Jesus. If you have eyes to see, you will know that Aslan (Jesus) is truly is who he is. In the movie the final victory is archieved by asking Aslan for his help.

In the movie prince Caspian was seduced to use magic to kill and destroy his foes, but everything has a price. If he did use the witch's magic, he would have to pay one way or another, perhaps even with his own soul.

Nice movie, but here in the Netherlands the movie has been rated 6 years old! I think someone at the rating office made a big mistake! This movie is about dark magic, Death, murder, hate, love, Jesus, witches, etc. 6 year old children should not watch this. But in other countries it has PG rating, which is ntot really good as well. It should be 12+.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardChaiApr 4, 2014
I don't know why. I felt so emotional after watching the movie. Maybe it's the way how this movie conveys the transient nature of life. Definitely the best by far in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
For the second installment of The Chronicles of Narnia, director Andrew Adamson has caught a severe case of Lord of the Rings-itis. While the 2005 adaptation of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe kept close to the tone of the book, PrinceFor the second installment of The Chronicles of Narnia, director Andrew Adamson has caught a severe case of Lord of the Rings-itis. While the 2005 adaptation of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe kept close to the tone of the book, Prince Caspian plays a little less like a fairy tale and a little more like an effort to expand the audience. That's not necessarily a bad thing and it makes Prince Caspian more accessible to older would-be movie-goers. Overall, while not as strong in terms of plotting or character development, Prince Caspian is nevertheless a better cinematic experience than its predecessor, if only because it feels more confident and polished.

Adamson and his co-writers remain reasonably faithful to the source material, although there are additions and deletions. The role of Aslan (voice of Liam Neeson) in the movie is significantly reduced from what it is in the book. On the other hand, the battle scenes are beefed-up and a subplot is added focusing on a rivalry between Peter (William Moseley) and Prince Caspian (Ben Barnes). Meanwhile, the movie version of the "boy king" Caspian has been aged into his mid-20s. He even has a mild flirtation with Susan (Anna Popplewell) - something definitely not found in C.S. Lewis' writing.

The most stark area of difference between Prince Caspian and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe relates to the diverse manners in which the films depict battle. The climactic clash in the first movie was perfunctory; here, the final hour of the 137-minute motion picture is devoted to a series of skirmishes. As Peter Jackson did in The Two Towers, Adamson has expanded a relatively short portion of the book into an epic segment in the movie. One could argue that the battles in Prince Caspian go on for too long (or that there's one too many of them - the sneak attack on Miraz's castle isn't in the book), but this is preferable to how war was handled in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Here, there's a sense of breadth and scope to the death and destruction with a sanitized similarity to how things were handled in The Two Towers. And, while there's no blood and gore to speak of, Prince Caspian nevertheless contains some of the most extreme violence I have seen in a PG movie. In terms of the body count and the rather nasty ways in which some of the deaths occur, this is really PG-13 material.

Prince Caspian's greatest weakness lies in middling character development. None of the individuals in this movie - neither the four returning children from the first movie nor the dashing newcomer - attains three-dimensionality. The rivalry between Peter and Caspian (a construct of the movie) is an attempt to flesh out personalities, as are the quasi-romance between Susan and Caspian and Peter's assertion that he can save the day. Despite these and other additions, the protagonists feel half-formed, and the audience's bond with them is tenuous. The chief villain, King Miraz, fares worse. He looks like King Leonidas from 300 but acts like Snidely Whiplash. Compared to Tilda Swinton's White Witch, he's unimpressive.

In terms of its overall appeal to fantasy lovers, Prince Caspian is a stronger movie than The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and attempts have been made to capture that portion of the fantasy audience turned off by the child-friendly nature of the first movie. And, although Prince Caspian is less directly allegorical than The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, it offers a message about the importance of having faith and Aslan remains a messianic figure. Adamson tones down the symbolism a little but not to the extent where it is unrecognizable. Nevertheless, Prince Caspian does not come across like a sermon. As fantasy adventures go, this one falls short of The Lord of the Rings' pinnacle, but there are enough rousing moments to make it worth the price of admission.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
Possibly the best Narnia installment out there. The Chronicles has been improved and it's better than the first Chronicles of Narnia of course. Get ready to have an adventure waiting for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 9, 2016
Just as amazing as the first. Love everything about this. Another great installment.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-515-The-Chronicles-of-Narnia-Prince-Caspian-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews