User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 145
  2. Negative: 19 out of 145

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    one of the best movies ive read don't waste your money on 3D not much of 3d just commercials but it was a very good movie go wach it. it is very intresting.love it
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    its not the best in the series but its still very good. all 3 have there strong points The Dawn Treader is rich with magic, it has more magic in it then the 1st two combined, the 3D is nice but it dulls the color but it is still worth the money but the movie will be the same if you watch it in 2D.
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    While I personally like the Prince Caspian movie, it didn't really feel as memorable as watching The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe back in 2005. With this new Narnia movie however, I really felt as satisfied as I was when I watched the first one.
  4. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    the previous two installments were amazing, and I think that this third installment is also amazing. There's a Place for Us in this beautiful and yet action packed Narnia movie.
  5. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Well, we saw it, and 10 out of 10! Acting, action, digital effects, the score were all amazing. We think it is also great that this movie decided to put in some morality since most kids movies now are pretty much just for a good laugh with nothing that actually sticks to you. This movie brings you into a reality of letting go and how to deal with things. It also states it's not always best to go with what you want and feel you need to have, because it might actually not be the best for you. There's nothing wrong with encouragement towards kids and we feel this movie had nothing but the best intentions. Collapse
  6. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Dawn Treader is a great improvement over Prince Caspian while it builds on the events of that film very well. Even with the smaller budget, the special effects and the look of the ship itself are fantastic. This is very much a film about characters and about character: why do we make the decisions that we do? I believe there are temptations associated with each of the traditional "deadly sins." The narrative meanders somewhat at the beginning, but you'll be glad you sat through the various island adventures by the end. Highly recommended, especially for families. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the previous films, the production value was high. I was a bit leery when I heard that Fox was taking over (Disney had the first two), but those thoughts quickly disappeared. From the beginning to the end, I was drawn right into Narnia with the rest of the cast. The movie kept up the pace, and I never once felt bored. Just like the first two movies, when the end finally came, I did not want to go. I really felt like I was in Narnia for the past two hours.

    I think the cast was spot on. Eustace was as annoying as I had pictured him. When reading the book, I remember wanting to smack him, and that is exactly how I felt watching the movie. I think dropping Caspianâ
    Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Never judge a movie by its book or a book by its movie. These are different mediums of entertainment. Though I have read that people who have read the book are displeased with what is missing or that two of the islands were combined into one island, I must say that this movie has captured the spirit of the book quite well. The first thirty minutes or so of the movie is fairly mechanical and campy, but from the point that the characters encounter the magician Coriakin onward the story truly takes flight. Reepicheep the mouse befriends Eustance and shows him true friendship in Eustace's darkest hour. Edmund faces his fears. Lucy learns that she does not need to just like Susan to have value, and Caspian grows in wisdom as a king. The ending to the story is triumphant and nostalgic. Though no one would mistake this movie as an academy award winning contender it certainly does not disappoint. Sit back, buy yourself some popcorn, and enjoy the high seas! Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    It is really awesome movie. I like book and were glad to watch good screen version of it. It didn't disappoint me. Honestly, I was excited to watch this fight between Good and Evil inside personages. This fim made me think again about my life and what is more important. I can't be indifferent looking wise t and magnificent Aslan. Of course, my atheistic sister wasn't involved so deep in this story. But how says Author or Aslan - all miracles of Narnia are available for kids or for person who can feel like a children. Once Jesus commanded us to be like a child. 10 Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Another great addition to the Narnia series, full of heart, spirituality and emotional complexity- it is also visually dazzling with great acting, music, direction and speed. It is a film that feels more real due to the 'temptations' that are in it. Very spiritual and uplifting. Great entertainment.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 15, 2010
    40
    It takes great skill to make something so ponderously stultifying as this third film entry in the ongoing adaptation of C.S. Lewis' series of splendidly imagined children's books.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    It's difficult to make this mediocre adaptation of perhaps the best-loved book in C.S. Lewis' Narnia series -- seem particularly interesting.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 10, 2010
    75
    The Dawn Treader doesn't so much reinvent the "Narnia" franchise as do what's needed, and expected, with a little more zip than the previous voyages.