Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Return to the magic and wonder of C.S. Lewis’ beloved world – via the fantastic Narnian ship, the Dawn Treader. In this new installment of the blockbuster The Chronicles of Narnia motion picture franchise, Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, along with their cousin Eustace, their royal friend King Caspian, and a warrior mouse named Reepicheep, find themselves swallowed into a painting and on to the Dawn Treader. Their mission – on which rests the fate of Narnia itself – takes the courageous voyagers to mysterious islands and a river that turns to gold, to fateful confrontations with magical creatures and sinister enemies, and to a reunion with their friend and protector, the Great Lion Aslan. (Walden Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Mowe
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Michael Apted opts for a certain dated and mannered appeal with a whiff of nostalgia for more innocent times, which lends added enchantment.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 8, 2010
    75
    This is a rip-snorting adventure fantasy for families, especially the younger members who are not insistent on continuity. Director Michael Apted may be too good for this material, but he attacks with gusto.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    Apted seems too often to think like an old-hand action director and not enough like the 12-year-old boy who probably read Lewis's book. To enter Narnia, to really go giddy with the bright, laughing promise of a quest, a young viewer with no convenient magic portal of his own needs characters to bring him along. This is, I believe, the difference between a classic and a successful franchise reboot.
  4. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Only two characters are worth much notice; neither is a prince, and one is a really big mouse, which tells you something sad about Narnia's royal family.
  5. Reviewed by: John Swansburg
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    If only the makers of Dawn Treader had learned the lesson Lucy does when she casts that forbidden spell: Don't try to be something you're not.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    It's serviceable, but certainly not much fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 10, 2010
    38
    An utter shipwreck, a would-be adventure with meager rations of magic and a listless crew.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
  1. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    one of the best movies ive read don't waste your money on 3D not much of 3d just commercials but it was a very good movie go wach it. it is very intresting.love it Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    its not the best in the series but its still very good. all 3 have there strong points The Dawn Treader is rich with magic, it has more magic in it then the 1st two combined, the 3D is nice but it dulls the color but it is still worth the money but the movie will be the same if you watch it in 2D. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Though Voyage of the Dawn Treader is possibly my favorite book in the series, it is not so with the movies. It adds story-lines that don't belong- as if the book weren't good enough. However I am willing to forgive that, because as a whole it had a lot that should be celebrated. LWW still remains as the best, but this one is better than PC. A terrific movie for the family. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    6
    The movie is good, but, the biggest problem is that the Narnia that all meet, die, an in a terrible mode. The magic creatures don't appear, be much humans, and this magic stories, don't appear. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2010
    5
    The books give you some very engaging and enthralling experiences -- especially The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; however, the way it unfolds on the big screen is the direct opposite. The action, while solid is mundane, while the story collapses mid-way through. I became so uninterested in the film I dozed off on several occasions, wishing it was over. But even with its flaws and frivolous attempts at imitating the Bible, the movie does have some heart buried in its insipid situations. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    5
    Just as C.S. Lewis' books dropped in popularity after "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe", I believe the film adaptations might be doing the same. Granted I enjoyed "Prince Caspian" way more than I enjoyed "The Lion and the Witch" (probably because there was a huge battle at the end), but I think Fox made a mistake when it changed directors from "Prince Caspian" to "Dawn Treader". I don't know why Fox switched directors, but I do know that I would have much rather seen Andrew Adamson's (Shrek 1 & 2) version of "Dawn Treader" than seeing the one I saw directed by Michael Apted ("The World is not Enough"). Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    0
    This was by far the worst movie out of all 3 of them!!! I cant even begin to express how disgusted I am in this one!! I understand the movies cant be exactly the same the story, but come on.... the 3rd one was sooooo way off!!!! I have read and reread the ENTIRE book at least 5 times. Every story was awesome, just brilliantly amazing!!! They could have at least kept to the storyline. I feel bad for people who liked the movie, that just means they didnt read the book and if they did, well then SHAME on them for thinking the movie was good!!! If you have read the book and have not seen the movie I BEG you to please DO NOT watch it!! If you are a true Narnian fan as much as I am, you will regret WASTING your money on such a horrible, awful, useless movie that will leave you saying OMG thats not how it happened and/or OMG why did they change the story line was perfect they should have left it the way it was!!! Even in the second one if you are true Narnian you know half the stuff was not even remotely close to how it happened in the book. so you know I am NOT LYING when I say the 3rd was awful just awful, but hey watch it for yourself and then come back and tell me I am wrong, but I know you true fans wont!!! Expand

See all 48 User Reviews