User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 8 out of 60

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    The Collection is an above par horror sequel that isn't just better than the first, but also delivers an ending that rarely any horror films nowadays deliver.
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    absolutely epic, tense, frenetic, scary, ultra-gory and action-packed on a much larger scale than the collector, the collection is everything horror fans could hope for, and there are still surprises to be had.
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    a worthy sequel that sufficiently carves out its own identity, dunstan once again proves to be an energetic and devoted director/writer, though there are much less developed characters this time around, in every other respect, it is bigger, and most certainly better, than the first film, even if you haven't seen the first, this is still great as a standalone film so please, if you love horror movies, you will find plenty to enjoy here. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    the collection is almost, A L M O S T, as good as the original, but unfortunately, most of the characters are not traditionally likeable, or understandable, because, and this is not really a spoiler, but they're mercenaries who coerce arkin to bring them to the collector's hideout, like i said, not that likeable, only one manages to redeem himself (however remotely), and elena is not given much development, but i digress, in all other respects, this is bigger, more developed, than the original, though it maintains the refreshing simplicity that made the original so good, from the plot, (i explained it), to the traps, (what's simpler than sharp things and blunt things attached to a tripwire?), it effectively continues arkin's story with a more than ominous conclusion, this risky idea blossoms under dunstan's devoted and effective direction/writing, and it becomes something fans of the first film, (me included), are going to love and cherish - samarathenymph xoxo (happy doomsday) Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    better than the original, tense, scary, fast-paced, and ultra-ultra-ultraviolent, the collection is a real gem for any self-respecting horror aficionado.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    This was an impressive sequel that was certainly better than the first. An explosive opening sequence sets the mood for the rest of the film as its very fast paced and there's always something going on! Arkin is back which is great and we pick up from where the first one finished. This sequel did borrow elements from the Saw series just like the first one did, but was most similar to the second Saw film. Overall Horror fans are in for a treat with this film and its one not to be missed! Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Epic, Amazing, Scary, Breathtaking, Nerve trespasser, I enjoyed every half a second of it, this is what I call a gruesome Horror, not SAW **** this one is highly recommended
  8. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Awesome! It was intense the way the first ended, leaving the viewer dangling!! Then there was the three-year wait for the sequel! It was worth it! I did not foresee the role-reversal, very masterful!! I did not expect this movie to be as good as it is, it shocked me!! Lovers of the genre know well that typically sequels are never as good as the first; this one manages to be a blood-soaked, terrifying good time!! I highly recommend these movies! If you can get through the torture and gore, it is well worth it! Expand
  9. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    I actually liked this movie. It was thrilling, gory and the beginning of the movie was pretty amazing. I haven't watched any horror movies, or gore movies in years now, but I liked the premise of this one and decided to watch, glad I did. I would recommend it to others who like movies that are a little bit gory and are more of shock value, then the psychology thrillers (used to be my favorite!).
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 5, 2012
    20
    An exercise in pure sadism, The Collection moves at a clip that leaps over plot holes in its race to elicit fright.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Dec 4, 2012
    50
    The Collection doesn't have much to recommend it beyond a first-reel bloodbath rivaling "Blade" and "Death Ship."
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 3, 2012
    40
    The movie's a smorgasbord of horror, and, ironically, that takes the teeth out of it. We're not really in this villain's world, because we don't know what his world is, or what he is, or what he's trying to even do. It's like a nightmare designed by someone who's heard a lot about nightmares but has never actually had one.