Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: July 31, 2009
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
15
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
Jerik02Oct 24, 2010
This movie is simply fail. People who like torture porn are morons with too much time on their hands and low paying jobs. The movie's premise is basically an excuse to provide gratuitous violence and gore. Where did the killer find all theThis movie is simply fail. People who like torture porn are morons with too much time on their hands and low paying jobs. The movie's premise is basically an excuse to provide gratuitous violence and gore. Where did the killer find all the time to install all the traps? Why did the cop not call for backup when he first arrived. Etc. etc. The ratings from critics here and on rottentomatoes speak for themselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
JustinF.Apr 22, 2010
I for one am a fan of the Saw movies and had high hopes for this movie that said it would redefine intensity. The premise was great but it was dumbed down by the senseless characters who came just to die 3 minutes later. Also the main I for one am a fan of the Saw movies and had high hopes for this movie that said it would redefine intensity. The premise was great but it was dumbed down by the senseless characters who came just to die 3 minutes later. Also the main character Arkin held up well acting but the character itself missed many opportunity to either get away or kill the collector. It was just uninventive torture porn. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
From the writers of Saw...we give you...another film that is simply a poor rip off of a dying franchise. The Collector does nothing to seperate itself from other films in a similar catagory (Saw...). While the villian does have a lot ofFrom the writers of Saw...we give you...another film that is simply a poor rip off of a dying franchise. The Collector does nothing to seperate itself from other films in a similar catagory (Saw...). While the villian does have a lot of potential and could be one of the newest horror movie icons to come out, The Collector doesnt do him any justice at all. The acting was suprisingly solid however lack of orginality ruined its potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Film_Fanatic_15Jul 3, 2012
The Collector can't manage to collect a damn thing that would make itself the least bit interesting, let alone a film. A premium Grade-A unwatchable film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ChadS.Aug 1, 2009
David Fincher's "Zodiac" was about killing... and investigative reporting. Jonathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs" was about killing...and women in the FBI. That's what makes a film like "The Collector" so tedious, David Fincher's "Zodiac" was about killing... and investigative reporting. Jonathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs" was about killing...and women in the FBI. That's what makes a film like "The Collector" so tedious, it's just about killing(at least Tobe Hooper had hillbillies for local color), and even worse, the aesthetics of killing(at least Wes Craven had Ingmar Bergman's aesthetics to riff off of). So if you're a purist when it comes to killing, but found the murders in the "Saw" series too baroque, rest assured, this latest entry in the "torture porn" subgenre has traps, just traps, not puzzles. Thanks for the homage to filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock, but no thanks, was my reaction to the scene where a cat is murdered, which may be an unfortunate reference to the cat burglars played by Cary Grant and Grace Kelly in "To Catch a Thief", who at one point, are in the same house, doing the same job. "The Collector" updates Hitchcock's atypically breezy film by replacing one of the thieves with a psychopathic killer, a home invader with pitch black pizazz. It's a staycation for Michael(Michael Reilly Burke) and Hannah(Karley Collins), who never did make it to the airport, to the burglar's surprise, nor to the end of the movie, to absolutely nobody's surprise. Badly bloodied and badly predisposed, the traps aren't for the adults(including Arkin, the unexpected guest); the traps are for the two daughters, because moviegoers love to see bloodied females without their tops or their heartbeats. As Jill(Madeline Lima) and her boyfriend do what teenagers do best in slasher pics(which is die in the most grisly fashion possible after some form of copulation), the moviegoer realizes that the other daughter, the small girl, could easily have been the one to be impaled on a wall, or be mutilated by bear traps. The potential for this little girl's violent death is what's ultimately off-putting about "The Collector", a film about killing, plain and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
paulsAug 1, 2009
Boring, not a good movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisAug 14, 2009
I once strapped a camera to my dog's back to see what a canine does in a twenty four hour time frame. As it turns out, my German Shepard is a far better writer than Mark Dunstan (the guy who created this sh*tty film). The Collector aka I once strapped a camera to my dog's back to see what a canine does in a twenty four hour time frame. As it turns out, my German Shepard is a far better writer than Mark Dunstan (the guy who created this sh*tty film). The Collector aka "How Not to Make a Movie" is by far the worst film of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanSApr 11, 2010
I enjoy the torture porn genre, so I have no complaints about the gore. But the premise of this movie is just plain stupid. Who exactly was the killer expecting to show up and set off all of his traps? I didn't see an open house sign. I enjoy the torture porn genre, so I have no complaints about the gore. But the premise of this movie is just plain stupid. Who exactly was the killer expecting to show up and set off all of his traps? I didn't see an open house sign. Free cookies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
cngizFeb 11, 2013
Rezalet bir film. Hiçbir konusu yok. Tek amacı sadece adam kesmek olan sahnelerin birleştirilmiş hali. Eğer ben böyle sahneleri seviyorum. Senaryo benim için gereksiz diyorsanız, vaktinizde bol ve değersizse buyrun izleyin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HelloimSvendApr 10, 2016
This movie is just plain bad. The story isn't really there and there is definitely too many loose ends. I was told that it was good but I were really disappointed after watching the movie. It isn't scary. Just bloody and probably sponsored by Heinz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews