User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 68
  2. Negative: 15 out of 68

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is a seriously underrated film, relatively original, well cast, creepy, and with a few shocking moments, the collector is pretty much the promised land for all die-hard horror fans, myself included.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    the collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is upon us, i feel i should get around to it, this film is incredible, it's tense, gritty, and rather nasty, josh stewart delivers one of the best performances, as the poor thief who breaks into the booby-trapped house, the little girl is one of the few child actors that doesn't make me wish for their brutal death, the plot is rather solid and simple to follow, the soundtrack gets extra credit, jerome dillon does a great job, most of the traps are memorable and rather neat, (a guillotine-rigged window, industrial glue, bear traps, razor wire, etc.), the film moves along smoothly, with beautiful and frenetic visuals, and dedicated and efficient direction from marcus dunstan, who has given us the feast trilogy, saw IV-3D and piranha 3DD, the collector is quite a revival for the torture-porn genre, which has divided people like me since saw - samarathenymph xoxo (happy halloween) Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    The Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it is original in so many ways, creepy and shocking. It does absolutely delivers and please die-hard horror fans, including myself. The Collector is easily shocking, smart and entertaining. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2010
    1
    This movie is simply fail. People who like torture porn are morons with too much time on their hands and low paying jobs. The movie's premise is basically an excuse to provide gratuitous violence and gore. Where did the killer find all the time to install all the traps? Why did the cop not call for backup when he first arrived. Etc. etc. The ratings from critics here and on rottentomatoes speak for themselves. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    I thought this was a successful thriller movie. It got under your skin and made you pray that it never happens to you. The things this guy set up to keep people in/out are disturbing to think someone thought about it and then wrote about it for a movie. thank god that person is a writer and not a serial killer.
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    2
    From the writers of Saw...we give you...another film that is simply a poor rip off of a dying franchise. The Collector does nothing to seperate itself from other films in a similar catagory (Saw...). While the villian does have a lot of potential and could be one of the newest horror movie icons to come out, The Collector doesnt do him any justice at all. The acting was suprisingly solid however lack of orginality ruined its potential. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    The Collector can't manage to collect a damn thing that would make itself the least bit interesting, let alone a film. A premium Grade-A unwatchable film.
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    It's basically a "torture porn" movie, so don't expect any horror. Just like other movies with this label The Collector lacks any fear, but manages to have some good ideas. Once you get past the annoying opening that focuses on giving the main character motives the movie gets pretty interesting. It's basically just a bloody game of cat & mouse with Saw style booby traps. It's lacking a sense of realism (the Collector can somehow magically place complex traps out in a split second), but manages to be mildly entertaining. So it's far from perfect and lacks any sort of fear of tension, but can be entertaining with the right mindset. All in all it's a passable flick that may interest you if you're into this kind of thing. Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awesome, until the part that it becomes a JASON'S movie... Because its made with very creativity, but in fact it's only a common movie... Don't watch, but if you want to watch. Just stop the movie remaining 3 minutes to finish, in the part when the victim is in the ambulance's car Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2012
    5
    There really was no plot to the film what so ever. Its pretty much a serial killer who kills for the heck of it in this film, which is rather disapointing considering it was by the guys who wrote Saw 4-7 and Saw had a great story behind it.

    What I did like about the film was that it was a cat and mouse game that was fun to watch. Adding in violent (sometimes overly violent) traps and a
    few suspensful moments and you have a decent horror film. The Collector isnt bad and its worth the watch but it has a long way to go before being a respectable horror franchise. Expand
  11. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    I liked it. I think Marcus and Patrick have really defined themselves as masters of horrors with this film. It was incredibly gory and a little suspensful as well. I enjoyed it, Can't wait to see the sequel.
  12. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    Oh, yeah, it's really sick and gory. But, it's actually not as bad as I imagined. I feared for much worse. This movie had some really effective tense moments but looking at it as a whole, it still is bad.
  13. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans and screaming so much? sure, it's out of place and unusual, but it really adds to the film in a strange way, and it's capped off with a brilliant ending which i was utterly blindsided by when i first saw it, anyone who says they are a cinephile MUST see this! Expand
  14. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    One brutal, claustrophobic, and mostly original piece of work, i couldn't recommend the collector highly enough... seriously, not even if i tried...
  15. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    an amazing horror film, with almost NO CGI at all, if that isn't refreshing enough, i don't think we can be friends...
  16. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    a really cool, entertaining film, the collector is fun for everyone who isn't an animal lover, and maybe a really terrible, sickening experience for those who are, but either way, it's effective
  17. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    a modestly inventive torture-horror film, it's fuelled by solid performances and a well-written screenplay, it's grim, demented, but sometimes it drops the ball and becomes tedious, overall, a good movie.
  18. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    This is a decent Horror that borrows elements from the Saw series but its an interesting concept as our lead Arkin breaks into a house to steal something but ends up not being able to leave as The Collector is holding a family hostage there. It's quite suspenseful and has plenty to keep you intrigued and entertained. There has recently been a sequel released so I refreshed my memory with this one and now I'm looking forward to watching the follow-up, but here's where it starts Collapse
  19. Feb 11, 2013
    0
    Rezalet bir film. Hiçbir konusu yok. Tek amacı sadece adam kesmek olan sahnelerin birleştirilmiş hali. Eğer ben böyle sahneleri seviyorum. Senaryo benim için gereksiz diyorsanız, vaktinizde bol ve değersizse buyrun izleyin.
  20. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    The Saw similarities make it nothing new, (it was intended to be a Saw prequel, so, come on) but this film works by keeping the suspense going and making a genuinely creepy character out of the Collector that makes you want to keep watching.
  21. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Though It's writing and acting are kind of loose, The Collector still manages to bring the chills and the thrills a horror film should, even if the films over the top violence may be to strong for some.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. 30
    The Collector feels like the final, welcome nail in the bizarrely popular torture-porn coffin.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    30
    As the seconds tick down to midnight, Arkin becomes a reluctant hero trapped by a masked Collector in a maze of lethal invention--the Spanish Inquisition as imagined by Rube Goldberg--while trying to rescue the very family he came to rob.
  3. In the absence of a sturdy, plausible foundation on which to hook all those grisly bits, the film, originally a Dimension release, tends to play out more like a protracted "Saw" outtake reel.