User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 69
  2. Negative: 15 out of 69
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertS.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Scary, sick, awesome!!!
  2. CJ
    May 3, 2010
    10
    I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love stylish, well-made horror films (and not these big-budget H'wood remakes or PG-13 teen screamers) then please see this movie. There's already talk I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love stylish, well-made horror films (and not these big-budget H'wood remakes or PG-13 teen screamers) then please see this movie. There's already talk of a sequel. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awesome, until the part that it becomes a JASON'S movie... Because its made with very creativity, but in fact it's only a common movie... Don't watch, but if you want to watch. Just stop the movie remaining 3 minutes to finish, in the part when the victim is in the ambulance's car Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is a seriously underrated film, relatively original, well cast, creepy, and with a few shocking moments, the collector is pretty much the promised land for all die-hard horror fans, myself included.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans and screaming so much? sure, it's out of place and unusual, but it really adds to the film in a strange way, and it's capped off with a brilliant ending which iA phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans and screaming so much? sure, it's out of place and unusual, but it really adds to the film in a strange way, and it's capped off with a brilliant ending which i was utterly blindsided by when i first saw it, anyone who says they are a cinephile MUST see this! Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    One brutal, claustrophobic, and mostly original piece of work, i couldn't recommend the collector highly enough... seriously, not even if i tried...
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    the collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is upon us, i feel i should get around to it, this film is incredible, it's tense, gritty, and rather nasty, josh stewart delivers one of the bestthe collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is upon us, i feel i should get around to it, this film is incredible, it's tense, gritty, and rather nasty, josh stewart delivers one of the best performances, as the poor thief who breaks into the booby-trapped house, the little girl is one of the few child actors that doesn't make me wish for their brutal death, the plot is rather solid and simple to follow, the soundtrack gets extra credit, jerome dillon does a great job, most of the traps are memorable and rather neat, (a guillotine-rigged window, industrial glue, bear traps, razor wire, etc.), the film moves along smoothly, with beautiful and frenetic visuals, and dedicated and efficient direction from marcus dunstan, who has given us the feast trilogy, saw IV-3D and piranha 3DD, the collector is quite a revival for the torture-porn genre, which has divided people like me since saw - samarathenymph xoxo (happy halloween) Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    an amazing horror film, with almost NO CGI at all, if that isn't refreshing enough, i don't think we can be friends...
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    a really cool, entertaining film, the collector is fun for everyone who isn't an animal lover, and maybe a really terrible, sickening experience for those who are, but either way, it's effective
  10. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    The Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it is original in so many ways, creepy and shocking. It does absolutely delivers and please die-hard horror fans, including myself. The Collector is easilyThe Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it is original in so many ways, creepy and shocking. It does absolutely delivers and please die-hard horror fans, including myself. The Collector is easily shocking, smart and entertaining. Expand
  11. BradC
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    Grabs you by the throat and squeezes.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. 30
    The Collector feels like the final, welcome nail in the bizarrely popular torture-porn coffin.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    30
    As the seconds tick down to midnight, Arkin becomes a reluctant hero trapped by a masked Collector in a maze of lethal invention--the Spanish Inquisition as imagined by Rube Goldberg--while trying to rescue the very family he came to rob.
  3. In the absence of a sturdy, plausible foundation on which to hook all those grisly bits, the film, originally a Dimension release, tends to play out more like a protracted "Saw" outtake reel.