Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: July 31, 2009
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
15
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
samarathenymphOct 31, 2012
the collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is uponthe collector is a curious little horror film, it is one of the films that inspired me, funnily enough, to express my opinion of other films, as such, it's rather embarrassing that i haven't reviewed this yet, but seeing as halloween is upon us, i feel i should get around to it, this film is incredible, it's tense, gritty, and rather nasty, josh stewart delivers one of the best performances, as the poor thief who breaks into the booby-trapped house, the little girl is one of the few child actors that doesn't make me wish for their brutal death, the plot is rather solid and simple to follow, the soundtrack gets extra credit, jerome dillon does a great job, most of the traps are memorable and rather neat, (a guillotine-rigged window, industrial glue, bear traps, razor wire, etc.), the film moves along smoothly, with beautiful and frenetic visuals, and dedicated and efficient direction from marcus dunstan, who has given us the feast trilogy, saw IV-3D and piranha 3DD, the collector is quite a revival for the torture-porn genre, which has divided people like me since saw - samarathenymph xoxo (happy halloween) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jul 20, 2013
The Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it isThe Collector is really scary and smart, the story is not explained enough though, but still it is a fun and entertaining horror, that will please almost anyone looking for a good scary time. The Collector is an underrated film, it is original in so many ways, creepy and shocking. It does absolutely delivers and please die-hard horror fans, including myself. The Collector is easily shocking, smart and entertaining. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
Jerik02Oct 24, 2010
This movie is simply fail. People who like torture porn are morons with too much time on their hands and low paying jobs. The movie's premise is basically an excuse to provide gratuitous violence and gore. Where did the killer find all theThis movie is simply fail. People who like torture porn are morons with too much time on their hands and low paying jobs. The movie's premise is basically an excuse to provide gratuitous violence and gore. Where did the killer find all the time to install all the traps? Why did the cop not call for backup when he first arrived. Etc. etc. The ratings from critics here and on rottentomatoes speak for themselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
I thought this was a successful thriller movie. It got under your skin and made you pray that it never happens to you. The things this guy set up to keep people in/out are disturbing to think someone thought about it and then wrote about itI thought this was a successful thriller movie. It got under your skin and made you pray that it never happens to you. The things this guy set up to keep people in/out are disturbing to think someone thought about it and then wrote about it for a movie. thank god that person is a writer and not a serial killer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DJohnsonJul 13, 2012
This is a seriously underrated film, relatively original, well cast, creepy, and with a few shocking moments, the collector is pretty much the promised land for all die-hard horror fans, myself included.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
JustinF.Apr 22, 2010
I for one am a fan of the Saw movies and had high hopes for this movie that said it would redefine intensity. The premise was great but it was dumbed down by the senseless characters who came just to die 3 minutes later. Also the main I for one am a fan of the Saw movies and had high hopes for this movie that said it would redefine intensity. The premise was great but it was dumbed down by the senseless characters who came just to die 3 minutes later. Also the main character Arkin held up well acting but the character itself missed many opportunity to either get away or kill the collector. It was just uninventive torture porn. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
From the writers of Saw...we give you...another film that is simply a poor rip off of a dying franchise. The Collector does nothing to seperate itself from other films in a similar catagory (Saw...). While the villian does have a lot ofFrom the writers of Saw...we give you...another film that is simply a poor rip off of a dying franchise. The Collector does nothing to seperate itself from other films in a similar catagory (Saw...). While the villian does have a lot of potential and could be one of the newest horror movie icons to come out, The Collector doesnt do him any justice at all. The acting was suprisingly solid however lack of orginality ruined its potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Film_Fanatic_15Jul 3, 2012
The Collector can't manage to collect a damn thing that would make itself the least bit interesting, let alone a film. A premium Grade-A unwatchable film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxJan 20, 2012
There really was no plot to the film what so ever. Its pretty much a serial killer who kills for the heck of it in this film, which is rather disapointing considering it was by the guys who wrote Saw 4-7 and Saw had a great story behind it.There really was no plot to the film what so ever. Its pretty much a serial killer who kills for the heck of it in this film, which is rather disapointing considering it was by the guys who wrote Saw 4-7 and Saw had a great story behind it.

What I did like about the film was that it was a cat and mouse game that was fun to watch. Adding in violent (sometimes overly violent) traps and a few suspensful moments and you have a decent horror film. The Collector isnt bad and its worth the watch but it has a long way to go before being a respectable horror franchise.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ChadS.Aug 1, 2009
David Fincher's "Zodiac" was about killing... and investigative reporting. Jonathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs" was about killing...and women in the FBI. That's what makes a film like "The Collector" so tedious, David Fincher's "Zodiac" was about killing... and investigative reporting. Jonathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs" was about killing...and women in the FBI. That's what makes a film like "The Collector" so tedious, it's just about killing(at least Tobe Hooper had hillbillies for local color), and even worse, the aesthetics of killing(at least Wes Craven had Ingmar Bergman's aesthetics to riff off of). So if you're a purist when it comes to killing, but found the murders in the "Saw" series too baroque, rest assured, this latest entry in the "torture porn" subgenre has traps, just traps, not puzzles. Thanks for the homage to filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock, but no thanks, was my reaction to the scene where a cat is murdered, which may be an unfortunate reference to the cat burglars played by Cary Grant and Grace Kelly in "To Catch a Thief", who at one point, are in the same house, doing the same job. "The Collector" updates Hitchcock's atypically breezy film by replacing one of the thieves with a psychopathic killer, a home invader with pitch black pizazz. It's a staycation for Michael(Michael Reilly Burke) and Hannah(Karley Collins), who never did make it to the airport, to the burglar's surprise, nor to the end of the movie, to absolutely nobody's surprise. Badly bloodied and badly predisposed, the traps aren't for the adults(including Arkin, the unexpected guest); the traps are for the two daughters, because moviegoers love to see bloodied females without their tops or their heartbeats. As Jill(Madeline Lima) and her boyfriend do what teenagers do best in slasher pics(which is die in the most grisly fashion possible after some form of copulation), the moviegoer realizes that the other daughter, the small girl, could easily have been the one to be impaled on a wall, or be mutilated by bear traps. The potential for this little girl's violent death is what's ultimately off-putting about "The Collector", a film about killing, plain and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Aug 1, 2009
Scary, sick, awesome!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UptonKAug 3, 2009
For torture porn, this was fairly gripping. I left the theatre assaulted and a bit puzzled. There are a lot of unanswered questions, but realism is not something one expects while viewing a movie about an omnipotent killer who can out think For torture porn, this was fairly gripping. I left the theatre assaulted and a bit puzzled. There are a lot of unanswered questions, but realism is not something one expects while viewing a movie about an omnipotent killer who can out think their prey at every twist and turn. Very little of the plot makes sense. However, your eyes, ears and sense of the appropriate are so overwhelmed by the sound and editing technique employed - you don't have time to ponder much. It's on the ride home that you begin to ask yourself... what about...? And why did he.....? And how did they Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradCAug 1, 2009
Grabs you by the throat and squeezes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJMay 3, 2010
I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love I loved every minute of THE COLLECTOR! This high-concept horror flick owes more to Dario Argento and the Italian giallo films of the '70s, than the recent crop of subpar SAW knock-offs and standard torture-porn fare. If you love stylish, well-made horror films (and not these big-budget H'wood remakes or PG-13 teen screamers) then please see this movie. There's already talk of a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TreyW.Oct 17, 2009
Awesome movie, With a small plot but still really good plot none the less and lots of gore. I would say this was one movie I really enjoyed. People who are rating it so low I do not know what your smoking or what kind of horror movie you Awesome movie, With a small plot but still really good plot none the less and lots of gore. I would say this was one movie I really enjoyed. People who are rating it so low I do not know what your smoking or what kind of horror movie you think is good... please do not tell me you like the ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
paulsAug 1, 2009
Boring, not a good movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisAug 14, 2009
I once strapped a camera to my dog's back to see what a canine does in a twenty four hour time frame. As it turns out, my German Shepard is a far better writer than Mark Dunstan (the guy who created this sh*tty film). The Collector aka I once strapped a camera to my dog's back to see what a canine does in a twenty four hour time frame. As it turns out, my German Shepard is a far better writer than Mark Dunstan (the guy who created this sh*tty film). The Collector aka "How Not to Make a Movie" is by far the worst film of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IlozZAug 14, 2009
The dilemma facing Arkin, to save both families or his own skin, is something not often seen in horror movie fare. It provides a catalyst for audience involvement that goes beyond vicarious body-count watching. When the Collector goes after The dilemma facing Arkin, to save both families or his own skin, is something not often seen in horror movie fare. It provides a catalyst for audience involvement that goes beyond vicarious body-count watching. When the Collector goes after the little girl, forcing Arkin to make difficult choices between physical safety and his conscience, it made me root for this home team to hit a home run. But all Dunstan and Melton can do is get stranded at first base. They dote on the bloody-hell messy parts of the movie, replacing most of the suspense with typical--for a psycho-butcher-torturer movie--outcomes. Closeup views of lip sewing, chisel to teeth, shears poised to snip a pliers-held tongue, carving a roast without the roast, and, really, just about every dire torture-gore situation and its outcome we now anticipate due to their overuse is here in lavish closeup. It is stylish, it is done well, but it has all been done before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanSApr 11, 2010
I enjoy the torture porn genre, so I have no complaints about the gore. But the premise of this movie is just plain stupid. Who exactly was the killer expecting to show up and set off all of his traps? I didn't see an open house sign. I enjoy the torture porn genre, so I have no complaints about the gore. But the premise of this movie is just plain stupid. Who exactly was the killer expecting to show up and set off all of his traps? I didn't see an open house sign. Free cookies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerJun 25, 2013
It's basically a "torture porn" movie, so don't expect any horror. Just like other movies with this label The Collector lacks any fear, but manages to have some good ideas. Once you get past the annoying opening that focuses on giving theIt's basically a "torture porn" movie, so don't expect any horror. Just like other movies with this label The Collector lacks any fear, but manages to have some good ideas. Once you get past the annoying opening that focuses on giving the main character motives the movie gets pretty interesting. It's basically just a bloody game of cat & mouse with Saw style booby traps. It's lacking a sense of realism (the Collector can somehow magically place complex traps out in a split second), but manages to be mildly entertaining. So it's far from perfect and lacks any sort of fear of tension, but can be entertaining with the right mindset. All in all it's a passable flick that may interest you if you're into this kind of thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NicholasandrewJun 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awesome, until the part that it becomes a JASON'S movie... Because its made with very creativity, but in fact it's only a common movie... Don't watch, but if you want to watch. Just stop the movie remaining 3 minutes to finish, in the part when the victim is in the ambulance's car Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobSep 29, 2012
I liked it. I think Marcus and Patrick have really defined themselves as masters of horrors with this film. It was incredibly gory and a little suspensful as well. I enjoyed it, Can't wait to see the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Oh, yeah, it's really sick and gory. But, it's actually not as bad as I imagined. I feared for much worse. This movie had some really effective tense moments but looking at it as a whole, it still is bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mykhawkeSep 14, 2012
A phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans andA phenomenal, incredible torture flick, who knew josh stewart could actually ACT, and act well, the collector himself is actually very unsettling, another thing i'd like to mention is the soundtrack, why do people hate the groans and screaming so much? sure, it's out of place and unusual, but it really adds to the film in a strange way, and it's capped off with a brilliant ending which i was utterly blindsided by when i first saw it, anyone who says they are a cinephile MUST see this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
flubertubertubeSep 14, 2012
One brutal, claustrophobic, and mostly original piece of work, i couldn't recommend the collector highly enough... seriously, not even if i tried...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
robertashfieldSep 17, 2012
Brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mcmanusthebraveSep 17, 2012
an amazing horror film, with almost NO CGI at all, if that isn't refreshing enough, i don't think we can be friends...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
violentmilkSep 17, 2012
Loved it...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scottissorightOct 31, 2012
a really cool, entertaining film, the collector is fun for everyone who isn't an animal lover, and maybe a really terrible, sickening experience for those who are, but either way, it's effective
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
stonecoldsamOct 31, 2012
a modestly inventive torture-horror film, it's fuelled by solid performances and a well-written screenplay, it's grim, demented, but sometimes it drops the ball and becomes tedious, overall, a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Apr 24, 2013
This is a decent Horror that borrows elements from the Saw series but its an interesting concept as our lead Arkin breaks into a house to steal something but ends up not being able to leave as The Collector is holding a family hostage there.This is a decent Horror that borrows elements from the Saw series but its an interesting concept as our lead Arkin breaks into a house to steal something but ends up not being able to leave as The Collector is holding a family hostage there. It's quite suspenseful and has plenty to keep you intrigued and entertained. There has recently been a sequel released so I refreshed my memory with this one and now I'm looking forward to watching the follow-up, but here's where it starts Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
cngizFeb 11, 2013
Rezalet bir film. Hiçbir konusu yok. Tek amacı sadece adam kesmek olan sahnelerin birleştirilmiş hali. Eğer ben böyle sahneleri seviyorum. Senaryo benim için gereksiz diyorsanız, vaktinizde bol ve değersizse buyrun izleyin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
The Saw similarities make it nothing new, (it was intended to be a Saw prequel, so, come on) but this film works by keeping the suspense going and making a genuinely creepy character out of the Collector that makes you want to keep watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HelloimSvendApr 10, 2016
This movie is just plain bad. The story isn't really there and there is definitely too many loose ends. I was told that it was good but I were really disappointed after watching the movie. It isn't scary. Just bloody and probably sponsored by Heinz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueAug 5, 2014
Though It's writing and acting are kind of loose, The Collector still manages to bring the chills and the thrills a horror film should, even if the films over the top violence may be to strong for some.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RealisticRageOct 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike its sequel, which thrived off of jump scares, The Collector is less of a standard slasher film and more of a mix of suspense thriller and psychological horror. Protagonist Arkin O'Brian, handyman and ex-con, is a better protagonist than most of the standard heroes of horror films today. While the movie itself is flawed, Josh Stewart is able to balance both the toughness and terror embodied by Arkin. He's less of Sam Raimi's Ash Williams and more of Wes Craven's Nancy Thompson. Fernandez as the Collector is downright terrifying. The being he plays is evil incarnate, and he legitimately terrifies me, a rare feat a horror movie can achieve for me nowadays. The Collector himself is a sick, twisted man who shows himself off with euphoric grace as he tortures and murders through most of the main cast. Not a guy you wanna meet in a dark alley at any point in your life. Despite the lead's excellent performances and the excellent building of suspense, this movie is bogged down by a couple of things. First is the youngest child, Hannah. The character is obviously introduced as the standard "immortal adolescent" trope. The only real involvement she has in the film is to be the object of Arkin's moral conflict within the film, but beyond that, her performance comes off as forced for the brief time she is introduced in the beginning. Second is the rest of the family and their decisions within the film. You know they're gonna die, and through the use of stupid decisions. The mother and teenage daughter both obviously panic and scream, then die. It's enough to make you groan from the staleness of the concept. And finally... the cop. As soon as he shows up, the only thing you can wonder is "How's he gonna die?" That aside, the movie's ending fight is both chilling and satisfactory. Seeing Arkin beat on him and kick him down the basement stairs is thrilling, mostly from the rarity of seeing a protagonist in a horror film beat a villain in a straight-up fight is a treat we don't get often as an audience. In closing, despite its flaws, The Collector is a satisfying horror-thriller that surges with adrenaline and tension, superior to the more popular Saw films. Newer horror flicks should follow its example. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
S1r-R34lJan 12, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Home Alone If Kevin were a psychopath. This is not a Horror film but a high-tension, suspense psychological thriller with a lot of gore and horrific scenes. It is the great direction of Marcus Dunstan that makes this an edge-of-your-seat movie. The acting is above average, even Josh Stewert (who I've not admired in any previous roles) did a good job and held the lead role well. The only drawback to the whole movie is the continuity gaps. There is no way that The Collector had time to rig all the traps around the house. It is for this glaring fault that I've rated it 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews