The Condemned

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 61
  2. Negative: 26 out of 61
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ryencoke
    May 7, 2007
    7
    Much better than I expected. The critics see that it's a WWE movie and automatically lower their score by at least 3 points. Vinnie Jones was hilarious as usual in this movie. Stone Cold actually was a much better actor then I anticipated. The only thing that really sucked was the camera during the fight scenes. You couldn't really tell what the hell was going on. It's Much better than I expected. The critics see that it's a WWE movie and automatically lower their score by at least 3 points. Vinnie Jones was hilarious as usual in this movie. Stone Cold actually was a much better actor then I anticipated. The only thing that really sucked was the camera during the fight scenes. You couldn't really tell what the hell was going on. It's obviously a knock-off to 'Battle Royale', which was much better than this of course. Not half bad though. Expand
  2. AnneS.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    This is a great movie! Steve Austin is amazing- I think he is more better than The Rock but I don't want to compare them. I just commend Austins fight scenes and he definitely could act too! I like him and love him! He's an amazing icon- I wish to see another movie from this superstars! Steve Austin rocks! I love you dude!
  3. NIckT.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Hey the movie wasn't that bad. Okay it no way deserves the rating i gave it but still if critics can give an average score of 2.3 out of ten for a movie that deserves atleast 5 or 6, i can surely give a ten to this. The movie was decent with a neat story and mediocre acting. The fight scenes were nicely done. Steve Austin was wooden but perfectly played his role well. Vinnie Jones Hey the movie wasn't that bad. Okay it no way deserves the rating i gave it but still if critics can give an average score of 2.3 out of ten for a movie that deserves atleast 5 or 6, i can surely give a ten to this. The movie was decent with a neat story and mediocre acting. The fight scenes were nicely done. Steve Austin was wooden but perfectly played his role well. Vinnie Jones was okay . The Rosa's rape scene was a little distateful but the rest of the movie is passable. Expand
  4. JordanD.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is the greastest combat film ever with so many great characters. a movie with Stonecold steve Austen has to be good because he is so hard. anybody who gives it less than 10 knoes absolutly nothing about films and should be mauled on sight by stonecold steve austen
  5. BrentonA.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Whoever is a hater on this movie obviously has something against the WWE. If someone else came out with this movie it would have much higher ratings. This is the best action/suspense movie I've seen in a long time. The only other movie to compare to it is The Bourne Ultimatum. This movie rocks. Stone Cold doesn't even need to act to play this part. He literally is himself in the Whoever is a hater on this movie obviously has something against the WWE. If someone else came out with this movie it would have much higher ratings. This is the best action/suspense movie I've seen in a long time. The only other movie to compare to it is The Bourne Ultimatum. This movie rocks. Stone Cold doesn't even need to act to play this part. He literally is himself in the movie. A tough SOB. Expand
  6. GeorgeJ.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    What are these critics thinking? It's a movie not a documentary. Steve Austin did a great job in this movie. This guy can act. He was great in his scenes with Vinnie Jones and demonstrated that he's got a lot more than the Stone Cold character he played during his time at the WWE. If you want to sit back and have a good time at an all out action film, then this is a movie you What are these critics thinking? It's a movie not a documentary. Steve Austin did a great job in this movie. This guy can act. He was great in his scenes with Vinnie Jones and demonstrated that he's got a lot more than the Stone Cold character he played during his time at the WWE. If you want to sit back and have a good time at an all out action film, then this is a movie you should absolutely see. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    A dark, confusing, action-packed, hit ride with abs that fight stronger than any of the 300.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2008
    8
    This movie was so awesome. I know I should be dissing this movie, but it was so cool.
  9. RickyB.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    this move is sweet all of the people saying it is crap dont lessen to them they probably never seen it before in their life dont judge a book by its cover dude go see it then rate it i give it what it deserves a 10+++
  10. ImAlwaysRight
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    This movie is totally underestimated by critics, it's the very first of it's kind, and an experience not to be missed.
  11. MichaelM.
    Apr 28, 2007
    8
    I found this movie to be extremly good, i first thought it would be killed with action, but it had a good amount of fight sceens and was very well made and Steve Austin did very well acting in the movie. I just the movie.
  12. MickE.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    Its been a long time since i watched a good old fashioned action film, i watched it with friends & had a good laugh, mainly at Austin's mono-tone smartass replies, but its violent, fun & easy to watch with the lads, beer & popcorn.
  13. ThomasD.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    I can't believe The Marine got a higher average score than this movie, both with critics and reader reviews alike. This movie is way better than The Marine. Sure it's no Battle Royale, but it's still good. Sure does get dark about half-way through the movie though, and that, for me, isn't such a bad thing, since it allows some themes to stand out, even if they're I can't believe The Marine got a higher average score than this movie, both with critics and reader reviews alike. This movie is way better than The Marine. Sure it's no Battle Royale, but it's still good. Sure does get dark about half-way through the movie though, and that, for me, isn't such a bad thing, since it allows some themes to stand out, even if they're cliche'. But come on, how many action movies out there don't have cliche's? At least this is a good action movie. Go see it! Expand
  14. AlexR.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Personally, I believe the movie is great, if rated as an action movie. It really depends on what the person expects to see. I watches Spiderman 3 the day before I saw the Condemned, and this movie was extremely better. It had more action, an interesting plot and comedical satire. I read most reviews of the movie, and they all judge it badly because "the only pupose of the movie was the Personally, I believe the movie is great, if rated as an action movie. It really depends on what the person expects to see. I watches Spiderman 3 the day before I saw the Condemned, and this movie was extremely better. It had more action, an interesting plot and comedical satire. I read most reviews of the movie, and they all judge it badly because "the only pupose of the movie was the violence, the blood and the profanity...". Obviously, you cannot compare the movie to The Departed, The Forgotten, Sixth Sense, Four Brothers, or any other tension-filled movies based solely on the plot, because in reality, this movie was not solely based on the plot; the main focus was the action (hence, "action movie"). Therefore, if you enjoy action movies, and you press the play button hoping to see some great stunts, fights, a blood-thirsty villian and a tough outgoing hero, then you will love this movie. However, if you hope for an excellently written script, original plot, a romantic struggle, a history-filled rivalry between the protagonist and antagonist, and a unimaginable climax (thinking this movie to be an outstanding novel), then I would just recommend to turn off your TV, and watch Titanic. Expand
Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 19 out of 24
  1. D-grade "Running Man" ripoff.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    30
    Picture aims for nonstop thrill ride, but for all its brainless brawn, it has plenty of stops and few real thrills.
  3. Wiper doesn't exploit the possibilities of his setting, so the only conflict is the fighting, the only suspense comes from waiting for the next character to pop out from behind a tree and do something possibly interesting.