User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 564 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 564

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    3
    Trust me you've seen it before booming sound effects, loud screams and cheap attempted jump scares does not cut it. It's using a supposed true story and attempting a cheap cash grab for those expecting to walk out pleased.
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    The movie becomes gradually less scary after the two 'ghost hunters' arrive at the haunted house, the mystery should be harder to solve and the ending is too 'noisy'. Still, the first act is excellent, there are several frightening scenes, the direction makes the atmosphere darker and Vera Farmiga is great. Patrick Wilson is good too.
    argonautis.eu
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Based on a true story "The Conjuring" provides consistent scares throughout the entire film with interesting fleshed out characters and scenes superbly directed by James Wan. If you are a fan of any of James Wan's former work or of scary movies in general I would HIGHLY recommend this movie.
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    I have not ever that I recall screamed in theater... until I watched the Conjuring. For three nights, I felt anxious to turn out my light before getting into bed. The last time I felt like that was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. The Exorcist gets attention for being novel, but seriously, I watched that when I was 4 (but not deeply set into religion). The effect did not last passed the credit roll. The Conjuring used (mostly) simpler tactics than pea soup and cross-raping of a child's vulva to pull fear and disgust from my usually strong psyche. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    So far this movie is the best horror movie I ever watched! It prevented me from sitting nicely in every scary scene...I cant even differentiate between the screams audiences and real movie scream effects! Best horror movie indeed. Clap Clap!
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Most horror flicks these days aren't scary at all. I can't say that at all about The Conjuring. Old school scares and great acting and story combine to make this one of the most terrifying horror movies I've seen. The soundtrack was extremely well done as well. At times the level of suspense was almost unbearable. And all throughout the director never lost focus. This movie ranks right up there with the classics. If you love a good scare DON'T miss The Conjuring. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    "The Conjuring" is the scariest movie you will ever see. Everyone in the theater screamed at least three times. This is a true scary horror movie. And it's based on a true story...
  8. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    My GF loves scary movies i use too as a child but i find none of them scary anymore, i thought i grew out of it as a man...until i watched the conjuring it was actually scary first movie i' can say actually had scary moments in a long time worth a 9 rating just for that fact i would of gave it a 10 but the story was not very original but at least the scares were
  9. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Best horror movie maybe in last ten years or more. A really good horror movie and enjoyed it very much. Great direction, great script and obviously very scary.
  10. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    i love horror movies, this film make me scary but i love it, vote 10 Score for this film everyone. Saw and Insidious is also fantastic too, I really love Insidious and i can't wait until this film show. but why Patrick Wilson really interested in acting horror movies. i knew Leigh Whannell in saw, and now he come back with Insidious. cause i live in vietnam so my english because I live in Vietnam so my english vocabulary is not so good if you do not know what I said, then I'm sorry Expand
  11. May 25, 2014
    7
    Based on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so they soon seek out the help of paranormal investigators to get rid of the demon haunting them. The story itself is nothing new and the events surrounding the story isn't anything new but James Wan delivers on the suspense of the telling of a old story. There wasn't any jump scare moments well at least none that got me. Also only being made on a 20 million budget was great none of it looked bad and for making over 300 million worldwide that is something.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 The movie freaked my mom out she siad she wanted to watch a scary movie then after she siad she never want's to see this movie ever again i laughed =D the movie isn't scary at all
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    Before Christianity and Latin existed how did exorcists exorcise? A lingering question after watching The Conjuring, a film by James Wan.

    The age of Scary Movie-esque franchises has turned seeing dead people and being haunted by and evil spirits into mundanely comic events. Sexy vampires, farcical zombies, and ridiculous inside jokes about the world’s end begone! The Conjuring is a big
    horror film that is actually good and scary. Finally!

    Still, Director Wan uses all the old horror tricks to build up the suspense: creeping suggestive crescendos in the score, brief uncertain glimpses of unknown beings, and of course, lots of loud and unexpected jolts.

    The film opens as the Perron family arrives at their new home, a large fixer-upper in the Rhode Island countryside. As the family starts their life in the new house the haunting becomes apparent. Clocks stop, doors slam, people scream. Terror drives the family to huddle up in the living room where they spend their nights sleeping together. It makes the spirits calmer, they say.

    A little too conveniently, famous demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren just so happen to be speaking nearby. Mrs. Perron persuades the Warrens to come inspect the house. Lorrain Warren, a kind of clairvoyant, senses real trouble in the Perron house immediately. Using cameras, Holy magic, and Latin scriptures, the fight begins to save not only the house from destruction, but the people inside it as well.
    Expand
  13. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I went to see the movie with my girlfriend and boy did I wish my mommy was with me too. I cant explain to you how creepy the movie was. I was surprised that my arm didn't go numb from my girlfriend squeezing it like a teddy bear. 75% of the movie we spent huddling up and gasping for air If you want to see it I advise you to bring a diaper with you. And dont act big thinking it is just a movie because this movie makes Saw and all other horror movies look like childs play. Expand
  14. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    An almost flawless, nostalgic James Wan directed horror flick which may occasionally slide into slightly familiar territory. There are phenomenal performances all round especially from Famiga, who's really coming into her own. The movie has some flaws but becomes an instant horror classic and is arguably Wan's best movie.
  15. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best horror movies ever made, mainly because of it's story: this movie was made to tell a story, not to just freak out people. The acting is top notch, and Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga give a wonderful portrayal of the two demonologists. The visual are very effective, with some pretty eerie stuff, and the music blends in perfectly.
    I recommend this to horror movie
    fans, but also who (like me) had lost hope for a good horror movie Expand
  16. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    If you despise dolls but love horror films, watch this one.
    A lot of the time I wasn't on the edge of my seat, but sometimes it just gets you.
    Fairly good in terms of most horrors, falls a bit short on occasion and the constant jump scares is a bit repetitive, but a good watch
    I recommend
  17. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    I seen this movie at 3:15 pm when i left left i could not shake this off 4 the whole day, this was the best, most scary, great actors, great story and backstory at some parts and i highly recommend this movie to any horror fan. these are only some of this movies strong points cause it would take to long to write them all. 11 out of 10
  18. Aug 30, 2013
    2
    Combining every memorable element of Horror from a previous film before it, The Conjuring masters at scaring by not allowing you to realize you've been conned into 100 minutes of cheap tricks and bumps in the night. Forcing the religious angle for relative ease in accepting that possession exists, and then use the "Salem witch" as a scapegoat of Baphomet to ride through the black hole plot. Perhaps they should sacrifice this witch to let the film end? Of course, after thuds, shadows, and CGI low budget snores that don't do as much as even muster a chuckle out you for their pathetic sideshow buffoonery. Expand
  19. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    I watched this movie with good expectations. I watched the trailer, thought it would be good. It looked creepy, scary and worth my money and time. It was the same person who did Insidious and I know how much those scares packed-a-punch on me. But unfortunately, the only thing I can give this film were the two leading roles of the two paranormal investigators and props. Their acting was good and very believable. The props were quite well done, but it felt as though the directors was like, let's make them look really creepy and ugly, that will scare people. No. I was expecting a good scare and hoping to be genuinely frightened, but no. And I was extremely disappointed. Every "scare" was far too predictable. Like the face would disappear and the character is wondering where the unknown entity has gone and then...oh here I am, right next to you...did you see me coming? Of course we did, who in the world couldn't see it coming. This effect has been used time and time again and yet still we get horror movies that continue to use them as if this gets its audience every time. I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion but for big horror fans, this simply is a miss. Sure if it's your first horror movie or one of your first maybe you might feel a little bit of tension and creepiness. I am a big horror fan and I'm sure a lot of the other fans like me will come to the conclusion that The Conjuring brought nothing new to the horror genre.

    +Good acting
    +Good effects on props

    -Far too predictable
    -Cliché
    -Typical story
    -Slow Pace
    -Scares are very ineffective
    -Brought nothing new to the horror genre

    3/10
    Expand
  20. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    This movie is really awesome, it is not like the typical kind of exorcism and demons movie, it´s like paranormal activity but with real exorcism and really good actors. If you get to watch it on the cinema remember to scream yourself out!!! go with some girls
  21. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    It's Funny How People Are Saying Negative Things About The Movie... Most Of The Normal People Would Say They Don't Want To Reveal That They Wet Themselves
  22. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    same warmed warmed and warmed and re warmed soup made in hollywood. absolutely boring and predictable. I appreciated wilson's performance but nothing else. entire movie is a shameless cliche, redundant till the bother. without any trace of soul. yes, definitely I can say its a ghosts movie. where the ghost is the movie.
  23. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    Great expectations for the title of the film, horror at its highest expression, the situation more chilling is that it is not murder but of spirits. I was scared but with Insidius.
  24. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well-crafted movie with several scary scenes, however it revolves so much around horror clichés: remote haunted big house in the forest, a seemingly happy family, a poltergeist that plagues the occupants, dark spooky cellar, kids (females again as usual) that can see and hear things that adults can’t do so, animals “mysteriously” killed, cursed toys/items, happy ending (sorry for the spoiler!) achieved by uttering the right sentimental “password” to the spirit etc.

    Although predictable, it is worth seeing if you are horror fans.
    Expand
  25. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    While the movie may have some scary visuals, it relies too much on old and cheap scary tricks that the movie keeps repeating, so by the time you've experienced the first scary scenes you already know what's gonna happen in the scenes that follow.
  26. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie...if your a fan of horror movies you will love this movie!!!

    Overall a great movie and acting...not to mention lovely spooky atmospheres & sounds...
  27. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Its true that The Conjuring plays on the same tried story of the haunted house, but it, unlike its predecessors plays it right. The films director, Wan, manages to take an overly developed storyline and streamline it into a frightfully believable tale that is shot in a way that removes the predicable scare tactics that plague the horror genre and replace it with well thought schemes and unpredictably eerie scenarios. A film worth watching, even for those averse to the genre. Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    We actually really enjoyed this movie. It made us a jump a bunch of times and was a great halloween movie. Sure there were some already used plot devices in this horror movie, but overall it was great.
  29. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    A week ago my boyfriend and I watched “The Conjuring” for the first time. Before we watched the movie I expected the movie to be like any other horror flick someone dies, they get haunted, and then they beat the demon. But this movie was better. From the beginning of the movie to the end I was interested the whole time. It was suspenseful, exciting, frightening, and terrifying. I love scary and suspenseful movies, but this movie was better than any movie I have seen in a long time. After I watched the movie I wanted to watch it again. Expand
  30. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This movie is definitely one of the best horror movies I have seen so far. I was a bit skeptical at first of this movie, but once it started, I could not keep my eyes off the screen. It was definitely a better movie to see than "My Little Pony: Equestria Girls". I can't wait for James Wan's next installment in the Warren paranormal investigators saga.
  31. Nov 24, 2013
    1
    Haunted dolls, levitating, Attack of Blind Pigeons, cheesy "dialogue", slamming doors, crucifixes, basement-as-center of activity...zzzzzz.....But, don't worry, in the end we're all brought back to flowers and unicorns and bubble-teas by a mother's love and god. Awwww.

    This is galactically lame, desperate, and overdone with cheap jump-thrills. Just another horror movie that reminds us
    that The Exorcist is the gold standard which has yet to be beat. Expand
  32. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    It is a nice movie with a great theme and background work. It is terrifying in several aspects, including the fact that it is based on a true story, but I believed it would have ended with a more interesting and surprising situation. However, its a nice movie.
  33. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    This movie caused a big buzz so my best friend dragged me to see it. There are few horrors that can scare me but this movie didn't. Anyways, the plot and the casting were good but there was something missing from it that would give it a higher score.
  34. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Even though it is the same old haunted house story and a predictable happy ending, the Conjuring delivers with the stylistic visuals that make James Wan's films great. Expand
  35. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    James Wan brings us the classic horror film that does scare anyone who is in the room from the first minute (literally), bringing a conbinacion Poltergeist, The Exorcist and The Shining reverse. The 2013 was good horror movies generally had good reviews as Mama and The Cottage of Terror (although in the latter my criticism was not positive). Vera Farmiga splendid as ever. The girls (Joey King Batman the Dark Knight rises, Mackenzie Foy Breaking Dawn Part 2 and others) keeps his performance very well. The best thing about the movie is the diabolical doll Anabelle since its first appearance in the movie scares, the plot and outcome. The only thing bad about 20 minutes without something interesting happens. Expand
  36. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    This is an effective old school horror flick that favors tension and surprises over gore and killings. The Conjuring represents an improvement over Wan's Insidious, eliminating that film's overly corny elements.
  37. Jan 1, 2014
    6
    It opens up with a creepy sub story, but ultimately possesses the same annoying problems as every other horror movie. Insidious was a more original and less ridiculous films, and the sound was terrifying. The Conjuring lacked on many things.
  38. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    Now I am always willing to give them a chance but I am often pretty unimpressed with haunting movies. I really enjoy horror movies but it seems like we get 10 haunting movies a year and none of them very good. The Conjuring on the other hand I thought was very well done, in particular James Wans directing and the cinematography. The story was your typical haunting story of a family moving into a new house and weird stuff happens but is still interesting to watch and scary because it was handled so well. These types of horror movies are not really my bag but this one has definitely impressed me. Expand
  39. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. It has a lot of moments where you think there will be jump scare but in the end it's nothing and thats what makes it so scary, there are a few jump scares yes but not always. Just in the right moments.
  40. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    I've always been a fan of good horror movies. Sadly, nowadays, there is somewhat of a deficit amongst the genre, because, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think a generic plot + dark premise + a few jumpscares = a good movie. Luckily, this movie isn't like that.
    I love this movie. And even as I nitpick my way through it, I manage to find just one thing I don't like about it. But let
    me get there first.
    This movie is really beautifuly shot. The whole direction it is going for has a very retro-horror vibe that I just can't help but enjoy. There are almost no effects, which I think is a huge plus, and those that are included are very effective. This movie doesn't rely simply on jumpscares, but on pure, well-built atmosphere, the overall look and feel of it brings a lot to this.
    It also sounds great, all the sound effects used are creepy, there are almost no random sharp sounds, like the ones used in Insidious (whichi I personally hated about it), there is also almost no awkward silence - it's a perfect mix.
    The acting in the movie is great. The people behind the movie knew exactly what kinds of people they need, so they just got those people, and they are perfect for their roles. Even the little kids are great at acting it out! It's simply a joy to watch all of these people interract with eachother on such a great level, at times it feels like real-life footidge of a family reunion and that's brilliant.
    The overall story is nothing we haven't seen before, but it's very well paced, which is key to a good horror movie. I really love what they did with the pacing here, though I felt the ending was a bit rushed, but I give the movie credit for having scenes that most movies of the genre forget - those that expand on the characters and their bonds. However, here is also the one thing I don't like about this movie, and it's the paranormal apparition - it's not badly done, it's just not my thing and I didn't find it scary or creepy, I was intrigued and when I found out what it was, it all sort of went down hill from there for me, but this is just for me, so instead of my personal rating of a 8/10, I give it a almost perfect 9/10 - I recommend this movie to all horror fans, especially those who are nostalgic for retro horror. This movie is awesome!
    Expand
  41. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    "Why is this movie getting awesome scores? What happened in this movie that hasn't happened in every other horror movie?"

    It is an art to make good pictures. It is an art to make feel the viewer emotionally involved. It is an art to place, choose and time sound effects so that they are just "in time". Often in life it is not the story which is told. It is the WAY the story is told!!!!
    The conjuring - for shure - is a composition of already known story fragments, but the way the fragments have been arranged to a dense thrilling story are absolutely f***ng genious. There is barely nothing which I had to criticize respectively that can be criticized. And this is - by all respect to other filmmakers - a seldom situation. double thumps up into my bluray-collection! Expand
  42. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    from the guy who brought you saw and insidious james wan brought us the conjuring which is scary and freaky . i never saw a horror film that was based on a true story . this is sort of like amityville horror but hey it was a good film . i can not wait for the sequel
  43. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    First I heard about it I thought I was going to be really scared about it, but rare times it scared me. But that's not very important, because the movie was not made to be horror. The story was a very good one, which made me think and ask myself why was doing that character a certain weird thing. Even the movie wasn't what I was looking for, I liked it very much because of mistery, characters, especially Lorraine, who had a great role in the story; of course everyone had it own role, and the way they have solved the problem. The thing I didn't like so much was that the exorcism was a quick ritual in the film, about several minutes, where I wanted to see something more. Nevertheless, now, after I watched it it's on my favourite list, so I give it a 9, recommending it for the people who wants mistery. Expand
  44. May 2, 2014
    8
    With such a great cast, great direction, many jump scares, turns out to be not as scary as i expected, but it was way more interesting that i hoped. The story will make you keep on watching until you know what will happen at the end, by the hand of a terrifying score by Joseph Bishara.
  45. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    The Conjuring es una película del género terror que logra cumplir con las expectativas del género, sin duda alguna va a ser considerada una de las mejores películas de terror del 2013.
  46. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    10
    The Conjuring was the best horror movie I've watched! It actually happened and there's a reasonable story behind the true events, as well as the movie!
  47. Apr 10, 2014
    6
    Critics said that it was one of the scariest horror movie from a long time.I said damn i should watch it and the result is that the cation is all in the end of the movie so before it's just long and long.The only good thing in the beginning is the creepy doll.
  48. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    My first REAL Horror movie I have ever watched .....Final Destination 5, The Purge, The Bay. and the Resident Evil movies are horror movies I have watched but THIS is my first demon-posssession/exorcism type of horror I have ever watched. And guess what? I watched it late at night, on my Ipod Touch with earbuds on pretty loud. And guess what? Its one of my favorites of all time! Really really loved it! My favorite horror flick so far....definitely will look more into James Wans movies. Already checked him out on the IMDB!!.

    And this is what has got me into horror movies and now I freaking love horror flicks. Hollywood sure is awesome guys, don't you think? Go see the Conjuring! Oh, and Resident evil are zombie movies.
    Expand
  49. May 26, 2014
    2
    Why did people like this, how? This movie was cliche after cliche, everything in this movie was ripped from other (better) movies, and everything major that happened was so easy to see coming that it was PAINFUL.
  50. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Again, I DARE YOU TO WATCH THIS FILM BY YOURSELF IN THE DARK!!! It's so scary, the government are thinking of adding this film as part of training in the military, in helping soldiers face their fears. lol
  51. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    Los sustos que da son bastante eficientes y la película en si se siente superior en todo a la ridícula Insidious.
    Recomendable a quien le guste el terror con aire clásico, pero con temas espirituales.
  52. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    The Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughly enjoyable (and old-school) horror flick.
  53. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best horror movies I've ever watched. The story is fantastic [and real], I guess I am more afraid of ghosts than I was before seeing this film, it's very good indeed.
  54. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    Using haunting and disturbing imagery instead of violence and gore made the human life a precious thing in "The Conjuring" and that is why enjoyed it a lot. It's a film that is scary enough for You to turn on all the lights and lock all the doors in your house.
  55. Nov 8, 2014
    8
    Horrorosa, perturbante, suspensiva, e inteligente. The Conjuring tiene el paquete completo que una muy buena pelicula de horror deberia tener. Además de garantizarte unas cuantas noches de pesadillas con todo el asunto.
  56. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    "The Conjuring" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: While it was more jumpy than scary (as most horror films are these days), it does have some genuinely creepy moments. Based on actual people who claimed to have been involved in the exorcism of a possessed house, the story is an interesting one. Vera Farmiga is one of my least favorite actresses, but she does a great job
    here. The cast as a whole was more than adequate. An entertaining and enjoyable horror film.

    The Bad: A few supporting characters were sort of forced into the film. You're supposed to care about them somewhat as they feign an attempt to give them personality ... but it doesn't work. There is a lull in the middle where they are investigating the home that I could have done without. Lastly, while it has become a modern horror staple, I wish it hadn't relied on so many hollow jumpy moments.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 3, 2013
    60
    Wan’s film is a sturdily built supernatural chiller, with next-to-no digital effects or gore, and it delivers its scares with a breezy lack of urgency.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    I'd be shocked if we see a better horror film in 2013.
  3. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    The Conjuring is as toothless as it is because it's two different kinds of boring. The film's plot is explained exhaustively whenever loud noises aren't blaring, and random objects aren't teasingly leaping out at you from the corner of your eye.