Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren try to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warrens find themselves caught in the most terrifying case of their lives.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    I'd be shocked if we see a better horror film in 2013.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 12, 2013
    90
    A sensationally entertaining old-school freakout and one of the smartest, most viscerally effective thrillers in recent memory.
  3. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 17, 2013
    83
    As an exercise in classical scare tactics, delivered through an escalating series of primo setpieces, The Conjuring is often supremely effective.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    The Conjuring, at points, is terrifying. Wan really understands how active, acrobatic camerawork can enhance the storytelling without breaking the fourth wall, a technique abused by today’s horror craftsmen.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Whatever your belief system, this much is gospel: Movies like The Conjuring are less about the battle between God and Satan than the battle between the silly and the scary.
  6. 63
    The Conjuring is like a prequel to 40 years of demonic possession thrillers.
  7. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    The Conjuring is as toothless as it is because it's two different kinds of boring. The film's plot is explained exhaustively whenever loud noises aren't blaring, and random objects aren't teasingly leaping out at you from the corner of your eye.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 166
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movieMy girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

    1. crapped my pants
    2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly
    3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to lighten the mood (I assume they didn't like being so scared)
    4. the plot was very good for a horror movie and did I mention I crapped my pants?

    if you like horror go see this movie! wear a diaper...
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. ItThis movie is my best horror movie. The story is based on true events wich makes the movie even more scary especially if it's well played. It has a lot of moments where you think there will be jump scare but in the end it's nothing and thats what makes it so scary, there are a few jump scares yes but not always. Just in the right moments. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughlyThe Conjuring thrills with its countless scares and tense atmosphere. Solid acting and great cinematography only excels this as a thoroughly enjoyable (and old-school) horror flick. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    Great expectations for the title of the film, horror at its highest expression, the situation more chilling is that it is not murder but ofGreat expectations for the title of the film, horror at its highest expression, the situation more chilling is that it is not murder but of spirits. I was scared but with Insidius. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    People in my cinema were laughing just to feel comfortable, this movie will scare you for good, probably one of the best horror movies in thePeople in my cinema were laughing just to feel comfortable, this movie will scare you for good, probably one of the best horror movies in the last decade, a must watch for every horror fan out there. Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    7
    Based on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so theyBased on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so they soon seek out the help of paranormal investigators to get rid of the demon haunting them. The story itself is nothing new and the events surrounding the story isn't anything new but James Wan delivers on the suspense of the telling of a old story. There wasn't any jump scare moments well at least none that got me. Also only being made on a 20 million budget was great none of it looked bad and for making over 300 million worldwide that is something.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 The movie freaked my mom out she siad she wanted to watch a scary movie then after she siad she never want's to see this movie ever again i laughed =D the movie isn't scary at all
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    0
    Is this a propaganda film for the catholic church or something? The plot basically consists of a collage of scenes from other (better) movies.Is this a propaganda film for the catholic church or something? The plot basically consists of a collage of scenes from other (better) movies. It is like Carrie, The Exorcist and Poltergeist mixed together.

    It is certainly not based on any true story whatsoever. Or at least not more true than Fargo.

    When that exorcist guy said it is bad that the children are not baptised I had to laugh. I am sure the church paid some money for that film.
    Expand

See all 166 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.