Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren try to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warrens find themselves caught in the most terrifying case of their lives.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    I'd be shocked if we see a better horror film in 2013.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 12, 2013
    90
    A sensationally entertaining old-school freakout and one of the smartest, most viscerally effective thrillers in recent memory.
  3. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 17, 2013
    83
    As an exercise in classical scare tactics, delivered through an escalating series of primo setpieces, The Conjuring is often supremely effective.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    The Conjuring, at points, is terrifying. Wan really understands how active, acrobatic camerawork can enhance the storytelling without breaking the fourth wall, a technique abused by today’s horror craftsmen.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Whatever your belief system, this much is gospel: Movies like The Conjuring are less about the battle between God and Satan than the battle between the silly and the scary.
  6. 63
    The Conjuring is like a prequel to 40 years of demonic possession thrillers.
  7. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    The Conjuring is as toothless as it is because it's two different kinds of boring. The film's plot is explained exhaustively whenever loud noises aren't blaring, and random objects aren't teasingly leaping out at you from the corner of your eye.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 144
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

    1. crapped my pants
    2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly
    3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to lighten the mood (I assume they didn't like being so scared)
    4. the plot was very good for a horror movie and did I mention I crapped my pants?

    if you like horror go see this movie! wear a diaper...
    Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The Conjuring is easily the most scariest movie to date. Take what you think is scary and times it by 10, and your left with The Conjuring. This movie is a MUST for all horror fans. To the acting, dialogue and creepy sound effect this movie will leave you exhausted by the end wishing you never watched because I can tell you now you won't be getting a goods night sleep. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    It's a classic. From start to finish, this was true beautiful filmmaking. Two months ago I saw a tv spot of this and I thought this could be really good. I was beyond right. This movie is the Inception of horror movies. It was wonderfully put together and everything seemed to just simply work. You're right in there. Many a movies just present a visual that's symbolic through the writing, directing and acting for it's lack of care or passion or vision and just presenting an obviously gimmick picture that's only trying to make cash to give the producers a bigger ego. Now the rare films that actually have passion, care and a vision aren't entirely made to sell tickets. More of, to entertain and satisfy audiences to make the producers feel good to give them a raw feeling, other than the fake feeling of ego boosts, which is utter joy for their inspiring love for film. That's what The Conjuring is all about. It has all the passion, all the care, and all the vision to truly become a great piece of work. It draws you in, and presents a very classic and truly inspiring horror vision that easily got me going with the main titles, which is a small thing but in film the small things are the most important things and become big things in delivering a full, complete impact of a visual. From there on forward, we get phenomenal writing and acting and directing that I would say should be Oscar-worthy. Characters that are relatable and likeable and face empathetic conflicts. It draws you in and makes you believe wants happening on the screen is legit actually happening in front of you. I felt it was real.

    The directing of this film was passionate, the writing was unnerving, and the acting was high-caliber and every element aspect of filmmaking fed off each other to make an enthralling harmony of film magic. I wish every film had this. I mean I want to give this a 10/10, I'm not overly-critical, but giving this a 10 would mean comparing it to Citizen Kane or The Godfather. However this is so damn good, I'm giving it a deserving 9/10. In dire specifics, it'd be a 9.2 which is real high. But this is a horror masterpiece.

    It ends brilliantly. People misinterpret and misunderstand the fact that horror movies don't necessarily have to contain depressing themes. Isn't that kinda what film-noir is? But this stinger believes in delivering a movie, with a horror genre, with an original theme. I mean there's emotion in this. There's a flashback sequence towards the climax that brings a forgotten light in the visual that sustained darkness for the primary portion of the final act that gave me hope, care, and true feeling for these characters, and ultimately belief and inspiration for horror movies and in movies once again. I love it when movies have that and do that, and whenever they do, I'm inspired and obsessed. In this case, possessed.

    The movie felt so genuine, so real, and so authentic that (since it's based on a true story) when they showed the actual people who experienced this, I was truly haunted than I already was. They had to put the stinger in there to make it even more real than it was. Oh, man I couldn't sleep.

    This is a true horror movie and as a summer movie, it's the most inspiring and well put together since Inception. I mean it. The ending was a signature of pure artistry. Like Inception. I don't care if you hate horror movies and/or the stereotype has brainwashed your opinion, GO SEE THIS NOW!!!!!
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    If you despise dolls but love horror films, watch this one.
    A lot of the time I wasn't on the edge of my seat, but sometimes it just gets
    you.
    Fairly good in terms of most horrors, falls a bit short on occasion and the constant jump scares is a bit repetitive, but a good watch
    I recommend
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    I haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historical movie. It was cleverly shot. But I have a problem with the ending. It could have been more pessimistic. But given that the director wanted to make something more than just a horror flick, that is understandable. Do not miss this. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Finally a horror movie that's actually decent! No, it's not anywhere near perfect. There are still some lines and scenes that are laughable at best. But there are some other ones that actually manage to creep you out. I wouldn't call the movie terrifying, but a couple of the characters actually have some personality and depth to them, and the direction is also pretty competent most of the time. This helped me to become mildly, but not drastically, engaged with the story. It really isn't original at all, but you can tell that some thought went into its creation, and that gives it a noticeable advantage on its genre peers. I still wouldn't expect anything come Oscar season though. It's efficiently entertaining, but it's nothing masterful. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    The fact that this piece of crap, generic, been done before film with glaring mistakes is getting fantastical reviews truly leaves me scared for my fellow human beings on metacritic. Collapse

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.