Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren try to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warrens find themselves caught in the most terrifying case of their lives.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    I'd be shocked if we see a better horror film in 2013.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 12, 2013
    90
    A sensationally entertaining old-school freakout and one of the smartest, most viscerally effective thrillers in recent memory.
  3. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 17, 2013
    83
    As an exercise in classical scare tactics, delivered through an escalating series of primo setpieces, The Conjuring is often supremely effective.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    The Conjuring, at points, is terrifying. Wan really understands how active, acrobatic camerawork can enhance the storytelling without breaking the fourth wall, a technique abused by today’s horror craftsmen.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Whatever your belief system, this much is gospel: Movies like The Conjuring are less about the battle between God and Satan than the battle between the silly and the scary.
  6. 63
    The Conjuring is like a prequel to 40 years of demonic possession thrillers.
  7. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 19, 2013
    25
    The Conjuring is as toothless as it is because it's two different kinds of boring. The film's plot is explained exhaustively whenever loud noises aren't blaring, and random objects aren't teasingly leaping out at you from the corner of your eye.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 148
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    My girlfriend loves horror movies and has dragged me to a lot of stinkers, but this movie was not one of them. Possibly the best horror movie I have seen to date! Here are the top reasons why I enjoyed this movie so much

    1. crapped my pants
    2. surprised my girlfriend didn't leave hand prints because she was gripping my arm so tightly
    3. the "brave" guys beside me made lame jokes to lighten the mood (I assume they didn't like being so scared)
    4. the plot was very good for a horror movie and did I mention I crapped my pants?

    if you like horror go see this movie! wear a diaper...
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This movie is definitely one of the best horror movies I have seen so far. I was a bit skeptical at first of this movie, but once it started, I could not keep my eyes off the screen. It was definitely a better movie to see than "My Little Pony: Equestria Girls". I can't wait for James Wan's next installment in the Warren paranormal investigators saga. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    James Wan is a master. I haven't watched many films that he has made but the conjuring is just epic. The first hour it just builds the whole thing and in the second hour true horror comes in the screen. From the first scene, I knew that this movie is going to make me bricks. And of course I was correct. Something really impressive was the actors and the cinematography of the film. Lili Taylor and Vera Farmiga were stunning. As for the cinematography I doubt that there is going to be a better film with that cinematography. Though it has no originality it gives to a horror fan what really wanted for many years. I don't think that there is going to be such a good horror movie in years. Thumbs up! 9,5/10 Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    In the spirit of classic horror flicks, The Conjuring is eerily breathtaking and possibly the scariest movie of the year. It plays with the atmosphere so well with lingering shots, clever lighting manipulation, wicked music and timely scare. Not much CG is involved as it practically uses simple tricks to its amazing potential, it's surprising how effective they can be. Screenplay are done so well, at many occasions it felt as if the theater is frozen at the sight of stunningly ominous scenes. The director, James Wan from Insidious, crafts the movie brilliantly to the point of making these entities and people who are abused by them seemingly real.

    Story follows Warrens couple, acclaimed demonologists who attempt to help Perron family as they battle their demonic invaders. Roger and Carolyn Perron with their five children move into a rural home where they are constantly being abused by ghosts of the past. Warrens eventually volunteer to help the family despite their own plaguing problem. The premise is simple, but it is executed with excellence. Characters are interestingly engaging, especially the younger girls, they convey the terror pretty well and the way camera idles around them makes it even more unsettling.

    There is little modern influence on the movie, everything looks very archaic, and it's not just limited in the retro setting, but the overall nuance feels much like traditional western horror. The terror works fantastically with whispering ambiance, the slight display of other rooms around the camera angle and how the shadows enchantingly move about. Cinematography looks intentionally old, although it flutters in such precision you'll be involuntarily captivated into searching that strange dark corner where something might just appear.

    Its scare utilizes some jump scare as well, but it is not cheap. The director builds up tension masterfully just by tilting the camera or lingering a few more seconds for specific scene. The result is nothing less than a thrill, I found myself shivering in some instances. Soundtracks adds to the horror even more, its hauntingly and somewhat choir-like mumble or inexplicable screeching is immensely frightening, making crawling noises of something that lurks uninvited. Everything is choreographed meticulously without resorting to blood and gore, albeit there is little seeping here.

    It's nice to see the old vibe of horror makes its return, James Wan is a talented director and his antique style is remarkably fresh. The main protagonist, Patrick Wilson, who is also involved in Insidious, is looking very comfortable in this genre. I'm excited to see the sequels in near future, but for now The Conjuring will chill your spine delightfully.
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    I haven't liked a horror movie in a long time and I'm pleased to say that that period is over. The scares were calculated and chilling. The mood was consistent and did not let up. The acting was OK. It felt like I was watching a historical movie. It was cleverly shot. But I have a problem with the ending. It could have been more pessimistic. But given that the director wanted to make something more than just a horror flick, that is understandable. Do not miss this. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Finally a horror movie that's actually decent! No, it's not anywhere near perfect. There are still some lines and scenes that are laughable at best. But there are some other ones that actually manage to creep you out. I wouldn't call the movie terrifying, but a couple of the characters actually have some personality and depth to them, and the direction is also pretty competent most of the time. This helped me to become mildly, but not drastically, engaged with the story. It really isn't original at all, but you can tell that some thought went into its creation, and that gives it a noticeable advantage on its genre peers. I still wouldn't expect anything come Oscar season though. It's efficiently entertaining, but it's nothing masterful. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    The fact that this piece of crap, generic, been done before film with glaring mistakes is getting fantastical reviews truly leaves me scared for my fellow human beings on metacritic. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.