The Constant Gardener

The Constant Gardener Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Adapted from the novel by John le Carre, this is a gripping romantic thriller that sweeps audiences along one man's emotional and global journey to uncover the truth behind a personal loss and a worldwide conspiracy. (Focus Features)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    Like "City of God," it feels organically rooted. Like many Le Carre stories, it begins with grief and proceeds with sadness toward horror. Its closing scenes are as cynical about international politics and commerce as I can imagine. I would like to believe they are an exaggeration, but I fear they are not. This is one of the year's best films.
  2. It's a love story only in passing. And yet the love story is what lingers in the mind and gives energy and meaning to everything that happens on-screen.
  3. Essentially two movies for the price of one. But those halves add up to more than most movies right now.
  4. Isn't quite a great espionage movie or a great Africa movie, but in a summer of heat and wind, it's the next best thing.
  5. 80
    A smart, beautiful piece of storytelling, attentive to Le Carré's broad intent, while boldly taking a knife to his more egregious longueurs.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    75
    With almost palpable anger, Meirelles hammers home the point that crushing poverty is only one problem for Africa that the West needs to do something about.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Jim Fusilli
    50
    In the end, The Constant Gardener is hardly more than yet another study of white, upper-middle-class martyrdom rather than the hard look at third-world suffering it might've been.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 140
  2. Negative: 35 out of 140
  1. Peter
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie, rachel was fantastic so as ralph.
  2. DorothyM.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Excellent from start to finish.
  3. JoeC.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Great movie. Works as a thriller, romance and drama. Great performances by Fiennes and Weisz and Meirelles is proving himself as a master of Great movie. Works as a thriller, romance and drama. Great performances by Fiennes and Weisz and Meirelles is proving himself as a master of filmmaking! Expand
  4. ChadS.
    Sep 5, 2005
    8
    Since Justin's jealousy over Tessa's secret life is what transforms the thriller/suspense elements in "The Constant Gardner" from Since Justin's jealousy over Tessa's secret life is what transforms the thriller/suspense elements in "The Constant Gardner" from being the stuff of mere escapist entertainment into a story we take seriously, keeping Ralph Fiennes tortured to the very last frame would've helped this very good film be a great one. Tell us, but don't tell Justin. Rachel Weisz does a wonderful job of channeling Kate Winslet in this career-changing performance. She might've made "Beyond Borders" watchable. Expand
  5. StanC.
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    Not a great mystery...not very likeable characters; yet beautifully filmed, with great acting. A real mixed bag...glad I saw it, I think!
  6. TedM.
    Sep 30, 2005
    4
    Dreadfully slow and preachy, I thought that even the Nicholas Cage film "Lord of War" had a more mature (and entertaining) perspective on Dreadfully slow and preachy, I thought that even the Nicholas Cage film "Lord of War" had a more mature (and entertaining) perspective on Western exploitation of Africa. Expand
  7. HinckleyA.
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    The reason for the zero is that I went to the theater expecting to see somthing spectacular. Instead, I was treated to a very slow developing The reason for the zero is that I went to the theater expecting to see somthing spectacular. Instead, I was treated to a very slow developing poltical statement against the big drug corporations who test medicines in the third world nations in Africa. Excuse me but are we suggesting that these pharmaceutical companies actually knowingly kill innocent people purposely? Of course not. It is no different that the world's soldiers who actually get killed fighting are poor people from around the world. In order to perfect a drug it must be tried somewhere before obtaining FDA approval is it not? So what we are doing is providing our drugs for FREE to third world nations and monitoring its effects. Yes, some drugs I'm certain have side effects. But most, actually help sick people, a fact that was lost on the producers of this one sided propaganda film. As for the acting it was okay but the story had more plot holes than Carter had little liver pills. Very slow moving and boring to tell the truth. The rave reviews are not warranted considering the subject matter. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.