Lions Gate Films | Release Date: November 26, 2003
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
13
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
PatC.Sep 28, 2004
This craft strains mightily to lift off but runs out of runway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GinoE.Jun 7, 2004
What is the definition of luck? Can luck be changed or manipulated by love, happiness, sadness or other feelings a man has? This could have been a fantasy film trying to explain luck. This could have been a lightweight romantic comedy. This What is the definition of luck? Can luck be changed or manipulated by love, happiness, sadness or other feelings a man has? This could have been a fantasy film trying to explain luck. This could have been a lightweight romantic comedy. This could have been a serious casino drama. The quistion is: What did Mr. Kramer want 'The cooler' to become? You could say that lot of scenes don't really fit the movie. But which ones are they? That all depends on from what angle you look at it. Especially the ending makes it all even worse. The actors are great, with Baldwin on top. So if you're looking for a good reason to watch it, this is it. For the rest: It could have been something really good, cause there is enough potential, but we've seen more films that tried to combine genres and failed. So this in not the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonT.Jun 9, 2004
This is as cookie cutter as it gets. I was excited to see this film, especially after hearing all the hype about the performances. I can't think of much good to say about it, though. It is dull, predictable, and a waste of time for the This is as cookie cutter as it gets. I was excited to see this film, especially after hearing all the hype about the performances. I can't think of much good to say about it, though. It is dull, predictable, and a waste of time for the most part. Wait till it hits starz or showtime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MatthewB.Apr 19, 2010
Awful film. While Leaving los vegas was revolutionary, this pursues the same situation, if not the same story, with little realism or panache. Alec Baldwin's actin is good, and won a few awards, but William Macy seems off-key in his Awful film. While Leaving los vegas was revolutionary, this pursues the same situation, if not the same story, with little realism or panache. Alec Baldwin's actin is good, and won a few awards, but William Macy seems off-key in his attempt to portray lovable loser Bernie. The romance seems improbable to say the least, and the dialogue is both boring and entirely predictable- add to that the offense of a main character with seemingly supernatural unluckiness, and you have a near-disaster. If it weren't for the sex scenes- which were brave, if overly improbable again - I wouldn't've felt the slightest amount of thrill at this unhappy loser of a dvd. Good luck would be to avoid it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
UnbearableLightnessDec 10, 2003
I really wanted to like this movie. I'm a big fan of William H Macy and I also love Ron Livingston. Unfortunatly this was one of those movies where you saw every plot point coming from a mile away. By the end of the movie the sound of I really wanted to like this movie. I'm a big fan of William H Macy and I also love Ron Livingston. Unfortunatly this was one of those movies where you saw every plot point coming from a mile away. By the end of the movie the sound of the saxophone made me want to vomit. On a positive note, I felt Macy, Baldwin and Bello all did a great job with a boring plot. Do yourself a favor, stay home and rewatch Casino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RirenFeb 26, 2007
The leftovers of Casino, served up with a side of morose independent movie spirit. Its so-called love story is half-hearted, an excuse for some uninteresting and brazen sex scenes. William Macy is an amazing actor who I'd watch doing The leftovers of Casino, served up with a side of morose independent movie spirit. Its so-called love story is half-hearted, an excuse for some uninteresting and brazen sex scenes. William Macy is an amazing actor who I'd watch doing anything, but doing a blonde and frowning at a poker table are a waste of his talents. The movie seals its fate by throwing a dozen false endings at you, none more creative or plausible than the last. I guess they thought they were being clever. They were wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JerryR.Dec 18, 2003
An engaging film marred by holes in the script and a deus ex machina ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SpangleDec 14, 2016
The Cooler is a low-key early 2000s film that has an almost mystical or fantastical feeling to its very realistic setting, in large due to it taking place in Las Vegas. A dream-like environment in the real world, The Cooler captures thisThe Cooler is a low-key early 2000s film that has an almost mystical or fantastical feeling to its very realistic setting, in large due to it taking place in Las Vegas. A dream-like environment in the real world, The Cooler captures this feeling as it tells the story of the unluckiest man on Earth, Bernie Lootz (William H. Macy). A "cooler" for the Shangri-La casino, Bernie's luck begins to turn around when he meets Natalie (Maria Bello). However, drama arises when it becomes clear that Bernie's cruel, old-school mobster and casino head Shelly (Alec Baldwin) will not let this change of fate happen for Bernie. A character study, The Cooler is a pretty down-to-earth film with nothing extravagant about it and it is a worthy film in this area, but the ending feels far too happy for the subject matter.

In a typically great performance, Macy plays the unlucky and deeply depressed Bernie incredibly well. Emoting the change of fate due to the addition of Natalie to his life, Macy really brings life to the character throughout and does a great job creating sympathy for this sad soul. Through dialogue and small visual cues (such as the cream in the coffee), director Wayne Kramer expertly highlights the difference in Bernie and his aura that surrounds him. At the beginning, when he came on screen, the screen itself felt cold and unwelcoming. By the end, it had a certain warmth and level of comfort that was discovered by Bernie in his scenes with Natalie. Yet, the best part of this movie is Alec Baldwin. Hands down. He did not get a Golden Globe and Academy Award nomination for this role for no reason. Cold, calculating, yet alone, outmatched, and much like a lion being left for dead by his pride, Baldwin is a brutal, yet oddly sympathetic figure at times. Playing this dichotomy very well, Baldwin somehow elicits compassion from the audience despite the horrible actions he partakes in as a mobster and casino owner. By the end, we realize he acts out of pain and desperation in order to keep his control and really becomes a tragic figure by the end. His horrible actions are still inexcusable, such as his abuse of Natalie, but he is a far more complicated figure than one might expect and Baldwin excels in this role here.

Unfortunately this character study, while engaging, is undone by a silly happy ending. Though the film feels as though it spiraling towards a certain conclusion that would fit with the trajectory of its tragic figures, it cops out at the end and opts to give us a lovey dovey conclusion. Not only is it uncharacteristic for the film itself, but it is far too abrupt and, if it needed to be include, should have felt far more seamless and less jarring.

The romance between Natalie and Bernie has a loose and natural feeling that helps it blend into the rest of the film. Though a weaker element compared to the scenes in the casino, the romance still largely works, even if it is incredibly contrived and cliche. From being paid to actual love to trying to run away, the romance in The Cooler may work because of some odd chemistry between Macy and Bello, but it is hardly worthy of the focus it receives in the film as a whole. It is a shame that we did not get more of the relationship between Bernie and Shelly, in particular the issues regarding the casino and its future. There is far more meat on those bones, than in the scenes of romance. While largely well crafted, it is not due to originality or intrigue, but merely rides on the talent of its actors.

A low-key character study, The Cooler is a finely paced and compelling story set in Las Vegas. Graced with the a mystical feeling, The Cooler develops terrific characters, but a cliche romance element and a jarring ending hold the film back from being anything but above average to pretty good. Yet, it is hard to deny that its actors, particularly Alec Baldwin, are absolutely brilliant and the direction by Wayne Kramer is great with terrific subtleties to reveal the true nature of the characters he puts under the microscope.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews