Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 28, 2003
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
32
Mixed:
22
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
EpicLadySpongeMay 4, 2016
It's like that 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea novel, but instead of sea, you get core and instead of leagues, you get degrees. The core is actually 10,832 °F, but what's with the extra 9,168 °F? Try to figure that question out to yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnJordanJan 11, 2016
I love this movie! I show it to my high school students every year when we talk about Earth structure and the dynamo in which the rotating liquid outer core generates a magnetic field. The acting is emotional and realistic. I've seen thisI love this movie! I show it to my high school students every year when we talk about Earth structure and the dynamo in which the rotating liquid outer core generates a magnetic field. The acting is emotional and realistic. I've seen this film probably a hundred times and it still gives me goose bumps i.e. "Why didn't you do it!" This film rocks! I think those that are very critical don't understand the science of the film and therefore don't appreciate the subtle ways in which it was expressed. I will take this film with me to the grave lol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
juliankennedy23Nov 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Core: 5/10: Disaster movies always seem to do better when the disaster is local in scope. A city threatened by avalanche, a tower threatened by an inferno, a Poseidon threatened by an adventure, that kind of thing. Earth killer movies are always a harder road.

You have your 4 standard horseman of the earth disaster; nuclear war, space invaders, plagues (esp. those that create zombies), and meteors. Lately earth killing movies have gotten creative and lets face it stupid, global warming (The Day after Tomorrow), President George W Bush (Fahrenheit 911) and now The Core with it's well… I'm still not sure what broke.

The core of the earth stopped spinning (not the earth itself mind you) which is causing the electromagnetic field to dissipate. Okay, that sounds serious. So that would cause what exactly? Apparently the movie wasn't all that sure so we get scenes of some the lamest and implausible disasters ever. Lets put two under the scientific microphone shall we.

One involves birds going all Hitchcock in London due to their inability to navigate using the magnetic field. Okay that may effect the birds ability to fly south (Oh my god the pigeons they're going east!), but even the Mr. Magoo of the avian world wouldn't start flying into statues and buses.

In another all too short montage a lightning storm destroys the Roman Coliseum. I'm not sure what is more unlikely, lighting striking relatively short rock structures, or the granite exploding when it does. Lightning, last time I checked, was attracted to metal.

But what would you expect from a movie that puts a giant windshield in a rock-drilling machine (Made with that magic metal Unobtainium). Keep in mind I've only scratched the surface of the silliness.

Acting wise Stanley Tucci is a joy, Hillary Swank still kind of looks like a guy, and everyone else is forgettable. The Core is enjoyable in that bad 50's sci-fi kind of way. But they needed more (and more plausible) disasters, and much less well everything else.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MichMartApr 6, 2014
The characters are a bit arrogant and the USA is "of course" the only country, who can save the world. This movie could be more interesting or have a better atmosphere, which I think is quite important for a space movie. The science isn't soThe characters are a bit arrogant and the USA is "of course" the only country, who can save the world. This movie could be more interesting or have a better atmosphere, which I think is quite important for a space movie. The science isn't so important for me since it's still a science-FICTION-movie. But I unfortunately miss a (deep) meaning to this movie.

I don't know why people think "Armageddon" would be better. Has it more "cool" scenes? Because unlike it, "The Core" has more serious characters, some mysterious scenes and even a more interesting travel. Why should "Armageddon" deserve some Oscar-nominations and "The Core" not even a simple nomination?
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kingacres0Dec 22, 2012
The story is highly improbable, not credible (pigeons tearing bullet holes through plate glass windows[!?!], hysterical, ill-trained "terranauts", a terraship infinitely more complicated than the "Manhattan Project" built in 90 days, staticThe story is highly improbable, not credible (pigeons tearing bullet holes through plate glass windows[!?!], hysterical, ill-trained "terranauts", a terraship infinitely more complicated than the "Manhattan Project" built in 90 days, static electrical storms that feature lightning strikes that blow up things instead of going to ground) BUT the story was FUN! It was a hell of a ride if we can turn off our skeptical minds for a couple of hours. The production values were excellent. The principle actors and their director did really well with a comic-book script. Swank, Eckart, Tucci were great and their interplay with the others in the crews of the ship and "Houston-on-Surface" were the credible features of the film.
Think about it this way: had you gone with your kids, they would have loved it! The "zero" reviewers need to lighten up. My 8 year old gave it a "ten" and her pleasure was good enough for me. I give it a borderline pass and a score of 65.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CooterPatooterMar 7, 2012
The label of "science fiction" doesn't mean you get to do whatever you want and expect audiences to believe it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MarrachGMay 17, 2009
After being initially disgusted by the sheer stupidity of this film, i've gradually come to love it for the same reason. No disaster movie is more memorable than this one; with the eye-poppingly bad science simply adding to the charm.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexandraE.Nov 4, 2008
This movie was a fast. Quick, pace thriller. I cannot believe the awful reviews they gave tom this movie. I loved it. I really did. The Core showed me that everything that is impossible can be possible. Don't listen to the critics of This movie was a fast. Quick, pace thriller. I cannot believe the awful reviews they gave tom this movie. I loved it. I really did. The Core showed me that everything that is impossible can be possible. Don't listen to the critics of those who just like movies with woman. Listen to me... You are going to LOVE it! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
6
prashJan 19, 2008
The movie is science fiction proving scientific theories wrong still the movie is brought as a good job.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
rated best for the amazing effects and twists and funny bits, but worst due to nonsensical bits which in fact, the mantle cant stop spinning for no reason at least it was good although somewhat scary. despite the plot holes and badly done rated best for the amazing effects and twists and funny bits, but worst due to nonsensical bits which in fact, the mantle cant stop spinning for no reason at least it was good although somewhat scary. despite the plot holes and badly done bits, it was, in fact, AWESOME!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Dec 12, 2007
Sometimes these ratings just don't make sense to me. Sure it was an all right science fiction depiction. The beginning kind of took its time and the only problem is that they didn't actually launch the ship until past half way Sometimes these ratings just don't make sense to me. Sure it was an all right science fiction depiction. The beginning kind of took its time and the only problem is that they didn't actually launch the ship until past half way through. And then they sped through a quick adventure through the core. The film was exciting and dull at the same time, its kind of cool how the director wishes to kill everyone off, well it still was a good sci-fi film. But I totally disagree with these reviews given here. Just a pretty good movie with a disappointing plot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MollyC.Oct 6, 2007
I really liked this movie. Sure, it wasn't as deep as "Truman Show", but it was gripping and the characters were better than in "Poseidon". And no, if you are a physical scientist, who just stumbled over this movie by chance: do not I really liked this movie. Sure, it wasn't as deep as "Truman Show", but it was gripping and the characters were better than in "Poseidon". And no, if you are a physical scientist, who just stumbled over this movie by chance: do not watch it! It is not the most truthful movie in the world! But then, which movie Hollywood ever produced was? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AngelaC.Aug 30, 2007
This movie is quite interesting.. But then it's really impossible for them to go onto the core!! their ship must have melt even if they're still on the mantle!! haha... but it really made me laugh!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamesApr 28, 2007
This movie is the worst piece of shit I have ever seen in my life! i nearly fell asleep!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HamishS.Mar 31, 2007
Wow. I hope no one got paid for writing this. This has got to have one of the worst plots of any film with some of the biggest holes ever (no pun intended).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StewartI.Sep 11, 2006
I love this film. I don't care about the plot-holes and implausibility
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TravisD.Jul 15, 2006
I somewhat enjoyed this movie. I'm not very picky when it comes to sci-fi movies, but I think this couldv'e done a lot better, and I've lost a lot of respect for these great actors after being in a mediocre movie such as this. I somewhat enjoyed this movie. I'm not very picky when it comes to sci-fi movies, but I think this couldv'e done a lot better, and I've lost a lot of respect for these great actors after being in a mediocre movie such as this. I think this a so and so movie that was okay, but couldv'e been much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustineMay 12, 2006
I loved it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TYQBBMay 10, 2006
Not a bad film, but the story is simply too stupid. Going to the core of the earth? That is total rubbish. However, at least there is some excitment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindsayM.Apr 25, 2004
I think that Hilary Swank really hit the spot. She is a good actress and she should get a golden globe for this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatC.Jan 13, 2004
Rotten to...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DracoB.Nov 14, 2003
ALMOST as hilarious as "Reptilicus", with excellent special effects and a more apt cast, except Swank. You will laugh, I promise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomG.Oct 9, 2003
Admittedly, this disaster movie isn't for everyone but, for those who love a good sci-fi disaster movie, this movie is truly a hollywood spectacle. Definitely one to add to your collection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CharlesG.Sep 27, 2003
Might make it to "mystery science 3000" before a broadcast premiere. preposterous. doesn't even qualify as a B movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BitBurnSep 22, 2003
KKKKKRAP Peanut Buttah!!! Even the no-name brand taste better!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelissaM.Sep 21, 2003
This movie is no Armageddon, but fun nonetheless. First class B-scifi movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GregT.Sep 15, 2003
All nonsense, but fun nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TheJoyOfCookingGilbertMulroneycakesJul 12, 2003
The concept's not bad - certainly at least 56% original - the execution, not so much. But as these sorts of things go, worse disaster movies happen at sea - Pearl Harbor, anyone? Perfect rental fodder.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnnaS.Jun 26, 2003
When was the last time these reviewers ever liked this crap?I will never get a chance to see any stupid movie like that again!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DemetriusJun 23, 2003
What an embarassment? God awful!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DerekW.Jun 23, 2003
I think Jody means to say "its so bad its good". If you know absolutely nothing about science you might be able to swallow the crap they throw at you. I give this movie a 2 because some of the reviews made me laugh. Instead of seeing this I think Jody means to say "its so bad its good". If you know absolutely nothing about science you might be able to swallow the crap they throw at you. I give this movie a 2 because some of the reviews made me laugh. Instead of seeing this movie, I suggest hitting yourself on the head with a hammer for 2 hours, it'll be less painful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LassieJun 12, 2003
After watching this drek all that I can say is "Oh my God" as it was that awful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JodyMay 31, 2003
Fantastic. This is a movie composed entirely of testicular fortitude. No plot, no acting, no intelligible story, just guts: the guts to not only completely ignore the actual laws of science, but even the fake science they made up earlier in Fantastic. This is a movie composed entirely of testicular fortitude. No plot, no acting, no intelligible story, just guts: the guts to not only completely ignore the actual laws of science, but even the fake science they made up earlier in the movie. They pursue a series of evens so monumentally preposterous that I can't imagine not having a good time when watching it. Certainly not an effective "disaster epic" if you're going for believable suspense, but a fantastic camp fest of the highest form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillyB.May 11, 2003
Was this someone's expensive idea of a joke? It is too badly made to even put into words. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
D.SaylesApr 27, 2003
........Don't see it unless you are so bored you are going to kill yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DelvinD.Apr 24, 2003
Who writes this crap? Absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. It is a total joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZachApr 22, 2003
Action Blockbuster??? How about laughable cannon fodder. It is terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WendyApr 20, 2003
Please tell me that I am dreaming and that this garbage was not released. How could these actors even speak their parts with a straight face? The Core is downright embarassing as every cheesy aspect was stolen from another movie; and Please tell me that I am dreaming and that this garbage was not released. How could these actors even speak their parts with a straight face? The Core is downright embarassing as every cheesy aspect was stolen from another movie; and painfully, poorly done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarolAnnApr 18, 2003
Conceivably the worst movie of the year. It insults your intelligence and non-action would be a more proper adjective. The acting, directing, screenplay and special effects were simply appalling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheElusivePossomApr 16, 2003
For Heaven's Sake, don't listen to the radio advertisments: this is NOT the action blockbuster of the year. In fact, for a disaster movie, there's very little action to speak of in the way of earth-shattering special effects. For Heaven's Sake, don't listen to the radio advertisments: this is NOT the action blockbuster of the year. In fact, for a disaster movie, there's very little action to speak of in the way of earth-shattering special effects. The script is appalling. Consider going with a friend if you've nothing else to do, and parts of it might appeal to your sense of humour (think birds flying into windows...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZekeApr 14, 2003
Jack, Independence Day? That was one of the best science fiction movies ever made? The Core should only be so lucky? It is so bad that I envisioned the actors lining up while it was being made saying to the director "kill me next". It is a Jack, Independence Day? That was one of the best science fiction movies ever made? The Core should only be so lucky? It is so bad that I envisioned the actors lining up while it was being made saying to the director "kill me next". It is a joke and very poorly made. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidK.Apr 11, 2003
They left out two words before the title... Rotten To The Core would be more appropriate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackApr 11, 2003
Dumb but entertaining enough. Think Armaggeddon or Independence Day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JousrheJ.Apr 7, 2003
It would be unjustified to give this movie a zero because the preview fooled me and that is credit enough for at least two points. After the preview though, this film is not worth much. Although I was expecting cookie-cutter mindless science It would be unjustified to give this movie a zero because the preview fooled me and that is credit enough for at least two points. After the preview though, this film is not worth much. Although I was expecting cookie-cutter mindless science fiction entertainment, this movie only provided severely underdeveloped plotpoints, long boring travel scenes, confusing special effects (are they drilling or floating?) and a lacking in mass destruction. The only redeeming thing about the film is that THE CORE rhymes with THE BORE, and this makes it easier to describe when suggesting it to friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackieS.Apr 7, 2003
Bring back Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea? Was this a spoof of that or was it really this bad? I couldn't take any of it seriously. It was absurd and laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanetS.Apr 5, 2003
This movie is so bad that I actually thought that the actors would start laughing when they deliverd their lines. It is absolutely predictable and ridiculous. The special effects were a joke as was every other aspect of this production. Just This movie is so bad that I actually thought that the actors would start laughing when they deliverd their lines. It is absolutely predictable and ridiculous. The special effects were a joke as was every other aspect of this production. Just a complete waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanN.Apr 4, 2003
Any experienced moviegoer will be prepared for a cookie-cutter Hollywood movie with a ludicrous plot and outlandish special effects --and this movie lives up to the expectation. But you will leave the theatre very happy with its stellar Any experienced moviegoer will be prepared for a cookie-cutter Hollywood movie with a ludicrous plot and outlandish special effects --and this movie lives up to the expectation. But you will leave the theatre very happy with its stellar cast, non-stop fun factor and surprising likeability. I expected sh.t but saw gold. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AaronApr 1, 2003
This is too bad to even be believed. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BunnC.Mar 31, 2003
Ok, it had a few misses, but this was an ok movie. Somewhat credible science fiction, solid acting and a few fun moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CantyE.Mar 31, 2003
Any professional critic who gave The Core above 25 has to be suspect? This movie is completely devoid of anything approaching competency in the acting, directing, and screenplay. Even the special effects were cheesy. It is an insult to any Any professional critic who gave The Core above 25 has to be suspect? This movie is completely devoid of anything approaching competency in the acting, directing, and screenplay. Even the special effects were cheesy. It is an insult to any person who watched this that possesses even an ounce of intelligence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoviMar 31, 2003
Although it tries to be like ID4 and Armageddon, this want to be Jules Verne Journey to the Center of the Earth was not bad. It is cheesy and the science of it all is questionable, however, it delivers fun and good special effects. What Although it tries to be like ID4 and Armageddon, this want to be Jules Verne Journey to the Center of the Earth was not bad. It is cheesy and the science of it all is questionable, however, it delivers fun and good special effects. What really helps the film is the cast. Solid acting from most and the dialogue is at times quick and funny. Worth the matinee price, and worth the time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FantasyMar 30, 2003
As I watched this all that I could think of was how did these actors accept these parts and how the professional critics suffered watching this garbage. This is too bad to describe. Just save your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmberMar 30, 2003
This is so bad that I had to hold it in for fear of laughing. It is like watching a spaghetti western with dubbing except it is science fiction and it is their real voices. How the actors played this straight without cracking up is beyond This is so bad that I had to hold it in for fear of laughing. It is like watching a spaghetti western with dubbing except it is science fiction and it is their real voices. How the actors played this straight without cracking up is beyond all comprehension. I was waiting for Godzilla to drop in art any moment? You have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LassiterP.Mar 30, 2003
I have only one word to say: REFUND!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RobertH.Mar 30, 2003
As an avid science fiction movie buff I am at a loss as to where to begin? I gave it a 1 rating because the actors suffered enough. The cast individually are usually among Hollywood's best? How they signed on after reading this script As an avid science fiction movie buff I am at a loss as to where to begin? I gave it a 1 rating because the actors suffered enough. The cast individually are usually among Hollywood's best? How they signed on after reading this script is beyond all imagination? Perhaps the economy is getting to them also. The premise for the movie held promise. After fifteen minutes, the story just falls apart. I could not help but wonder how the actors could keep a straight face to deliver their lines? The acting was horrible, as were the directing, screenplay, special effects and just about everything else. This was a bad remake of the old television series "Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea" meets "Fantastic Voyage" with just a touch of "Independence Day" thrown in? The producers stole every idea as nothing was original. The best way to describe this drek is to pretend it was old B movie from the 1950's. You could bottle this and place it on Mystery Science Theater 3000. The only way I could keep evenly mildly amused was to guess which of the crew would be the next to mercifully die? I was expecting Bruce Willis to drop in from his asteroid any minute? How this was made is beyond all belief? Simply laughable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeF.Mar 30, 2003
I happen to feel that I am reasonably intelligent and am a college grad (altho those two don't always go hand in hand) . Therefore, I realize that NONE of this could ever happen or take place. But who cared!!! My friend and I had a I happen to feel that I am reasonably intelligent and am a college grad (altho those two don't always go hand in hand) . Therefore, I realize that NONE of this could ever happen or take place. But who cared!!! My friend and I had a great time and it was enjoyable. We were entertained completely and didn't realize 2h 15m went by. Go see it and don't worry about reality. I mean, when you think about it, how real is ANY movie, even the 'serious' ones??? The goal of any movie is to entertain. And we were! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JackMar 30, 2003
Not a completely horrible movie, but fun enough to catch the "in-jokes" and pointed commentary at modern culture (see Rome); those gems were misguidedly enjoyed by my chortling, brash, and clueless fellow movie-goers who failed to grasp Not a completely horrible movie, but fun enough to catch the "in-jokes" and pointed commentary at modern culture (see Rome); those gems were misguidedly enjoyed by my chortling, brash, and clueless fellow movie-goers who failed to grasp those nuances. Go see it anyway; it's worth the chuckles. Now I feel like a snob. Heh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillW.Mar 30, 2003
Ok listen up! There is now way anything in this movie could have happened. They went to the Earth's Core. ITS 10 000 DEGREES!! The whole movie was a bunch of bull...t lies that didnt even begin to make sense! Worst movie of the year so far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdrianV.Mar 29, 2003
"The Core" is a hard core good time film to start the blockbuster season on. You never feel that you need a PHD to understand the story or the screenplay to get what they say. The acting could of been better, but its not why we go to this "The Core" is a hard core good time film to start the blockbuster season on. You never feel that you need a PHD to understand the story or the screenplay to get what they say. The acting could of been better, but its not why we go to this kind of film. Stanley Tucci make you hate him by making the character a ahole. Saan Francisco getting distroyed was the best part of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful