Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Colette Bancroft
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The Counselor explodes with violence that is grisly, but not gratuitous: McCarthy has a point to make. Wars create monsters, and the drug war is no exception.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    This one has more in common with Scott’s “Thelma & Louise” in the memorable way it escalates, inevitably but also unexpectedly, into a spin through wilder country, and a meditation on bigger themes.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 24, 2013
    68
    A darkly tense drama that rarely hits anything resembling an emotional beat.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's not so much a bad film as it is a disappointing one. A very disappointing one.
  5. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Nov 20, 2013
    40
    It feels like a film that is attracted by the shape of love and pain, but is a long way from understanding the content.
  6. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Oct 24, 2013
    38
    What you don’t expect is camp. The Counselor is more "Wild Things" than "No Country for Old Men", with which it shares a border town setting. But at least "Wild Things" knew what it was. The Counselor treats its material seriously and seems to have no idea it’s a joke that can’t even muster up a bit of smarty-pants Tarantino cleverness or energy.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Oct 25, 2013
    0
    The Counselor is nothing but a dumb, gory, grab-bag of clichés and the biggest waste of talent since "Savages." It makes Oliver Stone look subtle.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 83
  2. Negative: 42 out of 83
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    In my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable receptionIn my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable reception towards this film and write it off without the blink of an eye.

    Now I am in no way saying that my opinion is absolute (it so clearly is not), and I would also like to point out that I do not throw around 10-ratings lightly.
    This film is, without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I have seen in years.
    Ridley Scott is an artist with a 'true vision', and I will not argue that it requires one to be on a certain wavelength in order to perceive this vision (I do not mean to sound pretentious).
    Every inch of Cormac McCarthy's dialogue is profoundly thought-provoking and unknowingly exposing,
    and the performances are brilliant to the point of the cast's A-list status coming off as a mere coincidental detail. Fassbender, Pitt, Diaz, Bardem, and Cruz all exhibit the same fearless resolve as Scott on the other side of the lense.
    Despite common criticism of the film's 'lack of cohesion' or 'identity confusion', I assert that this film's self-identity is actually stronger than most. Those who cannot recognize this cannot see the forest for the trees. Those who are not familiar with a more 'Art-house' approach to film-making/story-telling will most likely end up alienated. This movie makes no attempt to ease viewers into its twisted and bizarrely real world, and that is ENTIRELY intentional.

    Again, I do not mean to sound aggressive towards those many who dislike this film.
    I simply wanted to present my personal appreciation for this film which I consider monumental, and for those intrigued but disenchanted by the negative reception to persevere until they can form their own opinion.
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    From start to finish, it is perfectly acted, with philosophical depth that only few may understand let alone truly appreciate.

    The
    From start to finish, it is perfectly acted, with philosophical depth that only few may understand let alone truly appreciate.

    The generally negative reviews illuminate only that the mass public and supposed 'professional' critics are blind to brilliant film making and flawless cinematic execution with this sort of power and magnitude. There are few films that will submerge you into a world this dark and thought provoking.

    'This film is without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I've seen in years'
    Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    most critics these days are, unfortunately shills or pedant arses. to appreciate this strange, dark and beautiful film on its own terms onmost critics these days are, unfortunately shills or pedant arses. to appreciate this strange, dark and beautiful film on its own terms on the big screen is incredibly rewarding. For the viewer in need of a challenge, an abstraction of language, of poetry, beauty humor and savagery, toward death --an (un)real) moment written by its ending a human milieu on the edge of nihilism a film about what it lacks -mercy. unforgettable Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    3
    I can't lie to you about your chances,but anybody who sees this movie has my sympathies. Good dialogue and acting are a must for anyI can't lie to you about your chances,but anybody who sees this movie has my sympathies. Good dialogue and acting are a must for any successful film,and apparently Ridley Scott thought that they were in such abundance he needed nothing more. The plot is simple and sophomoric. You keep waiting for the underlying grand design to slowly manifest itself,but when the credits start to roll you see that this is it. By the half-way point,or sooner,you will have figured out who's good,bad,or just stupid. Also,almost every character gets their turn to wax philosophic. Even the owner of a broken down hole in the wall bar shares his lugubrious outlook on life. And lastly,I know movies like to drop in the title of the show periodically if it's appropriate,and counselor is a popular euphemism for attorney, but the word "counselor" is used so often it borders on ludicrous. Some might consider "Someone to Watch Over Me" one of Scott's lesser films,but it's ten times the movie "The Counselor" is. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    Wow, I was surprised at how bad this film was. Coming from such a great director I was more disappointed than when I saw Prometheus. First ofWow, I was surprised at how bad this film was. Coming from such a great director I was more disappointed than when I saw Prometheus. First of all the writing in this movie is god awful. I found myself often questioning what was going through their minds when they wrote some of these down? Most of the conversations in the movie are cringe worthy and don't advance the plot further. The character development is just as bad as the dialogue. I had no emotion to put in any of the characters, they are all hollow shells that just take up screen space. The plot is sickeningly boring and confusing. It jump cuts around several story lines and doesn't bother to stop and explain them to any degree. They just kind of assume you know whats going on. If there is any positive note to hit its that the cinematography was great. It carries this No Country For Old Men kind of feel that's both visually appealing for the viewer and compliments the mood that the movie sets. Ridley Scott's worst work to date, but the good thing is that his movies can't get much worse than this. Collapse
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    1
    If you want to see a depressing, over-the-top, grotesquely violent film have yourself a great time. This movie goer is sick of gore for theIf you want to see a depressing, over-the-top, grotesquely violent film have yourself a great time. This movie goer is sick of gore for the sheer blech of it. The only intelligent message of the film is obscured and is at best one that I hope isn't true for the sake of mankind. What has happened to our culture and to values? Some of the acting was good. What a waste. And what's with Cormac McCarthy and his twisted mind? What kind of brain thinks of such killing devices as in this film? Yuck. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a test for any and all art forms, if you can make fun of it, there's a problem with it, this abominable waste of celluloid did not even qualify or register.
    The so called A-list cast epitomized contract/paycheck players-Cameron Diaz in the end outwits all...I rest my case.

    Scott's Blade Runner was my awakening into how much can be conveyed through a film's actor's, sound design, special effects, dialogue, lighting and soundtrack, Scott created a dark dystopian future where the humans/replicants were worth saving, loving, fighting-dying for, even the diabolical Roy Batty made us see, made us feel, empathize with his perspective, his love, his short life.

    In closing, our ancestors scratched more movement and moment and feeling and purpose on cave walls, mister Scott, hang up the lens, play shuffleboard, do something, but please, please don't make another, whatever The Counselor was ....and anyone who can steer past my review and give The Counselor a chance, save your large popcorn container and stow it under your seat for future use as a vomit pail.
    Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers