Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Colette Bancroft
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The Counselor explodes with violence that is grisly, but not gratuitous: McCarthy has a point to make. Wars create monsters, and the drug war is no exception.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    This one has more in common with Scott’s “Thelma & Louise” in the memorable way it escalates, inevitably but also unexpectedly, into a spin through wilder country, and a meditation on bigger themes.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 24, 2013
    68
    A darkly tense drama that rarely hits anything resembling an emotional beat.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's not so much a bad film as it is a disappointing one. A very disappointing one.
  5. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Nov 20, 2013
    40
    It feels like a film that is attracted by the shape of love and pain, but is a long way from understanding the content.
  6. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Oct 24, 2013
    38
    What you don’t expect is camp. The Counselor is more "Wild Things" than "No Country for Old Men", with which it shares a border town setting. But at least "Wild Things" knew what it was. The Counselor treats its material seriously and seems to have no idea it’s a joke that can’t even muster up a bit of smarty-pants Tarantino cleverness or energy.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Oct 25, 2013
    0
    The Counselor is nothing but a dumb, gory, grab-bag of clichés and the biggest waste of talent since "Savages." It makes Oliver Stone look subtle.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 72
  2. Negative: 36 out of 72
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    In my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable reception towards this film and write it off without the blink of an eye.

    Now I am in no way saying that my opinion is absolute (it so clearly is not), and I would also like to point out that I do not throw around 10-ratings lightly.
    This film is, without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I have seen in years.
    Ridley Scott is an artist with a 'true vision', and I will not argue that it requires one to be on a certain wavelength in order to perceive this vision (I do not mean to sound pretentious).
    Every inch of Cormac McCarthy's dialogue is profoundly thought-provoking and unknowingly exposing,
    and the performances are brilliant to the point of the cast's A-list status coming off as a mere coincidental detail. Fassbender, Pitt, Diaz, Bardem, and Cruz all exhibit the same fearless resolve as Scott on the other side of the lense.
    Despite common criticism of the film's 'lack of cohesion' or 'identity confusion', I assert that this film's self-identity is actually stronger than most. Those who cannot recognize this cannot see the forest for the trees. Those who are not familiar with a more 'Art-house' approach to film-making/story-telling will most likely end up alienated. This movie makes no attempt to ease viewers into its twisted and bizarrely real world, and that is ENTIRELY intentional.

    Again, I do not mean to sound aggressive towards those many who dislike this film.
    I simply wanted to present my personal appreciation for this film which I consider monumental, and for those intrigued but disenchanted by the negative reception to persevere until they can form their own opinion.
    Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    Great movie and well-acted! It's mind-boggling how some could say that it is crap. Compared to other movies which were rated high or higher, The Counselor has more depth. But, it'snot a feel good or happy ending movie because it projects reality. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    A highly original and fun movie, that fits in nicely in the post-"Bridge" environment. The over-the-top sex sequences and murder sequences are well-done. Not as gratuitous as many have claimed. Brad Pitt is terrific in a small role. Collapse
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    3
    I can't lie to you about your chances,but anybody who sees this movie has my sympathies. Good dialogue and acting are a must for any successful film,and apparently Ridley Scott thought that they were in such abundance he needed nothing more. The plot is simple and sophomoric. You keep waiting for the underlying grand design to slowly manifest itself,but when the credits start to roll you see that this is it. By the half-way point,or sooner,you will have figured out who's good,bad,or just stupid. Also,almost every character gets their turn to wax philosophic. Even the owner of a broken down hole in the wall bar shares his lugubrious outlook on life. And lastly,I know movies like to drop in the title of the show periodically if it's appropriate,and counselor is a popular euphemism for attorney, but the word "counselor" is used so often it borders on ludicrous. Some might consider "Someone to Watch Over Me" one of Scott's lesser films,but it's ten times the movie "The Counselor" is. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    2
    What a waste of talent! The Counselor joins the club of the garbage movies of 2013! Absolutely the worst Ridley Scott's directing in his career. I give it 2 10 for acting part, every other aspect is a disaster Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    1
    Whenever I watch such "movies" I feel ashamed for their "creators". I myself don't even feel insulted by the garbage they threw at me from the screen disdain for moviegoers has become common place nowadays. R.Scott was lucky to make couple of good movies, since then all he cares about is money. What was he expecting the spectators to say after having watched the film? Amazing interiors", :"fast cheetahs", "Fassbinder licking muffin of Penelope Cruz who complains that it's dirty", "Queer Bardem", Diaz screwing the Ferrari" "Pitt loses his head due to idiotic device"... What a sham! But the worst part is dialogues. A good movie talking should do three things: move forward the plot, explore the characters, elicit some emotions. Here you have long imbecile speeches which try to pretend sexy, philosophic or smart. EVERY single person speaks as if they majored at ancient Greek literature. My god, what happened to good screenwriters? Studios should give the process back to independent producers, otherwise, in 5 years, people will go the cinemas just to eat some popcorn and play bowing. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    Brad Pitt should think twice before he lets people put his name on idiotic films like this just to attract movie goers. Speechless ! I could not bring myself to watch the movie past the 15 minute mark. It looks like the producers made their initial investment back and came few bucks on top thanks to Brad and that's all that matters, I guess. I am sure there are some idiots out there who will give it a four or five stars and call it an "art", but believe me there is NOTHING artistic about this piece of crap. Poor acting and vulgar opening scene does not qualify as art. I understand there is a scene with Cameron Diaz rubbing her kooch against the Ferrari !? This is why you gave it four or five stars, you moron(s) ? Go rent a porn ! I, also, read that director's brother jumped of the bridge. Now I know why. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers