The Counselor Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Colette Bancroft
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The Counselor explodes with violence that is grisly, but not gratuitous: McCarthy has a point to make. Wars create monsters, and the drug war is no exception.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    This one has more in common with Scott’s “Thelma & Louise” in the memorable way it escalates, inevitably but also unexpectedly, into a spin through wilder country, and a meditation on bigger themes.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 24, 2013
    68
    A darkly tense drama that rarely hits anything resembling an emotional beat.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's not so much a bad film as it is a disappointing one. A very disappointing one.
  5. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Nov 20, 2013
    40
    It feels like a film that is attracted by the shape of love and pain, but is a long way from understanding the content.
  6. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Oct 24, 2013
    38
    What you don’t expect is camp. The Counselor is more "Wild Things" than "No Country for Old Men", with which it shares a border town setting. But at least "Wild Things" knew what it was. The Counselor treats its material seriously and seems to have no idea it’s a joke that can’t even muster up a bit of smarty-pants Tarantino cleverness or energy.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Oct 25, 2013
    0
    The Counselor is nothing but a dumb, gory, grab-bag of clichés and the biggest waste of talent since "Savages." It makes Oliver Stone look subtle.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 90
  2. Negative: 42 out of 90
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    In my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable receptionIn my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable reception towards this film and write it off without the blink of an eye.

    Now I am in no way saying that my opinion is absolute (it so clearly is not), and I would also like to point out that I do not throw around 10-ratings lightly.
    This film is, without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I have seen in years.
    Ridley Scott is an artist with a 'true vision', and I will not argue that it requires one to be on a certain wavelength in order to perceive this vision (I do not mean to sound pretentious).
    Every inch of Cormac McCarthy's dialogue is profoundly thought-provoking and unknowingly exposing,
    and the performances are brilliant to the point of the cast's A-list status coming off as a mere coincidental detail. Fassbender, Pitt, Diaz, Bardem, and Cruz all exhibit the same fearless resolve as Scott on the other side of the lense.
    Despite common criticism of the film's 'lack of cohesion' or 'identity confusion', I assert that this film's self-identity is actually stronger than most. Those who cannot recognize this cannot see the forest for the trees. Those who are not familiar with a more 'Art-house' approach to film-making/story-telling will most likely end up alienated. This movie makes no attempt to ease viewers into its twisted and bizarrely real world, and that is ENTIRELY intentional.

    Again, I do not mean to sound aggressive towards those many who dislike this film.
    I simply wanted to present my personal appreciation for this film which I consider monumental, and for those intrigued but disenchanted by the negative reception to persevere until they can form their own opinion.
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    From start to finish, it is perfectly acted, with philosophical depth that only few may understand let alone truly appreciate.

    The
    From start to finish, it is perfectly acted, with philosophical depth that only few may understand let alone truly appreciate.

    The generally negative reviews illuminate only that the mass public and supposed 'professional' critics are blind to brilliant film making and flawless cinematic execution with this sort of power and magnitude. There are few films that will submerge you into a world this dark and thought provoking.

    'This film is without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I've seen in years'
    Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    Challenging. Tests your patience. Not a film that wants to be liked. Not a thriller in a traditional sense, though the trailer would like youChallenging. Tests your patience. Not a film that wants to be liked. Not a thriller in a traditional sense, though the trailer would like you to think so, and definitely not for everyone you'll either love it or loathe it. Scenes are very much hit or miss, long, and at times preachy. Humour is pitch black. Once you come to terms with the fact that plot points aren't the focus of the film (they are deliberately obscured) and allow yourself to take in the larger-than-life characters and bravura performances (especially the the admirably bold one from Cameron Diaz), the film becomes a far more enjoyable experience. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    4
    All the time you just sit there waiting for the guy to save the day, in an original way. Not happy ending? It´s ok... but, what about theAll the time you just sit there waiting for the guy to save the day, in an original way. Not happy ending? It´s ok... but, what about the acting, the dialogs, the screens? Nothing Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    2
    What a waste of talent! The Counselor joins the club of the garbage movies of 2013! Absolutely the worst Ridley Scott's directing in hisWhat a waste of talent! The Counselor joins the club of the garbage movies of 2013! Absolutely the worst Ridley Scott's directing in his career. I give it 2 10 for acting part, every other aspect is a disaster Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    1
    This is one of the saddest excuse for a movie I have seen in a long time :( Two hours of my life that I will never get back. What a travesty.This is one of the saddest excuse for a movie I have seen in a long time :( Two hours of my life that I will never get back. What a travesty. Sometimes ingredients just don't mix. I tried orange juice and cola once. Never again. Mr. Scott tried mixing philosophy, a megalomanic script and his own pretentious ego. This movie tries to convey some sort of sensuality about violence or what? Of course, I didn't 'get' the movie. But I'm glad I didn't. Oh, and don't be fooled by miss Diaz trying to pretend she can act. She can't. :( Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I have a test for any and all art forms, if you can make fun of it, there's a problem with it, this abominable waste of celluloid did not even qualify or register.
    The so called A-list cast epitomized contract/paycheck players-Cameron Diaz in the end outwits all...I rest my case.

    Scott's Blade Runner was my awakening into how much can be conveyed through a film's actor's, sound design, special effects, dialogue, lighting and soundtrack, Scott created a dark dystopian future where the humans/replicants were worth saving, loving, fighting-dying for, even the diabolical Roy Batty made us see, made us feel, empathize with his perspective, his love, his short life.

    In closing, our ancestors scratched more movement and moment and feeling and purpose on cave walls, mister Scott, hang up the lens, play shuffleboard, do something, but please, please don't make another, whatever The Counselor was ....and anyone who can steer past my review and give The Counselor a chance, save your large popcorn container and stow it under your seat for future use as a vomit pail.
    Collapse

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers