Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Colette Bancroft
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The Counselor explodes with violence that is grisly, but not gratuitous: McCarthy has a point to make. Wars create monsters, and the drug war is no exception.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 24, 2013
    75
    This one has more in common with Scott’s “Thelma & Louise” in the memorable way it escalates, inevitably but also unexpectedly, into a spin through wilder country, and a meditation on bigger themes.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 24, 2013
    68
    A darkly tense drama that rarely hits anything resembling an emotional beat.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's not so much a bad film as it is a disappointing one. A very disappointing one.
  5. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Nov 20, 2013
    40
    It feels like a film that is attracted by the shape of love and pain, but is a long way from understanding the content.
  6. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Oct 24, 2013
    38
    What you don’t expect is camp. The Counselor is more "Wild Things" than "No Country for Old Men", with which it shares a border town setting. But at least "Wild Things" knew what it was. The Counselor treats its material seriously and seems to have no idea it’s a joke that can’t even muster up a bit of smarty-pants Tarantino cleverness or energy.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Oct 25, 2013
    0
    The Counselor is nothing but a dumb, gory, grab-bag of clichés and the biggest waste of talent since "Savages." It makes Oliver Stone look subtle.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 81
  2. Negative: 42 out of 81
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    In my ever-humble opinion, this is a saddening example of metacritic's inevitable deception. Many will see the generally unfavorable reception towards this film and write it off without the blink of an eye.

    Now I am in no way saying that my opinion is absolute (it so clearly is not), and I would also like to point out that I do not throw around 10-ratings lightly.
    This film is, without a doubt, one of the most brilliant films I have seen in years.
    Ridley Scott is an artist with a 'true vision', and I will not argue that it requires one to be on a certain wavelength in order to perceive this vision (I do not mean to sound pretentious).
    Every inch of Cormac McCarthy's dialogue is profoundly thought-provoking and unknowingly exposing,
    and the performances are brilliant to the point of the cast's A-list status coming off as a mere coincidental detail. Fassbender, Pitt, Diaz, Bardem, and Cruz all exhibit the same fearless resolve as Scott on the other side of the lense.
    Despite common criticism of the film's 'lack of cohesion' or 'identity confusion', I assert that this film's self-identity is actually stronger than most. Those who cannot recognize this cannot see the forest for the trees. Those who are not familiar with a more 'Art-house' approach to film-making/story-telling will most likely end up alienated. This movie makes no attempt to ease viewers into its twisted and bizarrely real world, and that is ENTIRELY intentional.

    Again, I do not mean to sound aggressive towards those many who dislike this film.
    I simply wanted to present my personal appreciation for this film which I consider monumental, and for those intrigued but disenchanted by the negative reception to persevere until they can form their own opinion.
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    What a sexist movie!!!! and what a waste of good actors! IMHO Ridley Scott really missed this one and it doesnt worth spending your money for it. Those who give a 10 to this movie must be the type of guy who also say "Make me a sandwich". Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    I found the first half of this movie a struggle to watch and had to stop. I finished it today and felt somewhat redeemed. The second half delivers a bit more payoff, but don't consider this an action movie, because it isn't. It's arthouse, it's well done, the actors perform to perfection, the plot is airtight and the writing is brilliant. That said, I didn't exactly enjoy watching it. It is a tragedy with no uplifting moments. That doesn't make it a bad movie, but I was left wondering what, exactly, DID I get out of watching it? It's filled with elite philosophy, elite in the sense that it doesn't apply or even make sense for most people to think along these lines. There was one speech I really appreciated. Maybe everyone will find something to connect with. At any rate, this movie is high quality but whether you'll enjoy it or not is a matter of taste and expectation. Collapse
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    3
    Something tells me that Cormac Mcarthy has some interesting opinions and experiences with women after seeing this film. This is one of the few movies I actually felt bad for the talent involved. The dialogue is just so terrible. Particularly every conversation has some awkward self-conscious feel to it or just some random chit chat about women and how men cant understand them. The only scenes that I felt worked were the opening scene in the bedroom and the conversation the counselor has with the main drug boss near the end. Everything else is this dry philosophical edge. When things finally get going a bunch a stuff happens and its really not as compelling as it set up to be. The cameos are terrible too, they have no meaning what so ever. I knew going in it wasnt a well reviewed movie but, I wanted to see it for myself. I was surprised people talked so much in it, cause in Mcarthy's literature he can say a lot without really saying much. This one had me running for the border...i mean the exit. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    Wow, I was surprised at how bad this film was. Coming from such a great director I was more disappointed than when I saw Prometheus. First of all the writing in this movie is god awful. I found myself often questioning what was going through their minds when they wrote some of these down? Most of the conversations in the movie are cringe worthy and don't advance the plot further. The character development is just as bad as the dialogue. I had no emotion to put in any of the characters, they are all hollow shells that just take up screen space. The plot is sickeningly boring and confusing. It jump cuts around several story lines and doesn't bother to stop and explain them to any degree. They just kind of assume you know whats going on. If there is any positive note to hit its that the cinematography was great. It carries this No Country For Old Men kind of feel that's both visually appealing for the viewer and compliments the mood that the movie sets. Ridley Scott's worst work to date, but the good thing is that his movies can't get much worse than this. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    1
    This is one of the saddest excuse for a movie I have seen in a long time :( Two hours of my life that I will never get back. What a travesty. Sometimes ingredients just don't mix. I tried orange juice and cola once. Never again. Mr. Scott tried mixing philosophy, a megalomanic script and his own pretentious ego. This movie tries to convey some sort of sensuality about violence or what? Of course, I didn't 'get' the movie. But I'm glad I didn't. Oh, and don't be fooled by miss Diaz trying to pretend she can act. She can't. :( Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a test for any and all art forms, if you can make fun of it, there's a problem with it, this abominable waste of celluloid did not even qualify or register.
    The so called A-list cast epitomized contract/paycheck players-Cameron Diaz in the end outwits all...I rest my case.

    Scott's Blade Runner was my awakening into how much can be conveyed through a film's actor's, sound design, special effects, dialogue, lighting and soundtrack, Scott created a dark dystopian future where the humans/replicants were worth saving, loving, fighting-dying for, even the diabolical Roy Batty made us see, made us feel, empathize with his perspective, his love, his short life.

    In closing, our ancestors scratched more movement and moment and feeling and purpose on cave walls, mister Scott, hang up the lens, play shuffleboard, do something, but please, please don't make another, whatever The Counselor was ....and anyone who can steer past my review and give The Counselor a chance, save your large popcorn container and stow it under your seat for future use as a vomit pail.
    Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers