Lionsgate | Release Date: July 31, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 91 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
6
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
tmarino14May 21, 2013
I think this documentry was very good and expressed a ton of information on the cruel sitution going on in Japan. I give this a 10, Rick O' Berry is truly a dolphin saver. The things he has done sacrificing his own life for the dolphins isI think this documentry was very good and expressed a ton of information on the cruel sitution going on in Japan. I give this a 10, Rick O' Berry is truly a dolphin saver. The things he has done sacrificing his own life for the dolphins is amazing. He goes out of his own way. It makes me sad to know innocent animals are getting killed, Thanks to Take Part and The Cove, the number of dolphins being killed has decresed greatly over the years. I'm glad a group like Take Part took a step and made an impact and changes of the ways in Japan. The Cove has greatly helped and changed the outcomes of dolphin deaths a year. Good Job 10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
In a truthful manner, I am not an individual who situates his attention on animal rights and or cruelty. I am however, pliable to a well-done documentary that may or may not change my position on a controversial subject. The Cove is a 2009In a truthful manner, I am not an individual who situates his attention on animal rights and or cruelty. I am however, pliable to a well-done documentary that may or may not change my position on a controversial subject. The Cove is a 2009 documentary film directed by Louie Psihoyos, that documents the annual slaughter of dolphins in Wakayama Japan. A fraction of the movie plays like a common documentary film, interviewing prominent figures in the fishing business and presenting the audience facts and related correlations. While the remainder of the film is in the point of view of a crew trying to attain documentation of dolphin cruelty. Overall, the film succeeds in projecting its point, these water-dwelling mammals are under unbelievably considerable cruelty. The film is remarkably crafted and entirely deserves the Oscar that it received a few months back. Although it is effective, I believe that it had a lack of what could have made it even more effectual. The part that really triggered my pathos was the actual footage of the dolphin slaughter and the risks the crew took in capturing the film. The majority of the film focused on the facts, while the actual live filming, was in all actuality saved until the end. If more of the film focused on the latter portion, it would have been ideal. To conclude, The Cove is an effective documentary that is astonishingly done in a good matter, but I have a feeling that it could have been faintly better. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Feb 24, 2011
Any time a film has the power to stir up emotions so potently sticking as "The Cove," critical acclaim is only incidental. The task of illuminating a mere, insignificant cetacean mammal, and bring about internal change within the viewer isAny time a film has the power to stir up emotions so potently sticking as "The Cove," critical acclaim is only incidental. The task of illuminating a mere, insignificant cetacean mammal, and bring about internal change within the viewer is done here with such elegance and beauty that apathy assumes the form of genuine concern and heart-wrenching sympathy, even to the most severe of misanthropes. Before too long, you find yourself in a predicament of righful action, hindered by the antagonistic Taiji monopolizers, who, once developed, are as vexatious as a high-strung, hormonal adolescent. The manipulative effect makes for a preservation team that you can't help but root for. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JohnM-TokyoOct 11, 2009
Essential viewing for anyone who cares about marine life- The film makers did an incredible job in getting this out. It simply does not need to happen as there is NO market for dolphin meat in this country- most Japanese do not believe thatEssential viewing for anyone who cares about marine life- The film makers did an incredible job in getting this out. It simply does not need to happen as there is NO market for dolphin meat in this country- most Japanese do not believe that their fisherman are still killing dolphins. The movie has had very limited viewing here due to its message which is a great shame because it is Japan that needs to see this film more than the west. Spread the word and I do hope the staff involved get the Oscar next year which they heartily deserve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keithwAug 9, 2009
Tell EVERY one of your friends to sell this film. No person walked out without being touched, moved and angry. What a film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffChrislerSep 4, 2009
This film wasn't your normal documentary. It was engaging, had a solid sountrack, and of course it supported a solid cause. If you aren't upset and angry by the end of this film, you aren't human. Don't go see, "UnderThis film wasn't your normal documentary. It was engaging, had a solid sountrack, and of course it supported a solid cause. If you aren't upset and angry by the end of this film, you aren't human. Don't go see, "Under the Sea," see this again or support the cause.
Thankfully on the first day of fishing in 2009 in Taigi there were no fishermen out, no killing of dolphins, and there were tons of media. All of this is because of this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillCAug 14, 2009
Ignore any bias you may have against those dry, boring documentary films you feel you must watch because they're good for you. This is an out and out thriller and the filmmakers risked jail time in order to share it with their audience. Ignore any bias you may have against those dry, boring documentary films you feel you must watch because they're good for you. This is an out and out thriller and the filmmakers risked jail time in order to share it with their audience. Their dedication to expose the secret of Taiji so that the world will take action and end it earns our respect and admiration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanSSep 29, 2009
If you haven't seen this movie yet because you are afraid it will be too hard to watch - go see it. There are a couple of tough scenes but they are a very small part of the movie. It is exciting, inspiring and motivating. It reallyIf you haven't seen this movie yet because you are afraid it will be too hard to watch - go see it. There are a couple of tough scenes but they are a very small part of the movie. It is exciting, inspiring and motivating. It really shows you what a few dedicated people can do - that we really can change things. It plays like a suspense thriller and had me on the edge of my seat. Go and take your friends! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurelAOct 12, 2009
I hate it when people say, "Well, it's part of their culture." That seems to be an excuse to continue to do almost anything - slavery was part of our culture, too, but that doesn't make it right! And yes, many dolphins are killedI hate it when people say, "Well, it's part of their culture." That seems to be an excuse to continue to do almost anything - slavery was part of our culture, too, but that doesn't make it right! And yes, many dolphins are killed accidentally each year and poisoned by pollution. This needs to be addressed as well! This film exposes some of the hyposcrisy of dolphining and porpoising, but there is still much to explore (including our own hypocrisy). My only criticisms are that it is too short and the film does not delve deep enough into the unique animals whales are, and how similar to people (language, culture, family, etc.). Just because dolphins do not live like we do does not mean they can be tossed aside as lesser beings, which we humans are apt to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
iHammerJan 14, 2011
This movie, purely based off directing aspects, can be called a beautiful movie, the pacing, the beautiful music, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects. Purely based off just how good a movie it is, I can tell youThis movie, purely based off directing aspects, can be called a beautiful movie, the pacing, the beautiful music, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects. Purely based off just how good a movie it is, I can tell you that its amazing, its beautiful, you wont see anything like it, it will make you smile, it will make you cry, it will send chills down your spine, and it will make you clench your fist in anger. This movie is truly remarkable, its extremely uplifting, and by the end of it, you have to stop yourself from jumping on the internet and buying a plane ticket to Taiji, Japan with a baseball bat in your luggage. I would recommend any one to watch it, from the people who watch it for environmental reasons, and for people that just want to see a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrAug 12, 2011
A raw documentary with a purpose. Clearly difficult to make, but even more evident having seen its significance. Proves once again that humans are the worse beasts who are prepared to kill for vanity, money or power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
iHammmerJun 3, 2011
If rating this movie based completely off directing aspects: it can be called beautiful. The pacing, the beautiful score, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects have all been done very well. The movie manages toIf rating this movie based completely off directing aspects: it can be called beautiful. The pacing, the beautiful score, the video mixing and editing, and other general directing aspects have all been done very well. The movie manages to make you laugh, cry, smile, all in the space of few minutes. It has a bit of everything, Louie Psihoyos has done an amazing job, especially when considering this is his first piece of directing work. His next work, The Singing Planet, will be releasing in 2012, which I am much looking forward to. This is easily one of the best documentaries out there, and if some one argues that documentaries are a stale genre, show them this. It is extremely uplifting and sends a great message: if we can't fix something this small, we have no hope of fixing anything else. By the end of it, you have to stop yourself from jumping on the internet and buying a plane ticket to Taiji, Japan with a baseball bat in your luggage. I would recommend any one to watch it, from the people who watch it for environmental reasons, and for people that just want to see a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 22, 2013
This is one documentary that is worth seeing and anything but dull and boring. This is a story of courage and a passion to undue such horrible acts. Eye opening and touching. Worthy of its Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
It's massively incredible how this film provokes such anger, tension as well as passion in it. Words can barely describe how painful and powerful this documentary is, and the lengths to which human monstrosity can extend to. I gauruntee forIt's massively incredible how this film provokes such anger, tension as well as passion in it. Words can barely describe how painful and powerful this documentary is, and the lengths to which human monstrosity can extend to. I gauruntee for those who see a little glimpse of my way, you will surely stand up for it and fight against this thing--at least in disgust. The most important film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chelseyseatonApr 28, 2015
The Cove was an incredible documentary and I highly recommend it! It definitely opened my eyes to something that I never knew was happening with the ocean animals and made my very sad that this is even going on. I hope this documentary movesThe Cove was an incredible documentary and I highly recommend it! It definitely opened my eyes to something that I never knew was happening with the ocean animals and made my very sad that this is even going on. I hope this documentary moves you like it did me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews